Hollywood house rental - Make yourself at home, stretch out your feet
Make yourself at home, stretch out your feet
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday home in Hollywood - Hollywood Hills Paradise
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 5)

EXPERIENCE THE HOLLYWOOD LIFESTYLE and relax with 180 degree canyon and city views. The creative ambience has inspired artists to write scripts and compose music for the Hollywood industry. You can count Justin Timberlake, Charlize Theron, Will Ferrell and a few others as your famous neighbors. The property is surrounded by tropical gardens and flower beds atop the prestigious Hollywood Hills. Indoor/outdoor flow. Sun drenched. Secluded patio. Peaceful. Hard to believe that this hidden paradise is only a stones throw from where the action is: 5 minutes to HOLLYWOOD BOWL (open-air concerts). 6 min to UNIVERSAL STUDIOS. 7 min to KODAK THEATRE (Academy Awards), WALK OF FAME and NIGHTLIFE. Visit FARMER'S MARKET, GALLERIES, RESTAURANTS + MUSEUMS. 20 min to shop on RODEO DRIVE, 45 min to swim in the PACIFIC or hike in RUNYON CANYON which is in walking distance and enjoy the most breathtaking views of all of LA!

Sighting Stars + activities in Hollywood: Experience multinational cuisine:

More Details
Hide Details

I am a European Journalist who has been covering Hollywood for over 30 years. I fell in love with LA and have made it my glorious home. My life and privilege has been to interview and learn from every major Hollywood talent: their dreams, ups and downs, successes and failures...the reality of Hollywood. I have been visited by Catherine Zeta-Jones to Arnold Schwarzenegger to Kurt Russell just to name a few. My property has been used for fashion shoots and as movie locations. To me Los Angeles means sunshine, blue wide-open sky, diversity of people, natural wonders, individuality, unimaginable cuisine and 'sky's the limit' attitude. What I love about my property is the location; from here you can quickly be anywhere the action is in minutes...or just enjoying a serene day on top of the world.

Frances purchased this house in 1975

As soon as I came to Los Angeles my dream was to live on Mulholland Drive, which is for me as historic as a cathedral would be in a town in Europe. MULHOLLAND DRIVE is a painting by David Hockney. KING OF THE MOUNTAIN was a fictional movie with Dennis Hopper, Harry Hamlin and Dan Haggerty loosely based on actual Mulholland Drive racers. The films MULHOLLAND DRIVE and MULHOLLAND FALLS were named after the road. Video games GRAND THEFT AUTO and MIDNIGHT CLUB features Mulholland Drive. R.E.M.'s song ELECTROLITE was inspired by Mulholland Drive and is mentioned. TOM PETTY refers to 'glide down over Mulholland' in the hit song 'FREE FALLIN'. In LOVE AND BASKETBALL Mulholland Drive is referred to during the scene in which Q and Monica meet up outside of her bedroom after the Spring Dance. It marks the street as a dead end where couples go for privacy.

53 Reviews of Property 293597 in Hollywood, USA

Stay Among Stars in a Hollywood Hills Paradise
average rating of 4.9423075 based on 53 reviews
business
Stay Among Stars in a Hollywood Hills Paradise
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p293597
+ (323) 316-0310 (California, USA)
Hollywood Los Angeles area
5

property is as listed...tasteful and comfortable

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 16-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2014
This guest house was very comfortable for two adults. Tastefully decorated with a huge film library, books and dvd's.. It was convenient for traveling around LA yet very quite and private up in the Hollywood Hills. Walking distance to Runyon Canyon was a big plus. Frances was always available via email and greeted us at arrival. I would definitely stay again.
business
Stay Among Stars in a Hollywood Hills Paradise
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p293597
+ (323) 316-0310 (California, USA)
Hollywood Los Angeles area
5

A great place to stay in Hollywood

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 27-Jan-2014
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2013
My mother and I stayed for 12 days. It was perfect for us. Very well equipped for cooking, laundry, etc. the views are great and the cottage has a lovely bright feel. I enjoyed being able to access the Runyon Canyon park for a daily walk or jog. Frances is very hospitable, but totally respects your privacy.
business
Stay Among Stars in a Hollywood Hills Paradise
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p293597
+ (323) 316-0310 (California, USA)
Hollywood Los Angeles area
4

Hollywood Hills

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 07-Jan-2014
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2013
We loved our stay in this Artsy home nestled up in the Hollywood Hills! Very nicely decorated and comfortable. We had a nice patio area to get fresh air and dine outside. The view from the 2nd bedroom patio is gorgeous. I would suggest a swing of some kind of seating in this area to enjoy the view. The Owner was very interesting and friendly! Only one Bathroom to share but it is very nice and roomy. The only downfall was having to go through the main bedroom to get to it. It was a small inconvenience. I would highly recommend staying here. Right off of famous Mulholland Dr. The Views are spectacular!! I even found Justin Timberlakes House !! Thank you Frances for sharing you Guest house.
business
Stay Among Stars in a Hollywood Hills Paradise
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p293597
+ (323) 316-0310 (California, USA)
Hollywood Los Angeles area
5

