Andros Island cottage rental - Studio deck view of Pleasent Harbour Bay
Studio deck view of Pleasent Harbour Bay
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday cottage in Andros Island - Knoll's Landing
Cottage 2 bedroom 1 bath - Sleeps 5 + another unit Sleep 2 + bath

Knoll's Landing Bonefishing & Family Hide-Away

We are located in Pleasant Harbour, North Andros, Bahamas.

If you are looking for a Secluded location for Family & Fly-Fishing groups, you found the right place. We are only 10 minutes by Flats Boat to The World Famous Joulter Cays. These shallow Flats are the home to schools of Bonefish, Permit & Tarpon. It's the best Fly-fishing in the Bahamas with it's miles of flats & crystal clear waters.

If snorkeling & diving is what you are looking for, we have it all.

The accommodations are clean, well appointed with very thing you need for a great vacation.

Rodney Miller better known as 'Andros Angler' will be your Fishing Guide on his 17' Silver King Flats Boat.

He has other boats available for Snorkeling & Deep Sea Fishing.

Here at Knoll's Landing is perfect for Snorkeling on our Reefs, Fishing off our Dock or just Beach combing & Relaxing in the Sun. A wonderful safe place for Children.

Diane Knoll has been living in the Caribbean for most of her life & found Andros to be the best you can find when it comes to all water sports. This beautiful water front Location is truly a spot you don't want to miss. Diane wants to share her Paradise with you. This is a Fabulously Secluded Hide-Away. Come & Enjoy it.

Beautiful Beach, Snorkeling, Fishing & Accommodations. Here in Pleasant Harbour is where you will find 'Knoll's Landing Bonefishing & Family Hide Away' We are known for the most beautiful beach on Andros. Here is where the Bonefish Flats start & the Snorkeling is the very best with our small Reef just in front of our place or walking down to Money Point for Sand Dollars, Seeing shells & Bonefish in the shallow waters is a thrill. Bird watching is really good. Go out to the Golden Cays by boat to a deeper Reef to see Stag-horn Coral reaching up 30 feet from the bottom to surface. All of our boats are up to date & with wonderful guides.

Our accommodations are cozy and pleasing to be in. Furnished with Rattan, open Beam Ceiling keeps it cool with ceiling fans and all Units have AC. Knoll's Landing is beautifully Landscaped on 2 acres of Shoreline with tall Coconut Palms, Casarina, Sea Grapes. The property is filled with Hibiscus & Bougainvillea to name a few to give it its Island Flavor. It's time now for you to come see for yourself and enjoy a bit of Paradise.

For you Devoted Anglers & Non Fisherman: Our Guides will take you by Flats boat to ' The Famous Joulter Cays' & 'Bonefish World'. There you will find miles of Flats with Bonefish, Tarpon & Permit. The vastness of the Flats is unbelievable with schools of fish and only min's away. After a day out on the Flats you can wade out in our Bay & keep on fishing or catch a Mutton Snapper off our dock. - Our Place is wonderful for you Non-Fisherman with all it's beauty. We offer snorkeling on our small Reef just in front or walking the empty white sand beach down to 'Money Point' for sand dollars & shelling. Go bird watching down our back road to 'Still Water Bay'. There are day when the Dolphins & Turtles come into our Bay. You will also see large Star Fish & sometimes Rays. Kayaking on Crystal clear smooth water is a favorite pastime for our guest or just chilling In the evenings sipping your favorite cocktail at Sun Set on the dock with the cool Bahama breeze.. Once you are here you'll never want to leave.

Amenities & Activities: Fresh Fish, Conch & Lobsters available daily. Boats with Guide upon request for Fly fishing on 17' Silver King Flats Boats, 15' Boston Whaler (for snorkeling trips) All boats in the water in front of Knoll's Landing. Your Guide & Captain Rodney Miller will be happy to teach you how to tie Fly's along with learning how to Fly-fish for those Gray Ghost know as Bonefish. There are tours available upon request for hire to visit some of our local attractions like the Blue Holes (fresh water swimming), Captain Charlie Morgen's Cave & Red Bay's (known for their straw basket weaving). In Fresh Creek you have Andros print factory. There are Taxi's & Car rentals easily available and we recommend getting one for a day or so. Andros is the largest Island in the Bahamas over 104 miles long & 45 miles wide & lots to see. There are some charming small local restaurants that serve very good Bahamian food. Andros is know as the 'Sleeping Giant'. not a commercial Island at all, but yet you can get a lot of fresh grown veggies here in our winter months.

More Details
Hide Details

I'm Diane Knoll and I have lived here on Andros Island for 26 years. Moved from St John USVI, Florida & Ct.

