Oracabessa villa rental - Blow Hole Villa from the sea
Blow Hole Villa from the sea
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 3 Separate WC's
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday villa in Oracabessa - Blow Hole Villa
Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10), cottage, sleeps 6

On Jamaica's rugged North Coast, tucked away between Noel Coward's Firefly and Ian Fleming's Goldeneye you will find our 3.5 acre wooded, gated property that affords quiet and privacy. We are 20 minutes east of Ocho Rios, just outside a quaint little town called Oracabessa. The villa itself sits on a bluff overlooking the Carribean Sea with no close neighbors. We have the novelty of a blow hole at the sea's edge which sprays into the air filling a natural sea pond and series of pools which makes a delightful play area for adults and children alike. There are also steps carved into the rocks for access to the sea for diving and snorkeling. The beautiful grounds are landscaped with many private paths and hideaways, and include a large freshwater pool. The house has three air conditioned bedrooms each with its own newly remodeled ensuite bathroom, and can accommodate up to ten guests. All bedrooms open onto the verandah with sea views in front, and open to the garden with private balconies in back. The living room/dining room is a large great room area with a wrap-around verandah. Because the villa sits on a bluff we get tradewinds year around, and find that the climate is more temperate even in the summer than where we live, which is Florida. The kitchen is modern and is at your disposal for drinks and snacks. We also have a full time, live-in staff that is ready to meet you and help you with anything you might need from planning your activities, to doing your laundry for you, and of course shopping and cooking, all included in the cost. The attractions of Ocho Rios and the beaches Port Maria and Oracabessa are close by. The villa is two hours by car or bus from the airport in Montego Bay and we will be happy to arrange transportation for you.

We are happy to announce the opening of The Cottage at Blow Hole. The construction has taken 'somewhat' longer than expected but the results are stunning. The cottage will be rented only as overflow along with the main villa and can sleep up to six comfortably. The exception being when the owners (us) are in residence. The cottage blends perfectly with its surrounding and in no way detracts from the privacy or views of the main villa. We will let the photos speak for themselves.

Welcome to the new standard in comfort, privacy and service, welcome to Blow Hole Villa and The Cottage at Blow Hole.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I bought this property with the intention of using it as a vacation/retirement home; vacation now, retirement sometime in the future. We have done extensive renovation of the property within the last 7 years and are excited to have others to enjoy the villa as much as we do. The Cottage we have been planning for retirement is now completed and ready for occupancy, by special request. Call us for details.

Janine Harmel purchased this villa in 2007

This location is close to Ocho Rios (about 20 min by car) so that we can run into town for shopping or dining or for our guests to go to the many attractions(such as Dunn's River Falls), but we are far enough into the country to enjoy the quiet country lifestyle. Oracabessa is a very small village a couple of min. away that fills all of our daily needs, and the Boscobel Airport is 10 min. away for people who prefer not to drive from Montego Bay.

The villa is situated on the cliffs overlooking the Caribbean Sea...nothing between us and Cuba but water. We have the unique feature of a seapond and a blow hole that are accessible by a series of steps down to the sea. Depending on the weather the blow hole varies its show. We spend a lot of time on the veranda just enjoying the view. Of course there is excellent diving and snorkeling also, as the steps drop off to about 30' of crystal clear turquoise water. The seapond is great for little ones as it is only about 3 feet deep and entirely enclosed.

12 Reviews of Property 235854 in Oracabessa, Jamaica

Spectacular Ocean Front Luxury Villa on Jamaica's North Coast
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Spectacular Ocean Front Luxury Villa on Jamaica's North Coast
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p235854vb
(727) 797-3434
Oracabessa North Coast Jamaica
columbia
5

The Best

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 09-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
When was the last time you returned home from vacation with suitcases full of clean freshly laundered clothing? This is one of the perks we experienced at Blow Hole (thank you Annette). Every evening beds are turned down mosquito netting draped about (don’t know why never saw a bug!). You fall asleep with the sea breeze swirling thru the bedroom two complete glass walls open hearing the crash of the waves on the rocks below.
Activities; Danny will drive you everywhere, you can do the regular stuff; swimming with dolphins,, Dunn River Falls, Zip Lining, Sea Do etc or… if lucky watch Hawk Beak sea turtles hatch, crawl to the ocean & swim away as your cheer them on. Swim or snorkel twice a day in your own back yard, learn how to bait, catch (in your front yard) then fish with hermit crabs, gather chicken eggs from Danny’s chickens, catch a ride with one of the local fishermen continuously trolling past Blow Hole dropping his crab and fish pots along the coast. I was a fisherman/helper for a few hours one morning learning so much about his Jamaica. It was fun seeing Bond Beach, Golden Eye Beach and the coast from ocean view. In case you are wondering Blow Hole is THE most beautiful property. Going to market with Pauline seeing all the local beautiful fruits, vegetables & spices watching her barter with the merchants so much fun. Eating Patties!!
Food; Oh my word can Pauline cook! After arriving Pauline interviews you ask your likes and dislikes, any food allergies what time you want your meals served!! Yes the table is set; sit on the veranda with an unbelievable ocean view, Annette serves and removes the dishes, three times a day. Almost forgot Pauline’s before dinner cocktails; rum punch, Pina Colada are out of this world.
Janine truly has thought of everything to make your stay memorable but the best thing about our stay was the staff we were privileged to eat with them, share stories of their families and ours growing up in the states and Jamaica. If you are the private sort I bet you would never see the staff we simply threw ourselves upon them from day one and were lucky enough they opened their big Jamaican hearts and loved us up.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Spectacular Ocean Front Luxury Villa on Jamaica's North Coast
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p235854vb
(727) 797-3434
Oracabessa North Coast Jamaica
St. Louis, Missouri, USA
5