Hollywood Hills gem

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 05-Jan-2014
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2013
This place is as advertised: large and bright, clean and contemporary. There are some great views (down a canyon on one side and the Hollywood sign from the driveway). It is just minutes up the hill from everything that's happening in Beverly Hills and Hollywood. There is only one bathroom, but the two bedrooms are nearly on opposite ends of the property, so I didn't feel like I was tripping over people. The owner is very accommodating. The property is professionally cleaned.
I took my wife and her parents out for a week, and we all loved it. I can highly recommend this spot.
business
Stay Among Stars in a Hollywood Hills Paradise
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p293597
+ (323) 316-0310 (California, USA)
Hollywood Los Angeles area
Ohio
5

Lovely Hollywood Hills Vacation Home!!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 12-Nov-2013
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2013
We enjoyed a beautiful family reunion with this lovely guesthouse as our home base. The kids all loved the movies and if there were not so much to do in the area, I would have loved to read the many books available.
The pictures accurately convey the light, bright airiness of the home. We just loved returning after a day of fun to relax in this quaint home.
Thank you to our thoughtful hostess, Frances for the hospitality during our stay. We can't wait to return!
business
Stay Among Stars in a Hollywood Hills Paradise
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p293597
+ (323) 316-0310 (California, USA)
Hollywood Los Angeles area
5

What an amazing place!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 07-Nov-2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
This place is simply amazing and Frances is a great host! It was our first experience with vrbo.com and we wanted to make sure to pick the right spot. This little guest house is extremely well located, it took us less than 25 Min to get to most attractions yet it felt like you were miles away from the hustle and bustle of L.A. (which we generally like). One highlight were our daily hikes in Runyon Canyon in the morning (it's a 5 Min walk to get there, we were a little hesitant to walk on Mulholland Drive the first day but the views alone are worth it).

The house itself is very private, there are no shared walls with the main house and it is out of sight too. We felt very safe in this beautiful street, we would leave the windows wide open at night, birds would wake us up in the morning with their singing. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom spacious, there is also plenty of storage space and everything is very clean. Kitchen and bathroom are well equipped, we especially enjoyed the Nespresso coffee maker in the morning. Your personal washer/dryer are outside by the parking spot, even the laundry detergent was conveniently provided. Speaking of parking, the spot was a little tight for the 7 passenger SUV the car rental company persuaded us to accept (driving such a big car in Los Angeles wasn't a lot of fun anyway, however driving and traffic was much less stressful than expected). Just something to keep in mind.

Long story short, this place was absolutely perfect for the two of us and we were extremely sad to leave after just one week. Frances was always available by phone and email. She even was nice enough to share some of her remarkable life story with us and for that we were extremely grateful. We can't wait to go back to this fascinating city and we know for sure there is no better place for us to stay!
business
Stay Among Stars in a Hollywood Hills Paradise
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p293597
+ (323) 316-0310 (California, USA)
Hollywood Los Angeles area
Dallastown Pa
5

Wonderful Hollywood Hills escape

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 30-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
I was traveling to LA with my two best friends to move my daughter into her college dorm. France's place was a welcome retreat amongst all the hustle and bustle of moving! The location is ideal; within minutes we were in the heart of Hollywood and my daughters school. Frances provided everything we needed! We were able to enjoy breakfast every morning at our sunny table, and the view from the garden is breathtaking! I am planning on returning to LA soon, and look forward to staying in France's beautiful guest house! She is an exceptional hostess!
business
Stay Among Stars in a Hollywood Hills Paradise
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p293597
+ (323) 316-0310 (California, USA)
Hollywood Los Angeles area
Sydney
5

Loved this house!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The house is bright & light and very comfortable. There is a king sized bed in the main bedroom, a queen bed in the second bedroom and a fold-out queen size bed in the lounge. The only bathroom is off the main bedroom, however this was never a problem for us. The house is very clean and beautifully decorated - lots of personality! My teenage daughter loved the DVD library and the fact that she had her own DVD player in her bedroom. The location of the house is perfect - up in the Hollywood Hills away from the city, but so close to all the attractions such as Universal Studios, Warner Bros Studios and the Walk of Fame. Thank you Frances, for a very comfortable & relaxed stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stay Among Stars in a Hollywood Hills Paradise
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p293597
+ (323) 316-0310 (California, USA)
Hollywood Los Angeles area
5

Great House in Hollywood

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 30-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
We (a family of 5) stayed in France's terrific house for 4 nights. The house is very well maintained and very well equipped, for a very pleasant, homely stay. The location is superb. Hollywood sign (which you can actually see as you step out), Hollywood blvd., Beverly Hills, the Observatory and Griffith Park, Universal Studios - are all within 15 min. drive. Still, you are in a very quiet location, which enables to wind-down and enjoy at the end of the day. Santa-Monica and Venice are a 30 min. drive away.
Everything you see in the pictures is there and much more, and in truly remarkable shape.
Frances was easy to work with, attentive and nice to speak with.

We will gladly return there and wholeheartedly recommend it !
Thanks Frances.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stay Among Stars in a Hollywood Hills Paradise
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p293597
+ (323) 316-0310 (California, USA)
Hollywood Los Angeles area
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 24-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
My husband and I stayed at this charming place for three nights after looking at MANY places on VRBO. The photos are exactly what you will find. The decor is funky and fun, the place is clean and private, and it's VERY quite. It's located in a prime area in the Hollywood Hills just off Mulholland. The owner, Francis, gave us LOTS of privacy (we didn't even see her until the end of our stay) but was always available via email or phone. We would definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway