Curacao house rental - Terrace at the sea
Terrace at the sea
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday home in Curacao - Casita Carmen Rosa
2 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 4

Beautiful guesthouse, situated in a tropical garden with a lot of flowers. Inside the house: wooden floors, kitchen, full air conditioned bedrooms, spacious living with sea view.

The house is situated in Coral Estate, a young village where living is quiet, private and secure.

The village is directly situated at the Caribbean sea. From the village to town and airport: 20 minutes by car. There are hiking and biking trails in the area. Nearby are some popular beaches (Porto Marie, Daaibooi, Cas Abow...) with good facilities (chairs, snack-bar). This is a small part of what Curacao has to offer. Curacao has so much to offer.

10 Reviews of Property 360507 in Curacao

Oceanfront guesthouse, spacious, stylish, quiet, safe and private
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Oceanfront guesthouse, spacious, stylish, quiet, safe and private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360507
+297 5927755
Curacao Caribbean
Tryon NC
5

Beautiful, as advertised!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 17-Jan-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2013
When we came across this listing, my wife and I immediately booked it. Once we arrived we were even more excited as the Casita was absolutely beautiful. The pictures on the website were very accurate. Very clean and well appointed, very private and wonderful landscaping that gave us the feeling of a tropical paradise. Though there was ocean access via a staircase and a ladder to the sea, it was much too rough while we were there to enjoy it. However there were two beautiful beaches just a short drive away. I would recommend a rental car to make going and coming much easier. Also just a 10 minute walk was the dive shop and beach, along with the restaurant & bar. We enjoyed cocktails and appetizers along with a fun evening of Jazz on Thursday nights. The owners Mercedes and Willem were extremely helpful and accomadating even allowing us to enjoy the next door villa's pool and jacuzzi as no one was there at the time. All in all it was a great experience and we would recommend this property highly.

Ric Rondell
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront guesthouse, spacious, stylish, quiet, safe and private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360507
+297 5927755
Curacao Caribbean
United States
5

Our own personal paradise!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 09-Jan-2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2012
Where to start -- to echo everyone else, the photos do not do this place justice. My husband and I were blown away by the absolute beauty of the Casita. It had everything we needed and more! So many places to relax. I will forever remember the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks below ... these were the sounds that lulled us to sleep each night and the first thing we heard on awakening each morning.

Also can't speak highly enough of Mercedes. Although we did not get the chance to meet, Mercedes was a gracious host by offering to food shop for us and stock the fridge due to our late afternoon arrival on New Year's Eve. The kitchen area was well stocked and allowed us to cook a few meals rather than eating out every night.

We very much enjoyed exploring the area beaches and the west side of the island. Both Willemstad and Westpunt areas were 30-45 minute drives and were great day trips.

I would highly recommend this special place to any and all -- I just can't wait to go back!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Oceanfront guesthouse, spacious, stylish, quiet, safe and private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360507
+297 5927755
Curacao Caribbean
5

Honeymoon in Paradise - Part 2

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 19-Dec-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
Part 2....

Hopefully from part 1 you will realise that the Casita is, in our opinion, perfect for location, views, surroundings, cleanliness and amenities. - Plus free WiFi
Over our two week stay on Curacao we managed to explore most of the island, one thing we did note was that some of the roads on some of the maps are private roads, on the maps we were using these were light grey. We can highly recommend hiring a truck (nissan nivara etc) to get around in, they are common place on the island and there is a reason why!
We spent alot of time in the north of the island, as it is has the national park - mountains and boka's and a number of very beautiful beaches. We spent a couple of days enjoying the sites of Willemstad with the moving bridge.
Restaurants - over the two weeks we ate out a number of times, the first time we went to L'aldea - grill & steakhouse, the food was excellent and plentiful although the selection was not as extensive as we have seen elsewhere, the staff were excellent, the downside was the price, for what we had we felt it was a little expensive which we did comment on in the comments leaflet. The second night out we stayed closer to home and went to Karakter, just behind the Habitat hotel - Wow... the view (not suprising considering how close to the Casita it is), the Service excellent - the food excellent and the price - reasonable (oh and the Jazz nights are very good (Mercedes' husband plays in the band!)) we ate here a number of times and the staff are willing to do a take away if you do not fancy eating in the restaurant. We also ate at Sol food which is in Westpunt, it is in the back yard of Sunshines' house, the garage has been turned into a smart looking kitchen - and they do a mean steak! no need to get dressed up but it is a must just for the experience!

We thoroughly enjoyed our time on Curacao - the best beach in our opinion was Grote Knip (North West of the Island) and free also has Klien Knip next to it... very good snorkelling area - although Westpunt is claimed to have turtles when the fishermen come in....

