Greenport chateau / country house rental - View of house from street.
View of house from street.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday chateau / country house in Greenport - Waterview Country Home
Village home, 1 Bedroom, Daybed and trundle, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2 to 4)

Immaculate country house duplex offering one bedroom, one bath, living room, open kitchen with sitting/sleeping area, porch and laundry area on the ground floor. Please contact us for more information.

This charming and tastefully decorated 2-floor Victorian home is located in the historic Greenport “West Dublin” neighborhood and is perfect for single/double (max 4) occupancy. Fabulous bay views and tranquil beaches are within a four-block walk along 4th Street. Enjoy the outside yard.

A short walk from the Hampton Jitney stop, the train station and the village shops and restaurants, this property is also perfect for non-drivers. No smokers permitted. Please, no animals allowed.

Take time to visit the vineyards, fresh produce farms and flower fields on the North Fork.

(Also available for longer term rental from September to May. Please inquire for monthly rate.)

Keywords: rental, vacation rental, beach house, country home rental,

Former New Yorker is renting lower floor to family summer home. A local USA contact number is provided for additional information, questions and reservations.

Victoria Storke & Pam Smith purchased this chateau / country house in 1992

Situated in a quiet and serene area of Greenport, this is the perfect location to unwind.

The house's close vicinity to several beaches and the village shops and restaurants enables you to forget about driving. The site of a former basement speakeasy during prohibition, the enclosed private garden area is perfect for relaxing. Ideal for those who want to escape the hype of the city, the Hamptons and the South Fork.

11 Reviews of Property 318061 in Greenport, USA

Tastefully decorated village home for less than the price of a hotel suite
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 11 reviews
business
Tastefully decorated village home for less than the price of a hotel suite
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p318061vb
+39 335-232309
Greenport North Fork
5

Great quiet and cozy

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 17-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
Great place to stay for my husband and I
Close to all restaurants and ferries
Clean and quiet
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Tastefully decorated village home for less than the price of a hotel suite
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p318061vb
+39 335-232309
Greenport North Fork
CT
4

Great Location.. Comfortable Stay

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 25-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
We stayed in Greenport for a friends wedding... this location was absolutely perfect..about a 8min walk to town..close to the Shelter Island Ferry & Train. Everything was as described with this location old house with plenty of old house charm. We would definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Tastefully decorated village home for less than the price of a hotel suite
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p318061vb
+39 335-232309
Greenport North Fork
4

A charming Long Island home

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 19-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
We found the property to be clean, well-decorated and maintained, and provided with all the facilities we needed. The kitchen was well stocked with equipment, and there were plenty of towels and linens. On hot days, we sat outside, or used the ceiling fan and air conditioners. On the one or two days of rain, we were very comfortable indoors with the TV and a stack of books. Pam and Victoria were both friendly and helpful.

The apartment was a great base to explore the North Fork. It's an easy walk into town, with a good selection of restaurants available. We liked the Frisky Oyster, the Blue Canoe on the waterfront and the old-fashioned Coronet diner. It was also a short walk to the train station if you were to arrive by train. There is a quiet little beach in walking distance, and a couple of beach chairs in the closet. Or it's easy to reach one of the many other beaches by car, or explore the wineries, farmstands and surrounding towns.

Greenport won't suit you if you're looking for activity centres, bustling nightlife or sights to see. But it suited us perfectly as a small town we could explore, and a place to relax and watch the world go by.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Tastefully decorated village home for less than the price of a hotel suite
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p318061vb
+39 335-232309
Greenport North Fork
5

Charming, tasteful, lovely home!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Jun-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
My boyfriend and I rented this charming home for a weekend getaway in greenport. Pam was easy to get in touch with, very friendly and made us feel quite welcome.
The house itself is charming, very tastefully decorated and didn't feel like a "rental" at all. The eclectic blend of lovely antiques and quality furnishings were obviously picked with great love and exceptional taste. The home has a bright, warm, and relaxing quality. It was impeccably clean and fully stocked with all the essentials and much more (coffee press, book classics, everything you could ever need to cook with, lots of hooks for towels, drying racks for wet bathing suits, magazines, soft towels, quality hand soaps, citronella candles, etc...).
The location is perfect. It's a 2 minute walk to a private little beach and a 3 minute walk to front street. The front porch swing was a lovely feature and the high row of privet hedges make you feel nice and secluded. The barbecue worked great for our stuffed lobsters as did everything in this adorable home. The bed and linens were very comfortable and the blinds and curtains did a nice job in keeping out the sunshine and letting us sleep in a little later than usual.
We wouldn't hesitate to return to this home and highly recommend it. We've done some extensive traveling and for the price- you just can't find the space and amenities that you got here anywhere else in greenport. It was a great weekend!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Tastefully decorated village home for less than the price of a hotel suite
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p318061vb
+39 335-232309
Greenport North Fork
Bay Shore, NY
5

