Hanalei house rental - An exterior view with a backdrop of majestic North Shore mountains & waterfalls
An exterior view with a backdrop of majestic North Shore mountains & waterfalls
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday home in Hanalei
House, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

30 seconds to the beach,this is a truly unique place to stay. The Hanalei Surfboard House will provide you with an accommodating experience you won't soon forget. The large, secluded suite is one-of-a-kind, with a private entrance, offering the ultimate in privacy. You are guaranteed to feel right at home in this clean, beautiful apartment which provides a comfortable king sized bed and a fantastic shower. Nowhere else will you find such an abundance of conveniences, including an iPod dock, Bose stereo and CD collection, plus wireless Internet!

Spend an afternoon at the beach right across the street, or step out onto one of your own two exclusive lanais and enjoy a barbeque. Hanalei town is only a half a mile away with a variety of restaurants and shops to choose from.

Be sure to visit the website for additional information and pictures. Lonely planet makes it the authors pick whilst Frommer's guidebook says this is the best place to stay in town for the best price! Need we say more? Please call or e-mail for availability.

Keywords: Private Suites

More Details
Hide Details

Retired English music business executive enjoying life in Hanalei,Kauai.

Simon Potts purchased this house in 2000

I built the house in Hanalei as this region of the island of Kauai became my go-to destination for rejuvination and relaxation during my heady music biz career.

The house is 30 seconds to Hanalei Bay and a ten minute slow walk into town.

17 Reviews of Property 139894 in Hanalei, USA

The Hanalei Surfboard House
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
business
The Hanalei Surfboard House
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p139894vb
+1 (808) 651-1039 (Hawaii, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
San Diego, California
5

Best vacation destination

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 18-May-2009
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2009
The island of Kauai is our favorite vacation destination. It's unspoiled natural beauty captivates us every year that we visit. The Hanalei Surfboard House is the most unique and comforting rental on Kauai and the only place we choose to stay. This private secluded property has great state-of-the art amenities, is clean, well-maintained, and is conveniently located within a few minutes from hiking, beaches, restaurants, and local grocery stores. Parking is up-front, and the owner/host is always welcoming and excellent with recommendations for activities. We are expecting to book in Dec for our next Kauai vacation. We recommend an early booking since Hanalei is a popular destination spot.
Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Hanalei Surfboard House
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p139894vb
+1 (808) 651-1039 (Hawaii, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
Montreal
5

Perfection!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 18-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
This place is magical! Perfect location steps away from the beach and a short walk to Hanalei town where you can find great shops and restaurants. Simon has really thought about everything one needs to relax in paradise, from beach chairs, beach towels, an amazing shower (the best one we had during our 15 day trip to Hawaii ), eclectic decor, I can go on and on! We stayed in the Elvis suite and everything described met and exceeded our expectations. Thanks Simon for allowing us to stay here and having made our honeymoon so perfect!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Hanalei Surfboard House
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p139894vb
+1 (808) 651-1039 (Hawaii, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
5

Hanalei love shack

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 22-Mar-2013
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2013
Staying at the love shack at the surfboard house was perfect!! Walking distance to Hanalei town & steps to the beach at hanalei bay .. It's the best location on the north shore. The place was absolutely outfitted for a beach vacation, beach towels and chairs,coolers, outdoor shower and private courtyard w patio table and chairs and gas grill. Boogie boards and snorkel sets... All premium!

The bed was excellent, great bathroom and shower, tv, stereo, full kitchen w filtered water , full collection of vintage hawiana cocktail sets & mixers (these come in handy).. Great lighting .. Comfy furniture.. Spacious.. Very private and relaxing, spotlessly clean, very pleased.!! we were on our honeymoon :) No ka oi!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Hanalei Surfboard House
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p139894vb
+1 (808) 651-1039 (Hawaii, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
Rehoboth Beach, DE
5

Just book it!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Jan-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2013
I honestly spent a month looking at places to stay and reviews. I wish I had saved myself all of that time and just booked this place from the moment that I found it. We had a lovely stay in the Elvis Room. Simon is a wonderful relaxed host-he was around to make recommendations but didn't hover. The Room was great and had everything that you would desire-comfortable bed, amazing water pressure in the shower. Obviously Simon is passionate about these places because they were impeccably clean, the grounds are beautifully maintained and everything that you could possibly need or want has been considered and included in the property. All of the unexpected special touches really made this an outstanding stay. From the local coffee, the Kauai bath products, the CD & book libraries, and literally anything you would possibly need for the beach, I felt spoiled.
There are some really fun places to eat in Hanalei-Bar Acuda (recommended by Simon) and the Dolphin for sushi. The kitchen was great to have too--between the outdoor grill and the toaster oven--we were able to make some tasty meals while we stayed there.
I regret that we did not plan to stay longer in Hanalei (5 nights would have been perfect). It was such a relaxing place to stay.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
The Hanalei Surfboard House
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p139894vb
+1 (808) 651-1039 (Hawaii, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
Mill Valley, CA
5

Perfect Spot in Hanalei

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 07-Jan-2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2012
If you come to Kauai, you want to stay on the North Shore. And if you stay on the North Shore, you want to stay in Hanalei. It is both the most beautiful and the most lively spot in the area. The Hanalei Surfboard House could not be more perfectly located. Steps from the beach and a quick walk into town.