We would love to come back to Curacao in a few years to see how it has developed and when we do we shall certainly be looking to stay with Mercedes again - a fantastic host - thank you so very much for giving us the most amazing Honeymoon it was truly unforgettable!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront guesthouse, spacious, stylish, quiet, safe and private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360507
+297 5927755
Curacao Caribbean
5

A Honeymoon in Paradise part 1

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 19-Dec-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
Where to begin....
After flying from the UK to Amsterdam and then onto Curacao we were very pleased to arrive, stepping out of the aircraft into the warm... ok very warm atmosphere was great, we hired a truck from National Car Rental Curacao, which was not regretted with some of the roads that we took it down!
From the moment we arrived on the island everyone was very friendly, we received a very warm welcome from the security lady on the gate who was very helpful with directions to the casita, even though English was clearly not her first language! but it was substatially better than my Dutch or Papiamentu.
After about 20mins drive from the airport we arrived at the Casita to a very warm welcome from Mercedes, she took the time to show us around our property not missing out any detail, the casita was spotless, we could not fault it and there is a reason why....
We were lucky that next door which is the larger holiday rental was not booked for the two weeks we were there and Mercedes very kindly allowed us use of the grounds which once again were immaculate, the pool was superb and very welcome in the warm afternoons, the hot tub was very enjoyable in the evening with a glass of wine (Mercedes recommendation!) however our favourite spot in the grounds was sat udner the pergoda watching the sun go down in the early evening - smiling just thinking of it now!
The casita has everything you need for a holiday, a fridge freezer, microwave, gas bbq, and all the kitchen utensils that you could ever need. There was lots of books and cd's to enjoy and the best bit was the fact that you could open up all the doors and let the view take your breathe away from each angle! - the only issue with having the doors open is the local cats like to come and pay a visit!
The bed is extremely comfortable but the air conditioning is needed if your coming from a more milder climate! as the temperature doesnt appear to drop that much over night.
The casita is plenty big enough for two adults and a child or two couples, the sea on your door step is amazing however whilst we were there the sea was very rough and we didnt venture into, not sure if this was a time of the year thing or whether the sea is like that all year, however it didnt detract from our holiday, the estate which the casita is on is under development however it is not intrusive and when your sat on the patio.... you cant imagine anyone else near you for a few hundred miles!
I will continue in part 2
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront guesthouse, spacious, stylish, quiet, safe and private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360507
+297 5927755
Curacao Caribbean
5

Fantastic family vacation

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 14-Apr-2012
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2012
We had the pleasure of staying at La Casita over our Easter holiday. The two bedroom, one bath apartment was one of the best vacation rentals we have ever stayed. The accommodations were more that comfortable...my son made the comment more than once that he wanted to move in permanently. The kitchen was well equipped, but we found ourselves using the outside grill just to enjoy the veranda. The bathroom was stocked with plenty of towels as well as other amenities such as shower products and lotions. The apartment was clean and very well maintained with beautiful wood floors, books about Curacao, and a fantastic selection of jazz CDs. The housekeeper came mid-week to straighten up the apartment, change linens, and clean the towels. We did have some minor trouble with the electric stove. After informing the owners they had an electrician come out - it was discovered it had just tripped the breaker. Problem solved....and fast! We snorkeled at a great reef right off the front of the property. This residence was just perfect for our family (2 kids- ages 10 yo and 8 yo) Our vacation to La Casita and to Curacao are unsurpassed. Thank you Mercedes (and Marsheline). We look forward to returning soon!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Oceanfront guesthouse, spacious, stylish, quiet, safe and private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360507
+297 5927755
Curacao Caribbean
Harvard MA & Peterbor NH
5

Much better than I even hoped

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 19-Mar-2012
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2012
We recently returned home from 8 days at this beautiful villa and I have to say that this was one of the best island homes we have ever rented. The pictures don't do enough to describe how lovely, quiet and comfortable the house is. The ten Ham family went out of their way to provide everything needed for a perfect vacation.
I have rented houses in various parts of the world but none have been as well equipped as this one. The kitchen is very complete and makes cooking and eating at home quite easy.
The grounds are lovely and very private with beautiful plants and flowers everywhere you look. The house is spacious and quite tastefully decorated. In a warm climate, outdoor living is the order of the day and this may be the best part of the house. The veranda is quite large with a variety of comfortable chairs, couches and chaises to choose from. We ate at the dining table under the stars almost every night.
The only drawback to the house was that we had to leave it eventually.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Oceanfront guesthouse, spacious, stylish, quiet, safe and private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360507
+297 5927755
Curacao Caribbean
5

Dream-vacation at the Casita

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 18-Mar-2012
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2012
We spent two fantastic weeks at Curacao and the Casita. The house is beautiful, clean and had everything we needed. We chose the Casita because of the home-feeling, the tranquil environment and the fantastic sea view, and we were not disappointed! We chose Curacao because of the interesting city Willemstad and the many beaches. Snorkeling was a new experience for us and we loved watching the colorful fishes. After exploring the island and the many beaches, we loved sitting on the patio in the sunset with a class of wine. Curacao has some mosquitoes so light trousers in the evening are recommended. This was our dream-vacation and we fully enjoyed our stay at the Casita and Curacao! Mercedes and William are perfect hosts, very friendly and very helpful when needed. We hope to see you again one day.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront guesthouse, spacious, stylish, quiet, safe and private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360507
+297 5927755
Curacao Caribbean
5