I then found this Bay of Pleasant Harbour with its beautiful white sand beach and fell in love with it.. Great swimming, diving, fishing and wonderful people.

I have been a sailing gal for most of my life.

Diane Knoll purchased this cottage in 1989

This Property is the most beautiful location on Andros

with its beautiful white sand beach & great fishing.

26 Reviews of Property 360053 in Andros Island, Bahamas

Fly Fishing & Family Hide-Away - Lovely Secluded Location
average rating of 4.7619047 based on 26 reviews
business
Fly Fishing & Family Hide-Away - Lovely Secluded Location
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360053vbi
+1-242 329-2039
Andros Island Bahamas
Louisiana
5

Apartment Rental

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 03-Nov-2008
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2007
this is our favorite bonefishing destination. The fishing is fantastic, the hosts are wonderful and the enviroment is beautiful.

This is a great destination for dedicated fisherman.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Theda Is a World Class Winner on Flyfishing for Woman. She and her husband Jack have been coming to us for years to fish the Joulter Cays & Bonefish World here on the North End of Andros Island. Boy, does she know how to catch them Big Bones on a Fly & Jack is right up with her...We always look forward to their return. Our best wishes go out to them always with Love,
Diane & Rodney
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Fly Fishing & Family Hide-Away - Lovely Secluded Location
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360053vbi
+1-242 329-2039
Andros Island Bahamas
Owner Submitted Review
0

Great Vacation beautiful weather

  • Review Submitted: 23-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
Diane & Rodney - Thank you both for opening up your home, sharing your love of Andros and being such gracious & wonderful host. Our week here has been nothing short of amazing -from snorkeling, fishing, catching crawfish & talking with both of you! Thank you for the tours of town, exploring the Blue Holes & the local Festival. We are truely Blessed to share these moments & memories with such amazing & selfless people. We look forward to many more vacations at Knoll's landing - We will see you both next fall..Love to you both, God Bless, Angela & Scott
business
Fly Fishing & Family Hide-Away - Lovely Secluded Location
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360053vbi
+1-242 329-2039
Andros Island Bahamas
Oregon
5

Fabulous Week for Flyfishing and Family Fun

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 04-Apr-2013
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2013
We chose this rental on Andros Island for our three-generation family of six because it offered close proximity to excellent bonefishing for our two flyfishers, a beautiful setting in a protected bay with a close-in reef for our 8 and 11 year old grandchildren to snorkel, interesting and varied habitat for all of us to explore, and a quiet, private location for relaxing. Our accommodations included the two bedroom cottage plus a lovely studio with a kingsize bed and an amazing bathroom with a view of the ocean for us grandparents. We shared the kitchen in the cottage.

What made the week so fantastic was the friendly, attentive care that our hosts extended to our family. Diane was always available to help with anything we needed from extra groceries to a trip to the "blue hole in the ocean" at Conch Sound. Since we did not rent a car for the week, her help in these areas was incalculable. Captain Rodney provided excellent guide service for several fishing trips to Joulters Cay. Both Diane and Rodney were full of interesting stories about Andros and its fascinating history and culture. In addition to our adventures with them, we found plenty to do within walking distance of Knoll's Landing, including snorkeling in the bay, swimming at Money Point, birding in the estuary, and exploring the beach and nearby ponds. After a week, we felt like family. We highly recommend Knoll's Landing for serious flyfishers and, especially, for those who want to bring along non-fishing members of the family. It was a perfect choice for us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: This Family was a delight. The Children were so sweet & had so much fun on the beach and in the water. They swam in an Ocean Blue Hole just off shore and saw so many beautiful fish, just couldn't believe it to be so exciting. Their grandson catch his first Bonefish with his grand-dad, what a thrill. The Lady's did a lot of Bird watching with the children over 45 different species in and around our place. We Loved having them with us and hope to see they back again.
Our very best regards to a wonderful Family.
business
Fly Fishing & Family Hide-Away - Lovely Secluded Location
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360053vbi
+1-242 329-2039
Andros Island Bahamas
Owner Submitted Review
0

