Stowe cabin rental - Goldilocks Cabin: Romantic getaway
Goldilocks Cabin: Romantic getaway
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday cabin in Stowe - Goldilocks Cabin
Vermont Cabin Rental: Rustic Luxury 1 BR + Loft Sleeps 5

Goldilocks cabin is a cozy retreat for a romantic getaway, and ideal for small families as well. The cabin is on 4 wooded acres, but just 1 mile from Stowe village, eight miles to Mt. Mansfield and skiing, and just a few miles to the Pinnacle, one of the most spectacular hikes in Vermont.

Goldilocks cabin is well appointed with Black Forest and French antiques, hand loomed rugs, and antler chandeliers--the perfect combination of rustic and luxury. The piping hot wood stove and the chiming cuckoo clock make this cabin a cozy retreat after a day of hiking or skiing. The large master bedroom has an antique four poster bed, complete with a sumptuous mattress, and a sitting alcove with a sleeper sofa. The sleeping loft (a favorite of older children) is accessed by a ladder and has a full size bed. There is a sleeper sofa in the living room as well. The cabin has two decks and a gas barbecue. Goldilocks is pet-friendly. Well behaved, approved pets are always welcome.

Guests often mention our attention to detail as one of the many reasons this cabin exceeded their expectations. Goldilocks cabin is just right.

Amenities: Wifi, well appointed kitchen with dishwasher, microwave oven, coffee maker and a gas stove. Dining area seats 6. Laundry room with washer and dryer. Wood stove. Television. CD player, VCR. Two decks, barbecue,and mud room for ski storage. Approved pets OK.

Activities: Minutes from skiing, miles of snow-shoeing, and cross country skiing, biking, hiking, fishing. Close to town and shopping. Six restaurants within a two mile drive. Great antiquing around Stowe, Farmer's market. Burlington is a 35 mile drive.

Area: One mile from Stowe village. On 4 acres. Close to shopping, restaurants, hiking, skiing.

More Details
Hide Details

I am an interior designer, living on Nantucket Island. In 2003 I worked for a design firm with an office in Stowe. When my employer made Stowe her year-round home, she offered to sell me her ski cabin, turn key, so she could purchase something larger. It was an offer I couldn't refuse—and one I have never regretted. Goldilocks cabin is just right. I have many happy memories there.

Jill purchased this cabin in 2003

We fell in love with Stowe, and with Goldilocks cabin.

29 Reviews of Property 312906 in Stowe, USA

Romantic Cabin: On 4 acres, wood stove, 1 mile from Stowe. 1 Bdrm + Loft
average rating of 4.909091 based on 29 reviews
business
Romantic Cabin: On 4 acres, wood stove, 1 mile from Stowe. 1 Bdrm + Loft
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p312906
+1 228-9598
Stowe Stowe Area
Lake Charles, LA, USA
4

Goldilocks got it right!

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 15-Oct-2008
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2008
Cute as a button and comfortable as you can get....very cozy. Best nap I've had in years. Great location for doing absolutely nothing! or, close enough to 3 different ski resorts to ski your life away!!

If you've never rented a property before you really should try this one. Great place, great owner, great...Go ahead. Take the 'plunge' and rent this one now before it is all booked up.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Romantic Cabin: On 4 acres, wood stove, 1 mile from Stowe. 1 Bdrm + Loft
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p312906
+1 228-9598
Stowe Stowe Area
Salisbury, NC, USA
5

So Wonderful ... We Just Can't Stay Away!!!

So Wonderful ... We Just Can't Stay Away!!!
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 07-Feb-2014
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2013
There's nothing else I can add to all the glowing reviews of Goldilocks. It is everything everyone has said ... comfortable, homey, lovely, well equipped, etc. We drive from North Carolina with our Old English Sheepdog just to stay in Stowe at Goldilocks Cottage. It keeps drawing us back! Once you stay there, it makes such an impression on you that you don't want to stay anywhere else! You walk in, and it feels like home again. Jill, the owner, is the epitome of professional and helpful! The combination is unbeatable. If you read this, Jill .. thank you for making Goldilocks available to the rest of us AND our furkids.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Cabin: On 4 acres, wood stove, 1 mile from Stowe. 1 Bdrm + Loft
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p312906
+1 228-9598
Stowe Stowe Area
5

Idyllic cottage close to everything

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 29-Jan-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2014
This is a beautiful little cottage in the town of Stowe that is convenient and comfortable. The interior is cozy, romantic and welcoming and it has every amenity you could every need including the custom soap branded to the cottage. Our family cherished our time here and as a bonus our goldendoodle Molly was welcome and loved it as well. This is a place to come back to for our family.
business
Romantic Cabin: On 4 acres, wood stove, 1 mile from Stowe. 1 Bdrm + Loft
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p312906
+1 228-9598
Stowe Stowe Area
5

Great place

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 14-Jan-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2014
There for a conference in Stowe. Cabin was very homey and in a great location. Would definitely stay again if visiting Stowe!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Cabin: On 4 acres, wood stove, 1 mile from Stowe. 1 Bdrm + Loft
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p312906
+1 228-9598
Stowe Stowe Area
5