... was für eine Überraschung!!!!!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Mar-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2012
Wir haben durch Zufall die Anzeige bei HomeAway gefunden und die Bilder des Guesthouse gingen uns nicht mehr aus dem Kopf. Der Stil und die Anlage des Hauses entsprach genau unserem Geschmack, auch die Beschreibung hat keine Wünsche offen gelassen. Wir sind keine Urlauber die Luxus brauchen und leider hatten wir bei den vergangenen Reisen ein paar schlechte Erfahrungen hinsichtlich des Preis-Leistungsverhältnisses gemacht. Deshalb zögerten wir erst mit der Buchung. Dank der E-Mails von Familie ten Ham haben wir dann 1 Woche gebucht und sind nach einem 3-tägigen Aufenthalt in Willemstad mit einer gewissen Neugier zum Guesthouse gefahren. Ein sehr freundlicher Empfang durch die Besitzer (spricht deutsch), kurze Einweisung und wir waren total verblüfft. Das Haus und die Anlage war viel größer als wir für den Preis erwarten konnten. Wunderschön gelegen, sehr ruhig, direkt am Meer (kein Strand, aber Treppe + Leiter direkt ins Wasser!!), sehr sauber, äusserst liebevoll eingerichtet und dekoriert, zusätzliche Dinge wie Schnorchelausrüstung, Bücher, Waschmaschine, Nähzeug, exclusives Duschbad + Bodylotion, saubere und weiche (!!!) Handtücher, Aussenbereich zum Relaxen, Gasgrill, Liegestühle und vieles mehr.............. rundum perfekt und für uns der unerwartete Luxusaufenthalt für wenig Geld.
Es war unser erster Urlaub mit Selbstverpflegung und wir werden dies sicher wieder so machen. Die Küche ist so eingerichtet, dass ohne großen Aufwand gekocht werden kann. Es ist so toll ohne Kleider- und Zeitzwang im Freien zu Frühstücken und am Abend ein Rinderfilet mit einem kühlen Bier zu geniessen.

Fazit: Wer Ruhe haben möchte, individuell den Tag gestaltet, sehr schöne Badebuchten in der Nähe findet, Sicherheit mag, mehr geboten bekommt wie er bezahlt und im schöneren Teil von Curacao urlauben will der sollte ohne Bedenken bei Familie ten Ham buchen... und nicht wie wir nur eine Woche sondern mindestens zwei Wochen. Auch wir wären gern länger geblieben!!!!!!!!!!

Vielen lieben Dank für diesen schönen Aufenthalt an Mercedes und Willem ten Ham

von Elke + Tino Roßberg aus Dresden (Deutschland)
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront guesthouse, spacious, stylish, quiet, safe and private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360507
+297 5927755
Curacao Caribbean
New York, New York
5

Fantastic Trip

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 08-Mar-2011
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2011
My boyfriend and I just arrived home after staying in Curacao for a week in the casita, and it was better than we had hoped! The casita is prettier than the pictures depict, and the ten Ham's have put enourmous effort in the grounds surrounding the house and the decor inside. There is plenty of privacy between the casita and the main house which is separated by gorgeous plants and greenery and a white trellis. Mercedes is absolutely lovely and at once helpful and unobtrusive for those seeking a quiet romantic getaway. That being said this place is ideal for a small family or two couples. We had more space than we actually needed, but wound up using it all. There is access to the water from the main house, and there are several beautiful beaches within walking and driving distance. As noted, a car is needed. We found that cooking and bbq'ing was much easier than driving to town to eat out, but that was our personal perference, and there is a great grocery store about 15 minutes away with everything that one needs. We will definitely be returning as our experience was so pleasant and we liked Mercedes and Willem immensely.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 16/16
business
Oceanfront guesthouse, spacious, stylish, quiet, safe and private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360507
+297 5927755
Curacao Caribbean
5

Absolutely Perfect

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 14-Nov-2011
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2011
Our Holidays at the Casita were perfect! We went there for our Honeymoon and only can recommend that for everyone! The Casita is such a lovely, nice and quiet place! The whole area is amazingly beautiful! Family ten Ham was so lovely and they gave us a very worm welcome! Communication before the trip was perfect; they gave us much information about the island and send us many photos! We had an unforgettable time there and only can recommend this lovely place for everybody who is looking for a quiet and beautiful place with lots of privacy! We only can use superlatives to describe how wonderful the place and our honeymoon were there! Thank you so much, Mercedes! We hope to see you again at sometime!

Warm regards

Marc and Maja
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1