Many of the places we saw on VRBO had that sort of tacky Hawaiian timeshare feel, but the Surfboard House is full of design and character. We loved all the little touches -- the big fridge, the amazing shower, the beautiful quilt, the access to laundry machine, good lighting, the music collection, really comfortable bed, beach chairs & umbrellas. The owner, Simon, is easily accessible if you need him, but he gives you space and lets you have your privacy.

This is truly a special spot. We always felt very lucky to be coming home to the Surfboard House and we will definitely be back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Hanalei Surfboard House
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p139894vb
+1 (808) 651-1039 (Hawaii, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
london
5

Two weeks in The Cowgirl Suite

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 10-Nov-2011
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2011
Two weeks after leaving the beautiful island of Kauai I am still thinking about my holiday and the wonderful time I had staying at the Hanalei Surfboard House. This is in no small part due to the host Simon Potts and his warm, welcoming hospitality. In fact so warm and welcoming was the atmosphere that it was almost like staying with family. The attention to detail in the Cowgirl Suite made it one of the best guest rooms I had ever stayed in not to mention the pleasure of sipping a cold beer in the beautiful tropical garden he has created. Of course the location is perfect - a minutes walk from stunning Hanalei Bay and close access to the shops and bars that make up Hanalei Town. I cannot recommend this guest house enough although a part of me now thinks of the Cowgirl Suite as my room!!! Most definitely one of the best holidays of my life. Mahalo Simon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Hanalei Surfboard House
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p139894vb
+1 (808) 651-1039 (Hawaii, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
Bend, Oregon
5

A little slice of Heaven...

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 07-Nov-2011
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2011
If you are looking for the PERFECT place stay on the North Shore for your vacation, look no further! My husband and I stayed at the Surfboard House (Cowgirl Suite) on our Honeymoon (summer 2011) and were absolutely blown away! Everything about the Surfboard House is paradise!
Simon is the host with the most. He has thought of everything. Frosty mugs in the freezer, Kauai coffee beans and maker, all the beach accessories you could possibly need, washer, dryer, any kitchen utensil you could possibly need, organic soaps and shampoos in bathroom, a grill, comfy back patio furniture and so on....
Here is a list of my favorite things.... the gardens, oh, the gardens... so lush, well maintained and so fragrant. The back yard... so peaceful, private and aesthetically pleasing. The bed... Egyptian cotton sheets, king size. The bathroom/shower... so unique, plenty of towels. Being so close to the beach... 30 sec walk to the beach, sunsets every night. The outdoor shower... I used this at least twice a day and LOVED having it because we spent a lot of time at the beach!! The 5 min. walk downtown... so convenient. And last but not least, Simon... always there if you needed him and at times would never even know he lived there. Simon is very welcoming, laid-back, friendly, generous and a great source of info about the Garden Isle.
We will only stay at the Hanalei Bay Surfboard when visiting Kauai!! Absolute paradise!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Hanalei Surfboard House
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p139894vb
+1 (808) 651-1039 (Hawaii, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
Key West, Florida
5

A Hanale Treasurei!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 09-Jan-2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2009
Unique decor. Much character with extreme comfort. All units are lovely. I am particulary fond of the Cowgirl studio! If you are on your honey moon the Love shack would be divine!! The beds and bedding are comfy. The units are spacious and private. Large bathrooms and ample kitchen space. Retro living room with plenty of plush comfort. All considerations have been made for your visit. Full laundry. Outdoor shower. The IPod docking station was a real treat! Just short steps to Hanalei Bay - practically oceanfront! Close to Hanalei dining, shopping and Yoga Hanale (you will find a schedule on the refrigerator)i! Simon keeps an exquisite property that is sure to please even the most particular traveler!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
The Hanalei Surfboard House
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p139894vb
+1 (808) 651-1039 (Hawaii, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
Vancouver
5

Exceptionally Wonderful

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 15-Feb-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2011
Location is steps from the most wonderful beach in Hawaii. The surfboards and garden are special. The suites are spotless, well equipped, charmingly just a little quirky, and great to hangout in. The showers are to die for--unlike many places you stay while travelling, the showers are full strength and all the water is filtered...and the supplies are first class. Like the suites, the owner is charming and a little quirky; he is also very interesting and very helpful. Just back from our third trip staying at Surfboard house and can't wait for next year when we intend to go back. Also love the town which is within walking distance, has a number of great places to eat and drink...our favourites are the Hanalei Gourmet and the Dolphin (also the sushi take out at the fish shop around back). My only hesitancy in recommending this place to anyone is a fear of encouraging others to stay and thereby making it even harder to get into.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: thanks Darlene, we'll see you again next year.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Hanalei Surfboard House
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p139894vb
+1 (808) 651-1039 (Hawaii, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
Portland, OR
5

Hanalei Surfboard House - Eclectic Charmer

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 22-Apr-2010
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2010
HSB is highly recommended in our book - we loved the North shore, ideal to be able to walk across the street for beach access, also loved being able to easily walk into town. Simon was an exquisite host, HSB has a unique, eclectic charm - loved its privacy and the obvious attention to detail in decor and amenities, it was magical having our own small backyard and waking up to a beautifully landscaped garden view and bird sounds. We are already working on planning our next visit - thanks Simon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4