City of London Financial District apartment rental - The Lexington building View from City Road. 6th floor corner apartment.
The Lexington building View from City Road. 6th floor corner apartment.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday apartment in City of London Financial District
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Located in the very centre of London, five minutes walk to the city (financial district) and 10 minutes bus ride to the West End (Theatres and entertainment district) Underground train station is just 200 metres. Buses to Oxford circus (shopping) St Pauls Cathedral, Covent Garden and Waterloo (London Eye) depart from the apartment building entrance. There is a security gate with video entry phone and a 24 hour concierge. Why stay in a cramped hotel?

This stunning and spacious apartment was redecorated throughout in March 2009 and is furnished to a high standard with stylish new soft black leather seating and black leather tables and chairs. Polished wood floors throughout. Floor to ceiling windows give superb city views. Private balcony with outdoor furniture. New kitchen appliances. Bathroom with power shower and toilet, Second En-suite bathroom with tub, shower and toilet. Private gym for residents. Close to the fashionable restaurants and bars of Clerkenwell, Shoreditch and Hoxton. Barbican Arts Centre and Museum of London 5 minutes walk. Better than a hotel.

Keywords: 6th floor apartment

More Details
Hide Details

Philip and Derek are in the travel business and often make trips to London for business and cultural events. We decided to buy our own place in central London and to rent it to others when we are not using it. We use it about three or four times a year. We needed a home that was secure and easy to look after with 24 hour 'front desk' service so we could come and go at any time of day or night.

Philip Green purchased this apartment in 2001

This flat was new in 1999 and finished to a high standard. It has wonderful views of the city of London. It is next to Old Street Tube station on the Northern line and has excellent bus services from outside the front door. We never bring a car to London as it is too congested, so easy public transport was important to us. The location is within a short walk of dozens of restaurants, supermarkets, shops, pubs and coffee bars and is close to the trendy night time areas of Clerkenwell, Hoxton and Shoreditch.

Perfect central Location.

Magnificent city views.

Excellent frequent bus service outside the door.

Trendy bars, restaurants and nightlife close by.

Tube station 200 metres.

61 Reviews of Property 272537 in City of London Financial District, United Kingdom

Old Street/City Road. Next to Tube. Free Wi Fi. Balcony/Views.
average rating of 4.9508195 based on 61 reviews
business
Old Street/City Road. Next to Tube. Free Wi Fi. Balcony/Views.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p272537
+1246 417 5873
City of London Financial District London
Kingaroy. Qld. Australia
4

?

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 22-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
Excellent location and views. Property as described with excellent information provided by the owners and the concierge and staff were extremely obliging and helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Old Street/City Road. Next to Tube. Free Wi Fi. Balcony/Views.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p272537
+1246 417 5873
City of London Financial District London
Glen Burnie, MD, USA
5

Wonderful Flat!!!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 23-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
We arrived for 8 days and had fabulous time in London. A big part of the fabulous time was getting to stay at this flat. It was beautiful and perfect for my husband, daughter, MIL and me. There was tons of space and it was decorated beautifully. The view from the balcony was great and our 2nd night there we were treated to a birds eye view of a helicopter, then paratroopers then fireworks not too far away. It was a great location to use public transportation. We used the bus and tube everywhere we went. Phillip (the owner) was awesome with sending information ahead of time so we knew how we were going to get around. We really felt at home. It was so nice to be able to come home after a long day of walking about London and have a relaxing space to enjoy. We were so glad we chose VRBO instead of a hotel. Thank you Phillip for your hospitality!! You helped to make our trip a holiday to remember. I'd give more than 5 stars if I could!!! P.s. Haji was super too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Old Street/City Road. Next to Tube. Free Wi Fi. Balcony/Views.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p272537
+1246 417 5873
City of London Financial District London
5

The perfect accomodation solution for London

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 13-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
What a place!
Perfect location - close to 2 Tube stations, bus stop right outside, 3 supermarkets within easy walking distance. No need for a car. Transport options were endless.
Apartment is immaculate with well equipped kitchen including dishwasher and washing machine. Very useful for longer duration trips.
Lovely artwork reflects the owners exquisite taste.
After 2 weeks here it really felt like home.
The guys on the front desk, especially Haji, were extremely helpful and welcoming. We always felt safe in the area and highly recommend this property to anyone wanting more than a hotel for a fraction of the cost!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Old Street/City Road. Next to Tube. Free Wi Fi. Balcony/Views.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p272537
+1246 417 5873
City of London Financial District London
Waynesville, NC.
5

A Wonderful PLace to Stay!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 03-Jun-2013
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2013
We traveled to London with our 18 year old son in April, 2013. We chose to stay in this apartment because the reviews were so positive. And we were not disappointed!! The apartment is spacious and well appointed, very clean and oh so comfortable after a long day of sightseeing. The location is excellent - with the bus stop right at the front door and the tube station just down the street. A grocery store across the street allowed us stock the kitchen and save money by not having to eat all our meals in restaurants.

The security is excellent and the concierge was very polite and helpful.

Philip answered all my questions and was very easy to work with when we were "apartment hunting."

This apartment definitely lived up to the positive reviews we read prior to our stay. We hope to return to London and will definitely inquire about this apartment's availability. Or perhaps, we'll schedule our trip around its availability!

Thank you Philip for sharing your apartment!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Old Street/City Road. Next to Tube. Free Wi Fi. Balcony/Views.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p272537
+1246 417 5873
City of London Financial District London
Northern California
5

Comfortable, Clean, Convenient and Safe

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Feb-2013
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2013
My husband and 17 year old son enjoyed this lovely apartment super close to the Old St. tube stop and a well-stocked grocery store. It was close enough to all major attractions by tube, but away from the hustle and bustle so we could relax after a day of touring and shows. The security was excellent and we appreciated the helpful concierges.

