Antigua villa rental - Calabash
Calabash
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday villa in Antigua - Calabash
Beautifully furnished with 4 large bedrooms and 5 bathrooms

Calabash is a luxury villa on a grand scale spread over two floors and offering really spacious accommodation for parties of up to 8 guests. There are fabulous views of the surrounding hills to the sides of the villa and a spectacular panoramic vista across the Caribbean to the front.

The upper floor consists of a large living area and fully fitted kitchen, the master queen bedroom with en-suite shower room' a further queen size bedroom and guest bathroom, and a laundry room. Double doors from the living room lead to a covered external veranda and gallery with dining for 8 and plenty of occasional seating.

There is an external staircase and an internal spiral staircase to the lower floor. Here there is a day room with its own kitchen area, a twin bedroom and a queen size bedroom, both with en-suite shower rooms. The lower floor rooms open on to the large sun deck with swimming pool, plenty of sun loungers, a barbecue and a shower room with WC.

Jolly Harbour is just a few minutes drive away from The Palms Jolly Harbour is the largest and finest marina in the Caribbean with superb recreation facilities. A fine 18-hole golf course and a sports centre with tennis courts and a squash court cater for the actively minded, whilst the commercial centre has a wide range of shops, restaurants, bars, and a supermarket to sustain the needs for everyday living. For all its many amenities, Jolly Harbour remains a sophisticated and tranquil setting to while away the holiday hours.

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 1041997 in Antigua, Antigua & Barbuda

Spacious 4 Bedroom Newly Built Villa With Stunning Sea Views And Private Pool
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews
business
Spacious 4 Bedroom Newly Built Villa With Stunning Sea Views And Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1041997
+1268 12687711661
Antigua Antigua & Barbuda
5

paradise with "that Caribean feeling"!

paradise with "that Caribean feeling"!
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 25-Apr-2013
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2013
Well, what can we say about Calabash other than it exceeded all our expectations and much more! All description of Calabash was totally accurate! We spend two weeks in this beautiful Calabash with our two boys (15 and 10). They are used to action packed holidays and the only reservation we had was...Are they going to appreciate this more laid back type of holidays? They had a ball and rated it 10/10 as we did too! Luxurious, spacious, immaculate, safe. Equipped to perfection(beach towels/pool towels) if you want to cook, if you don’t there are lots of restaurants to choose from on various stunning beaches just down the road at walking distance(Ffryes,Darkwood) but a 4x4 is necessary people need to go further (unless taxi is a preferred option).
Adam and Sheryl as well as Jenny were lovely and were always helpful for anything you need to know.
The stunning sunset a must every day! We would have no hesitation to go back again and again!
(with plenty of mosquito repellent this holiday was perfect!)
Mark and Mireille
Owner's Response: Many thanks Mark and Mireille for taking the time to share your experience of Calabash with others. So very glad that you had such a great time and that the villa lived up to your expectations. We hope to see you back soon.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spacious 4 Bedroom Newly Built Villa With Stunning Sea Views And Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1041997
+1268 12687711661
Antigua Antigua & Barbuda
5

Beautiful villa

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 10-Apr-2013
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2013
A beautiful villa in a lovely quiet location. A little way up a lane from the road but that's how the terrific views are obtained. Really well designed with terrific covered veranda perfect for evenings and BBQ's. Fully equipped with everything you could need.
Lots of beaches within minutes and also Jolly Harbour with restaurants and a very well stocked supermarket.
A lovely base to explore the island
Owner's Response: Thank you C and D for your kind words and we are pleased that your third stay with us proved to be an enjoyable one.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spacious 4 Bedroom Newly Built Villa With Stunning Sea Views And Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1041997
+1268 12687711661
Antigua Antigua & Barbuda
5

Terrific house & location

Terrific house & location
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 08-Apr-2013
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2013
A terrific house in a lovely location. Very well designed to make the most of the space and the covered outside seating and dining areas are perfect for enjoying a cocktail and BBQ. A little way up a lane but that's what gives the wonderful views of Darkwood beach.
The house was extremely well equipped with everything you could possibly need.
Lots of beaches within a few minutes and also all the facilities of Jolly Harbour about 5 minutes drive away with everything you need including a very well stocked supermarket.
The management company are always on hand if any problems or queries.
Would definately recommend this house for a perfect holiday.
Owner's Response: Many thanks C & D for your kind remarks and we are pleased that your third visit to our Antigua properties proved such a success.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spacious 4 Bedroom Newly Built Villa With Stunning Sea Views And Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1041997
+1268 12687711661
Antigua Antigua & Barbuda
5

