Duncans villa rental - Duncans Bay Beach
Duncans Bay Beach
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday villa in Duncans - Yellow Canary
Villa, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5-6)

Location:

The Yellow Canary Villa is a few steps to the beach and is situated in picturesque Duncans Bay. This area is unspoilt commercially and is ideal for family with small children, all ages. It is located half way between Montego Bay and Ochio Rios, off the north coast.

The villa comes with our gourmet cook/housekeeper Miss Iris, assistant Sandra, Curtis gardener and Johnny, driver. Johnny is our experienced driver and he does the airport run and excursions.

The Villa is a stone's throw to turquoise blue ocean and white sands. Just imagine going for a swim before enjoying gourmet meals made from fresh local foods, fish, lobster or the catch of the day, delivered to your door. All meals would be prepared according to your specification and served in an intimate setting either on the garden varandah or on the patio area which has a view of the sea. All that can be had at the Yellow Canary.

A short walk to the fishermens beach where live music are performed on Saturday nights. There you can enjoy a drink at Leroy's Bar, visit hand carved crafts and mingle with friendly locals/and visitors.

All the bedrooms /living rooms are fitted with louver windows which bring in lots of sea breeze into the rooms. All bedrooms are fitted with air conditions and ceiling fans.

The villa's master bedroom has an authentic king size bed made from Jamaican wood. The second bedroom has an antique 4 poster king bed and similar pieces of antique furniture.

And the villa boasts a hot tub jacuzzi set in a gazebo surrounded by tropical plants.

For sunbathers there are intimate areas in the garden for sunbathing with 4 sun loungers.

Babysitting - can be arranged.

Massage - can be arranged.

The Yellow Canary has an atmosphere of charm and privacy.

Keywords: Villa

More Details
Hide Details

I live in London, England from a young age and went to school there. Recently I have been spending lots of precious time in Jamaica where I was born. I go back to London in the Spring staying there till Autumn.

I first visited Duncans Bay, 18 years ago with my young children and was walking along this quaint little lane which has a few cottages and directly in front the big ocean appearing through branches of almond trees which lined the banks in front of the beach. I bought one of the cottages. The living room opens out to the patio area which makes it light and airy. All the bedrooms have louver windows bringing in fresh sea breeze into the rooms.

The sea is turquoise blue and the beach is just wonderful with white sands. There is a green lawn that stretches along the beach which is great for children to play on. My children love this area and the beach and now bring their children to play here.

I love the flushed tropical scenery with an atmosphere of calm and peace here during weekdays. At weekends live music is performed by local artists at the Beach hut.

This area is ideal connection to many attractions and Montego Bay Airport is just 40 minutes drive.

20 Reviews of Property 232821 in Duncans, Jamaica

Villa by the Sea - Jamaica's Finest in Duncan
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
Villa by the Sea - Jamaica's Finest in Duncan
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p232821vbi
+876 291-7803 (Jamaica)
Duncans North Coast Jamaica
Oklahoma City, OK
5

Heaven on Earth!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 05-Jan-2014
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2013
This was our second stay at the Yellow Canary. We love it so much we have already booked it for Christmas 2014! The villa and its surroundings are just as described by the owner and other reviewers. The property is well maintained and about 100 yards to the ocean. While it is a local beach, it feels very private and safe. We have never been harassed or bothered by anyone. If you are looking for quiet and solitude, along with a beautiful setting, the yellow canary is the right place. Miss Iris's meals are truly excellent and she will do whatever necessary to make your stay the most enjoyable ever. Johnny, the driver for the villa, will go out of his way to accommodate your schedule and desires. What are you waiting for??? Book your stay now. You won't be disappointed!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Villa by the Sea - Jamaica's Finest in Duncan
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p232821vbi
+876 291-7803 (Jamaica)
Duncans North Coast Jamaica
Tampa, FL
5

