Calheta villa rental - View from the balcony over Arco da Calheta
View from the balcony over Arco da Calheta
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday villa in Calheta - Vista Atlantico
3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 6, excellent access, shops etc nearby

Vista Atlantico looks over the pretty village of Arco da Calheta with spectacular open vistas over the Atlantic Ocean. It has excellent road access to its own garage with electronically operated doors. It provides spacious and elegant accommodation with satellite TV and its balcony and terrace offer unparalleled views of the ocean, the village centre and church and the arc of mountains which embraces the village. Bring your binoculars and you may be lucky to spot whales and dolphins. Mini-markets, a pizzeria, cafes, a health centre and a pharmacy are only steps away. Across the road is a friendly snack bar with a range of drinks, ice creams and snacks at modest prices and free internet access for its customers. Within minutes driving there are two beaches, one sandy, a marina, numerous fine restaurants and supermarkets. This sunny corner of Madeira is a fine all-year holiday destination. See our video tour at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sjHMm6mQCoU

A hair dryer is also provided. Outside there is a small garden area to the side of the house. Café tables and chairs provide dining facilities on the lower terrace and there are sun loungers and a sun umbrella. For children there is an inflatable paddling pool and two buckets and spades for the beach. A CD/mp3 player and radio is provided and there is satellite television which can receive all main UK channels and a selection of European channels as well as two Portuguese channels if required. A DVD player and a generous selection of DVDs is provided. There is a small library of books in English and German.

The snack bar El Chino across the road provides free internet access to its customers when open.

To see a video tour of Vista Atlantico copy this address into your browser's address window: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sjHMm6mQCoU

More Details
Hide Details

We are a retired couple living in Northumberland. We bought Vista Atlantico as our holiday home and spend as much time there as our young grandchildren will allow.

Kevin Stephens purchased this villa in 2004

We loved Madeira from our first visit and stayed in this southwest corner several times before deciding this was the area for us. The views are incomparable and the weather just perfect - most of the time.

9 Reviews of Property 19038 in Calheta, Portugal

Vista Atlantico, spectacular views, rural village, sunny SW coast
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 9 reviews
business
Vista Atlantico, spectacular views, rural village, sunny SW coast
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p19038
+44 (0)1661 843347
Calheta Madeira
HR GuestBook
5

Comments from Owner Guestbook

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Dec-2007
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2007
Rob & Clare Hadden 07 Nov 05: House was very nice and well furnished. Agent was extremely helpful both before and during our stay e.g. arranging baby facilities. From Gail & Greg Rankin 14 Nov 05: The things we most enjoyed were swimming in the Lido in Porto Moniz; exploring Jardim do Mar (beautiful) and lunch at Tar Mar; dinner at Engenho Velho in Arco da Calheta; the BBQ chicken and home made chips at Solar dos Prazeres - so good we had it twice; walking the levada from the Miradouro round the back of Arco (beautiful views); the DVD's - great selection; the guidebooks - very useful. From Eileen & Simon McManus 7 Jan 06: We very much enjoyed our holiday here. We hadn't realised how spectacular the Christmas lights would be and the children thrived in the sunshine. We found the villa excellent, extremely well equipped and the views glorious.
Hayward family March 06: Must visit the bar across the road. Real value for money bar.
Helpful votes: 7/15
business
Vista Atlantico, spectacular views, rural village, sunny SW coast
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p19038
+44 (0)1661 843347
Calheta Madeira
Owner Submitted Review
0

We had a lovely holiday

  • Review Submitted: 14-Jan-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2013
Wir hatten einen schönen Urlaub und Paula ist wirklich ein Schatz. War überhaupt kein Problem. Dein Haus ist wirklich schön. Die Menschen dort sind sehr nett und hilfsbereit. Vielen Dank nochmals und alles Gute in 2013.
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Vista Atlantico, spectacular views, rural village, sunny SW coast
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p19038
+44 (0)1661 843347
Calheta Madeira
Owner Submitted Review
0

Very comfortable, wonderful view

  • Review Submitted: 22-Nov-2012
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2012
We all enjoyed our holidays at Vista Atlantico. The house has really a wonderful view and is very comfortable. The weather was always fine during our stay and we enjoyed it very much, especially sitting on the balcony in the morning and in the evening.

Thank you very much for wonderful days at Vista Atlantico and for Toni, who always took care of us. We are really glad to have met him.