Great Bash at Calabash

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 20-Mar-2013
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2013
A Caribbean holiday is an exciting prospect and for us, on our fourth trip to Antigua for a special occasion, it was a joy. Added to this, the anticipation of the villa, first seen from Darkwood Beach…wow! - An amazing property that surpassed all our expectations. The villa is total luxury and a wonderful home for our week in the sun. We shopped and explored, tasting, I’m sure, most rum punch on the island, especially those at local OJ’s bar and The Nest on Valley Church beach, buying fresh tuna and conch, revelling at Nelson’s Dockyard and partying at Shirley Heights, all wonderful memories. Snorkelling off Darkwood Beach before breakfast – perfect! Welcome to paradise! You will never find a better location or accommodation than Calabash in the whole of Antigua. Thank you Jolly Villas for the best trip so far.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spacious 4 Bedroom Newly Built Villa With Stunning Sea Views And Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1041997
+1268 12687711661
Antigua Antigua & Barbuda
5

fabulous Holiday in Calabash

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 01-Mar-2013
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2013
Words simply escape us, both in describing this beautiful villa and expressing our enjoyment of our time staying there. Calabash is a fabulously well-appointed villa that has been furnished and equipped to a very high standard. It would seem no expense has been spared and an awful lot of thought has gone into making sure that all guest needs are catered for. Stunning views and a very secluded location but a 4 wheel drive vehicle is recommended to handle the approach road. That, however, is the only negative and would not stop us recommending this stunning property to others or returning again! A superb holiday! Should also mention that we received an excellent service from “Jolly Villas” – thanks to Howard and Cheryl.
Owner's Response: Many thanks Peter for taking the time to post this review and we are extremely pleased to know that your holiday was a success.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spacious 4 Bedroom Newly Built Villa With Stunning Sea Views And Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1041997
+1268 12687711661
Antigua Antigua & Barbuda
5

Beautiful villa in stunning location

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 15-Feb-2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2012
We were a little apprehensive about renting a villa on the Internet, but decided to take the risk as the villa looked exceptional. It was even better on arrival. We were met at the airport and taken to the villa where the property manager showed us around and settled us in.

Calabash was everything we hoped for, but more so - the pictures on the website don't do it justice. The place was immaculate, very clean, very large and very well appointed. One great touch was the local mobile phone left for our use - it saved a fortune by not having to use our UK one for local calls.

The large veranda and gallery were shaded and perfect for a family breakfast and then in the evenings for our regular BBQ's. During the day it was difficult to get the children out of the pool and down to the beach - Do NOT miss Darkwood Beach! Or Ffryes, or Valley Church or Turners…the list is endless.

There is so much to do locally but you will need a car. Jolly Harbor is interesting to explore. There are bars and restaurants, shops and a big supermarket. We loved visiting Nelson's Dockyard and going to Shirley Heights on Sunday evening for a real Caribbean party with an amazing view over the bay as the sun goes down. There was lots of information available in the villa on the trips you can do, the boat ride round the island was superb, and a wonderful opportunity to snorkel and swim in the warm sea.

A perfect holiday destination and definitely recommended. Can't wait to stay there again.
Owner's Response: We are so pleased that the trip was so pleasurable and we hope that you will be able to make that return trip before too long.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spacious 4 Bedroom Newly Built Villa With Stunning Sea Views And Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1041997
+1268 12687711661
Antigua Antigua & Barbuda
5

Stunning villa in a fantastic location!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 08-Feb-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2013
Booking was very easy, getting there was straightforward and first impressions of Calabash were simply fantastic. It must be one of the most stunning views from a villa in Antigua and the property itself will not disappoint!

Once settled in it's clear that the villa is equipped with everything you could need from a fabulously equipped kitchen to an airy, spacious and lovely living area with flat screen TV and entertainment systems. Outside there is a Weber BBQ with all the bits, and a pool area that is great for kids and to enjoy yourself round during the day. There's even a fridge next to the pool so you can't keep cold drinks there! There’s ample towels around the villa and all the furnishings/beds are very comfortable.

