We read all the reviews on the web page and our expectation level was high. We were celebrating our 40th anniversary with our children and grandchildren.
On a positive note, the setting was perfect as was the pool which was cleaned during our stay and the beach and the beautiful water were all as described. The owner did respond to emails.
For us the issue was cleanliness, furniture and equipment.
The fridge and cupboards were dirty and disorganized with left over food from previous renters. We spent the first 3 hours cleaning and vacuuming with a wet/dry vac.
The beds had not been changed - there were sheets with hairs and beds with ants. I washed all the sheets which are of very poor quality - NOT cotton. The cleaning service did come round and give me detergent. It would have been nice to have had all the polythene off the beds and bed skirts put on.
A number of the dining room chairs had broken backs and the leather settees had cracked and split which made sitting very uncomfortable. The sofas had been covered with ill-fitting stretchy covers. To be fair, the handyman came immediately and repaired the chairs for us. The sofas need replaced.
The TV in the lounge worked for a few minutes then lost the picture - the tv in the bedroom did not work. We complained about this, BUT it was the holidays so nothing of substance could be done.
There were not enough unbroken glasses for us to sit at dinner and each have a wine glass.
We cook and the utensils for doing so were limited. No blender for drinks, no measuring cups, no wooden spoons - very few basics. And all in disarray.
Sadly we could not recommend this property to our friends, (unless there were upgrades) and were told by all the folks who came to help us that there have been a number of complaints regarding the sheets and the furniture and the equipment. These folks were great, but losing heart with this situation.
Exuma beach resort was great for dinner and lunch - walkable but also a taxi ride for the way home. The beach just down the road was also lovely and we took it in turns to swim there and walk back. The wee market is very close - shuts early on a Sunday which was unexpected for our arrival - we should have done more homework. The islanders are wonderful about offering lifts when one has 2 wee ones in tow. We did hire a car for part of our stay and visited other beaches and Georgetown.
Owner's Response: Very sorry to read this review, particularly after we responded immediately to your concerns and also being Christmas, pleased that everyone looking after the house were able to come round and fix all of the small items you mentioned .
The sheets are of reasonable quality some brand new cotton and some with cotton mix to avoid crumples. Two seats out of the twelve seats had merely worked loose, which were also fixed immediately. The cleaning lady came back immediately to rectify the few areas you were concerned about.
There seems to be a large degree of exaggeration going on here as there is a blender and sufficient glasses and crockery for 12 people in the house we bought just before your arrival. She had left food and various items ourt of kindness in the cupboards thinking you would be grateful for that, instead of complaining they were there. We have two very expensive satelite televisions and immediately fixed those, and indeed now replaced again after only one year with brand new televisions to avoid any issues like this happening again. We are glad that, as you say, the house and pool were acceptable to you.
Did you find this review helpful?