Poipu condo rental - Ground floor corner, with two walls of Glass ON the water.
Ground floor corner, with two walls of Glass ON the water.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 - 10 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday condo in Poipu - Aloha Kai
1BR/1BA Sleeps 2

Fabulous Oceanfront - Ground Floor - Corner Unit Condo. Every Room in this unique unit is oceanfront, with Ocean Views. Step outside onto your patio and stroll across the 20 foot lawn to the seawall and you are standing at the edge of P.K.'s, one of the Best Surf Breaks in all Hawaii. A few paces to your left takes you to the edge of your bay - locally called Turtle Bay - to watch the turtles move gracefully through the shallow turquoise water. Your bay is also one of the Most Desired Snorkeling Beaches on Kauai. Stroll along the waterfront to the famous Beach House Restaurant next door, where you can sip mai-tais and watch the sunset, or enjoy the White Sands and Warm Water of the beach. And this is only the beginning. The whole island beckons with its unrivalled beauty, and wide variety of activities for everyone. The perfect place for a romantic getaway or a dream vacation! Registration #40067808

We fell in love with Hawaii on our honeymoon over 50 years ago, but only discovered the unique beauty, drama and excitement of the Island of Kauai about 15 years ago, when our daughter Debi Joy moved there with her young family, and began a real estate sales career there. She alerted us to best locations and the best properties on the island, and we finally settled on Kuhio Shores in Poipu Beach for purchase. We all liked 'Aloha Kai', our unit 109, so much that we partnered with Debi Joy in ownership. We (Joy and Walt) have been real estate brokers in California for almost 30 years, and have bought and sold many properties, but none of them has been so simply exotic as 'Aloha Kai'.

Walt or Joy purchased this condo in 2005

Aloha Kai is as close to the water as any building on Kauai. The seawall out front is 20 feet away across the lawn. On the bayside the lawn is only 12 feet to the bay rocks and the water. So you get water views from every room, and a sense of being surrounded by the sea. The unit itself is highly upgraded with a newly installed marble floor throughout, european style cabinetry, marble shower, new kingsize bed, and all conveniences. The snorkeling bay is right beside you, and around the other side of the building is a white sand beach for swimming and sunning, and out front is the famous PK's surf break. A new shopping center just opened within easy walking distance, and the Beachhouse Restaurant is right next door featuring spectacular sunsets from the bar. Poipu is known as the 'sunny side' of Kauai. So what more could you ask?

18 Reviews of Property 148707 in Poipu, USA

BEST CHOICE!!! CORNER, ALL GLASS ON 2 SIDES! ALL ROOMS OCEANFRONT! REMODELED NEW
average rating of 5.0 based on 18 reviews
business
BEST CHOICE!!! CORNER, ALL GLASS ON 2 SIDES! ALL ROOMS OCEANFRONT! REMODELED NEW
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p148707
+1 949-294-0087
Poipu Kauai
Oyster Bay, New York, USA
5

If You Love the Water, You Will Never Want to Leave

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Dec-2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2013
My first review ever after so many years of travel. My husband and I just returned from 8 nights at this lovely condo with spectacular views and constant intimacy with the ocean. The condo itself is open and attractive and with a very comfortable bed and well equipped kitchen. Look out front and see the sunset, turtles, whales and surfers. Look to the side and see more turtles and the sunrise. A few steps to a great snorkeling beach where tours bring people from near and far. Some of the best snorkeling from the shore I have experienced in many trips to Hawaii. Easy beach entry, keep enough to not be afraid of brushing against coral but close enough to really see the fish and admire their sparkling colors. A few steps from the beach is one of the most romantic and beautiful restaurants we've been to in Hawaii----The Beach House. The food is great and to be able to walk there a great bonus. With every day we relaxed more, and slept so well to the oceans lull. On our last day I was returning from snorkeling at "our" beach and someone asked me for snorkeling advice and wondered if I was a native and lived there. I wish.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
BEST CHOICE!!! CORNER, ALL GLASS ON 2 SIDES! ALL ROOMS OCEANFRONT! REMODELED NEW
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p148707
+1 949-294-0087
Poipu Kauai
Santa Monica, California
5

Location, location, location

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 15-Jun-2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2013
What a wonderful spot for enjoying the island. My wife and I second all of the favorable comments made by others. Walt and Joy are very nice people and so easy to deal with. We loved the panoramic view, and yes, we too enjoyed watching the turtles. The living and dining rooms feel so open when the shutters are opened. And the sound effects - sleeping to waves crashing against the rocks - now that's an island experience! We made good use of the well equipped kitchen for a number of meals. We will try to book this condo again the next time we go to Kauai.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
BEST CHOICE!!! CORNER, ALL GLASS ON 2 SIDES! ALL ROOMS OCEANFRONT! REMODELED NEW
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p148707
+1 949-294-0087
Poipu Kauai
5

Absolutely Wonderful

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 25-Apr-2013
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2013
We stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Walt and Joy were pleasant and helpful to work with and the condo was exactly as advertised. The kitchen is extremely well supplied and it was easy to cook, bake etc as all of the equipment was there. We stumbled into the owner's cocktail party the first night and everyone was welcoming. The island is beautiful and this was a good base from which to explore. We found the market and stocked up and enjoyed 2 dinners at the Beach House next door.
THe bed was very comfortable and the unit was spotless.
Thanks for a great stay
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
BEST CHOICE!!! CORNER, ALL GLASS ON 2 SIDES! ALL ROOMS OCEANFRONT! REMODELED NEW
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p148707
+1 949-294-0087
Poipu Kauai
Alberta Canada
5

