Seillans house rental - Facade of House
Facade of House
 
  • Bedrooms7
  • Sleeps14
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 - 14 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 7 bedroom holiday home in Seillans - Maison Hirondelles
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bath & Shower rooms, ideal for families of 12 with 8 adults 14 max

Seventeenth century stone house set in 1.25 ha of landscaped grounds & swimming pool in centre of medieval Seillans. Enjoying spectacular views over the old town and the Esterel peninsula, this historic property provides a unique mix of location, luxury, flexibility, privacy and charm. All within easy walking distance of all of the facilities of the old town. Recently refurbished the house offers modern kitchen, dining and living rooms. Capacity for 14, but ideal for families of 12 (or less) with 8 adults. Conservatory area offers further living space with beautiful views over old-town. Modern bath & shower rooms on each of the 3 floors of bedrooms. Beamed living room offers SKY TV, video, DVD, and CD/Tuner stereo. Attached single garage, guarantees local parking. External dining & table tennis areas, plus additional terraces with retractable awning and hardwood furniture, over looking fully stocked secluded gardens & swimming pool - provides maximum opportunity for out door living.

The House Grounds:: The house faces south and enjoys spectacular views over the village, surrounding countryside and distant Esterel mountains. The half acre sloping garden is pleasantly planted with flowering shrubs, fruit trees and lawns. The garden is complemented by several paved terraces, which are each furnished with hardwood sun chairs and loungers. The shady external dining terrace is furnished with a 3m hardwood table and teak chairs [seats 14] and equipped with a large gas BBQ/grill. An 8.5m x 4.5m swimming pool, with alarm, is also set in a sunny terrace. The garden and pool are protected by a fence.

Please note that the house over looks the place-de-la-resistance (village square), which hosts various festivals throughout the year, as well as the local boule area for the village. As one would expect, during weekends and village festivals the village square can be busy in the evenings and the focus point for celebration, which can impact on the peace and tranquillity of normal village life.

First Floor Living Areas:: The interior is full of character, attractively and comfortably decorated in a mixture of local antiques and modern furnishings. The floors are set in marble or old Provencal tiles. The accommodation is on five levels, with half-landings between them. The kitchen, dining room and conservatory are located on the first floor. The kitchen is approached from steps externally and has a small shaded terrace. The kitchen is fully stocked with all appliances, crockery and cutlery sufficient for the number of guests. The dining room leads directly off the kitchen, and has a large oak dining table and chairs and oak side board. The dining room also boasts a wood burning stove for use in the winter. The walls are hung with a collection of Provencal prints. From the dining room a comfortable and light [triple aspect] conservatory/ seating area is reached, which has stunning views over the old town.

Third Floor Living Areas:: A large beamed living room is located on the fourth level. The room is double aspect with twin windows overlooking the pool, with superb uninterrupted views to the mountains behind the village. Separate double french doors provide access to an elevated terrace with views of, and gated access [via steps] to, the garden and pool. The terrace contains teak table and chairs. A retractable awning can also be deployed to provide shade to this external area.

The living room is furnished with a modern large sofa suite, capable of seating 10 persons. The living room also contains a modern colour television and a combined DVD and Video player. An extensive supply of DVDs, videos and CDs are contained in 2 large teak book cases that also contain a stereo system and a wide range of books and games. The walls are hung with a collection of Zarou prints. Wifi and free landline calls to 50 countries.

More Details
Hide Details

29 Reviews of Property 17172 in Seillans, France

Exceptional residence in medieval town, large secluded gardens & pool
average rating of 5.0 based on 29 reviews
business
Exceptional residence in medieval town, large secluded gardens & pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p17172
+44 1525261845
Seillans Esterel - Fayence
Auckland, New Zealand
5

Perfect!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 31-Oct-2010
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2010
We were a larger group from various destinations meeting up to celebrate a year of 'significant' birthdays. The house was everything described on this website and more!

The house is located towards the top of the village, and has a lovely outlook over the hills and valleys. It is roomy and extremely well-equipped, making it very simple just to settle in and not worry about anything. Parking is very conveniently located just across the road.

