1st - Old Port (Vieux Port) apartment rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
Minimum Stay nights
 

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday apartment in 1st - Old Port (Vieux Port) - La Maison des Augustines
In the most picturesque historic district, charming flat close to Old Harbour

The building is situated Place des Augustines, square classified as 17th century, in the heart of the older district of Marseille, Le Panier. Napoleon Bonaparte lived in the building in 1786, he was an officer and assigned to service of the coast artillery!

The apartment has been beautifully removed. It retains all the charm of its history, with its ancient wooden ceilings, its old cement tiles, and its internal staircase.

Le Panier is the historic district of Marseille, the most picturesque. All these narrow alleys such as in the Middle Ages, look like a movie set and the façades of houses are for certain magnificent. We find around the streets, artists' shops: painters, potters, sculptors, charming little squares, museums...

There are many amenities nearby for food, drink, public transportation, shopping, parking. You'll walk everywhere, to the train station, restaurants, street markets, along the harbour, all over town.

9 Reviews of Property 1024500 in 1st - Old Port (Vieux Port), France

In the most picturesque historic district, charming flat close to Old Harbour
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 9 reviews
business
In the most picturesque historic district, charming flat close to Old Harbour
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1024500
+33 0682430668
1st - Old Port (Vieux Port) Marseille
Belcarra, British Columbia, Canada
5

Historic Building with Modern Updates

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 15-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
This is a great location. One block up from the harbour, where you can hire tour buses and boats. Lots of shopping and restaurants close by, including one right outside the door. This roomy apartment is in an historic building but has been recently renovated with modern kitchen and bathroom. Don't miss taking a tour bus to Notre Dame, amazing, with unbelievable views. Also, definitely worth taking the boat tour to the calanques. Lots going on in the neighbourhood, but surprisingly quiet at night. Anik is easy to get ahold of if you have any questions.
business
In the most picturesque historic district, charming flat close to Old Harbour
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1024500
+33 0682430668
1st - Old Port (Vieux Port) Marseille
5

Comfortable and friendly stay

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 14-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
This was the perfect place for our too-brief visit to Marseille. The apartment is well- designed and relaxing and it is very well placed for the old quarter and Vieux Port. Since it is so central you can walk to most of the places that might interest a visitor. We particularly enjoyed the Notre Dame du Mont area for lively locals and good, affordable food.
As always, it's the warmth of the welcome and good local information that makes a holiday rental special and Anik offers these in a big way. Nobody could be more generous with these things and we are very grateful to her for a perfect stay in Marseille.
business
In the most picturesque historic district, charming flat close to Old Harbour
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1024500
+33 0682430668
1st - Old Port (Vieux Port) Marseille
5

Anik is the best, place is awesome!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Jun-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
Anik was a great host and the place was perfect. Great apartment with character right next to the vieux port. Anik provided some great recommendations for food and a few drinks nearby and showed me around the place when I arrived. Even the ride to and from the airport was fun! I will definitely stay at Anik's place again the next time I'm in Marseille.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
In the most picturesque historic district, charming flat close to Old Harbour
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1024500
+33 0682430668
1st - Old Port (Vieux Port) Marseille
4

Lovely Apartment, Great Location!

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 22-Apr-2013
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2013
This apartment worked out great. The location was ideal, near the Panier district but also close to the water. We stayed here as a couple with my sister and there was plenty of room for the three of us.

My only suggestions would be 1) smaller security deposit (the deposit was more than twice the cost of the rental) 2) a curtain in the shower or a mounted shower nozzle (it was almost impossible not to splash water when using the hand-held shower-- we ended up just taking baths to avoid the problem, which was not ideal).

Otherwise we enjoyed it! Well worth arranging airport pick-up with Anik, who is very friendly and knowledgable. Plus the cost was only about half as much as a taxi.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
In the most picturesque historic district, charming flat close to Old Harbour
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1024500
+33 0682430668
1st - Old Port (Vieux Port) Marseille
5

Definitely our home away from home!!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 21-Mar-2013
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2013
My husband, grown son, and I rented the apt for 6 days. The owner, Anik, picked us up at the airport. It was very kind of her.
The apt itself was very welcoming, very clean, very comfortable - even better and bigger than the pictures on line suggested.
We arrived to find directions for everything we would need for our stay placed on the table in the apartment and Anik shared with us her passion for the city.
The location was wonderful - near the metro, a cab stand and very close to one of the shops where we could buy hand made ice creams that were listed in a travel and leisure magazine!
The apartment, its amenities and its location (on the edge of the Panier district), is close the beautiful harbour.
This made the apartment an ideal headquarters for touring and visiting the city.
It was definitely our home away from home.
I would highly recommend this apartment and I hope to return soon. Not to mention the care, thoughtfulness and professionalism of the owner.
business
In the most picturesque historic district, charming flat close to Old Harbour
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1024500
+33 0682430668
1st - Old Port (Vieux Port) Marseille
5

Coup de coeur

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 27-Nov-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
véritable coup de coeur pour cet endroit confortable et intime au coeur de Marseille. C'est avec beaucoup de goût et cette jolie simplicité que ce lieu vous attache. On s'y sent tout de suite bien. L'appartement est bien équipé et très calme bien que situé à 100m du Vieux Port. Le quartier est très pittoresque, avec ses petits commerces, ses bistrots, et ses bons restaurants . La situation géographique de l'appartement nous a permis de découvrir les principaux sites à pied, notamment le Panier, le quartier de Marseille le plus authentique, que je ne connaissais guère. Je sais que je reviendrais, peut-être pour ouvrir à nouveau les volets pour contempler le Vieux Port et cette charmante petite place, typiquement marseillaise...
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
In the most picturesque historic district, charming flat close to Old Harbour
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1024500
+33 0682430668
1st - Old Port (Vieux Port) Marseille
4

Quiet and ideal location

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 13-Nov-2012
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2012
Directly in the center of Marseille, near the Vieux Port. Beautiful historic apartment, modern and perfect for a quiet stay for two people. Shops, cafes and restaurants nearby. We have felt very comfortable.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
In the most picturesque historic district, charming flat close to Old Harbour
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1024500
+33 0682430668
1st - Old Port (Vieux Port) Marseille
4

wonderful place in Marseille

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 12-Nov-2012
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2012
staying at Anik's apartment was excellent, the location is simply perfect. the place was located very near a tube station, and was central enough that the main street (i forget the name of it) was only a 3minute walk away. there are plenty of great eats around the apartment, grocery stores, and everything you may need during your stay in Marseille.
the apartment itself was also great. very clean, beautiful in the inside, spacious, and well equipped. it was a great experience staying in Anik's vacation rental, and i am definitely planning to stay here next time i go to Marseille.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
In the most picturesque historic district, charming flat close to Old Harbour
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1024500
+33 0682430668
1st - Old Port (Vieux Port) Marseille
5

Great stay in Marseille in perfect location

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 24-Jun-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
We had a wonderful week in this apartment. The area is extremely interesting and close to everything you require, with a good selection of bars and restaurants. Le Panier, le Vieux Port, markets- fruit, veg and fish, shopping, we walked everywhere.The apartment was great, well equipped and clean. It had spacious rooms, beautifully appointed in excellent condition and recently redecorated. It was also very quiet at night which is unusual for such a central location. Anik was a charming host, so helpful and available to answer every question we had. We recommend it to anyone wishing to visit Marseille which is an exciting city. Great food, fantastic people and wonderful views.
Helpful votes: 2/2