BEST condo in Kuhio Shores

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Jan-2013
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2012
I have been coming to Hawaii for over 30 years, and this little gem has topped all places we have stayed.
Not only is the view to die for, sleeping with the sound of the waves crashing all night is relaxing and simply amazing. As well if you are a star gazer like I am you can see ever star in the night sky. You do lose a little privacy, just around sunset people from the building come to watch the sunset and then they leave. This condo is on the east side of the building so you do not get the late afternoon heat like you do on the west side, and the condo stays quite cool. It takes a lot to impress my husband so if you want to impress your spouse or special someone stay here!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
BEST CHOICE!!! CORNER, ALL GLASS ON 2 SIDES! ALL ROOMS OCEANFRONT! REMODELED NEW
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p148707
+1 949-294-0087
Poipu Kauai
Minnesota
5

Yes! Yes! Yes! Stay Here!!!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 29-Mar-2011
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2011
We would most highly recommend staying in this unit at Kuhio Shores. What you see in the pictures and read in the description is what you get and more! Excellent views (including turtles and whales), the sound of the ocean through every window, easy access to everything including great food at the nearby Beach House Restaurant. The unit is beautifully equipped with all you need. This was our first time on Kauai and hope to return to this slice of paradise again and hopefully to this unit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
BEST CHOICE!!! CORNER, ALL GLASS ON 2 SIDES! ALL ROOMS OCEANFRONT! REMODELED NEW
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p148707
+1 949-294-0087
Poipu Kauai
Los Angeles, CA
5

GREAT LOCATION for watching....WHALES, TURTLES, SUNRISES & SUNSETS 2

GREAT LOCATION for watching....WHALES, TURTLES, SUNRISES & SUNSETS 2
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 23-Feb-2011
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2011
This condo was great! Stayed for one week 2/13-20/11. One of the most comfortable beds ever and the location is probably the best on the island! First place I've ever stayed at that you can watch both sunrise and sunset. The turtles & whales were right out in front of the unit. This corner location is a must have! Walt & Joy have the condo totally equipped with everything you need for a great vacation, including beach chairs, tour guide books, etc. Thanks again, can't wait to return!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
BEST CHOICE!!! CORNER, ALL GLASS ON 2 SIDES! ALL ROOMS OCEANFRONT! REMODELED NEW
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p148707
+1 949-294-0087
Poipu Kauai
Cologne, Germany
5

Absolutely loved our stay

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Sep-2010
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2010
We spent a fantastic week at this beautiful condo. The unit was very well-appointed and clean. The location is just amazing - falling asleep with the waves pounding against the shore just a couple of feet away from our bedroom was something that we could definitely live with on a permanent basis :-) In the morning we would sit outside and watch the sea turtles "having breakfast" at the shoreline right in front of the house. Apart from the sound of the waves the location is very quiet and the corner location of the condo guarantees amazing ocean views!
Very strong recommendation!

PS: Only point that we found a bit disturbing sometimes is that the sprinkler in front of the bedroom window went off at 5:45 am on a daily basis. A bit later or otherwise in the evening would have been nicer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
BEST CHOICE!!! CORNER, ALL GLASS ON 2 SIDES! ALL ROOMS OCEANFRONT! REMODELED NEW
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p148707
+1 949-294-0087
Poipu Kauai
San Diego, CA, USA
5

Jo Ann and Bob, San Diego, CA

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 16-Aug-2010
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2010
This condo is absolutely THE BEST! We were there for 8 nights in July. The condo is Beautiful, Very Well-Appointed, Comfortable, Clean, and the Location CANNOT BE BEAT! This corner, ground floor unit has great views and perfect for walking right out to the water! Being able to listen to the waves 24/7 was wonderful! The restaurant right next door, with fantastic sunset views and GREAT snorkeling bay, was such an added bonus. When we return to Kauai, this condo is the ONLY place that we would want to stay! It made a beautiful home away from home and helped make our first stay on Kauai exceptionally memorable! We highly, highly recommend this condo and the very thoughtful and easy to work with owners.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
BEST CHOICE!!! CORNER, ALL GLASS ON 2 SIDES! ALL ROOMS OCEANFRONT! REMODELED NEW
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p148707
+1 949-294-0087
Poipu Kauai
zillah, wa
5

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 17-Feb-2010
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2010
What a fantastic place to stay! Ocean views just as described and was pleasantly surprised at the loud sound of the waves. We loved watching the humpback whales, sea turtles, and sunsets all from our lanai. Walking distance to baby beach was a nice bonus for our two year old. Great snorkeling in the bay next to the condo, although the waves were choppy. (Probably due to the high surf warning the entire time of our stay) Enjoyed the comfortable bed and use of nice beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and BBQ. We felt safe and secure at Kuhio Shores. Would love to come back and will recommend to all our friends.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
BEST CHOICE!!! CORNER, ALL GLASS ON 2 SIDES! ALL ROOMS OCEANFRONT! REMODELED NEW
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p148707
+1 949-294-0087
Poipu Kauai
Saratoga, CA
5

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 12-Jan-2010
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2010
We stayed in this condo in November, 2009, and were very pleased with the rental. We have stayed on Kauai over a dozen times, and this was our second stay at Kuhio Shores. The most compelling feature of this unit is the view. I doubt there is a better view from any condo on Kauai. In exchange you give up some privacy, as this is a corner, ground floor unit with a walkable strip of grass between the unit and the ocean. Probably the best floorplan and location of any unit at Kuhio Shores, as the bedroom is on the ocean, not the parking lot. The unit does not have a bathtub, but does have a very nice shower. Furnishings are average, but nice. So, if you want an exceptional view at a great price, and don't mind sacrificing a little privacy, this is the place for you.
Helpful votes: 2/2