Our Stay in Paradise

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Jul-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
Our stay at the Blowhole Villa was nothing short of spectacular. The staff members took excellent care of my family and me and made sure that our stay was relaxing, enjoyable, and exactly as we wanted it to be. The meals were excellent and the staff happily accommodated any request that we had. The property around the villa is absolutely gorgeous and some of my favorite days were spent never leaving -- just lounging in the pool, relaxing in the sea pond, and swimming in the beautiful ocean. I could not believe I had the opportunity to see -- and stay in! -- such a perfect spot. I cannot wait to go back to Oracabessa and the Blowhole Villa!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Spectacular Ocean Front Luxury Villa on Jamaica's North Coast
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p235854vb
(727) 797-3434
Oracabessa North Coast Jamaica
Seminole, FL
5

Florida Friend

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 27-Jun-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
I had heard about and seen pictures of the villa over the past few years, and can honestly say neither did it justice. Seven of our family members decided to make it the destination for our mini family reunion. The surroundings were serene and picturesque - blue water that changed colors with the movement of the sun. Around every turn there was a natural vignette to discover - a bamboo bench set in the foliage, a hidden dock with spectacualr views, a fire pit, a stone table and chairs. Annette, Pauline, and Danny are true treasures. Annette's calm, friendly manner is enhanced by her beautiful smile and quiet sense of humor. She made sure we were comfortable and kept everything clean and tidy. Pauline's expertise in the kitchen was the source of many full and happy stomachs. She is so pleasant and cares about her guests wants and needs. We didn't eat out one time. Miss one of Pauline's meals - no way. Danny is a true ambassador for Jamaica. He is a wealth of knowledge about his country and his pride comes through in every conversation. He wears many hats - driver, tour guide, entertainer, gardener, domino instructor, equipment manager, pool caretaker, etc,. etc. I wish I had one-tenth of his energy! I was accompanied on my morning walks by members of the four-legged canine pet therapy team, and when I returned to relax on the veranda, a friendly feline greeted me like I was a long-lost friend. For the more "life experienced" members of the family, sitting on the veranda drinking coffee in the morning or an adult beverage.... later in the morning .... or afternon.... or evening, etc., was made even better by chatting with my family, reading a book, or watching the kids enjoying themselves. The pool provided yet another place for relaxation when the breezes died down and it got a bit warm.... and you had the choice of fresh or salt water! The water was perfect for snorkling, jumping, and eventually diving off the point. We ventured out a few times - Dunn's River Falls, the market, and the kids went with Danny to experiece the country. They raved about it! It does not get any better ending each day in a comfy bed, listening and falling to sleep to the rhythm of the surf, puncuated by the whoosh of the blow hole. Paradise............
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Spectacular Ocean Front Luxury Villa on Jamaica's North Coast
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p235854vb
(727) 797-3434
Oracabessa North Coast Jamaica
Southern Illinois, USA
5

Our expectations were high going in and they were exceeded in every way!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 22-Apr-2012
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2012
This is the most relaxing vacation we have ever had. The villa and property were exceptional. The staff was very hospitable and fun. A very big thank you to William, Annette and Danny for all they did to make our stay incredible. The ocean views from the villa are extraordinary and since the property is 3.5 acres, it is like you have the ocean all to yourself. The villa and grounds are all very well maintained. The owner was very easy to work with and offered assistance and suggestions that made our stay even better. We enjoyed a drive into the country to see how real Jamaicans live and a trip to Dunns River Falls. Other than that, we didn't want to leave because we had everything we needed at the villa. We have already recommended this property to several friends and we certainly hope to return again soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Spectacular Ocean Front Luxury Villa on Jamaica's North Coast
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p235854vb
(727) 797-3434
Oracabessa North Coast Jamaica
Austin, TX
5