Fall in Greenport

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 27-Sep-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
Beautiful historic home with charming decor and great location! Excellent spot for a visiting the vineyards & enjoying Greenport. Sipping coffee on the front porch....having lunch outdoors in the yard...walking to the beach to collect shells...a perfect getaway! Couldn't have picked a better place to celebrate an anniversary. Already looking forward to our next stay!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tastefully decorated village home for less than the price of a hotel suite
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p318061vb
+39 335-232309
Greenport North Fork
Sound Beach NY
5

Relaxing getaway

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 03-Jul-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
Surprised my boyfriend with a weekend getaway to Greenport. The house was just right. Loved it's charm. Perfect distance to town. Would stay again in the near future. Pam was our contact and she was wonderful. She always answered what ever questions I had.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you to Greenport in the future.
business
Tastefully decorated village home for less than the price of a hotel suite
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p318061vb
+39 335-232309
Greenport North Fork
New York, NY
5

Lovely and relaxing weekend at a well-kept, clean home

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 29-May-2012
  • Date of Stay: May 2012
We are a young family of three and stayed here for three nights and four days during the Memorial Day weekend. Although the house description states "no children", the owner was flexible and allowed us to stay there (we made sure we kept the place tidy and respected the house as our own).

The house is a lovely, well-kept home with a very large bedroom, charming kitchen and bathroom. The house was very comfortable and well stocked with supplies. We really enjoyed sitting out on the porch in the afternoons; having a picnic lunch in the garden; and relaxing and reading in the sitting room. The house is perfectly located. It's in a very quiet neighborhood but still centrally located. It is less than 10 minute walk to the train station, Jitney bus stop and the town center. Also, it's about 15 minutes away from the beach. We walked to the town center often for lunch and dinner (Greenport has some fabulous restaurants in town!). Our daughter also enjoyed the carousel in town.

Pam, who was our contact (we did not meet the owner), was professional and friendly. She responded promptly when we inquired about the house and was very efficient when we were working with her to get the lease. Since the house was in a great condition, we didn't have any need to contact her during our stay. When we had any questions, Pam was able to answer all of our question. She also gave some suggestions for local eateries, which were fantastic!

One downside was that we weren't able to connect to wifi in the house. But, it was nice and relaxing for us to "unplug" for the weekend.

We really enjoyed our stay here and I would recommend this place.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you stay again. Victoria and Pam
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tastefully decorated village home for less than the price of a hotel suite
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p318061vb
+39 335-232309
Greenport North Fork
New York City
1

IF YOU VALUE YOUR PRECIOUS VACATION TIME, DO NOT RENT THIS HOUSE!!!

