My wife and I along with another couple ended up staying only one night at the villa. Despite the great reviews, we encountered an awful experience. It had not been cleaned prior to our arrival, and the lower floors smelled incredibly damp and seemed to be full of mold. Mold to the point where we all became ill and had no other choice but to leave. We managed to stay in the villa our first night in Malta since we arrived late, and had no other choice. When contacted both David and Jane said that they would send the maid for a free cleaning sometime the next day. Unfortunately, mold is very serious and not something a maid can fix in a two hour time frame, nor does anyone want to or deserve to spend their first 2 days of a one week vacation waiting for the house to be prepared and cleaned properly. From this point on both David and Jane became quite difficult to deal with. This was actually quite shocking since they had been nothing but helpful emailing back and forth for a month prior to our arrival.
We had several issues with the overall upkeep of the villa including the cleanliness and major issues with mold. The bed sheets had hair all over them, and there were only two blankets to be found in the entire villa. (both unusable). In addition, there was mold found in various areas of the villa including showers, shower curtains, walls, etc. The entire two lower levels of the villa including the games room and club areas smelled so strong of mold that we couldn’t even stay in that area for more than 5 minutes.
The pictures for this villa are very misleading. The pool is actually located in the front hard and comes with no privacy, and the lower levels that look filled with games, a disco, work out area, and more, are actually quite barren and lackluster.
Our overall experience with David and Jane was quite disappointing. We offered to cover the fee for a cleaning once we left, pay for the night that we stayed, and pay a fee for the check-in process and for any maintenance that was done prior to or after our arrival. Unfortunately, we were told no refund would be given whatsoever for the unused days and that our claims were simply false because the snooker balls had been moved around downstairs so it meant we must have been downstairs and had fun.
Unfortunately, the villa was not a place where any of us could stay(all sick by the end of the first night). Thankfully everything worked out for us in the end, other than having to pay for 2 villas.
Owner's Response: This review is totally misleading. Despite the client have said all this, it is totally untrue. The Guest with other 3 people had arrived late in the afternoon and as we usually do, we take a tour around the house together with the guests. They all were very excited and happy to start off their week. however later that night the guest contacted us in complaining about some minor issues. Strange enough that all of these issues have happened in one night! Immediately I have offered the next day for a check at the villa and also a free cleaning (though this was not the matter) as a complimentary. However we had no response. On the night it had rained heavily and as it usually does here in Malta, with the very first rain, the stone gets very damp and creates that smelly mould stuff in the air. the guests complained of being sick of mould and made a fuss about it which in my opinion definately was not the case. This issue of mould was a past that we tackled immediately (last year). We opened up additional windows in the lower basement floor concerned, to circulate the air. The result was superb and we had positive response. Well, I believe these people, looked on previous reviews of last year and confronted us with these accusations in order to get the full refund on it. I explained to them in detailed and offered them our help. In addition to this, guests had also the service of 24hr doctor on call. These people had made no call at all to anyone when they felt sick! In addition to this they ignored our offers and on their decision they left the house early the next morning. In my opinion these minor issues have definitely not spoilt their holiday stay if accepted our help. We try to be helpful in every other way to give our guests an enjoyable experience. Despite this review, I still thank Mr Drew for choosing our villa.
Helpful votes: 4/6
Did you find this review helpful?