.1st Louvre apartment rental - Living room with 19th Century fireplace, desk and French window to balcony
Living room with 19th Century fireplace, desk and French window to balcony
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday apartment in .1st Louvre
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

If you want to discover Paris by foot, this is the place to be.

Our beautiful architect-designed apartment lies in the very heart of the city at Chatelet. It is located on the top floor of an eighteenth century listed building on a quiet leafy street opposite one of the city's most romantic flower markets on the banks of the river Seine.

A ten minute stroll in any direction takes you to some of Paris's most famous landmarks. Wander South to the Ile de Cite and Notre Dame, East to the Hotel de Ville, North to the Centre Pompidou and West to the Louvre.

The bright and airy apartment has stunning views over central Paris. It has been simply modernised retaining its historic features and its quirky "artist's garret" feel. However it is also extremely comfortable and well equipped.

The living area opens onto a South facing balcony. It has an inviting sofa area with bookshelves, satellite televison and wireless broadband. We often stay in the apartment and it is full of interesting books and CDs which you are welcome to use during your stay.

We love gathering around our big oak dining table and there is a fully equipped kitchen with everything you might need to wine and dine. And the view from the sink of the twinkling river at night certainly takes the edge off washing up!

Both bedrooms are drenched with natural light and have French windows which open onto small balconies. The double beds have extremely comfortable Dunlopillo mattresses and there is plenty of storage space.

The bathroom has a good power shower and heated towel radiators.

If like us you are passionate about food then this is a great part of the city to base yourself in. One of the country's oldest and most loved gourmet food markets on Rue Montorgueil is a short walk away. Below the apartment is one of the best boulangeries in Paris. There are masses of places to eat within five to ten minutes walk away...from lively sidewalk restaurants to haute cuisine.

The apartment is a home from home for us and we hope it will be the same for you.

Keywords: Apartment, condominium, flat

More Details
Hide Details

49 Reviews of Property 124494 in .1st Louvre, France

Architect's Eyrie Overlooking River Seine, Paris
average rating of 4.888889 based on 49 reviews
business
Architect's Eyrie Overlooking River Seine, Paris
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p124494vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
.1st Louvre Paris
Owner Submitted Review
0

Well equipped apartment

  • Review Submitted: 16-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
There was nothing that we looked for that we didn't find!. We would most definitely stay in this apartment again should we return to Paris and will recommend it to others. We have now rented 14 different apartments in Spain, Italy and France, and this lovely apartment is in a tie for top place! Thanks again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architect's Eyrie Overlooking River Seine, Paris
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p124494vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
.1st Louvre Paris
Winchester, Massachusetts
4

Great Apartment - Great Location!

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 22-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
Location was a key reason for our selecting this apartment. Several sights we wanted to see were within walking distance -- Louvre, Notre Dame, St. Chapelle, etc. The Chatelet metro stop was a half block away and it has four subway lines. We used taxis our first days in Paris, but in hindsight we should have mastered the subway system sooner. We were pleased that all the taxi drivers new Avenue Victoria. There was a taxi stand a half block from the apartment where we could always get a cab -- notably we immediately got a cab at the stand at 7:20 on a Sunday morning. Time is important while you're on vacation and that is why the location of this apartment was key for us. The apartment is on the top floor which was great and made for rooftop views and sunshine streaming in the windows. It was pleasant to sit on the balcony and take in the city lights. The elevator was a big plus - especially in carrying luggage and when we came back tired from a full day of walking. The neighborhood was especially nice. There was a wonderful bakery downstairs and many cafes/restaurants in the area. Noise was not a problem. The apartment was very clean, comfortable and made you immediately feel at home. The kitchen was exceptionally well equipped and organized. Beds were comfortable. Although the apartment was not air conditioned, this was not an issue for us as we stayed there the first week of September. There was plenty of Paris tourism information and a book with previous guests' comments. The information on VRBO was very accurate and the owner was most helpful and pleasant in responding to our questions. We enjoyed our stay very much!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architect's Eyrie Overlooking River Seine, Paris
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p124494vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
.1st Louvre Paris
5