Private paradise

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 05-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
I have been home for about 2 weeks now. I truly miss being at the villa. We are a family of 5, 3 children ages 18-6. Ms. Veronica was very helpful with any questions I had before arriving. Once there it was more then what I expected. It was such a wonderful relaxing experience. The kids loved it. The villa was beautiful, spacious and well kept. The garden was beautiful we ate outside most of the time. The beach was beautiful and just footsteps away. Most of the time we were the only ones on the beach. It felt like our own private paradise. You can hear the ocean from the villa and feel the ocean breeze. We got to know some of the locals and everyone was so warm and welcoming. We enjoyed cool Red Stripe overlooking the sea at Leroy’s bar while listening to some great music and meeting wonderful people. Our stay would not have been as wonderful were it not for Ms. Iris. She made us feel very welcomed. She was wonderful with all of us. She helped with whatever we needed and guided us all thru our stay. She kept everything very neat and clean. She made our stay at the villa extra special. If you are looking for a beautiful relaxing getaway away from the hustle and bustle of tourist areas, this is the place to go. We loved our vacation and cannot wait to return!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa by the Sea - Jamaica's Finest in Duncan
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p232821vbi
+876 291-7803 (Jamaica)
Duncans North Coast Jamaica
5

WOW.....

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 26-Feb-2013
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2013
We arrived at the Yellow Canary for a short but incredible visit. Hearing negative comments about Jamaica I was unsure of what to expect. Johnny picked us up at the airport and was wonderful he took us to the market and entertained myself and 3 children.He was a joy our entire trip and available whenever needed. His rates were reasonable and we did a great afternoon at Dunns River
Iris the housekeeper and cook is beyond belief. We would travel to Jamaica just to see her. The food she made was wonderful and my kids learned so much about Jamaica and its people. We are planning to return next year.
I feel like we got a taste of real culture and a vacation my children will never forget.
Thanks Iris and Johnny for a great memory.See you next year.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa by the Sea - Jamaica's Finest in Duncan
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p232821vbi
+876 291-7803 (Jamaica)
Duncans North Coast Jamaica
London
5

TRANQUALITY AT IT'S BEST

TRANQUALITY AT IT'S BEST
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 02-Feb-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2013
I have just taken an early retirement and decided to spend sometime in Jamaica. The "Yellow Canary" Villa in Duncan's Bay was recommended to me by some friends that stayed there previously, I took myself,my mother and my Aunt there for 5 days, "what a marvellous experience", the villa was such a wonderful place to relax and chill-out after working so hard after all these years, with it's comfortable loungers(both inside and outside). The beach is just a stone throw away, lovely and clean with the most amazing Sea View, not overcrowded and you are left to swim or rest-up in peace.

Veronica and her staff are very friendly and informative. The Villa is well kept, clean and with all the amenities and if you so wish, breakfast,lunch and dinner can be provided also (which is amazing, if you are willing to try something different.

From there you can go on to visit other places of interest, like Dunnns River Falls,The Great House, Ochi Rios and Falmouth is also close by where the big ships comes in to dock. Veronica also recommended a lovely fish restaurant where we had the most amazing fish experience.

Will defenately go back and stay sometime soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa by the Sea - Jamaica's Finest in Duncan
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p232821vbi
+876 291-7803 (Jamaica)
Duncans North Coast Jamaica
London
5

Well deserved rest by the sea

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 13-Dec-2012
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2012
I have just spent a great week relaxing and swimming, I never been to a more beautiful setting before, and I have travelled the Caribbean. This villa is practically on the beach, which makes it even more of a relaxing retreat as there is no effort required. The beach is clean and the sea a beautiful shade of blue.
I found the villa itself, a home from home with all the comforts you expect in our own home. Wireless Internet and a modern music centre helps to break up the day of relaxing. The villa is equip with modern kitchen utilities and appliances, not that I had to cook, there was a fantastic lady who would make breakfast lunch or dinner and this was arranged by the owner of the villa.
The bedrooms were spacious and clean and the decor is well maintained and modern, this was truly a great experience which I would recommend to anyone who like to relax and kit back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa by the Sea - Jamaica's Finest in Duncan
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p232821vbi
+876 291-7803 (Jamaica)
Duncans North Coast Jamaica
West London, UK
5

My unforgetable 2 months stay in Yellow Canary Villa, Jamaica . . . .