Recommendation - Great Fishing & Accommodations

Recommendation - Great Fishing & Accommodations
  • Review Submitted: 24-Nov-2012
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2012
Steve Francis has endorsed your work as Owner - Diane Knoll at Knoll's Landing Bonefishing & Family Hide-Away.
Dear Diane,
I've written this recommendation of your opperation to share with other Guest.
Recommendation: "Diane runs one of the best places I've ever stayed at in the islands. Her and Rodney run and guide a top rate bone fishing opperation on Andros Island. It's rare when you get a chance to meet people like this. It's not just a vacation destination, they've become close friends. I highly recomend Knolls Landing" I return each year for great Bonefishing. See you again in March 2013.
My first Year was in 2008 Qualities: Personable, Good Value, High Integrity.
Thanks to Diane & Rodney
Steve "Fly"
business
Fly Fishing & Family Hide-Away - Lovely Secluded Location
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360053vbi
+1-242 329-2039
Andros Island Bahamas
Tri-Cities, Washington
4

Knoll's Landing

Knoll's Landing
  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 10-Jan-2011
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2010
Correction: The flight was $300 one way for FIVE of us, or $60 each, from Nassau Airport to the airport on North Andros for our stay on North Andros Island. Sea kayaks, enough to fit three people, are also available at Knolls's Landing, as are two adult and one child's bicycle. When the weather allows, which is most of the time, Rodney provides bonefishing guide services. His boat is on-site. Diane arranged the flights and taxi. She knows the the best restaurants and sights. We even got discounts because of her presence!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fly Fishing & Family Hide-Away - Lovely Secluded Location
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360053vbi
+1-242 329-2039
Andros Island Bahamas
San Francisco Bay Area, California, USA
4

Total Seclusion in Paradise (with WiFi)!

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 10-Jan-2011
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2010
My family of five (parents, grandparents, grandson) just returned from a 5-night stay in the cottage just after Christmas 2010. Diane's beautiful property is right on the beach. It is located on a long, rutted dirt road, 10 miles from the nearest settlement. The cottage is nicely furnished and decorated with a nautical theme. We are not bonefishermen (and it was too windy during our stay to even try), but we found plenty of activities to keep us occupied: walks on the beach, a long bike ride to Nichols Town, snorkeling, book reading, scuba diving at Forfar Field Station (C-card or prior resort course required).

Diane is a fantastic host. She and Rodney live in the house between the rental units. She is almost always accessible and she will do her best to make your stay enjoyable. She will arrange the flights from Nassau for you ($300 each way), as well as the taxi from the airport to/from her home ($40). She gave us a local cell phone to use during our stay. She also gave us a wonderful tour of North Andros in her minivan one afternoon. She has lived on the island for over 20 years. She will recommend things to do and places to go.

Helpful Notes: You should read Frommers' online description of Andros before your book, so you know what to expect. Andros is authentic Bahamas, which means it is underdeveloped. You should expect to spend most of your time relaxing in and out of the water. The property is very secluded. If you want to snorkel elsewhere, go diving, or even eat at a local restaurant, you will need to rent a car ($80/day for a car in average condition). Diane will arrange the rental car for you. Gas is $5/gallon. The "bedrooms" in the cottage are really sleeping alcoves. If your family desires more privacy, consider renting the studio and upstairs apartment instead. Water is supplied from a cistern. Hurricanes ruined the underground well years ago. You will be asked to conserve water. The kitchen is very well supplied. There are several grocery stores on the island. Expect to pay at least 75% more than you would in the States. Liquor and non-US wine, however, are inexpensive on island. We filled a suitcase with dry/canned goods, cheese, salami, and frozen meats. We only purchased milk, yogurt, eggs, and fresh fruits/vegetables on the island. The cottage has WiFi, an old TV, and a DVD player. Diane has one satellite receiver, so you watch what she watches. The cottage has a small, but well-stocked library.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fly Fishing & Family Hide-Away - Lovely Secluded Location
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360053vbi
+1-242 329-2039
Andros Island Bahamas
Nassau Bahamas
2

Not worth the Money

  • 2 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 30-Jun-2010
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2010
We have just returned from 4 days in the upstairs apartment at this resort.

It was impossible to stay in the apartment between the hours of 2-7pm because of the intense heat, due to the inability of the air conditioner to cope with the lack of insulation in the roof.
This, combined with the request to take 'one, one minute shower per day, the hard pillows and no change of toweld made our stay far from satisfactory

Leonard and Christina Smith
Helpful votes: 4/7
business
Fly Fishing & Family Hide-Away - Lovely Secluded Location
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360053vbi
+1-242 329-2039
Andros Island Bahamas
Island Lake, Illinois, USA
5