A great place to stay in Paris

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 31-Dec-2012
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2012
My wife, daughter and I recently had 13 days in this apartment in Paris and the key points were
The owners were great to deal with and very prompt in their responses
The apartment was very well represented in the apartment and its equipment
The apartment was very well equipped and had all one needed for self catering
The location was tremendous and within walking distance of all the key sites of Paris
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architect's Eyrie Overlooking River Seine, Paris
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p124494vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
.1st Louvre Paris
Alberta, Canada
4

Girlfriend's holiday

Girlfriend's holiday
  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 27-Dec-2012
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2012
My girlfriend and I stayed here in November. The location was outstanding - a short walk to the Louvre, Notre Dame, the Marais and Rue de Rivoli. The apartment was well equipped. The beds were very comfortable. We found a bakery and grocery store nearby as well as several good restaurants. We were met at the appointed time and the operation of the apartment was well explained.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architect's Eyrie Overlooking River Seine, Paris
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p124494vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
.1st Louvre Paris
Mexico City, Mexico
5

Highly recommend

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 15-Sep-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
We stayed for a week in June, 2012, a family of 5, 2 adults and three children, ages 13, 11 and 5. We have never rented a property through vrbo or over the web. I decided only to consider properties with outstanding reviews. We live in Mexico City, and did all transactions on-line. The owners were patient and thorough in answering our many questions. We were met as planned on our arrival and given lots of great tips for the city. We could walk to most sites, and the Chatelet metro stop was steps from the front door. The flat was charming and clean, well-located and very comfortable. The kitchen had all we needed. We enjoyed the view. With three kids and minimal luggage, being able to wash clothes was important. We loved our week in Paris, and staying at this property as opposed to a hotel greatly enhanced our experience. A check for the refund of our deposit was received in a prompt and timely manner. We felt at home, and would stay again.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Architect's Eyrie Overlooking River Seine, Paris
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p124494vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
.1st Louvre Paris
Newport Beach, CA USA
5

Great place for first trip to Paris

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 31-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
The apartment met every expectation in terms of location, views, amenities. It is at the top of the building (about six floors) so the views are really nice. The location is hard to beat - on the same block as the Chatelet metro stop which has 4 subway lines. The local cafe's are very good. The boulangerie below the building serves a fantastic french breakfast. There is an excellent supermarche (including fromage and vin!) about 2 blocks away. It is within walking distance to the Louvre, Notre Dame, Latin Quarter, Marais district, ile de St. Louis, etc. It can get a little loud at night with all of the cafe's below, but that is a small price to pay for being in such a prime location. Simply put, if you want to experience Paris more like a Parisienne compared to a tourist, this is a great choice. Would go back tomorrow!

We did not spend a lot of time in the apartment, but we did appreciate the well-appointed kitchen. The wi-fi works very well, as does the shower.

One note: the elevator did not work for a couple of days while we were there. No big deal because we don't mind the stairs, but if you are unable to walk several flights of stairs that is something to consider.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Architect's Eyrie Overlooking River Seine, Paris
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p124494vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
.1st Louvre Paris
Seattle, WA
5

Wonderful family vacation!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 19-Jul-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
I had the pleasure of staying for 5 nights at "Chez Ash' with my husband and 2 kids (7 and 13). What a lovely home! Within easy walking didtance of the Louvre, Notre Dame, Pompidou Center, La Marais...and a short Metro trip to everything else. The apartment was well stocked with Paris information, has excellent WiFi, and is clean and well-kept. We enjoyed exploring La Marais and the Latin Quarter for easy meals with kids and were well-rewarded, plus my daughter enjoyed asking for her petit pan au chocolat at the bakery downstairs. We purchased a Museum Pass and Metro Pass at the train station and were extremely happy that we did, we hopped on Metros every day and breezed into museums without standing in loooong lines. Spend some time in Jardin du Luxembourg or Jardin des Plantes on a sunny day just soaking in the sun after enjoying a pastry and coffee in a cafe...the kids were in Heaven. Then go home to a comfortable, distinctly Parisian flat and your trip is complete. We will be back.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Architect's Eyrie Overlooking River Seine, Paris
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p124494vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
.1st Louvre Paris
USA
5