  • 1 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Apr-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2011
The owner lives in Milan, Italy and there is no one to help when things go wrong! Despite the lease referring to a "designated agent" there is no designated agent. The "real estate agent" that takes your money is not available, despite what she claims before she has your money. We rented for 5 days on 4th of July weekend 2011. We were supposed to be given a walk through and inspection upon arrival. The agent was instead on a boat and couldn't be bothered to meet us. The next day she woke us up asking for the security. She didn't have the security until Sunday because she chose not to do her job when we arrived. By the way the security has to be in cash or money order because you're never going to see her again. Another agent from the real estate office tried to show the house WHILE WE WERE RENTING without the curtesy of asking permission or notice!!! The ancient refrigerator did not work properly and it was 90 degrees! The vacuum is a taped together. Food spoiled, white wine was tepid. When we informed the real estate agent NOTHING was done. Her excuse was that she was in Rhode Island. We had to leave 2 days early. The owner refused to refund those 2 days AND kept our security deposit. The owner nor agent (after getting our money) ever dealt with us ethically. Our only recouse was to sue in small claims court. The owner countersued against us to no avail. In court, the real estate agent said she was not the "designated agent" the lease refers to and there was no designated agent. She said the owner refused to refund anything including security. We have rented in Cape Cod, East Hampton, and Montauk via VRBO...we have rented homes for the past 20 years with absolutely no issues. BELIEVE ME THIS IS NOT THE EXPERIENCE YOU WANT ON YOUR VACATION. IF YOU VALUE YOUR PRECIOUS VACATION TIME, DO NOT RENT THIS HOUSE!!!
Owner's Response: NEGATIVE REVIEW FROM ANGRY TENANT FOLLOWING LOSS OF LAWSUIT Tenant who claims to be an unsuspecting and duped tenant is a licensed NY state lawyer who signed the rental contract (her partner, also a licensed NY state lawyer signed as well) and then, acting in bad faith, breached the terms, attempted to sue me and lost the lawsuit - so now she's angry. Her claims are entirely untrue, which we proved with concrete evidence (films and photographs) in a court of law. Tenant believed that as a lawyer she could get out of abiding by the terms and pay nothing - she smoked in the house (smoking is prohibited) leaving cigarette butts distributed within, she arrived with 2 large and very hairy and dirty dogs which resulted in hours of cleaning (she tried to get out of paying cleaning fees), she was discovered with 3 people in the house (the rental agreement clearly states no more than 2 people), and she tried to dodge my agent who came several times to collect the deposit. In addition, she woke up the neighbors (my home is in a very tranquil neighborhood)at 3AM by being drunk and disorderly and screaming obscenities. Needless to say, the Tenant has precedents with creating problems with rental properties - evidence of which I found by googling her! Please see previous reviews for honest and valid points of view on the charm and cleanliness of my home. Needless to say, all my appliances are new. Thank you for taking the time to hear our response. Victoria and Pam
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Tastefully decorated village home for less than the price of a hotel suite
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p318061vb
+39 335-232309
Greenport North Fork
Glasgow, Scotland, UK
5

Beautiful home in Greenport

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 22-Jun-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2011
We stayed in the ground floor apartment of this two storey home in Greenport in early June 2011. The home is delightful. The property was as described in the advert, Nicely decorated in a rural/ nautical theme and comfortably furnished. There is a driveway to park your car off the street, althoug it is a quiet suburban street so parking isn't an issue!

The house is on Fourth Street is within easy walking distance of the centre of Greenport if you want to enjoy a glass of wine before or during dinner. Its easiest to cuit across the railroad tracks past the North Ferry and along the nicely landscaped waterfront. Plenty of nice places to eat in town withion 5 / 10 minutes stroll. There's a market in the town and the Farmers Market on Saturday is terrific. North Fork Oyster Company was great and the barman (Sean) terrific. Noah's is good too as was Vine. There was a Mexican place nearby that had terrififc margaritas and a good pizza take out.

We ate in a few times as the kitchen is a delight. Fresh seafood is a drive out of town toe the Southold Fish Market. There seemed to be nowhere in town to buy fresh fish and the market (surprisingly) didn't stock any.

Pam is very attentive and lives locally so any issue are sorted quickly. Not that we had any the only one was we couldnt find the bin for rubbish! It was in the (locked) garage.

Greenport is a great spot for visiting the winderies on the North Fork, the wines of which we were very pleasantly suprised at the quality!

VIsit the wineries during the week (Monday to Thursday) as they get very busy at the weekends. We'd recommend Shinn Estates, Harbes and Vineyard 48, on Rt 48. Raphael, Bedell, and Corey Creek on Rt 25. Visit the Lavende Farm at East Marion on your way to Oreint Point.

Shelter Island is a short ferry ride away. You can take the car or go on foot as Shelter Island Heights is about 5 minutes walk from the ferry. The Hamptons is only about 1/2 hour away (via Shelter Island). Go there and you'll see why you decided to stay in Greenport.

However if you're a party animal you might find Greenport a wee bit quiet, but after a week in New York City we thought it was idyllic.

We'd definintely recommend you check out Greenport and the North Fork. It was a pleasant suprise to us and will be to you too!
.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Tastefully decorated village home for less than the price of a hotel suite
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p318061vb
+39 335-232309
Greenport North Fork
Milan, Italy
5

Literary Dream House

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 17-Sep-2010
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2010
Images of writers sitting at the writing desk in the bedroom downstairs were conjured up immediately as I wandered into the room at the beginning of my weekend stay. Little did I realise how beautifully charming this unassuming quasi beach front home was when I initially booked. The entire house has been lovingly rennovated, providing a delightful escape from politics, business and NYC. During summer evenings, cool ocean breezes carry the day's activities as calming memories. The beach, which is only a block away, is sandy and delightfully isolated. To respond to the questions for the requisite information, the listing description is entirely accurate and the photos understate the atmosphere of the house. The property has been scrupulously maintained. I definitely recommend this gem as a hidden get-away for the weekend or for a week.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3