Jamul house rental - View from poolside bedroom
View from poolside bedroom
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday home in Jamul - Metaphysical Retreat
2 bedroom, 1 bath, sleeps 4 adults

Private mountaintop retreat on 10 acres with 360 degree views to the distant ocean and mountains. This is an ideal place for metaphysical reflections, newlyweds, writers, artists or romantic renewals. This location is not suitable for young children.

Daytime activities at 'home' may include relaxing in the hot tub, swimming in the pool, or sitting on one of the many giant boulders watching red tail hawks soar at eye level. At night you can watch shooting stars, or sit around the fire ring and watch the fire light dancing in the reflection of the pool. In the morning you may find yourself above the clouds. This is truly a place that must be experienced to understand.

While you may feel a million miles away from the city, if you decide to pursue more worldly activities, you are just 45 minutes from downtown San Diego, including the gas lamp district, world famous San Diego zoo, Sea World, and the beach communities. Or stay in Jamul and enjoy hiking, horseback riding and golf.

Pets welcome with approval in advance

Find us on Facebook: Search for Metaphysical Retreat. See nearly 100 photos and frequently asked questions.

Visit our Website: do a Google search for 'Metaphysical Retreat PRIVATE VACATION HOME. Experience the Extraordinary Jamul, California (in San Diego county)'

More Details
Hide Details

This property is one of its kind on the planet. Built by archietct David Kleges, this example of organic archietechture exemplifies the union of nature and structure.

This is truly a one-of-its kind properties, and was included on the list of California's 'Coolest places to stay' - see the list here: http://gocalifornia.about.com/od/calodging/ig/California-s-Coolest-Places-to-Stay/

34 Reviews of Property 171830 in Jamul, USA

Lagoon pool & hot tub on private mountaintop retreat
average rating of 4.757576 based on 34 reviews
business
Lagoon pool & hot tub on private mountaintop retreat
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p171830
+1 6194548389
Jamul San Diego County
Santa Ana, California
5

Simply magical!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 10-Apr-2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2014
This was our 2nd time staying here and we enjoyed it just as much as last time! What a special place! Probably one of my favorite spots on earth. You will not find a better place to relax, unwind and just do absolutely NOTHING. While the pool was still very cold, we certainly spent lots of time in the hot tub, relaxed in the hammock, roasted marshmallows at night and enjoyed the beautiful nature surrounding the house (including the frogs that come visit at night.) I do suggest you bring all your groceries before you head up the steep road to the house, since you are not going to want to leave even for a minute. Thank you for sharing this piece of heaven with us! Until next time...
business
Lagoon pool & hot tub on private mountaintop retreat
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p171830
+1 6194548389
Jamul San Diego County
Stanton, Texas
5

A true gem!!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 04-Apr-2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2014
We fell in love with this retreat just by looking at the pictures!! Real life was even better...the view is awesome, the pool area, while it was a little chilly for swimming was such a beautiful area to sit in. We woke up several mornings to a solid wall of clouds(fog) all around the house and it made it seem almost mystical. Highly recommend for couples as a getaway from reality. Can be in downtown San Diego in 25-35 minutes. Only issue is there is about a 50 yard area of driveway that you need to have at least a small suv to traverse otherwise you will probably drag.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Lagoon pool & hot tub on private mountaintop retreat
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p171830
+1 6194548389
Jamul San Diego County
Maryville, TN
5

Better Than Expected

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 12-Nov-2013
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2013
Spent an incredible weekend here with my wife and another couple. Upon arrival, we walked around almost in a dream ... this place is simply indescribable. The sunrises, sunsets, stars at night, hawks during the day ... everything was perfect for our stay.

We met a friend on Sunday -- a beautiful white dog. He was a big boy, looked like a young Marmaduke! So friendly, he just sat around with us by the pool all morning. If you happen to see him, he loves french toast.

Couple of neat things in La Mesa. Le Mesa Food Fest Fridays on University Avenue is worth the drive down. Also, the Friday afternoon Farmer's Market is incredible.

Overall, we highly recommend. If you are going to stay here, don't overbook activities that take you away from the place. Stock up on supplies before you go up and forget about the world for awhile!

Gary & Rhonda Stinnett
Randy & Stephanie Shults
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lagoon pool & hot tub on private mountaintop retreat
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p171830
+1 6194548389
Jamul San Diego County
5

Slice of heaven

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 22-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
This is a beautiful and unique property and exceeded expectations. What a spot to reconnect.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Lagoon pool & hot tub on private mountaintop retreat
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p171830
+1 6194548389
Jamul San Diego County
5

Wow!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Apr-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
I only need 3 words to describe this place ...

Beautiful, Peaceful & Relaxing.

