Westport Island cottage rental - Cottage lillys in July
Cottage lillys in July
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 5 bedroom holiday cottage in Westport Island
4 Bedrooms main cottage, attached unit sleeps 4 or 5

Step Back in Time.. This 1800's restored Vintage Summer Cottage sits up high enough on the rocky shoreline to allow SPECTACULAR VIEWS of surrounding Islands, Working Lobster Boats and Harbor Seals. There is also easy access to the water and a private dock. Hendrick's Head Lighthouse and the open ocean are directly south and easily visible. The wonderful southeastern exposure allows stunning views of the water, wildlife, boating traffic and the sunrise from every window! Airy and spacious rooms with cottage furniture and antiques. Central heat. There is a private deep water dock on a beautiful peninsula overlooking a cove to the north of the cottage and a mooring for your boat. The main cottage is 4 bedrooms, (3 Queens and a King) and a single bed on the enclosed porch. The attached unit has a full kitchen, a waterfront deck and it sleeps 4. It is accessible from the main cottage or from a seperate outside entrance. The rate includes both the main cottage and the attached unit. The main cottage can be rented seperately for $3500 .00 per week for up to 8 guests, if you do not want both units. See Owner's Website below for more pictures. Discounted rates for March and April!

A Boater's Paradise!: If you have a boat...Bring it along! There is a mooring in the cove which will accomodate a 32 foot Boat. Kyak rentals are available just up the road and can be delivered and picked up. The Sheepscot Bay area is a Boater's paradise, with wonderful destinations close by...

Cleanliness!: I have had the same reliable wonderful cleaning gal for 19 years. The cottage is always spotless and mattresses are new, comfortable and completely covered with high quality mattress protectors.

More Details
Hide Details

12 Reviews of Property 103510 in Westport Island, USA

Vintage Cottage, SPECTACULAR VIEWS!! Dock and Mooring!
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Vintage Cottage, SPECTACULAR VIEWS!! Dock and Mooring!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p103510
+1 904 327 5925
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Wonderfully Peaceful

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 29-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
We came here with a group of friends, and it was an amazing, wonderful week. The house is so incredibly charming; quintessential Maine coast home. It was so quaint and cozy with gorgeous views of the River. Very clean and well equipped. We particularly enjoyed sitting in the room off the kitchen and enjoying the view. A really lovely retreat from the world.
business
Vintage Cottage, SPECTACULAR VIEWS!! Dock and Mooring!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p103510
+1 904 327 5925
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
5

More then I expected - simply put AMAZING!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 24-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
LOVED IT, so glad we came across this property and it was available for our long motorcycle journey! The web-site is very accurate in the descriptions and the property is well maintained and decorated beautifully. The duplex attached to the main house can be described as a studio apartment, with additional beds. Ellen, the owner was phenomenal; always very quick to respond to my endless emails as well as direct calls. There was a group of 10 so countless questions and Ellen was very patient and happy to answer them. Even though we consisted of a large group we had plenty of space and room if some alone time was required. The beds in all rooms were very comfortable with a large size kitchen which offered a great sun room to its side. As well as a formal dining room there was a TV area if you were going thru withdrawals, and off of this room was a sun room facing the front of the house. The back yard where we spent a lot of our time enjoying each others company offered some incredible views. In the evenings we'd all gather our lounge chairs and surrounded the fire pit, where we cooked our own lobsters with the available lobster pot! It was an awesome experience going out to the islands co-op where we bought an entire bin of live lobsters for an incredible price! There is also the option of going out on a lobster boat! We also loved what we named "Seal Island" and two of the guys ventured out with the canoe which is on the property. The seals were bobbing up and down starring at the two of them, which thankfully we were able to see with the binoculars that were provided. The island is truly beautiful and some of us took the opportunity for morning walks, loving the fresh air. It was also great having a dock as some of the group did a bit of fishing with the available fishing poles. This is a perfect place if you want to be a bit secluded but close enough for a drive to the grocery store as well as to Booth Bay Harbor. Here you can experience several small stores, as well as fantastic restaurants and while your their book your whale watching cruise. "Fisherman's Wharf" offers great meals with outside dining. Honestly I cannot say enough about our experiences in Maine, the group loved it. I can however say that without having the perfect accommodations trips can go bad. With that being said this property is the perfect place and absolutely enhanced our vacation. I would recommend this HOME (as it never felt like just a house) to anyone!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Vintage Cottage, SPECTACULAR VIEWS!! Dock and Mooring!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p103510
+1 904 327 5925
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Beautiful home!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 24-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
Had a wonderful vacation! Beautiful and quiet surroundings, yet close to tourist type environment. I would post pictures of the attached part above the garage, we were nervous it would be a dark, dingy storeroom, but it was the best room of all!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Vintage Cottage, SPECTACULAR VIEWS!! Dock and Mooring!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p103510
+1 904 327 5925
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Amazing Vacation!! Love everything about it!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 23-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
This is our families' second visit, the first after the Amazing remodel!! We had lobster personally delivered the first day we were there, what a way to start your trip! And the kitchen! Fully outfitted for someone who Loves to cook as we do! There was enough seating and sleeping room for 8 or 9 and we felt so comfortable as a group of 5--mom and dad, plus 2 teenagers and 1 young boy of 4..
The weather didn't agree-- and I can't say that I could think of a better way to spend a foggy, rainy day.... Reading one of the great books there... while Watching the lobster boats go by and the seals bark on the island.... When the sun finally came up on the 3rd day we had so much fun hiking and playing on the island- the entire place feels like a nature preserve and the boys and I enjoyed all sort of adventures. We loved monkey C monkey Do- it was so close! and the Banyon Preserve trails, the chance to go lobstering for our own catch!! and Ellen was So attentive, even long distance it felt that she was right there to answer our every question... Even directing us to a 4th of july parade in Bath, that also had a carnival! how fun to ride the Ferris wheel over the water! A trip of a lifetime for me and the boys! Am booking my reservation for next year now!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Vintage Cottage, SPECTACULAR VIEWS!! Dock and Mooring!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p103510
+1 904 327 5925
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
Elysburg, PA
5