Just Wonderful

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Aug-2011
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2011
This was my second visit to Blow Hole Villa and I am certain not my last. Each day provided exactly what I wanted. Some days were slow; waking up to the sunrise over the ocean from the Master suite, reading, swimming and snorkeling in the sea pool, the regular pool or both.
The snorkeling equipment was brand new, clean and worked excellently. Coffee or tea was available when I woke up and all the meals were worthy of any fine restaurant. Glendon, as well as being an excellent chef, wants to make interesting and healthy food that each guest will like while using the best local ingredients in season. The Blue Mountain coffee is great!
Other days were busier with trips to the local market in Orcabessa and bonfires on the East Terrace at night with an unbelievable view of the stars. I ventured every morning down the villa entry and out the main road for an easy slightly rolling 2 mile walk. One could also get a nice stretch just staying within the villa grounds. There are about 5 different terraces to practice yoga. It was quiet, serene and cool with the sea breeze each morning. The linens were fine, the pillows soft down and the towels thick. The garden shower was absolutely awesome. I highly recommend Veronique spa services. They come to the villa with all the equipment and I had a massage on a private part of the veranda with real ocean sounds in the background. What luxury! I plan to come back with my 2 teenagers because I know they too would love it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Spectacular Ocean Front Luxury Villa on Jamaica's North Coast
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p235854vb
(727) 797-3434
Oracabessa North Coast Jamaica
Yardley, Pa. USA
5

Blow Hole family getaway

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 04-Jan-2011
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2010
Our 3 families from Reno, Richmond and Philadelphia just returned from a wonderful celebratory vacation at the Blow Hole. The villa is lovely, spectacular views of the fascinating ocean blow hole and very attentive service by the whole staff. Both the young children, ages 9,8,and two 7's, and the parents and grandparents had a great time and the house accommodated all 10 of us with no problem. Thanks for the hospitality!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Spectacular Ocean Front Luxury Villa on Jamaica's North Coast
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p235854vb
(727) 797-3434
Oracabessa North Coast Jamaica
-
5

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 18-Mar-2010
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2010
We returned from Jamaica last month and the Blow Hole is such an amazing place! It was so relaxing with beautiful ocean views from each room. I could sit by the pool and watch the blow hole all day! The snorkeling was the best I have seen out of our three trips to Jamaica. We also only ventured out 2 of the days we were there because we enjoyed relaxing at the Blow Hole so much! The staff took care of our every need. We have stayed in three different villas in Jamaica and this was definitely the favorite! Cheryl's cooking was just amazing, Annette kept the place looking fabulous and Danny was such a pleasure to visit with about the Jamaican culture and his gardens on the property are beautiful! We would recommend this villa to anyone and will definitely be back! The Neeley's from Oklahoma
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Spectacular Ocean Front Luxury Villa on Jamaica's North Coast
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p235854vb
(727) 797-3434
Oracabessa North Coast Jamaica
-
5

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 16-Mar-2010
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2010
We just returned from a truly amazing week at Blow Hole Villa. This was our first Jamaica visit and it could not have been better. The villa is spectacular and the fabulous, friendly staff makes you feel at home right away. In addition to snorkeling and swimming right from your backyard, this is the perfect place to explore the true Jamaica. We saw historical places near Ocho Rios, went rafting on the Rio Grande, swimming at Somerset Falls, enjoyed the scenery at Firefly in Port Maria, tasted all kinds of fruits at Brimmer Plantation, strolled the local market in Ocho Rios and always came back to the amazing cooking of Cheryl, our Jamaican cook. Our two teenage daughters loved the food, the country and its people as much as we did. We will come back for sure.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Spectacular Ocean Front Luxury Villa on Jamaica's North Coast
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p235854vb
(727) 797-3434
Oracabessa North Coast Jamaica
Charleston, SC
5

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 23-Nov-2009
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2009
We just got back from the Blow Hole 11/21/09. Fantastic ! The pics do not do it justice ! The chef Glendon is a true professional and works very hard to make sure your stay is stress free. True Jamaican food served first class !
Needless to say, most if us put on a few pounds !
The diving and snorkeling is great, right from the steps off the blow hole ! I could just sit and watch the ocean and blow hole change for hours..which I did ! One of the best vacations ever ! Out of seven days we only ventured out for 2, because we were so comfortable and thrilled with our surroundings ! Thanks to all who helped make this a great vacation !
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Spectacular Ocean Front Luxury Villa on Jamaica's North Coast
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p235854vb
(727) 797-3434
Oracabessa North Coast Jamaica
-
5

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Oct-2009
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2009
Our time at the Blow Hole, a week in mid-september, proved far too short. We feasted like kings, played like children and slept like babies. It is impossible to put into words, or paint with pictures the sheer enjoyment of our stay. But I will try: WORLD CLASS SCUBA DIVING,(from back yard steps carved out of rock we went from 20' to 90' in gin clear water - no nasty boat ride) WORLD CLASS CUSINE, (feasted on fresh jamaica everything - there is somethng incredibly healthy and delicious about that food) WATERFALL ROCK CLIMBING (Dunns River Falls - yeah, you gotta do it) ZIP LINING THRU THE FOREST (ahem, you will never forget it nor walk normal again) FIREFLIES . . . (after dinner, turn off all the outdoor lights and walk up the drive to view this special dessert) simply spectacular grounds. This is the way to vacation. As for value, nothing really comes close, especially when your wife of 30 years tells you this was the best vacation she has ever had (and she has been around the world). Yeah, we'll be back.
THE CLARK FAMILY.
Helpful votes: 8/8