Best regards from Frankfurt
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Vista Atlantico, spectacular views, rural village, sunny SW coast
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p19038
+44 (0)1661 843347
Calheta Madeira
Owner Submitted Review
-1

Really cozy and more than spacious

  • Review Submitted: 10-Jan-2012
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2011
We wanted to thank you again for the time we could spend in your beautiful villa. The house is really cozy and well equipped and of course more than spacious. Overall a good stay, your directions were good, the reception was very friendly and the house really clean.
Helpful votes: 1/4
business
Vista Atlantico, spectacular views, rural village, sunny SW coast
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p19038
+44 (0)1661 843347
Calheta Madeira
manchester, uk
5

great property

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Aug-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2011
We had a lovely stay at Vista Atlantico in Calheta. The house is very spacious and well equiped and very clean. The lack of garden is compensated by very large terraces accessible from every room. The view is fantastic and very relaxing. The villa is in a great location, close to everything , though offering peace and quiet. Calheta is for sure the sunniest place on the island and ideally located to visit the west and north coast of Madeira. The owners were very helpful whilst arranging the booking. The people who welcomed us were also very friendly and reliable. I can recommend this property without any reservation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Vista Atlantico, spectacular views, rural village, sunny SW coast
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p19038
+44 (0)1661 843347
Calheta Madeira
5

wunderbarer Blick über Dorf und Meer

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 19-Apr-2014
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2014
Von beiden Balkonen, dem Esszimmer und den Schlafzimmern hat man einen wunderbar weiten Blick über Landschaft und Meer. Vom Haus aus erreicht man per Auto rasch Wandergebiete, das Meer, Einkaufsmöglichkeiten oder gute Restaurants. Alles Notwendige ist im Haus vorhanden. Die Infos von Kevin und die Kontakte mit seinen Helfern vor Ort waren immer unterstützend und freundlich.
business
Vista Atlantico, spectacular views, rural village, sunny SW coast
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p19038
+44 (0)1661 843347
Calheta Madeira
5

best sea view ever!!!!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 19-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2014
Vom 20.-27.2. 2014 haben wir eine wunderschöne Woche in der gut ausgestatteten, geräumigen und gemütlichen Vista Atlantico verbracht. Der Meerblick ist grandios und die Lage des Hauses lässt (mit Auto) keine Wünschen offen. Mit besten Tipps des Vermieters ausgestattet, sowie einer ausführlichen Anreisebeschreibung, haben wir die Unterkunft schnell erreicht, uns vor Ort sehr gut zurechtgefunden und tolle Tageswanderungen auf der Insel unternommen. Wir wurden herzlich in Empfang genommen und bekamen weitere wertvolle Tipps, wie z.B. das Fischrestaurant Poita in Madalena do mar oder das Restaurant San Antonio in Estreito de Camera de Lobos, wo man gut Espetadas essen kann...
Im Haus findet man auch ein Buch mit allen wichtigen Informationen und Kontaktnummern, sowie Ideen für Ausflüge etc.
Überhaupt war die ganze Abwicklung einwandfrei, alles sehr gut organisiert und zuvorkommend!
Wir waren nur zu zweit in dem Haus und haben uns super wohlgefühlt, aber man hat dort auch mit 6 Personen genug Platz.
Wir können die Unterkunft uneingeschränkt weiterempfehlen!
business
Vista Atlantico, spectacular views, rural village, sunny SW coast
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p19038
+44 (0)1661 843347
Calheta Madeira
Berlin
5

Wohlfühlobjekt, mit toller Aussicht

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 04-Apr-2013
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2013
Der Kontakt zum Vermieter verlief sehr gut. Es wurde eine brauchbare Anfahrtsbeschreibung zugesandt und wir wurden von einer sehr freundlichen Verwalterin, des wirklich schön anzusehenden Hauses empfangen.
Sie zeigte uns die sehr schön ausgestatteten Räumlichkeiten. Wirklich alle Räume waren penibel gereinigt. Man hat eine tolle Aussicht auf den Atlantik !
Ein Auto ist unbedingt erforderlich !
Wir waren eine Woche dort und haben wirklich viel gesehen.
Zum Essen haben wir gerne ein Restaurant an der Küstenstraße besucht. Tolle Fisch-Fleischgerichte. Zu Empfehlen wäre der Degenfisch.
Ich kann dieses Objekt nur weiterempfehlen.
Wir hoffen. dass wir baldigst dort mal wieder eine schöne Zeit verbringen können.

Von hieraus Dank an den Vermieter.

Bianca und Michael aus Berlin
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Vista Atlantico, spectacular views, rural village, sunny SW coast
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p19038
+44 (0)1661 843347
Calheta Madeira
4

Belle villa et bonne situation

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 16-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
Nous sommes restés une semaine à "Vista Atlanttico" : la villa est très agréable, spacieuse, propre, confortable et fonctionnelle et vraiment une très belle vue sur l'océan(elle est prévue pour 6 personnes mais nous avons pu la louer bien que nous n'étions que deux).
La personne qui nous accueille à l'arrivée est charmante et nous pouvons la contacter facilement si il y a un moindre souci d'intendance.
Nous avons fait beaucoup de randonnées (en partant relativement tôt le matin car les nuages arrivent vite sur les sommets vers midi) et il y a une plage à 5mn en voiture.

Séjour très agréable et à recommander

Daniel et Chantal
Helpful votes: 5/5