St Ives house rental - A lounge to unwind, relax and enjoy the stunning views
A lounge to unwind, relax and enjoy the stunning views
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 5 bedroom holiday home in St Ives - Blue Rock
large detached house with 5 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sea views & car parking

With stylish interiors, this reverse level architect designed detached house combines the charm of the seaside with 21st century convenience. Perfect for families or groups of friends, the property has five bedrooms, two bathrooms, a well-equipped kitchen, car parking for up to 3 cars and a Mediterranean style garden.

• Panoramic sea views from all levels

• Close to centre of St Ives & Porthminster beach

• Large balcony, Rattan furniture, BBQ & sea views

• Mediterranean style garden

• Washing machine & dryer

• Music docking station

• Sky TV & 7 digital televisions

• 2 Blue-ray players

• Broadband & Wifi

• Quality linens & towels

• Up to 2 dogs by prior arrangement

• Sorry, no smoking

Parwin & David purchased Blue Rock in 2012. Parwin is a school teacher and was born in the Punjab and David is a Chartered Surveyor and was born down the Road in St Columb Major.

David Summers purchased this house in 2012

David's dream has always been to own a property close to a great surfing beach and with spectacular sea views. Parwin, on the other hand, is a self-confessed chatter box who enjoys the arts and likes having lots of people around her.

They started searching for a holiday home in June 2012 but got off to a slow start as they were both looking for different properties.

Fortunately, their search came to an abrupt end when they found a house that ticked all of their boxes. Blue Rock is within easy walking distance of the centre of St Ives, overlooks Porthminster beach, the sea and the harbour. It is also close to Porthmeor beach (one of David's favourite surfing beaches) and has great car parking. What more could anyone ask for?

This lovely detached holiday home is superbly located 4 minutes walk from the centre of St Ives and 5 minutes walk from the Blue Flag Porthminster Beach, and has stunning views of the harbour and the sea.

With stylish interiors, this reverse level architect designed holiday accommodation combines the charm of the seaside with 21st-century convenience. Perfect for families or groups of friends.

It has 5 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a well-equipped kitchen, car parking for up to 3 cars and a Mediterranean style garden.

St Ives was awarded ‘Best UK Seaside Town’ in both 2010 and 2011. With cobbled streets and artists’ studios, it is a great place to chill out in pavement cafes or gourmet restaurants. The Tate gallery is also worth a visit.

7 Reviews of Property 1133864 in St Ives, United Kingdom

Stunning sea views, close to the centre of St Ives & car parking for upto 3 cars
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Stunning sea views, close to the centre of St Ives & car parking for upto 3 cars
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1133864
+44 (0)1634661574
St Ives St Ives area
5

Modern, luxury home with outstanding views

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 26-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2014
We arranged a last minute break at Blue Rock and Parwin, the owner, was extremely helpful with booking arrangements sorted in no time. This got us off to a good start and two days later we arrived at the fabulous Blue Rock where everything was ready for us, including chocolates and a bottle of bubbly - nice touch.

The house is fully equipped to a luxury standard. The ensuite bathroom (with underfloor heating) is just lovely: new, quality and modern fittings and the touch sensitive light mirror was great. The use of glass bricks in the shower continues the light and airy theme which is a key feature throughout the house.

Most of all, we just never tired of looking out of the windows at the sea and coast views. Would recommend without hesitation and hope to visit again.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. As you know, Blue Rock has spectacular sea views, is close to the town centre, has good car parking - a treat in St Ives! - and is well equipped. In addition, we plan to improve the property each year for the next few years. We look forward to welcoming you back to Blue Rock.
business
Stunning sea views, close to the centre of St Ives & car parking for upto 3 cars
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1133864
+44 (0)1634661574
St Ives St Ives area
London
5

An amazing Christmas at Blue Rock

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 29-Jan-2014
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2013
We spent christmas 2013 here. There was 7 adults, 3 children, 2 babies and 2 dogs! And there was plenty of room for all of us. We had never been away for Xmas before but the accommodation was perfect for us. The kitchen was kitted out well for us to cook Xmas dinner. There was a lovely big oven as well as a double fridge and freezer. The living room view is breathtaking. With panoramic views of the sea I could have sat there all day and watched the stormy sea. St ives is a 3 minute walk away and we were lucky enough to see seals swimming around in the bay. I really hope to return to blue rock in the very near future. It provided some wonderful family memories for us all. The owners were also fantastic in regards to contact and letting us know what was available for us in the house.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning sea views, close to the centre of St Ives & car parking for upto 3 cars
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1133864
+44 (0)1634661574
St Ives St Ives area
5

stunning

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 29-Jan-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2014
visited St Ives for the last 22 years, stayed in some great properties but none like this, what a total experience.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning sea views, close to the centre of St Ives & car parking for upto 3 cars
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1133864
+44 (0)1634661574
St Ives St Ives area
5

STUNNING IS THE WORD!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 27-Nov-2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
We spent the last week of October and first of November at Blue Rock and we all loved it including the dog! Great views, very well equipped, warm and cosy central heating with easy controls, comfy beds - I could go on and on. Everything is within walking distance, we hardly used the car although there are steep slopes into and out of St Ives, if we were feeling lazy, or it was raining we simply rang for a taxi - at £3.50 for up to 6 of us, hardly a fortune! The House Manager was on call if we needed anything and the Owners were a joy to deal with. We have already booked for next year and can definitely recommend it as a fantastic Winter holiday with great walking around and about and a fabulous house to return to.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back next year when we will have improved the house further.

