HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

A contemporary home with a pool a minute from Camps Bay Beach

Patrick Arnold

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English, Italian
People12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights

Contact the Owner

Patrick Arnold

Member since: 2008
Speaks English, Italian
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
18 May, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

A contemporary home with a pool a minute from Camps Bay Beach

People12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 5 bedroom holiday villa in Camps Bay - Ocean's Sweep

4 large bedrooms and bathrooms, all round sea views and a nice warm-covered pool

The Best holiday home! We have owned it for 9 years now and whilst our lives have changed with the addition of young children to our family, our holidays have just got better every year. The house is very large with about 250 M2 of space internally and a different balcony or patio for each day of the week! Its perfect for entertaining or just chilling out!

Downstairs there are two lounges, one with the TV and DVD set up, the other based around a fireplace with the dining room leading off behind. The kitchen is fully fitted and has a breakfast bar area as well.

The master bedroom is huge with a sumptuous en suite bathroom, there is another two en-suite bedrooms and then two shared bathrooms for the third double and twin bedded room.

Outside, the ten metre pool has has a grass surround at the lower lever with the larger larger upper level laid as patio for barbecues, easting outdoors or just enjoying the beautiful sunsets!

Plus an auto-double garage and full security ADT throughout

Bedroom no 5: We are now able to offer the house as a five bedroom house which can sleep 12 adults or children plus the additional use of a travel cot. The great thing about it is that the house is big enough to accommodate this number thanks to its huge living areas both inside and outside the house. The prices we advertise however do not include the use of the 5th bedroom because we know that the average number of guests is between 4-8 people and so to assume parties of 12 would make it too expensive for for smaller groups to consider. So if you require a big house for family or friends this is definitely for you!

To explain fully, the 'new' 5th bedroom used to be the maids room, accessed only from the rear patio but it now has direct access from the breakfast room. So while it has its own ensuite shower room (the 5th bathroom in the house) it would be the only room without direct views of either the sea or the mountain. But it remains a decent double bedroom so please don't be put off using it

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Patrick Arnold (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English, Italian
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
18 May, 2015

Why HomeAway

People12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

4.6
based on 18 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
A contemporary home with a pool a minute from Camps Bay Beach
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 18 reviews
Warwickshire
5

Beautiful family holiday home

  • 5 of 5

We fell in love with this house. It was perfect for our family as the room inside and out allowed us to spread out and have our own space. The property was exactly as described and was well equipped. The restaurants, cafes, beach and all that Camps Bay has to offer was just a short walk away. The walk back up the hill let's you burn off those calories consumed! It was wonderful to cool off in the pool in the afternoon and then watch the stunning sunsets from the patio with a glass of (South African) wine. The view of table mountain to the rear isn't bad either! This house offers lovely, large clean accommodation and is well positioned to enjoy all that the Cape Town has to offer.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 20, 2009
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Simon, We are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and that you found everything as described. I hope that we may see you again sometime soon! Patrick and Sarah
5

Spacious house with a superb location

  • 5 of 5

We celebrated x-mas and New year 2014 in this house. A bunch of Norwegians; 4 adults and 8 children aged from 17 til 5 years old. We also had guests in the house as we know people in the area. The house felt spacious and never crowded even though we were up to 20 people. The house has a very nice pool and the outside area has a nice view and it`s great to gather there during the day or barbeque in the evenings. Lovely Philomena was a great help in our chaos, she kept the house nice and clean. Charl, the onsite manager, was very helpful and responded immediately when we had questions. Both very, very nice and helpful.The Camps Bay area feels safe and the beach is just a short walk from the house. If you like running and walking it is really nice to run to the foot of Table mountain. Besides good exercise the trip offers magnificent views over Camps Bays. As Cape Town lovers we loved the view to Lions Head and the Twelve Apostles from the house. Patrick, the owner, provided really good customer service. We have already recommended this property to friends and family. We would love to come back.

