HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.


Melanie Firsht

Advertiser since: 2011
Speaks English
Bedrooms 3
Separate WC's1
Property type house

Contact the Owner

Melanie Firsht

Advertiser since: 2011
Speaks English
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Prior to paying a reservation deposit, always verify payment instructions by calling the number on this listing.
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote


Bedrooms 3
Separate WC's1
Property type house


Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Soho - BRITANNIA HOUSE.


This stunning contemporary 'boutique hotel' style house is located right in the heart of central London and benefits from a total renovation (completed Aug '12). Finished only to the highest of standards including a brand new, handmade kitchen/diner with recessed LED lighting, Miele appliances, accessed via a stunning atrium and magnificent glass staircase.

It has 3 beautifully appointed bedrooms with bespoke built-in cupboards, 2 en-suite bathrooms (master wet room), plus additional bathroom with cast iron roll top bath. Being on four floors, the house works well for larger and smaller groups. The large living room includes a 50' 3DTV/DVD player, surround-sound system and sofa-bed. The house has plantation shutters throughout, air con, sat TV, gas-log open fire, combi-microwave, dishwasher, washing machine/dryer, linen/towels, hair-dryer & iron.

A great public-access gym and stunning swimming pool is 2-min walk away. This unique property oozes the very best cosmopolitan style.

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Melanie Firsht (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2011
Speaks English
Bedrooms 3
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Prior to paying a reservation deposit, always verify payment instructions by calling the number on this listing.
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote


based on 23 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
average rating of 4.5652175 based on 23 reviews
Plano, Texas

Great Home in Soho

  • 5 of 5

This lovely home is near everything in London's West End. The 3 bedroom, 3 bath house has all the amenities that make it a home away from home. The house was immaculately clean. The beds are kings and very comfortable and the baths modern and large. The kitchen/dining area is outfitted with new and useful appliances and the living area most comfortable. The house is located near great restaurants and the theatre district as well as the best shopping areas of Regent and Oxford. Two wonderful restaurants, Goodman's and Blanchette, are within walking distance. We will definitely return to this home on our next trip to London. It is quite a find.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 17, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Excellent place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed staying here! The location was so convenient to 2 tube stations & walking distance to a ton of restaurants & shopping. I read about the review that said the noise was bad & I will say there was only noise on 1 night of our 4 night stay - the other nights the bars have a closing time of 11pm. So, noise was not a problem for us. It was exactly as the pictures described. We were very pleased with everything. Even accommodating us by meeting us early in the morning to let us in for a small fee since our plane arrived so early. Thank you!!!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 6, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Dirty Shame

  • 1 of 5

UuUpon arrival, we were met by Samuel, who showed us around the house and gave us relevant information. After we had a chance to settle in, we could clearly see the £££ we paid for cleaning must not have been paid by previous guests because many parts of the house had been disturbingly neglected. The substantial cleaning deposit that was required, suggested the place would be clean. I don't believe any of the floors had seen a mop or vac for months.

We suffered 3 days loss of our holiday because of multiple malfunctions in the house including: the heating through out the house not working, the kitchen electrics going out, the boiler not working, which meant no showers for us nor baths for our children. We lost an entire delivery worth of food due to the fridge failing the day after our groceries were delivered. One of us had to stay in all day waiting for various repairmen to come for multiple repairs, which really killed the enjoyment of our visit. The owners were initially contacting friends and family for repairs to save money instead of calling real repairman (not really a good time to skimp on repairs while you have tenants in).

During this time, while the repairmen were turning the kitchen inside out looking for ways to repair the tangle of wires, there was a dead mouse found under the skirting boards. Yuck. Again, what was the cleaning deposit actually for?

For the entire eight days, the toilet on the lower level was noisily running incessantly and was not addressed by any of the repairmen that came in during our visit. The sound of the malfunctioning toilet overpowered conversation in the kitchen/dining area.

If you are planning a visit with a family the location in the middle of a bustling night life area isn't great. The noise outside is loud until around 3-4 am and then the rubbish collection trucks get busy by 6 or 7 am , so if you planning on sleeping, better bring noise canceling headphones.