As an alternative to a taxi, the number 2 bus runs most of the year from the market square and will stop outside Blue Rock if you ask the driver.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Stunning sea views, close to the centre of St Ives & car parking for upto 3 cars
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1133864
+44 (0)1634661574
St Ives St Ives area
5

Shhhh! Keep this to yourself but.....

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 29-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
What a fabulous find! This wonderful house is set overlooking the bustling seaside town of St Ives. You can enjoy the serenity of the property whilst looking down on the world with a glass of wine in your hand. There are 5 beautiful bedrooms, one with en-suite facilities and all decorated to a high spec with plenty of cupboard and hanging space. There are TV's galore, Sky, a Wii, DVD and the kitchen is just fabulous. If you enjoy cooking and top notch gadgets then this is for you. Whether you are indoors our outdoors you can enjoy the views down towards Porthminster Beach. The verandah has a huge table and chairs for those summer BBQ's but if it's pouring down with rain you can still look out whilst having your dinner as the property makes the most of floor to ceiling windows. We visited during October and although the weather was not the best, we never felt cold in the house. The utility room is kitted out with everything you need including a brand new washing machine, dryer, iron, high chair, beach equipment, sun loungers. There is parking for 2 cars at the front of the house and if you needed more there's further parking in the street. The town is literally about a 4 minute walk away with various pubs and restaurants. If you are a beach bum then you are spoilt for choice but Porthmeor Beach is what dreams are made of.

I would certainly recommend this house as being one of the nicest I have ever stayed in and I would love to go back sometime.
Owner's Response: We are thrilled that you had a brilliant time at Blue Rock and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Parwin and I have owned this 5 bedroomed house for just over a year and we plan to make further improvements over the next few years.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning sea views, close to the centre of St Ives & car parking for upto 3 cars
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1133864
+44 (0)1634661574
St Ives St Ives area
St Neots
5

Fabulous property and views!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 17-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
I have just stayed at Blue Rock for a week with my husband, son and daughter in law. Firstly we were all were absolutely blown away by the views from the huge top floor living room - truly amazing! The house has absolutely everything you could need from a Nespresso machine and frother (including a pack of Nespresso pods), Sky+ on the main TV upstairs (if you can stop looking at the views), TVs in every room, extremely comfortable beds and Egyptian cotton bedding (the pillows were so comfortable I bought 4 when I got home!). If we had wanted to cook ourselves the kitchen had everything you could need and has 2 fridges and a freezer, waste disposal unit and a large hob and oven. Little things are provided which are not always found at other places we've rented such as washing up liquid/washing machine liquid/dishwasher tablets, cleaning products, soap, shower gel, teas etc, bin bags, as well as welcome chocolates and wine on our arrival. The house was spotlessly clean and very warm, while the rest of the UK had a heatwave the week we stayed, Cornwall did not! But even on cloudy days the views were fantastic and we felt very lucky to have such a lovely place to call home. It is situated on a hill and gave a much needed work out after the many wonderful meals we had, but the number 2 bus from the centre of St Ives will stop at the door if needed (we didn't need it!). We didn't make use of the garden or lovely large balcony as it rained most of the week, but it looked lovely. It was great to have our own parking area and not to have to drive into St Ives! Parwin the owner is delightful and very keen to make sure you are happy - I don't know how you could fail to be! We will be back!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your positive review.

We are passionate about Blue Rock and it is great to see that some of our Guests are too!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning sea views, close to the centre of St Ives & car parking for upto 3 cars
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1133864
+44 (0)1634661574
St Ives St Ives area
Sussex
5

Fantastic house with fabulous views

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 03-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
Blue Rock provided a superb base for exploring the west of Cornwall. St Ives is a magical place and the house so close to all that St Ives has to offer. Walking up the hills can be a challenge but you feel better for it after a few days... honestly! You will never tire of the views from the top floor lounge and the house is so well appointed and furnished and spacious. The beds are blissfully comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean when we arrived. The owners provided a lot of information on various attractions etc so there was plenty to do and see, although spending time in St Ives is a must. There are some very good local cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance of Blue Rockand we would particularly recommend the Porthminster Caf? (fantastic seafood) and Blas Burgers (very basic but the burgers are brilliant and the atmosphere lively). Padstow is almost an hour drive away but a visit to Rick Stein's Seafood Restaurant is very highly recommended. Suggest you go for a late lunch (2 to 2.30) as the atmosphere is better than the evening and you can spend the morning exploring the town and harbour or go across to Rock Beach. Another worthwhile trip is Mylor Harbour and a good pub called Pandora. If you don't want to drive so far, stay on the road nearer Truro and go to The Heron in the village of Malpas. Spectacular pub menu and delicious food with great views across the estuary. Blue Rock was also perfect for our Labrador. The local beaches are paradise for dogs (and humans), particularly Porthkidney. This is the long sandy beach you can see across the bay from the house. Turn left at The Badger in Lelant and park by the church. It takes no more than 5 minutes by car and you walk through the golf links on to the beach. If you don't have a dog you should go anyway because it's a breath-taking view. The booking process was also very simple. Although we found the property on-line we dealt directly with the owners for payment and they were most helpful. In summary, a beautiful house in a stunning location which was perfect for a family/friends get-together and exploring the wonderful Cornish coastline. We will certainly be returning early next year.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words.

Blue Rock benefits from spectacular views but the down side is the hill into St Ives town centre. If you have a little too much to drink, or your fitness campaign has not started, please use the number 2 bus which runs from the market square! The driver will stop outside Blue Rock if you ask him nicely.
Helpful votes: 3/3