Encinitas house rental - Welcome!
Welcome!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday home in Encinitas
House, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-3)

This is an enchanted 1,000 square foot plantation style cottage situated within a 10,000 square foot lush tropical garden. The entire property has been designed with a high attention to detail. The house is fully furnished with Indonesian furniture and stocked with everything you would expect in your home. High ceilings, lots of light, great cookwares and luxurious linens!

What a place to enjoy the outdoor lifestyle in coastal Southern California. There are three outdoor living areas that provide amazing retreat and entrainment options. The outdoor wood fire is surrounded by deep seating to create the perfect evening garden lounge. The gas fireside dining deck provides a sunrise coffee venue or romantic fireside dining experience. Sink into to the Palapa spa for a cedar tub soak or surrender in the Palapa day bed for a siesta. Enjoy it all! These areas provide ample choices to fit your mood and really take you away from your daily life!

This is an ideal escape for 2 people (+/- children) looking for a high quality resort property on a personal scale. Feel free to inquire about available services, activities and events. The house web site had more links and details too! Grab the bikes and ride to and along the beach or try longboarding on one of the surfboards! Everything you need is waiting for you to walk in and immediately feel at home!

More Details
Hide Details

A native Southern California coastal resident for 40+ years! I have spent the past 20 years in North San Diego County enjoying the coastal community and environment as I will always be drawn to a western sunset! I have a 20+ year commercial real estate background with broad geographic coverage with a Global firm before starting my own firm in 2011, Commercial West Realty Advisors. Love traveling and using VRBO/Homeaway properties all over! Spend lots of time in Baja annoying the rugged country it offers at close range. Trail running in local mountains occupies much of my time as well. Just love that southern CA lifestyle so much....

Eric Hutchison purchased this house in 1999

I looked into Encinitas since it is a great beach town with tremendous locational benefits! Coastal access for surfing, trials for running (and beach) ease of access to the road systems, etc! Love the quiet neighborhood of eclectic homes dating back to the 30's! Large lot sizes allow for lots of land per house in comparison to any other coastal community!

35 Reviews of Property 334031 in Encinitas, USA

Tropical Plantation Beach Cottage
average rating of 5.0 based on 35 reviews
business
Tropical Plantation Beach Cottage
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p334031
+1 619 246-6161
Encinitas San Diego County
5

Perfect Beach Cottage!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 21-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2014
This home has it all! Close to town and the beach along with a relaxing/romantic setting. The property is surrounded by huge palm trees that gives you that beach vibe. Wood burning fireplaces indoor and out make those cool beach nights just right. The wooden hot tub was my favorite part of the vacation! Fully stocked kitchen makes it feel like a home. I wish I lived there!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Plantation Beach Cottage
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p334031
+1 619 246-6161
Encinitas San Diego County
5

Great week at the Cottage.

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 17-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2014
We really enjoyed the Plantation cottage: great decor, great kitchen with high end appliances, loved the charcoal Weber BBQ, lots of natural light, fantastic outdoor living spaces, televisions throughout the cottage and even outside in the Palapa, access to internet and music, wonderful ambiance.

We liked the easy access to restaurants, grocery stores, the beach, the Carlsbad outlet mall and the airport. Eric was very helpful and made great recommendations....make sure you check out the view at Bull Taco. It was always nice to see Ono strolling around the property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Plantation Beach Cottage
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p334031
+1 619 246-6161
Encinitas San Diego County
5

Pristine and Cozy

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 18-Feb-2014
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2014
After a disappointing experience at a hotel, we decided to try something different. I came across the listing for Eric and Ono's cottage and I was immediately impressed with the property. Upon checking in I was simply blown away. The property FAR exceeded our expectations and is even more beautiful in person. In fact, I would describe it as pristine across the board. The kitchen is well equipped with high end appliances and utensils. We enjoyed cooking and following the Olympics on new LED TV's in each room. Internet connectivity was also great; being in the technology field this was important. The outdoor areas offered several places to sit in the sun and enjoy the lush surrounding. The neighborhood was quiet and safe and was a short walk to the beach. We rented stand up paddleboards and even came upon a pack of dolphins! We loved the short walks down to Swami's beach to watch the sunset. Encinitas is an incredible place; a true gem. We will surely be back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Plantation Beach Cottage
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p334031
+1 619 246-6161
Encinitas San Diego County
5