It’s a bit remote so best to hire a car to get you to Jolly Harbour and the shops and to drive around the island. The villa is perfectly placed to visit Runaway Bay, Darkwood Beach, Ffryes Beach, Jolly Harbour Beach and Carlisle Bay - you're certainly spoilt for choice in that part of the island.

I always think the true measure of a place is whether you would want to go back again? Our holiday at Calabash was fantastic - a first class villa in a great location. We’d go back tomorrow if we could!
Owner's Response: Thank you George for taking the time to tell others about your visit to Antigua and your impressions of Calabash. I trust the fridge for the pool area DID keep your drinks cold! I hope we will see you back in Antigua before too long.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Spacious 4 Bedroom Newly Built Villa With Stunning Sea Views And Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1041997
+1268 12687711661
Antigua Antigua & Barbuda
1

Calabash cottage

  • 1 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 03-Feb-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2013
There are so many things that people need to know before renting this vacation villa. We are 8 adults that travel to different destinations each year and rent vacation homes i use home away often and had very good experiences until this year, I will give you a list of things to consider before you make your decision.
1) The managers of this home are building another home right in front of this villa, they did not disclose this prior to our arrival, I had to call every day about the hammering/drilling and jack hammering. they would shut it down once I called but very annoying putting me in the position to have to make the call every day (except the weekend and the Friday before we left).
2) The bedrooms down stairs has a very STRONG mold or as the manager Howard said when he came to check on it that maybe a dead animal got into the air condition duck work. (we could not sleep there and had to sleep on the sofa. Howard never did offer to have anyone check out the problem knowing we couldn't sleep there.
3) You have to buy water for cooking/coffee/drinking etc. and again you are not told this until you arrive. water @ the villa is only good for bathroom and shower.
You will buy A LOT of water.
4) there is no phone in the house for emergency or family to call you. They leave a cell phone that only works to call Howard or a local call. I ended up with a lung infection while I was there so a phone would have been greatly appreciated .
5) The long lane going to the house it a mess, full of potholes, you need a good vehicle to get up and down the lane.
This was the worst trip we have ever had due to the accommodation. I don't know the owners and if they are aware of how things are run but I am sure they would not allow the manager to be working and building his own home while there are guests renting their villa.
I don't have enough room to list everything but I think you can get a good idea by what I have written so far..
On a good note, Antigua is a great place to visit and the beaches are wonderful.
I would not recommend this property to anyone,
Owner's Response: We welcome feedback from our guests and any suggestions for possible improvements. However, the severity of this review is unjustified. It is inaccurate and does not offer a fair and balanced appraisal of the property or its amenities.

These guests did not have a great holiday. The party leader arrived with a chest infection and was bedridden for much of the time. Her sister developed a leg infection requiring daily visits to a hospital and an overnight stay. We sympathise with their experiences but in the interests of accuracy and understanding we make the following responses to the review.

Some tiling work was taking place on a nearby villa when the guests arrived and initially they did not seem too concerned. However, when they called to say they were being disturbed, efforts were made to keep noise to a minimum. After they called a second time, the work ceased completely. Only two calls were made and, for future reference, this work has now been completed and the villa does not belong to me as stated.

The guest reported a musty smell in her bedroom about halfway through her stay and we visited it with her. There was no identifiable smell present at that time. She thought it might be the air conditioning. We tested it but no smell came out. We instructed an engineer to inspect the unit but nothing wrong was found. Since the departure of the guest no unpleasant smell has been found.

In Antigua, most visitors are advised to drink bottled water wherever they stay.

The review states that no international phone line is provided and we do not advertise this facility. We do, however, provide our guests with an Antiguan cell phone so they can communicate with anyone on the island. We also provide wifi broadband Internet.

Whilst most of the major roads of Antigua are in fair condition, many of the side roads are not. The road leading to the villa is a bit bumpy but dozens of vehicles use it everyday. We advise our guests of this condition and suggest they rent 4x4 vehicles for a more comfortable ride.

The guest has indicated she has other issues and we have requested she makes these known to us but she has not bothered to reply.

This fabulous villa does not deserve a misleading one-star review. It seems unfair that it can be posted without censure. We have received nothing but praise from previous guests, you only have to read the villa Guest Book, and we are sure that future guests will be more than satisfied.
Helpful votes: 2/3