Thank you for a lovely week

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 02-Apr-2012
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2012
We just wanted to thank you for an absolutely amazing stay we've had. The weather wasn't up the best but the apartment made us not want to leave that much anyway? It is all so well equipped and the lighting always creates the perfect atmosphere. I looked forward to sleeping in the comfiest bed and cooking each day. It felt that I actually lived here.
For two students such as ourselves, it was like a glimpse into the future with the advantage of the amazing views that show off this gorgeous city that is Paris.
If anyone gets the chance - just go for a lovely walk anywhere around. Thank you again!
PS: like other people have already said : the boulangerie downstairs is brill!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Architect's Eyrie Overlooking River Seine, Paris
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p124494vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
.1st Louvre Paris
USA
5

Fantastic week by the Seine

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 02-Apr-2012
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2011
We have totally enjoyed our family vacation in Paris and are fortunate to stay at Chez Ash! We got to experience what it is like living in Paris and the priorities are completely different, At home, we have 6 bathrooms for 4 people. Our kitchen is huge (we cant cook very well at all). We have only a few homeless in our downtown area and none on our neighborhood. There is absolutely no soliciting in our neighborhood.
As for pickpockets, we have not encountered any, except for our son Ross and he has been unsuccessful! we have attempted to speak French many times, but even though we speak the word, it gets misinterpreted (eg, 'Zinfandel" was interpreted 'Savignon'. The French people are quite thin and well dressed, and must not have hearing problems, because they speak very softly. I was quite impressed with the dogs, who were as well behaved as children and were good at following 'sans' leashes. The French are not very good at cleaning after their dogs and at home in US, the police ticket us for this. The beggars with pets definitely do better than the ones without pets. The city is breathtaking and prior descriptions in the guest book far exceeded our abilities to contribute to more information. Thank you for your hospitality! I would recommend this place to everyone!
Aurevoir, Mary, Spencer, Mitchell and Ross
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architect's Eyrie Overlooking River Seine, Paris
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p124494vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
.1st Louvre Paris
Atlanta, GA
5

Vacationing in Paris during the winter of 2012 and leaving the hotel behind...

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 29-Jan-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2012
My wife and I along with our two tall kids ages 12 and 14 visited Paris in January, 2012. We tend to be Hyatt/Ritz Carlton types of travelers but decided to try our first VRBO for this visit so we could connect ourselves and the kids better with Paris. This apartment delivered everything we had hoped it would. What we may have thought would be a trade off for that upscale hotel luxury and concierge service, with this apartment you get back tenfold returns in clean, efficient European comfort combined with absolutely prime location. The place had plenty of room for us, beds and bath were terrific, sunrises and window views to the rooftops of Paris were unforgettable. The coordination on arrival was smooth and friendly, with plenty of orientation to the neighborhood provided to get us moving.

Adding to the tapestry of traveler reviews, I also confirm that the previous comments are true. Read them all, then go ahead and book this place with confidence based on those reviews. And to all you previous guests: thank you for the extensive travel library and suggestions you’ve left behind. For us tourists, how great to find your comments along with the latest Frommer’s Paris in the library in paper form, as our e-Nook versions weren’t cutting it. Echoing some comments: you can’t go wrong by visiting any of the cafes/restaurants within steps out the front door, we especially enjoyed Bar a Manage (BAM) steps out the front door to the right for late night wine and dessert, and we enjoyed the draft beer place out on the Rue Rivoli for plenty of great Trappist Monk drafts and friendly service. La Poule a Pot was indeed a terrific recommendation for dinner. So glad someone recommended that app for your Iphone “ZUTI Paris” for truly effortless Metro/RER guidance -- seems like every train in the city hits the Metro Chatelet stop which is just a half block from the front door. After a few days in this place, you’ll feel like a local. What a great trip, and a great place. Thanks again Clare!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: What a thoughtful appreciative review. Thank you for taking the time to write
We liked your choice of drinking and dining places, On our next visit to La Poule a Pot will think of you and raise a glass. Expect Allison and Brendan enjoyed being locals and fetching the bread each morning from the bakery with such wonderful smells. Just reading your account makes us want to book Eurostar again.

Best wishes, C
Helpful votes: 2/2