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 22-Sep-2012
  • Date of Stay: May 2012
I stayed at the Yellow Canary Villa for 2 months after being made redundant from my job. This was just what I needed - Jamaica and staying at this exceptional wonderful villa by the sea is a must and I will most definitely be returning back next year with my partner. The villa was exactly how it looks on the website and the photos does not to it any justice. The beach was clean and just a minute walk and was something from a postcard. The sea water warn and clean. What was an extra bonus was the delightful Iris, who is the most amazing cook! She was so accommodating and I have to say she cooks a mean breakfast Jamaican style. She also cooks English or American breakfast and dinners if you wish. She made our 2 month visit very enjoyable. After breakfast I would retreat to the tranquillity and well kept garden. In the evenings I would just relax in the hot tub jacuzzi and enjoy. Leroys bar is a must and the music is great. My only disappointment is not being able to return to this wonderful villa in Duncans Bay any sooner.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa by the Sea - Jamaica's Finest in Duncan
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p232821vbi
+876 291-7803 (Jamaica)
Duncans North Coast Jamaica
Minneapolis, Minnesota
5

Forget the tourist traps, stay in the Villa by the Sea

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 14-Feb-2012
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2011
This review is past due, perhaps because we are so hesitant to share how awesome of a place this hideaway was for fear of not being able to book the next time we want to come back.

Miss Iris needs to be credited for making the trip excellent. Sure, her meals were only phenomenal and her suggestions on where to go to experience the real Jamaica (Luminous Lagoon, Fire Waters), not the tourist Jamaica (although you must climb the Dunn River Falls in Ocho Rios) are great, but it was honestly being able to share our vacation with her. We missed her on her day off and she was doled out multiple hugs the day we left.

We also had Charlie, the gardener, looking after us. He was also great to visit with and took us down to Leroy’s on New Year’s Eve for live music and lots of celebration. He also took us to this awesome cave the indigenous lived in. And Johhny, who picked us up at the airport and took us out on our adventures, he’s just a riot. Spend the time getting to know the people in Jamaica; it’ll enrich your trip.

The villa was not a disappointment in the least, nor the gardens that Charlie kept up. We were perfectly content to spend the morning in the garden before going off on our day’s adventure or heading down to the beach and walking the shore line, swimming or catching a tan. Note, if you are coming after or during the holidays, there is a lot more traffic on the beach, which unfortunately leads to more debris. It’s such beautiful sand and water, but between Christmas, Boxing Day and New Year’s activities, it was looking a little more like Spring Break in Cancun. I don’t think that is indicative of the rest of the time spent there. The music was bumping from Leroy’s during the weekend, but all of us were taking our iPods off, to groove along to it.

I’ll finish with this: When you get home and Bob Marley comes on the local radio station, it’s going to have a whole new meaning to you. You’ll be smiling and fondly thinking of the awesome experience you had and the phenomenal people you met in Jamaica, who all look so very much younger than their years. There’s something to be said for that. All the best – Aaron, Beth and Katie
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Villa by the Sea - Jamaica's Finest in Duncan
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p232821vbi
+876 291-7803 (Jamaica)
Duncans North Coast Jamaica
Oklahoma City
5

Fabulous...Just Fabulous

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 07-Jan-2012
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2011
My husband and I and another couple just returned from our Christmas vacation at the Yellow Canary. WOW!!! It is everything and more as described, from the time Johnny picked us up at the airport until he returned us 6 days later. Miss Iris was a wonderful cook who attended to our every need and desire. The villa was well kept and very comfortable both in and out. The beach was 500 yards...most of the time we had it to to ourselves. The only downside was that the beach bar played very loud music for two of the days we were there but that's because it was Boxing Day and folks had a couple of days off. The owner was very easy to deal with...no problem mon. We would stay at this villa again in a heartbeat. Can't wait to go back! A very big thank you to Veronica, Iris, and Johnny for making this a special holiday vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Villa by the Sea - Jamaica's Finest in Duncan
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p232821vbi
+876 291-7803 (Jamaica)
Duncans North Coast Jamaica
Denver, CO
5