Fabulous

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 14-Feb-2014
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2014
Could not have been more pleased. Loved the place and the people, Eric And Ono and his pals. Hope to return in the future
business
Tropical Plantation Beach Cottage
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p334031
+1 619 246-6161
Encinitas San Diego County
St Paul, MN
5

MFD

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 23-Feb-2013
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2013
We were thrilled to find this hide-away located between two great golf courses-- Torrey Pines and La Costa. The backyard is secluded and quiet with a hot tub for relaxing under the stars. There are several patio areas for reading and relaxing. The house has a beautiful kitchen, lots of natural light and a great stereo system. We didn't want to leave.
Encinitas is a great little town with fun dining options. You will be charmed by it all
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Tropical Plantation Beach Cottage
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p334031
+1 619 246-6161
Encinitas San Diego County
Potomac, MD USA
5

Plush, lush oasis!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 18-Sep-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
What a gorgeous property, and very well equipped! Our only (minor) disappointment was not being able to get the sound system to work outside, so that we could enjoy it while sipping morning coffee on the sunny deck off the bedroom, lazing around on the palapa, and soaking in the hot tub - tough time, huh? Eric was not around most of our week there, but was very genial and helpful when we did meet up, especially with turning on the AC, which we needed during the unusually hot and humid weather during most of our stay. And Ono is as sweet as can be. Hope to return when the evenings are cool enough to make use of the fireplaces and firepit! What more can I say - Aloha!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Plantation Beach Cottage
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p334031
+1 619 246-6161
Encinitas San Diego County
Not Specified
5

It's a mini resort!

It's a mini resort!
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 22-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
As soon as we arrived my son and I both felt like we had found paradise! The cottage is thoughtfully appointed and far exceeded our expectations. It was clean, well-furnished and decorated with a designer's eye. Eric couldn't have been a better host. We immediately felt welcomed. The house is stocked with beach toys--bikes, boogie board, umbrella, chairs. Eric even offered his surfboard and his wet suit to my son. All of which provided the elements for a memorable vacation. We will be back soon and in the years to come. Once you've found paradise you know it and want to make it part of your life history!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Plantation Beach Cottage
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p334031
+1 619 246-6161
Encinitas San Diego County
Victor, ID
5

A Must Stay!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-May-2012
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2012
We stayed in the cottage for 10 days and had the most wonderful time! Eric was a most hospitable host and we loved seeing Ono wandering around the yard when he was there. The pictures don't do this beautiful place justice- it is like your own private sanctuary with tikis around the grounds and fountains- it is a very peaceful place to be. It is only a 5 minute walk from town over the train tracks and you can access everything- it is super easy to get around town, especially on foot or bike. Eric had all sorts of beach toys for our 2 year old to play with which was great since we couldn't pack a lot of our stuff. He also pointed us in the right direction re: the beach to access, restaurants and fish markets! We loved Encinitas because it was such a mellow surfing town with a lot to do. We ate all our breakfasts and lunches at the cottage and cooked a few dinners, and his kitchen had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable and it was so light, it was nice being able to be woken up by the early morning sun, so we didn't waste any of our time there. The hot tub or "hot water" as our little boy called it, was so nice to have. A wooden hot tub is so wonderful and you can hop out and lay on the palapa and dry off or take a little siesta. It was perfect. We are definitely going to go back and stay at some point in time because it was just the kind of place that you can visit over and over again. I highly recommend this property and thanks to Eric and Ono for making it extra special!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Tropical Plantation Beach Cottage
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p334031
+1 619 246-6161
Encinitas San Diego County
Denver Colorado
5

Perfect!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 16-Apr-2012
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2012
Loved it! I stayed here by myself and with my fiance and her two kids. The place feels perfect--really. I plan on going back! Spacious, close to the library, beach, shopping, yoga, and main street encinitas.
Thanks so much Eric!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Tropical Plantation Beach Cottage
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p334031
+1 619 246-6161
Encinitas San Diego County
5

Petit paradis

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 18-Mar-2012
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2012
Nous avons passés un séjour très agréable d? au charme délicieux de ce cottage d?cor? avec beaucoup de go?t, très confortable dans un environnement très calme, à quelques minutes du bord de mer et des boutiques d'Encinitas. Merci à Eric et son labrador Ono pour leur chaleureux accueil. Nous recommandons très vivement cette location pour séjouner en Californie du sud et go?ter à ses charmes !
Florence et Jean-François
Ile d'Oléron