The kitchen was well equipped and I liked the fact that there were several dishtowels in addition to a bag of paper towels. The dishwasher ran quietly, too!

Everything was sparkling clean and fresh, the beds were comfortable with nice white bedding (mattresses on the firm side which I like.)

One peculiarity of note, which was no big deal, was that even though the hold and cold water valves were connected to one spigot in each bathroom, the hot and cold streams of water ran side by side. They were not blended. So, to wash my face, I had to make fine adjustments so my left hand wouldn't get hot. There were no issues with the showers or kitchen sink.

We made good use of the extensive library of tour guide books, and enjoyed the large dining room table because we could spread out all our books and maps and still have room for our plates when we took our meals at home!

The small gym was sufficient for most, but it was winter and there was no heat. We preferred to go to Fitness First one tube stop away at Angel stop. 10 pounds well worth it for the extensive equipment, dry sauna, steam room and even an aromatherapy room with heated walls and fiberoptic lights. Soooo relaxing after a workout.

We did bring an older model American electric converter, but it only worked in the power strip on the floor. Americans should bring the newest converters to fit into the wall outlets. I might suggest to the owners that they store a multinational converter kit which can be purchased at a hardware store. It would be very convenient.

I did an extensive search for accommodations, and having no sense of the layout of London nor the exact location of the various apartments, I'm pleased to say the Lexington exceeded my expectations. It was a great fit for our family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Old Street/City Road. Next to Tube. Free Wi Fi. Balcony/Views.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p272537
+1246 417 5873
City of London Financial District London
Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
5

Great Place to stay

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 22-Nov-2012
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2012
This is a perfect spot for travelling to and fro in London. We spent 6 nights there last week and we have no negatives at all. the concierge staff are welcoming and friendly and the transport just outside the door took us everywhere we wanted to go or we were able to connect to other routes via the fantastic network.
Whether it be theatre, shopping, or just cultural sightseeing London has it all. There are so many places nearby for eating out or well stocked supermarkets making it no problem to eat in. It is great for couples and families but I suggest that young children be supervised at all times when using the exterior balcony. This was our 2nd stay at Philip and Dereks flat and we are looking forward to going again very soon. Very Highly recommended.
Thank you again for a great stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Old Street/City Road. Next to Tube. Free Wi Fi. Balcony/Views.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p272537
+1246 417 5873
City of London Financial District London
Australia
5

Thanks for a great stay!!!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 16-Oct-2012
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2012
Hi Philip,


We have arrived home safely back home and i just wanted to take the time to thank you for allowing us to rent your apartment for the time we were in London.

Your reports on the website and through e mails were spot on and the apartment was perfectly placed and was more than we hoped for.

Dealing with you was easy, quick and efficient and the next time we stay in London i will be sure to be getting back in contact with you....not to mention let my friends know.

Thanks once again.

Kind Regards,


Nathan
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Old Street/City Road. Next to Tube. Free Wi Fi. Balcony/Views.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p272537
+1246 417 5873
City of London Financial District London
South Florida in the USA
5

A Spacious, Well Located Apartment

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 07-Oct-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
This apartment is in a very handsome building with easy access by an elevator that serves only two apartments on the sixth floor. Its wrap-around windows with balcony give a nice view of the London skyline. Both bedrooms are large and fitted with very comfortable beds. The two bathrooms are well equipped with excellent plumbing. The living room and dining area are attractively decorated with comfortable furniture and good lighting. The kitchen is roomy with every appliance of a high quality. The tube stop is just a block away and grocery stores and take-away food shops are very handy. Haji, who manages the apartment, is very gracious and helpful. A concierge is always at the main desk and is always ready to answer questions. You can't go wrong with this place as a center for touring London.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Old Street/City Road. Next to Tube. Free Wi Fi. Balcony/Views.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p272537
+1246 417 5873
City of London Financial District London
5

Excellent time in London

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 02-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
This apartment was just as advertized and more. My family of four spent 5 days in London, just a few weeks before the Olympics. The apartment is just a block from a tube stop and the bus stops right outside the door. Phil sent a very helpful list with information about transportation to and from airport/buses and event Theatre helpful hints. We used many of them.

All pre-trip communications were timely, clear and everything went as planned. We were met in the lobby on our day of arrival and were able to leave our suitcases in the lobby for a few hours as we arrived prior to the 3:00 check in time.

The apartment has everything that a family would need for a stay in London and sure beats staying in a hotel.

thanks again for wonderful family memories. We will recommend this apartment to others and would definately return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Old Street/City Road. Next to Tube. Free Wi Fi. Balcony/Views.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p272537
+1246 417 5873
City of London Financial District London
Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
5

B & B - Winnipeg Manitoba Canada

B & B - Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 15-Jul-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
We rented this apartment for 4 days in Jun 2012; during the Diamond Jubilee; there is nothing that the 4 of us could possbily say other than 'fantastic'! The apt is very spacious, secure, and exceptionaly clean and accomodated the 4 adults quite nicely. The 'tube' was only a couple minute walk from the apartment. Bus stop just outside of the building. Phil was exceptionally accomodating and was very prompt in responding with any questions that we had; transactions went very smoothly. I would highly recommend this apartment and if I ever go back to London; Phil's place is where I would stay!! Thanks so much for sharing your flat; we weren't disappointed!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 2/2