Peaceful Location

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 23-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
This house is certainly not a small cottage. 10 of us enjoyed it's beautifully decorated rooms with nautical and beach motif and lots of antiques. Each room has it's own unique decor. The rooms are comfy/cozy. The kitchen is fully stocked. We ate in many nights after buying lobsters at a local co-op. On a rainy Maine day we enjoyed just hanging out playing cards and relaxing. We only got to build a fire outside one night but it was fun sitting out by the river in this peaceful setting. We liked watching the lobster fishermen checking their traps. Minimal drives to see the Portland Head Light, Cribstone Bridge, LL Bean, Booth Bay Botanical Gardens, boat to Monhegan Island and to the Rockland area lighthouses. Our favorite was the walk out to the Rockland Breakwater Lighthouse (go at low tide). On a good weather day Reid State Park was one of our favorites exploring end to end. We loved our visit to Maine and this house on the water.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Vintage Cottage, SPECTACULAR VIEWS!! Dock and Mooring!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p103510
+1 904 327 5925
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
5

A very special property

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 20-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
The location is second to none. The house is comfortable, quiet and stocked with all necessities. We enjoyed sunbathing, lawn games, swimming off the dock, the cooling ocean breeze, watching lobster boats directly in front, seals from our kayaks, riding our bikes on this quiet island and quality time with our family. It is truly a very special property and well worth every penny. Thanks Ellen for sharing your place with us.
business
Vintage Cottage, SPECTACULAR VIEWS!! Dock and Mooring!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p103510
+1 904 327 5925
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
5

The cottage is fabulous.

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 17-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2013
Have been coming back for over 10 years. The views are great. We love to watch the birds and harbor seals. The house is immaculate and the owner very accomodating. Many day trips include Botanical Gardens on Barter's Island. The Transportation Museum in Owl's Head is a great place to visit. I would highly recommend the property to friends and relatives.
business
Vintage Cottage, SPECTACULAR VIEWS!! Dock and Mooring!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p103510
+1 904 327 5925
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
Littleton, CO
5

FABULOUS

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 25-Sep-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2011
This cottage is simply magnificent. I thought cottages were small, quaint and cute, well not this FIND!!!! When I pulled up to this rental my mouth was wide open with AWE and when I went inside the awe just kept on. It is warm, cozy, inviting full of amazing antiques as well as fun cottage furniture and delightful colors. This cottage is very comfortable with so much room. My family has enjoyed the views, lobsters delivered to the dock the seals a night time fire over looking the water. The water is chilling but that does not stop silly kids from jumping off the dock. It is a resonable drive to touristy towns to explore, shop eat and take boat rides to see light houses, water life, and more amazing cottages. We can not wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Vintage Cottage, SPECTACULAR VIEWS!! Dock and Mooring!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p103510
+1 904 327 5925
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
Eastern Shore Maryland
5

Wonderful family vacation

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 25-Jul-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2011
Our extended family of 11 from MD and MN ages 10 to 69 vacationed at this beautiful home July 9th-16th and had what is our best family vacation ever! This home is just as advertised - beautiful views are by far and away the highlight! The home is comfortable for multiple age groups and decorated with beautiful antiques, plenty of books and games, and everything you need to make your own lobster feast. If you are looking for beautiful views, comfort, peace and access to the water this is the house for you. Our children 16, 12 and 10 loved kayaking, watching the seals, otters, lobstermen, playing chess and cards with their grandparents, traveling to Acadia and Boothbay and the rope course at Monkey C Monkey Do. The adults loved being outside watching the water, cooking fantastic meals (check the lobster co-op on the island to buy fresh lobsters off the boat), kayaking (gathered our own mussels off the cliffs below the house) and being an easy drive to Freeport, Bath, and Boothbay Harbor areas. The owner was an excellent host and very responsive. Want an authentic Maine experience - this is the house for you!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Vintage Cottage, SPECTACULAR VIEWS!! Dock and Mooring!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p103510
+1 904 327 5925
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
Owner Submitted Review
0

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jan-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2011
I have so many beautiful and touching reviews and letters from from guests who have stayed at my cottage since 1989, and I have saved them all! They are in the cottage "guest book". I could notbegin to choose which ones to publish on this site, so come and spend some time on the island and you will be able to read them all and add your own!
Ellen, owner for 37 years.
Helpful votes: 2/2