.4th Pompidou Centre/Le Marais house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in .4th Pompidou Centre/Le Marais
Bedrooms 3, Bathrooms 3, Sleeps 6

Located on the Ile de la Cite, only a few steps from the Notre Dame Cathedral and the Sainte Chapelle, this large (1,600 sq.ft.) and elegant three bedroom, three bathroom apartment overlooks the Seine and the Pont St. Michel. From here you can enjoy direct views over the river traffic on La Seine or walk to the Place Saint Michel, the Sorbonne, the trendy Blvd. St. Germain on the Left Bank or to the Chatelet - Les Halles area or the Marais district on the Right Bank. This really is the very center of Paris!

The apartment takes up the entire 3rd floor of a grand, historic building right on the bank of the Seine. From its windows and the large balcony you have an unobstructed view across the river to the Place St Michel into the heart of the Latin Quarter. Many of the main historic and cultural sites and monuments are close by: the Palais de Justice and the Conciergerie are just around the corner, the Louvre and the theatres at Chatelet are only a short walk away and the vibrant Left Bank area is right across the bridge outside the front door. Metro and RER stations are a block away. Access to the apartment is controlled by secure coded entry to the internal courtyard. The historic hallway leads to a brand-new elevator and a separate stairway.

Four tall double-glazed French window doors at the front of the building open onto a narrow balcony that extends the full-width of the front windows. The view is to the South directly over the Seine and the St Michel bridge, with barges and tourist boats passing by most of the year. The quiet street below carries little traffic. The large and impressive living room has very high ceilings, the original marble fireplace and classic, comfortable furnishings. The two double French window doors open onto the balcony.

The large dining room also has a high ornamental ceiling and a tall window. The large dining room table can seat up to eight persons. The apartment is equipped with a LCD flat screen television, 150 channel cable TV (including CNN and BBC), DVD, HiFi equipment with MP3 connectivity and Internet high speed broadband WiFi and Ethernet connection.

The two largest bedrooms are reached through double doors located on each side of the living room. The main and second bedrooms overlook the river and are located on each side of the living room. The third bedroom is located behind the main bedroom with an en-suite bathroom connecting the two bedrooms, although the doors can be shut so only those in the main bedroom use this bathroom.

The Master bedroom is very light and has a tall double French door to the balcony at the front of the building. There is a very comfortable queen size bed with a deep but firm mattress. This bedroom has its own modern ensuite bathroom with shower, toilet, basin and hand painted tiles.

The second bedroom is on the other side of the living room. It also has a tall double French door leading to the balcony at the front of the building. This bedroom has two twin size single beds with separate headboards that can be converted into a comfortable queen size bed, if required. The modern en-suite bathroom has a walk-in shower, toilet and basin.

The third bedroom is at the rear of the apartment with a tall double window onto the courtyard. It has a single trundle bed which can be converted to two singles or a joined double bed.

The kitchen and family bathroom (with tub and washer/dryer) are located down a corridor, in a separate part of the apartment, off to the right as you enter through the main doors of the apartment. The kitchen is fully equipped with a four burner gas stove and oven, fridge, freezer, double sink and dishwasher. All cooking utensils and other small appliances are top quality, all cutlery, crockery and glassware is supplied. The kitchen has a separate exit leading to an elevator at the rear of the apartment.

The third bathroom has a full size bath with hand shower, a bidet and wash basin.

There is also a washer and separate dryer (all instructions are in English). Other equipment includes vacuum cleaner, steam iron and ironing board. The apartment has smoke alarms and a fire extinguisher. Cribs are available for small children.

This is a NO SMOKING apartment!

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 140535 in .4th Pompidou Centre/Le Marais, France

Pont Saint Michel
average rating of 4.769231 based on 13 reviews
business
Pont Saint Michel
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p140535vb
+1 415-326-4066
.4th Pompidou Centre/Le Marais Paris
orland park, Illinois, USA
5

Great - location, space and staff

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 10-Apr-2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2014
My nieces, friends and I stayed for a week in the apartment. It was a charming space in a great location (if Notre Dame is behind you and the Seine is on your left, you are there!). The staff was very helpful and did a great job coordinating our arrival.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Pont Saint Michel
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p140535vb
+1 415-326-4066
.4th Pompidou Centre/Le Marais Paris
5

spacious and perfectly situated place to stay

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 01-Apr-2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2014
The apartment was spacious and comfortable, extremely clean, instructions and suggestions for businesses and attractions nearby were very clear and helpful, and all appliances and utilities were in perfect working order. The district was beautiful, easy walk to countless attractions and the metro, local shopkeepers and our local contact were helpful and friendly.