Cozy, sweet & so comfortable

Cozy, sweet & so comfortable
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 05-Jan-2014
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2013
I've stayed at Goldilocks a few times over the past few years during different seasons. It's simply a great place, great location and cozy. It's not to big or to small, just right and love being there. Nice kitchen and outside grill, big yard, beautiful view and I really appreciate not having to go out for every meal & enjoy dinner on the back deck. Skiing at Stowe is my favorite, we also snow shoe & xcountry- so there's something for everyone. Highly Recommended.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic Cabin: On 4 acres, wood stove, 1 mile from Stowe. 1 Bdrm + Loft
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p312906
+1 228-9598
Stowe Stowe Area
ocean city, nj
5

Wonderful cabin for Stowe adventures

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 27-Dec-2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2013
We looked at many lodging options when we were planning our pre christmas escape. we are a family of four and it was very tough to coordinate all of our plans for a short vacation(2 adult kids and my wife and i) Jill was very helpful in coordinating our stay at Goldilocks. She was very helpful with our last minute plan and arranged a meeting with her caretaker to brief us on the house and the town. The cabin is bigger than it appears on the site and is well stocked for home cooking. the heat can certainly handle those cold stowe nights The beds were all very comfortable. The location feels remote, but you are actually only moments away from town.
We run a bed and breakfast and Jill has done a great job of making certain all the details have been covered.
Thanks for the home away from home,

john, sharon, alex and maddie
business
Romantic Cabin: On 4 acres, wood stove, 1 mile from Stowe. 1 Bdrm + Loft
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p312906
+1 228-9598
Stowe Stowe Area
Atlanta, GA
5

Perfect!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 03-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
Although it is difficult to add anything new to the glowing reports previously submitted, I do want to add my name to the multiple 5-star reviews already posted. This cabin is such a gem. We felt "at home" immediately when we entered, even though we had endured a long weather delay in our flight from Atlanta and didn't arrive until midnight. The housekeeper had kindly left a porch light on for us and when we walked in, we knew we had made a great choice for our stay. After a long refreshing sleep in the wonderfully comfortable bed, we arose refreshed and ready to explore Vermont. We did lots of sightseeing in our week long visit, but a true highlight was returning to the cottage for a relaxing evening. There is nothing spared to make a guest feel welcome, from the cute little bear soaps in the bathroom to the packets of coffee for breakfast.
One note.....even though the cottage is only about a mile from Stowe, walking into town would not be advisable, due to the busy road out front without sidewalks. However, the peace and quiet of the cottage compared to the traffic and din of busy Stowe is a good trade-off! Although this little place is perfect for a couple or a family with older children (comfortable bed in the loft) it might not be a good choice for families with toddlers due to the steep ladder up to the loft, the wood-burning stove, and lots of breakables, which add to the charm of the place, but are not "kid proof". For us, though, it was perfection, and I hope we can get back to visit again someday.
Finally, the owner, Jill Evarts, is wonderful to work with. You communicate directly with her, not an agency, and she is very prompt in getting back to you via email with any questions.
business
Romantic Cabin: On 4 acres, wood stove, 1 mile from Stowe. 1 Bdrm + Loft
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p312906
+1 228-9598
Stowe Stowe Area
5

Just right...

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 29-Jun-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
My husband and I went to Stowe for our honeymoon. The cabin was welcoming and friendly. The landscaping was beautiful and serene. The surrounding area has a lot of great hiking and summer activities. I would recommend this cabin for anyone looking to escape to the mountains for a nice stay.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Romantic Cabin: On 4 acres, wood stove, 1 mile from Stowe. 1 Bdrm + Loft
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p312906
+1 228-9598
Stowe Stowe Area
5

The Perfect Vermont Getaway

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 15-Mar-2013
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2013
The cabin was absolutely perfect. The attention to detail was unbelievable. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. The ski conditions on Monday were wonderful and we had so much fun. Tuesday it rained hard, but we still spent a few hours on the mountain. Each night we went into Burlington, which was a beautiful little town. I'm hoping to attend the University of Vermont School of Medicine, so it was a pleasure to finally see it in person. The shopping by Stowe and in the surrounding area was everything we hoped for; many handmade goods and amazing food produced locally. It was such a different world than NJ and we hope to be back soon. Thanks so much for an amazing vacation.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Romantic Cabin: On 4 acres, wood stove, 1 mile from Stowe. 1 Bdrm + Loft
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p312906
+1 228-9598
Stowe Stowe Area
Canada
5

This one is just right!!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 07-Mar-2013
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2013
This cabin is truly a little gem. Do not hesitate to book, everything is just as you see in the pictures, if not better. Very clean and well stocked with everything you need. The beds are comfortable and the mattresses are great. The wood stove makes it hard to leave the cabin for outdoor activities. Details made this cabin cozy and you would feel right at home. Close to ski slopes and town.Thank you for sharing it with us. We will go back for sure.