There are lots of delightful spots inside and out to while away the hours - the fruiting fig tree and grapevine were a big hit! If you have a need for exercise, the pool is refreshing, or there are many walks in the neighbouring countryside. We did a walk down to the bories, and another day walk over to Fayence.

The villa and Seillans truly exceeded all expectations, and we were just thrilled to be there. I can't recommend it enough.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Exceptional residence in medieval town, large secluded gardens & pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p17172
+44 1525261845
Seillans Esterel - Fayence
5

Wunderbares Seillans

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 30-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
Wir haben in Seillans zu sechst eine Woche Veloferien gemacht. Wunderbare Gegend und ein schönes Dorf. Vor dem Haus liegt der wunderschöne, Platenen gesäumte Dorfplatz. Nächtelang haben wir hier Boule gespielt. Links unter dem Haus liegt das Restaurant "Le Gloire De Mon Père". Sympathisch, gutes Essen, gute Weine, die uns Sommelier Ludovic mit grosser Sachkenntnis und nicht weniger Charme näher gebracht hat. Der Platz ist das Restaurant. Zauberhaft. Und über all dem trohnt das Haus von Lisa und Andy Wheaton. Das Haus ist noch schöner, als es die Fotos versprechen. Es ist äusserst gut ausgestattet und liebevoll eingerichtet. Die Terrassen, der Pool, der Garten, die Zimmer, die Bäder: alles schön und von guter Qualtiät eingerichtet.
Diese Haus eignet sich für grössere Gruppen hervorragend. Es ist luxeriös, aber es protzt nicht. 5 Sterne sind genau richtig!
Christian Siegenthaler
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Exceptional residence in medieval town, large secluded gardens & pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p17172
+44 1525261845
Seillans Esterel - Fayence
5

Dream come true

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 25-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
We were 11 friends, all "Girls" (between 20 and 57...), who shared a wonderful week at Andy`s and Lisa`s property. The location of the house is just exceptional, looking over the landscape of La Provence and also situated in the middle of this lovely ancient village.
The house itself is very large and well equipped with all you might need, the garden with its pool is a little hideaway with figue- trees, olivetrees and all kinds of blooming flowers. Getting into contact with the local people is easy as the Petanque- ground is just in front of the house!
We will surely come back again!

Birgit, Leni, Monika, Margit, Roswitha, Suna, Irene, Catherine, Manuela, Ursula and Gina
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Exceptional residence in medieval town, large secluded gardens & pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p17172
+44 1525261845
Seillans Esterel - Fayence
Owner Submitted Review
0

We will be booking again,

  • Review Submitted: 14-Oct-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
Hi Andy, just got back from France and wanted to drop you a line to thank you for all your help with staying at your property in Seillans. All of us had an amazing time and loved the surrounding area, the weather, the locals, the restaurants and most of all your amazing house! It is a rare thing to have your highest expectations bettered by reality but all of our group commented on the fact that the house and pool were even better than the website shows and the location was just perfect.

We will be booking again,
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Exceptional residence in medieval town, large secluded gardens & pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p17172
+44 1525261845
Seillans Esterel - Fayence
Owner Submitted Review
0

A Month's Stay in Seillans

A Month's Stay in Seillans
  • Review Submitted: 14-Oct-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
Dear Andy (& Lisa),

The family and guests had a really great time over the stay and thoroughly enjoyed the character of the house, the lovely garden and pool, and being in the thick of the life of the village.

Restaurant le Vol à Voile at the little airfield in Fayence was our find of the month, warranting a recommendation in your guestbook, which we left a page-full in.

We would definitely consider a repeat, although I appreciate that you might occasionally want to spend August in Seillans yourselves!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Exceptional residence in medieval town, large secluded gardens & pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p17172
+44 1525261845
Seillans Esterel - Fayence
5

Outstanding Holiday Villa!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 22-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
Andy and Lisa's lovely home was the perfect base for our No Boundaries Art Workshop's stay in Provence this past June. This beautiful vila is perfectly situated overlooking a charming square with a bubbling fountain, is steps to the petanque courts where the locals invited us to play, and a two-minute walk to our favorite restaurant, La Glorie de Mon Pere, where we were serenaded by strolling musicians and welcomed like a regular from our first meal. The villa is spacious, with plenty of room for our group of artists, with well-appointed bedrooms, most with views of the town and surrounding hills, and a very large dining room with a separate sitting room. We couldn't have been more pleased and are hoping to return next year. Thank you for sharing your home with us!
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Exceptional residence in medieval town, large secluded gardens & pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p17172
+44 1525261845
Seillans Esterel - Fayence
5