We were delighted by every aspect of the arrangements, and will definitely be repeat customers.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Pont Saint Michel
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p140535vb
+1 415-326-4066
.4th Pompidou Centre/Le Marais Paris
New York
5

Amazing Apartment in an even more amazing location!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 10-Jan-2014
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2013
We did not really know what to expect when we booked this rental. We were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful apartment. We were welcomed by one of the associates when we arrived. They were very accommodating! Even though we arrived hours before our check-in time, they let us leave our luggage in the unit while we went out during the day.

The apartment itself is extremely spacious. It came equipped with any and everything you would need during your stay (cooking utensils, towels, soap, hair dryer, etc.) WIFI was provided and phone service as well. We were able to make local calls as well as calls to US cell phones.

Aside from the great amenities, we were also pleased with the location. Sitting one block from Notre Dame, it was extremely easy to make our way around town. Most places were within walking distance. It was only one block from the metro station. This made it very easy to plan our sight-seeing routes.

Without a doubt, we would book this rental again in a heartbeat! It was a much better experience than staying at a hotel. We were able to spend quality family time together in a home-like setting.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Pont Saint Michel
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p140535vb
+1 415-326-4066
.4th Pompidou Centre/Le Marais Paris
Tennessee, USA
4

Two American couples living like Parisians

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 17-Jun-2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2013
We were looking for a true Parisian experience for 4 nights in Paris before boarding a train for Venice and a 12 night Adriatic cruise. We came pretty close to having that experience when we decided to rent an apartment versus staying in a hotel!

As others have reported, the location could not have been much better to all of the sights of Paris. We walked almost everywhere. When we were not walking, we took the Metro which is just steps away from the apartment. It was so nice to be able to walk back to the apartment mid day, and then refresh for an evening out.

As we sleep with a white noise machine, we had no problem with traffic or tour boat noise . The apartment building itself was mostly quiet. We could occasionally hear a baby crying and some lite walking around from the apartment above us.

Our apartment was decorated in lovely muted tones and the accommodations were very comfortable. We enjoyed having a living area to converse in and a true dining room to eat our morning pastries, tea and coffee... purchased fresh each morning from an eatery up the street. The laundry room was a nice addition, although we did have a few problems figuring out how to work the appliances. Set wash and dry buttons at shortest settings, and do not wait until your last day of stay to do your laundry. The machine cycles take forever!

What we would add or change? ...

Taller, substantial lamps for the bedrooms. The small modern fixtures do not go with the elegance of the old building and there was very little bedside reading light .

The shower-head arm had a crack in it, so we spent a good bit of time wrapping the arm with towels morning and night (wringing them out) to prevent a spray of water all over the bathroom. Otherwise, the bathrooms were all very roomy.

For those of us that do not wish to unpack suitcases and use the armoire or chest of drawers that the apartment provides, luggage racks in each bedroom would have been wonderful! We had to leave open suitcase on the floor. Very hard on the knees and back.

We were fortunate to meet the proprietor of the apartment when he surprised us on our last morning after we returned from a breakfast out. He was in the apartment replacing a grocery cart. He helped us with the W/D and gave us directions to a few more sights. Very nice man!

If we ever go back to Paris, we will check on renting this apartment again We have already recommended it to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your gracious review. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that Paris was all you expected it to be. As can happen at times, things break, and our shower head is no exception. Thanks for letting us know about it. We've replaced it now. If you ever decide to stay with us again please don't hesitate to let us know if something is amiss. We'll do our very best to make it right as soon as possible. We'll also revise our apartment book to make the washer and dryer instructions better. Merci!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Pont Saint Michel
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p140535vb
+1 415-326-4066
.4th Pompidou Centre/Le Marais Paris
Portland, OR
5

A very satisfied customer

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 29-May-2013
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2013
The apartment exceeded our expectations. Elegant, large, well appointed, fully supplied, perfect. The location was unbeatable. The rental agency provided personal service and was easy to work with. We have already recommended it to friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Pont Saint Michel
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p140535vb
+1 415-326-4066
.4th Pompidou Centre/Le Marais Paris
Levittown, NY
5

A beautiful place to enjoy while in Paris

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 17-May-2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2013
We are two couples, one in our late sixties , the other just into their seventies, who shared and thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Pont St. Michel Apartment on the Ile de la Cite. We were very pleased with being able to enjoy the Place St Michel and sun-filled Seine views from the French balcony windows fronting the entire apartment.