Through out the ordeal, we were assured we would be compensated for the spoiled groceries and lost days of our holiday, but unfortunately, those promises were not honored.

The cleanliness issues, the delays for repairs and the lack of consideration for the spoiled groceries and days lost on our holiday make us unable to give The Britannia house a favorable rating, in fact we will not recommend it to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 1, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Wonderful Location, Great Owners

  • 5 of 5

Five of us stayed at the Britannia House the last week of June. The accommodations were perfect. The booking process was very smooth with the help of Samuel. Mathew met us and explained the house very well. Used the modern kitchen only for a few breakfasts and afternoon snacks, but found everything in good order. The king beds in each room were very comfortable and the bathrooms were updated and spacious.

The best thing though was the absolutely perfect location. Shopping, restaurants, theater and the tube were just steps away. We highly recommend the Britannia House for anyone staying in London with a larger party. When we return, we will definitely book again.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Too Noisy!

  • 3 of 5

Brittania House, London

My family of six (two grandparnts, two parents, two teenagers) stayed at Brittania House from June 6-June 12. Unfortunately I could not recommend it nor would I stay there again. Yes, it is beautifully decorated, and it has an excellent location. However, there were some serious problems.

The first problem was the stairs. In the description, four flights are mentioned . The stairs to the kitchen were glass and very steep. The stairs up to the bedrooms were also very steep. Not everything was user friendly. We had difficulty working the air conditioning. The top bedroom—and possibly the others-- had no counter space in the bathroom nor did it have any drawers for clothing such as underwear, shirts, etc. It did have 2 closets, but most of our items needed drawers not hangers. We lived out of our suitcases for our entire stay.

The main problem was the noise. Prior to renting, I had asked the owner about the noise, and he replied, “The house is completely double glazed and is situated in a quiet street which is round the corner from everything!!!

Noise is not a problem but occasionally you can hear people in the street but being in Central London it is to be expected. “ Well, noise was a major problem. There is a pub at a nearby corner and restaurants on the street. People partied Saturday and Sunday until 3 AM. The double paned windows did nothing to keep out the noise. In addition, three nights in a row the building across the street had an alarm that kept going off repeatedly. The first day we were there, the smoke alarm in one bedroom beeped—probably needed a new battery. We called the owner before going out for the evening. When we returned, 3 hours later, he had nor returned our call. We tried to disconnect it, but it was very difficult. At 11 PM after being completely jet-lagged, we wrestled it for 20 minutes. The next night another bedroom smoke alarm went off. One of the business on the strayed played music with a loud booming base. By the time our stay was done, we were all exhausted.

My husband and I are in our 70’s. The door to our bedroom broke during our stay. Believe me: we only opened and closed it in a normal fashion. However, the owner wanted to take money out of our deposit to fix it.

To be honest, because of the exchange rate, we’re not sure if he did or didn’t.

We are very experience travelers and have rented flats/homes before for many years. We know we have to put up

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that you didn't have a perfect stay at Britannia House We are extremely passionate about our house and while I understand that you said noise was an issue for you, I did explain very clearly upon arrival that there could be slightly more noise being a Saturday evening (the day you arrived) and in fact, I lived in Britannia House for just over two years myself and I simply cannot agree with you with regard to the noise levels being to loud. You have made out that our house in situated in 'party central' which it definately is NOT and a little unfair you have made it sound like that. Once again I will refer you back to our other reviews for confirmation of this. Yes the house is right in the heart of London, but it is located on a quiet street and while we do have fantastic double glazing throughout, you will never get zero noise pollution as it is NOT in the countryside. With regard to the smoke detector alarm, I can only apologise for a buzzer going off, which I agree must of been annoying, but they are ran on independent batteries which are replaced regularly. However, when you called, I did explain how to disconnect them to stop the buzzing and that I would be there asap to replace. I CANNOT understand why you have written that I never returned your call when we actually spoke on several occasions that evening about this and told you how to disconnect. I can only assume that you must of forgotten that we DID speak and I explained what needed to be done. I always have my cell on 24/7 and even if I were to miss a call, then I will always call back once I pick up the voice mail, guaranteed. In fact we spoke on several occasions during your stay to ensure it was great, which you replied were having fabulous time! You must of forgotten them too and if you would like, I can email you over copies of my call log to remind you? We are not responsible for any other alarms going off on other buildings in London. With regard to the stairs, as you will see from the pictures on our listing, they are at a normal rake and we have never had any complaints about these in the past three years of being on Homeaway. I am sorry you felt they were too steep for you and your wife. As you will see 99.5% of our reviews are 5 stars and Samuel, Melanie and I really did everything we can to make each and every stay the best it possibly could be now and in the future.
San Francisco