Truly Magical

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 07-Mar-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2011
We booked Mason Hirondelles for a big family holiday, with people coming from the UK, Ireland, and the USA, with ages ranging from 76 to 2. It was the 'Americans' first trip to mainland Europe, and our parents were viewing it as possibly the last big family holiday where we were all together, so it needed to be good. It was. The house itself is beautiful and spacious (enough room for my 17 year old niece and 16 year old nephew to escape the oldies). The pool was gorgeous (and private) as was the garden. Seillans itself is absolutely stunning and exactly what we wanted. The house is in the middle of the village and is a few steps from two lovely restaurants on the main square. We all agreed that we had the best holiday ever and this house and village will forever be in our hearts. Allan
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Exceptional residence in medieval town, large secluded gardens & pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p17172
+44 1525261845
Seillans Esterel - Fayence
5

Paradise Found................

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 16-Nov-2011
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2011
I would just like to thank Andy and Lisa for allowing us to share their beautiful home . The whole experience from our first phone call to our departure could not have been more seemless. We gathered to celebrate my birthday a group of family and friends from mid 20's to mid 50's and everyone without exception had a wonderful time. The property is stunning - the photographs do not do it justice, the gardens are a vertitable larder supplying us with lemons and limes for g and t's , grapes for cheese and figs a plenty for baking stuffed with
locally sourced goat's cheese, magnifique ! The welcome we received from the local restaurants was outstanding particular thanks to Eric proprietor of La Gloire de Mon Pere who made my birthday so memorable and to his Dad for the wonderful Millefeuille he baked (Andy you were right it is truly amazing !)
The location is perfect for exploring - so close to Antibes and Cannes , St Tropez is good for a spot of people watching, St Maxine is
also worth a visit.
As you can gather a fabulous time was had by all. I would have no hesitation in recommending this property and area so any one of my friends. We hope to return again soon , my Uncle has actually suggested making it an annual event !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/5
business
Exceptional residence in medieval town, large secluded gardens & pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p17172
+44 1525261845
Seillans Esterel - Fayence
5

our beautiful holiday in a provence france villa

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 13-Oct-2011
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2011
3 generations of our family(5 children and 5 adults) spent 14 wonderfull days in the villa at Seillans. every detail of the promotion of this accommodation was accurate and , for me, exceeded expectations. impecably clean and well maintained, the location exceptional for dining , exploring and relaxing. i will bore my friends to death with my stories of this stay and could not really note any dislikes. our 5 year old grand daughter wrote in her daily diary"today i lived in a beautiful house".
ray and delma clark
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Exceptional residence in medieval town, large secluded gardens & pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p17172
+44 1525261845
Seillans Esterel - Fayence
5

Amazing house in a beautiful location

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 18-Sep-2011
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2011
This is a fantastic character building, on the edge of an atmospheric medieval village. It is very spacious, in good order throughout, and fitted with high quality furnishings. The garden is large, laid out on multiple levels with terraces providing plenty of scope for outdoor dining, and while on the edge of the village, feels quite secluded and private.

Seillans is a pretty village, without ever feeling too touristy. A boulangerie is a couple of minutes walk down through the village - ideal for early morning croissants and baguettes. There are two restaurants directly opposite - the chatter and bustle from these drifts up to the conservatory adding to the atmosphere in the house in the evening.

The house is well suited for anyone who wants to experience the character of Seillans - everything is a short walk away. If you're looking for total peace and quiet you would be better off looking for a villa deep in the woods, but this I think would be missing out on everything on offer in the village.

There are plenty of opportunities for activities and day trips in the surrounding area. Walking is well catered for, there are a number of marked trails in the area, with leaflets produced by the local tourist office.

The owner was helpful, and always responded to queries promptly. The local guardian was friendly and accommodating, dealing with our unusual arrival and departure times without problem.

In all, Seillans is a good base for exploring the surrounding area, the house itself a really atmospheric location from which to experience it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2