Bones and More!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 17-Nov-2008
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2008
This was my 3rd time at Knoll's Landing, and it won't be my last. I have fished several Bahamian islands, and for the bonefish and ambiance, Knoll's Landing is tops. Rodney, the head guide, lives on the premises and his beautifully maintained skiff is moored right off the beach. No long car rides trailering the boat to the water. You're out the door, on board, and on fish fast. Rodney really knows his stuff, and loves being out there. He's a great guy, very patient, and has unbelieveable vision. I've watched him spot schooling bones (not tailing or mudding) at 300 yards. No exaggeration. Diane, the owner, is a kind and wonderful host. She's always available, and wants your stay to be perfect. She's a wealth of local info and has spent most of her life on the water. Her place is beautiful and relaxing. My kids and wife love exploring the beach and snorkeling offshore. Diane and Rodney have become dear friends and I can't wait to go back. A fantastic place.
Pat Illinois
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We love This Family & look forward to there return. Pat & Steve his Fishing buddy's keep coming back for more of those Big Bonefish. They are booked again in April 2009 for more Fishing & Fun in the Sun.
Thanks to people like them it makes this world a better place to live in. Diane & Rodney
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fly Fishing & Family Hide-Away - Lovely Secluded Location
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360053vbi
+1-242 329-2039
Andros Island Bahamas
Medfield, Ma.
5

Guestbook Comment

Knolls Landing Bonefishing & Family Resort with Rodney Miller Your Bonefish Guide Andros Angler I am back home in the Boston area it is not ...
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 26-Apr-2008
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2008
Knolls Landing Bonefishing & Family Resort with Rodney Miller Your Bonefish Guide Andros Angler


I am back home in the Boston area it is not much over 40 degrees and I can't quite believe that 48 hours ago I was still enjoying the sunshine of N. Andros and the temp was well over 80.
This was my first trip to Andros and although not my first attempt at bonefish it was about 14 years since I last made a cast to one of those beautiful fish. I hope I get back there soon.
I made arrangements to fish with Rodney Miller the head guide at Knoll's landing. Knolls landing, near Morgan's Bluff is a short 20 minute run to the Joulters. Rodney was a pleasure to fish with. He was confident and knowledgeable and within a few minutes of wading our first flat I was fast to a seriously big bone. About 200 feet into my backing something happened and the fish was off. For the next 3 hours Rodney regularly spotted fish and I regularly muffed the cast the wind was nasty tangled my line or pulled the fly out of the fishes mouth.
After a quick lunch we moved to Rodney's sweet spot a flat he fishes often that is a bit more protected from the wind. Fish were a bit harder to come by but his eyes were great and I had few more good shots hooked and lost another big fish 7 or 8 lbs. then FINALLY made a good cast and landed a beauty. The silly legs gotchas I had tied seem really effective. At times I saw fish trying to beat each other to the fly. I do not know how many miles of flats we walked but I was pretty well exhausted by 4:00PM when we headed in. Rondey worked his butt off to get me on fish and was patient with my bungling.
Had I had my wits about me and if the wind was lighter I feel that I should have had at least 8 or 10 good fish. But, the shear beauty of those flats the sun the clouds and the little lemon sharks cursing around made it a day I will long remember.
Another highlight of the trip was just hanging out with Rodney at his base at Knolls landing. Big bonefish regularly cruise the tiny flat right in front of the lodge in a couple of hours we saw and cast to 6 or 7 fish.
I did get out on my own a couple of times on flats near where I was staying and I did land another bonefish but it was nothing like having the benefit of a guides great eyes backing me up.

bluangler
Medfield Ma.
Owner's Response: It was great spending time with Larry and his new wife Rebecca. She is an amazing woman. We had a fabulous time together while Rodney and Larry where out fishing. Larry has been a perfectional photgraph and is now retired just loving his time traveling and finding great fishing spots around the world. He took some wonderful photos and we will be posting them soon.
Our kindest regards to the both of them in there new life together. Looking forward to seeing them back again for more good times.
Diane & Rodney
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fly Fishing & Family Hide-Away - Lovely Secluded Location
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p360053vbi
+1-242 329-2039
Andros Island Bahamas
New Jersey/Colorado
5

Bonefish Paradise!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 19-Feb-2008
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2008
Our vacation at Knoll's Landing was perfect for bone fishing. The cottage was really just steps from the flats and beautiful clear water making the location exactly what we wanted. The property is clean and well maintained.
It is important to note that it is a must to bring food and be prepared to cook all meals. The owner and guide are absolutely WONDERFUL and both live on site always ready to help with everything. they make us feel like family!
If you are not a fisherman (or fisherwoman) this is the place to relax-no shopping or distractions not too many places to eat out. We LOVED it and hope to go back again as soon as we can!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words. We so enjoyed your company and had so much fun together.
Rodney really enjoyed Bonefishing with the fellows out on the flats. Looking forward to your return. Kind regards, Diane and Rodney
Helpful votes: 2/2