There are so many things that people need to know before renting this vacation villa. We are 8 adults that travel to different destinations each year and rent vacation homes i use home away often and had very good experiences until this year, I will give you a list of things to consider before you make your decision.
1) The managers of this home are building another home right in front of this villa, they did not disclose this prior to our arrival, I had to call every day about the hammering/drilling and jack hammering. they would shut it down once I called but very annoying putting me in the position to have to make the call every day (except the weekend and the Friday before we left).
2) The bedrooms down stairs has a very STRONG mold or as the manager Howard said when he came to check on it that maybe a dead animal got into the air condition duck work. (we could not sleep there and had to sleep on the sofa. Howard never did offer to have anyone check out the problem knowing we couldn't sleep there.
3) You have to buy water for cooking/coffee/drinking etc. and again you are not told this until you arrive. water @ the villa is only good for bathroom and shower.
You will buy A LOT of water.
4) there is no phone in the house for emergency or family to call you. They leave a cell phone that only works to call Howard or a local call. I ended up with a lung infection while I was there so a phone would have been greatly appreciated .
5) The long lane going to the house it a mess, full of potholes, you need a good vehicle to get up and down the lane.
This was the worst trip we have ever had due to the accommodation. I don't know the owners and if they are aware of how things are run but I am sure they would not allow the manager to be working and building his own home while there are guests renting their villa.
I don't have enough room to list everything but I think you can get a good idea by what I have written so far..
On a good note, Antigua is a great place to visit and the beaches are wonderful.
I would not recommend this property to anyone,
Owner's Response: We welcome feedback from our guests and any suggestions for possible improvements. However, the severity of this review is unjustified. It is inaccurate and does not offer a fair and balanced appraisal of the property or its amenities.
These guests did not have a great holiday. The party leader arrived with a chest infection and was bedridden for much of the time. Her sister developed a leg infection requiring daily visits to a hospital and an overnight stay. We sympathise with their experiences but in the interests of accuracy and understanding we make the following responses to the review.
Some tiling work was taking place on a nearby villa when the guests arrived and initially they did not seem too concerned. However, when they called to say they were being disturbed, efforts were made to keep noise to a minimum. After they called a second time, the work ceased completely. Only two calls were made and, for future reference, this work has now been completed and the villa does not belong to me as stated.
The guest reported a musty smell in her bedroom about halfway through her stay and we visited it with her. There was no identifiable smell present at that time. She thought it might be the air conditioning. We tested it but no smell came out. We instructed an engineer to inspect the unit but nothing wrong was found. Since the departure of the guest no unpleasant smell has been found.
In Antigua, most visitors are advised to drink bottled water wherever they stay.
The review states that no international phone line is provided and we do not advertise this facility. We do, however, provide our guests with an Antiguan cell phone so they can communicate with anyone on the island. We also provide wifi broadband Internet.
Whilst most of the major roads of Antigua are in fair condition, many of the side roads are not. The road leading to the villa is a bit bumpy but dozens of vehicles use it everyday. We advise our guests of this condition and suggest they rent 4x4 vehicles for a more comfortable ride.
The guest has indicated she has other issues and we have requested she makes these known to us but she has not bothered to reply.
This fabulous villa does not deserve a misleading one-star review. It seems unfair that it can be posted without censure. We have received nothing but praise from previous guests, you only have to read the villa Guest Book, and we are sure that future guests will be more than satisfied.
Helpful votes: 2/3
Did you find this review helpful?