The area on the two Iles and the south of the river were very comfortable for us. They were excellent walking areas and were literally footsteps away from Notre Dame and its organs and music programs. Having the taxi stand across the bridge made local transportation easily available. For the visitor more adventurous, the Metro stops around the corner from the apartment. The Iles were very-well patrolled and made it comfortable and safe for us to wander about well into the evening - darkness in mid-May is near ten p.m..

Our initial contact for this property was through Ken Varcoe almost a year ago. He promised us a comfortable accommodation, with English language instructions that would be understandable for each of the apartment appliances. And that is what we found. Everything worked. Every appliance came with detailed and sequential instructions. There were no surprises

Each of the people with whom we had communication with were pleasant to deal with, very knowledgeable and courteous. They easily accommodated our request for transport to and from CDG.

We would do this trip again in an instance. The City was magnificent. And this Pont St Michel apartment is a wonderful space to call a temporary home during a visit to Paris.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Pont Saint Michel
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p140535vb
+1 415-326-4066
.4th Pompidou Centre/Le Marais Paris
United States
5

Great Apartment

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 05-May-2013
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2013
We just returned from a week in Paris staying at this centrally located large apartment. We appreciated the elevator and the proximity to the metro and taxi stand. We loved strolling around the Isle de la Cite and the Isle de St. Louis, particularly at sunset. The kitchen was well stocked. Plenty of towels and comforters. The bathrooms were clean and although the showers were fine for us, they may be small for the men or larger women in your group. Since we were there in late April/early May, we did not need to open the windows at night so the noise did not bother us. Our only mishap was when we arrived after a very long flight and contrary to what we were told, even as late as when we called from the airport as instructed, the prior tenants were there and not checking out for awhile. Since we were exhausted that put a damper on day 1 while we wandered the streets waiting for it to be cleaned and ready for us. The rest of the week went smoothly and we would highly recommend this apartment.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave us an excellent review. We were surprised to discover that the prior guests violated their contractual check-out time, even though they had been reminded of it at check-in. They acted in bad faith and refused to leave the apartment, knowing that they were staying beyond their welcome and that you were arriving. Once they they did leave, extra housekeeping staff arrived to expedite the cleaning and setup to prepare the apartment for your stay. This is the first time such an incident has occurred for us, and we regret that it put a damper on the start of your visit. Thank you for your generous remarks about the apartment, and we're pleased to know that the rest of your visit was pleasant.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Pont Saint Michel
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p140535vb
+1 415-326-4066
.4th Pompidou Centre/Le Marais Paris
5

Birthday trip to Paris

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 20-Apr-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
We chose this centrally located apartment to celebrate an 80th birthday and loved it. The view of the Seine with the Eiffel tower in the distance was wonderful. A lift made it very easy for an older relative and it was nicely roomy for a party of 5. It was a very short walk, essentially around the block, to stand in the plaza before the Notre Dame cathedral. It was also a very easy stroll over to the restaurants of Ile de la Cite as well as over to the right or left bank. The tobacco shop around the corner sold packets of tickets for the metro which was very easy to navigate. Having said that, there were so many things nearby that we used the metro rarely. The owner was very helpful and responsive and the local management was also very helpful with explaining the use of appliances that differ from those common in the US. The apartment was also surprisingly quiet to be in the heart of the city. Terrific location!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Pont Saint Michel
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p140535vb
+1 415-326-4066
.4th Pompidou Centre/Le Marais Paris
Connecticut
5

Quiet lovely apartment in ideal location

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 20-Jun-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
Stayed in this lovely apartment with two adult children and their mates. Perfect location for family with diverse interests. Walking distance to major museums and close to Latin quarter with cafes and active nightlife . Balcony views of the Seine unsurpassed -- also could see the twinkling Eiffel Tower at night.Well equipped with very responsive management. Charming quiet historical building close to Notre Dame. recommend without reservation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
business
Pont Saint Michel
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p140535vb
+1 415-326-4066
.4th Pompidou Centre/Le Marais Paris
Bogota, Colombia
4

Great Location

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 15-May-2012
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2012
We were a party of 4 adults and thoroughly enjoyed out stay in Pont Saint Michael. The location of the apartment is great, very close to metro and bus stations, but the close vicinity to Place St. Michael makes it a bit noisy at night. The apartment is appointed as described. For our next stay we would request a blender. We did have problems with internet, but the matter was rapidly taken care of by Ken.
I will definitely go back and recommend it highly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children