If you are reading this, stopping looking and book this unique abode now!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Lagoon pool & hot tub on private mountaintop retreat
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p171830
+1 6194548389
Jamul San Diego County
Hillman, Minnesota
5

Our stay in paradise!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 14-Feb-2013
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2013
Words can not express the beauty and serene vibe of this place! We arrived just at nightfall and found the house to be inviting-our only suprise was that the 2nd bedroom is only reachable by going out the kitchen door and up a steep flight of stairs to the pool area. My girls , 27 & 29 and I had no problem with this set up. I stayed up & they sayed down. What an experience I had when I woke up to the most beautiful sunrise right from my bed. Not a bad view from anywhere. You really are above the clouds. We had brought plenty of provisions so we never left the property. Why would we? We spent most of our time outside or in the hot tub. Pool is not heated so we could only talk about how much we would use it when we returned at a warmer time of year. My oldest daughter lives in LA and daughter #2 and I came out to celebrate my 50th birthday. After 3 days in the city this was the perfect end toa perfect week. Thanks so much for sharing the beauty of this place. We will return! Peace.
One other thing-on Feb 2nd about 3:30 pm, sitting on the hill by the cougar statue we spotted 3 large black cats walking down the neighbors driveway-just east of the property, 1 cat walked all the way down their drive and started up ours, travled about 1/2 way up and disappeared in the brush. The other 2 vanished in the brush on neighbors property.Pretty cool, however it kind of rattled my 27 year old daughter. :) We checked the internet for cat sightings in the area and came up with very little......Bring your binocs. If you don't you will wish you had.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lagoon pool & hot tub on private mountaintop retreat
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p171830
+1 6194548389
Jamul San Diego County
Los Angeles
5

A real getaway

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Sep-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
The property is as described, it really does feel like a special place. Our group of friends has been getting together on Labor Day for the last 10 years, and this was the most relaxing weekend we've ever had. The salt water pool , the hot tub and views will really make your trip feel like a real get away. Make sure you drive up in a car with good ground clearance, there are spots on the drive that aren't conducive to a Prius, for instance. The property is close enough to supermarkets, restaurants, golf courses, a casino, etc.. but once you are up there, you really feel some distance from day to day life. As advertised, this is not a property for children...
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Lagoon pool & hot tub on private mountaintop retreat
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p171830
+1 6194548389
Jamul San Diego County
Stratford Upon Avon
5

Perfection above the clouds

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 23-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
You cannot start to imagine how beautiful this place is! We spent the most magical 5 nights at this very special place - it was an honour to stay here. Nothing can prepare you for the beauty of the surroundings and the fantastic architecture that made this vacation stay one of the most successful places we have ever rented.

You feel totally at one with nature, the peace and serenity are invigorating - it is quite amazing. Rent this unique place with confidence and know that you will be all the better for finding one of the most fabulous places on our planet.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lagoon pool & hot tub on private mountaintop retreat
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p171830
+1 6194548389
Jamul San Diego County
Encinitas
5

Gorgeous Views - Perfect Get Away Retreat - Peaceful and Solitary

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 31-Jul-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2012
My husband booked the place for himself for a couple of days to have a silent retreat where he could write, read and meditate but upon arrival he called me immediately as he said he needed to share such a magical place. Luckily it is only 1 hr away from where we live. The views are spectacular and the property itself is lovely and it is truly a metaphyscal retreat on top of the world. Even when it rained, it was glorious and relaxing. Even our dogs enjoyed it.
Caution: This property is not advisable if you have small children, or to those who have trouble with balance or walking as the architectural design is beautiful but may be unsuitable to toddlers or elderly. Also, it is best as a getaway retreat and not if you are doing daily sightseeing trips to San Diego. It is difficult to find at night. It would be nice to have larger signage to lead you up the mountain once you enter from the main street.
Loved this property and will definitely return. The owners seem to be lovely people and you can feel their love for this place,
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lagoon pool & hot tub on private mountaintop retreat
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p171830
+1 6194548389
Jamul San Diego County
Ventura, CA
5

Perfectly Serene and Well-Maintained!!!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 23-Jul-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
The question is: when can we come back? My wife and I took a short getaway from San Diego. This vacation rental is unique, relaxing, rejuvenating, and the perfect accommodation if you're looking to get away from it all! First, considering the fact that the property is well-removed from urban areas, everything is well taken care of. All of the necessary amenities are accounted for and as long as you bring food and such you will have no need to leave... which is the point of this property. Surrounded by nature, mountains, views, and a natural pool you have everything you could ask for in this retreat, and an immediate sense of calm and serenity will surround you. Because there is nothing like this property it is hard to reference it, but if you are looking to relax, bask in the sun, de-compress, and disconnect, I have not been to a better vacation rental, especially for the price. Desperately needing a short break from work, three evenings here recharged me equally to a weeklong vacation anywhere else. Only a 30 minute drive from San Diego, this property seems like it's in another country or another world, because it's hard to imagine that such an incredible and serene place is such a short drive from the city. All I need to say is if you are considering renting this property, DO! We have found a hidden gem in the mountains that is unlike anything else and all we are doing is figuring out our next stay asap, and keep saying to each other "Let's go Back to Jamul". Laura and Milton are also the perfect owners: very helpful, obliging, kind, and informative!
Helpful votes: 1/1