Had a wonderful week in Duncans Bay

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 02-Aug-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2011
I spent a week at the Yellow Canary in July with my husband, son and relatives. We had an awesome time. The property is nice, and well maintained. It's mid-block on the street and just steps from the beach. The beach was awesome, and the water was crystal clear. The majority of the time, we had the beach to ourselves. Snorkeling was great right there too, we saw sting rays, starfish, sea cucumbers, conch, sand dollars. Being on the north shore, you also get the benefit of both sunrise and sunset on the beach.
Iris is an amazing cook. She cooked Jamaican food for us every meal. We tried everything, and had no complaints on any of it. She makes everything from scratch. I especially loved her fresh pineapple crepes for breakfast myself.
We had a couple of excursions planned and Iris hooked us up with a driver named Patrice. She was a lot of fun and we really enjoyed spending time with her. We did a day trip to Ocho Rios and Dunn River Falls, and an evening trip over to 'Time and Place' for a sunset lobster dinner on the beach, then went to the Luminous Lagoon in Falmouth. Tony the owner of Time and Place hooked us up for a private tour of the Luminous Lagoon, for the same price as Glistening Waters charges and we got to spend more time out in the bay.

We also went scuba diving out of Runaway Bay with Resort Divers. They came and picked us up at the entrance to Silver Sands, and brought us back to the villa afterwards. It turned out to be a private dive at our own pace. They took us out to a plane wreck and ship wreck, and then to a reef offshore.

One afternoon, Charley our gardener led us over to an Arawake cave a few minutes walk from our villa. Escaped slaves hid and lived there long ago. It's pretty large, with lots of rooms, and there is even a tomb in it, and bats flying around. Very interesting and cool.

A heads up for Americans, use to staying in resorts and having most tolietries provided. Bring all your own tolietries including (soap, shampoo, wash cloths, and a hairdryer if needed). These items were not included. Also insect repellant is a must.

And unless you're brave enough to rent a car, you'll also need cash for your drivers, and you'll need cash for your groceries.
There is an ATM in Duncans next to the grocery. where you can get cash when needed.
We highly recommend this villa and area to anyone that wants more of a real Jamaican experience, versus a resort experience.
Can't wait to go back and do it all again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Hello Theresa
Thank you very much for a wonderful review. We here at the Yellow Canary welcome you and family back and we all send greetings.
Regards
Veronica and team
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Villa by the Sea - Jamaica's Finest in Duncan
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p232821vbi
+876 291-7803 (Jamaica)
Duncans North Coast Jamaica
Normal, IL, USA
5

Duncan's fun, relaxation & renewal

Duncan's fun, relaxation & renewal
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 26-Jun-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2011
The Yellow Canary experience was wonderful. The villa is in a quiet area along Duncan's Bay with no high rise resorts in site. You get the true feeling of Jamaica and the people, while being within an easy taxi ride of either Ocho Rios or Montego Bay. Saturday evenings at LeRoy's on the beach is not to be missed, but a weeknight of absolute quiet and serenity at a beach side table should also be experienced. Iris, the housekeeper and cook, was fabulous and provided wonderful insights into the people and the culture, as well as providing fabulous meals. We bought fish and lobster directly from the fisherman next to LeRoy's, and asked Iris to cook other traditional Jamaican dishes as well. Visits to the village of Duncan's to buy food and other supplies was also a great experience with Iris at our side to guide the process. But she was also happy to do the shopping for you, and let you just sit back and be served. We found taxi service reasonably priced and easy to arrange (with Iris' help) for both short trips to the village, or longer day trips to Ochie. We won't hesitate to return and visit our new friends in the Duncan's area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much Sherry and Tony for adding your views of the area here in Duncans Bay and your time spent at the Yellow Canary. We are all happy that you both have had a wonderful holiday here.

Veronica
Helpful votes: 3/3