Margrete and family, Norway

  • Review Submitted: Feb 8, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Margrete - thanks for your kind words. I know that Philomina and Charl enjoyed having you to stay and I really hope we will see you or your friends again soon! Patrick and Sarah
5

Beautiful home with panoramic view of Camps Bay

  • 5 of 5

We were a family of seven from the UK which stayed at the property for our wedding in Stellenbosch last October. The property matched our expectations and more, the pictures really don’t do it justice, the outside “braii” area was perfect for inviting family & friends over in the evening for sundowners and food, it easily accommodated almost 30 of our friends & family for a pre wedding get together. The rooms are spacious & well decorated and the house is situated away from any main roads so traffic noise isn’t an issue. There is a great veranda which the front 3 bedrooms of the property open out to which provide spectacular views of camps Bay.

Which brings me on to the area itself, if you haven’t already been to Camps Bay then it really is in my opinion the best place to stay whilst visiting Cape Town, it’s close to the CBD and within driving distance of all the main attractions, Chapman’s peak, cape point etc really aren’t far away. The sea front community is probably one of the safest parts of cape town which you can stay in. My family did have some concerns about south Africa in general after hearing some horror stories but were pleasantly surprised at how safe & friendly the locals are. The main strip has some great bars and restaurants, the lobster linguine in the local Italian was die to for and cheaper than the cost of fish & chips for 2 back home!

All in all I’d thoroughly recommend staying at the property, you really won’t be disappointed, it made what was a memorable occasion even more special for us. One final thing, the maid Philomena is fantastic & friendly, she kept the house ship shape & definitely worth investing in having during your stay.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 6, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks - hope to see you again soon!
5

Beautiful home with panoramic view of Camps Bay

  • 5 of 5

We were a family of seven from the UK which stayed at the property for our wedding in Stellenbosch last October. The property matched our expectations and more, the pictures really don’t do it justice, the outside “braii” area was perfect for inviting family & friends over in the evening for sundowners and food, it easily accommodated almost 30 of our friends & family for a pre wedding get together. The rooms are spacious & well decorated and the house is situated away from any main roads so traffic noise isn’t an issue. There is a great veranda which the front 3 bedrooms of the property open out to which provide spectacular views of camps Bay.

Which brings me on to the area itself, if you haven’t already been to Camps Bay then it really is in my opinion the best place to stay whilst visiting Cape Town, it’s close to the CBD and within driving distance of all the main attractions, Chapman’s peak, cape point etc really aren’t far away. The sea front community is probably one of the safest parts of cape town which you can stay in. My family did have some concerns about south Africa in general after hearing some horror stories but were pleasantly surprised at how safe & friendly the locals are. The main strip has some great bars and restaurants, the lobster linguine in the local Italian was die to for and cheaper than the cost of fish & chips for 2 back home!

All in all I’d thoroughly recommend staying at the property, you really won’t be disappointed, it made what was a memorable occasion even more special for us. One final thing, the maid Philomena is fantastic & friendly, she kept the house ship shape & definitely worth investing in having during your stay.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 6, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased that you had such a good holiday, I will pass on your comments to Philomina and Charl too who will be thrilled too
5

Beautiful home in excellent location

  • 5 of 5

Myself and a few friends stayed at this beautiful home during our 3 week holiday. I can't stress enough how much we loved staying here. The house was clean and spacious and the location was excellent. Communication with Patrick the owner and Charl the manager was fantastic, and Philommena the housekeeper was also very friendly. It was extremely easy getting around on foot as everything was conveniently close by. Already looking forward to our next stay at the beautiful Ocean's Sweep. Thank you so much for having us!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 30, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Taahirah, It sounds like you all had a great time, we are so pleased you enjoyed the house. I will pass on your message to Charl and Philomina too and we all look forward to welcoming you back next year! Thanks, Patrick and Sarah
4

Excellent value - needs a little tender loving care

  • 4 of 5

This is a very spacious, well equipped house, in an excellent location with great views. It represents good value for money. Pictures etc reflect fairly the actual property. As a family of 6, we enjoyed our stay here, very convenient for the city centre, waterfront or to head off to Cape Point. We stayed in August so it was too cold to properly enjoy the pool, but it is a substantial size. Our car (10 seater Quantum) could not fit in the garage but we could still park off street in the drive way. An earlier review says there are only 2 hot showers, this is not correct - there are 4 working hot showers (you do have to wait a minute or two for the hot water though).