Great place to start your Trip to London

  • 5 of 5

What a great place- exceeded my expectations. We were travelling with our 2 adult children so we needed the space of a 3 bedroom place. Our requirements are good location near restaurants and sites, good wifi, a kitchen and a quiet interior. This met all our criteria. Now this is really 5 floors with a room on each floor. Basement is the kitchen, next is living room / entry, then a bedroom on each of the floors (and a bathroom on each as well). Laundry is at the top of the stairs. the kitchen was well stocked with everything you need to cook, but we just used it for breakfasts, coffee and snacks. Speaking of coffee you can't go more than 100 steps from the place in any direction w/o hitting a coffee shop. Nero, Starbucks and a host of independents are all close. We tried different ones each day for variety.

When we first entered we noted how quiet it was - there was good shielding from the noise outside, although being on a street with Pubs, bars and restaurants there can be noise on Friday and Saturday nights. This is SOHO after all and all the hip single people come here to drink, eat and well drink late.

Right next door is the 'Breakfast Club" which seems to be the only place to server American "big' breakfasts. So there is a line for it constantly - from open to close (and often we had to cross the line to get into the door, but the crowd is mellow). Good food, but like all the food in London expect to pay for it! Get their before they open or you'll have to wait an hour.

As others have noted the property is close to tube stops, grocery stores and a just a few blocks from Carnaby street - keep an eye out for Austin Powers!

Samuel is great and is a good communicator which is key when you are renting a place site unseen. Wire transfers are not a problem and he is prompt with refunding security deposits. I'd stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 11, 2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Nearest Airport
16 Miles
Nearest Ferry
66 Miles
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Car: not necessary

With its amazing central London location (W1F - Google it!), this quietly situated house is brilliantly positioned for a see-all London visit. It’s a 2-min WALK to Oxford Street shops, supermarkets, loads of top restaurants, outdoor food-markets, the River Thames, Oxford Circus Tube (underground) & 24-hour taxis, buses, car clubs, bike hire. It’s a 16-min walk to Buckingham Palace, Tate Britain, Lambeth Palace, Westminster Cathedral, theatres, cinema, St James Park, Victoria Station & Victoria Coach Station, with easy rail/coach links to Heathrow, Gatwick & Europe. It’s a 22-min walk to Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament, the London Eye, the King's Road/Chelsea. Short tube/bus rides take you direct to Harrods, the major Museums, Oxford Street, Piccadilly Circus, the West End, Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden, the National Gallery, the Imperial War Museum, the Festival Hall, Shakespeare’s Globe, the National Theatre & National Film Theatre, Hayward Gallery, IMAX, Waterloo Station, Tate Modern.


Prices & Availability

From £300 Nightly

Prices for this holiday house in Soho , Westminster and West End

Rental Basis:
Prices quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
12 Nov 2014 - 31 May 2015
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
1 Jun 2015 - 31 Aug 2015
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
1 Sep 2015 - 20 Dec 2015
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Christmas Week.
21 Dec 2015 - 3 Jan 2016
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £1,500
Cleaning Fee £235
Notes VAT included. VAT receipt available on request.
To reserve dates, full non-refundable payment due if within six weeks of arrival date: 50% on booking, then 50% six weeks before arrival. Payment via UK Cheque, electronic bank transfer or PayPal.
Returnable security deposit of £1500 taken on booking.
Beds, except for the one (very comfortable) sofa, made up.
Enter dates to see total


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Soho in Westminster and West End

Property Type:
  • house (terraced)
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1650 m²
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Safe
  • Security System
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Cast Iron Roll Top Bath
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure , Ensuite
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Ensuite Wet Room
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Game Console
  • Balcony
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Confirm Price & Contact

Enter dates to calculate a quote