The 5th bedroom is much smaller than the others - but perfectly usable. However it was cold at night, with no source of heating.

I've only given it four stars as the house needs a modest bit of attention to sort out the "little things" eg broken light fittings, missing plugs, a bit of redecoration here and there. Nothing major to truly impact on your stay, but not quite as it should be.

Having said that, do not be put off renting this property - we were very happy staying here and I recommend it.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi John We are so glad that you had a good time and hope that you may like to come again. I think your comments are very fair. We normally get the little jobs done in the winter but a family stayed on after Easter and into July which made getting in there hard this time. The seasons are getting longer every year! Anton has been in and fixed all the bits now so its looking much better I hope for another busy summer ahead. That must have been some car! Our friend has a Toyota Landcruiser that gets in there ok with another car alongside, but I don't know about a Quantum, maybe it was on height? Thanks again Patrick and Sarah

Location

Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Cape Town International
Nearest Motorway
4 Kilometres
Cape Town
Nearest Beach
400 Metres
Camps Bay Beach
Car: recommended

The house is in Camps Bay which is no more than half an hour's drive from the airport. Once there it is just a short walk to the beach front with all the shops, bars and restaurants that make this area so famous and memorable. Camps Bay is then just a ten minute drive into Cape Town city centre of maybe 15 to the V&A Waterfront, Stellenboch is about half an hour for wine tasting, or Newlands for all the sporting occasions is the same. Cape Point is a little further, south, at 45 min but on the way you pass beautiful Chapmans Peak and Boulders, the home of the Cape's penguins. There are numerous golf courses all over which start at as little as R300 a round, tennis courts in Camps Bay and the western beaches are famous to surfers and windsurfers alike. Its all there, its just a question of getting out and getting on with it! I'm sorry to have removed contact numbers from this website but we have received too many sales calls by leaving on there. Happy to call you back if you enquire.

Other Activities: Table Mountain, Robben Island, cricket, rugby, football world cup, wine tasting

Golf: The nearest and most accessible golf course is Now Mowbray which you passed coming in from the airport and costs just R300. Call in good time and they will accommodate you into 4 balls if necessary.

There are very many other courses to play however!

Photos

Prices & Availability

From £250 Nightly

Prices for this holiday villa in Camps Bay, Atlantic Seaboard

Rental Basis:
per property
Prices quoted in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Oct 15
1 Oct 2015 - 31 Oct 2015
4 night minimum stay
£1,075
for 4 nights
From
£250
£1,575
£3,325
 
 
Nov 2015
1 Nov 2015 - 14 Dec 2015
4 night minimum stay
£1,275
for 4 nights
From
£300
£1,825
£3,575
 
 
Xmas 2015
15 Dec 2015 - 17 Jan 2016
4 night minimum stay
£4,075
for 4 nights
From
£1,000
£5,075
£15,075
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£355
for 1 night
From
£280
£1,675
£3,075
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £500.00
End of stay clean £75.00
Notes Please contact us for longer term rentals particularly during off seasons.
Xmas, New Year and Easter require minimum stays or prices will reflect accordingly

Prices are constructed assuming a group of say 8 adults with one or two children or 6 plus 4 etc

If you wish to fill teh house with ten adults using teh 5th bedroom, we may wish to increase the advertised rates

It is worth re-iterating th

Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Camps Bay in Atlantic Seaboard

Property Type:
  • villa (detached)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 250 m²
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
Theme:
  • Family
  • Luxury
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Sunbed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 5 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot , En suite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , En suite
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Double Bed , En suite
  • Master bedroom is enormous and could take another single bed if necessary (in the garage) It also has the cot. The sofas are not sofa-beds but again we have set up beds downstairs if necessary in emergencies!
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Patio
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 6 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Daily Maid Service
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Confirm Price & Contact

Enter dates to calculate a quote