HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

***1 MILE FROM JOSHUA TREE PARK, CLIMBERS/HIKERS RETREAT!!!***

Shawn Sampson

Advertiser since: 2014
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
People8
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Shawn Sampson

Advertiser since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 January, 2015
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

***1 MILE FROM JOSHUA TREE PARK, CLIMBERS/HIKERS RETREAT!!!***

People8
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday cabin in Joshua Tree - Joshua Tree Climbing Partners

1 Mile from West Park Entrance. Open floor concept living at its best!

Welcome to 'Our Climbers Cabin'!

Come in and open the 8' barn doors, grab a seat, relax and watch the sunset!

The cabin was built on 2.5 acres, approx 1 mile from the Western Gate to Joshua Tree National Park. It was built with a ton of good vibes and help from friends. It's a simple place, open concept with a large kitchen dinning area, a large bathroom and huge loft sleeping room. The kitchen offers a double sink, tons of counter space, hot pad, bar area, refrigerator and picnic table for wonderful group meals (feel free to move it outside as well). There is Internet and Wifi as well as cell service at the property.

The upstairs offers a large loft for additional sleeping that can hold 8 folks without an issue. There is a queen Futon bed along with 4 sleeping pads for your use and a single futon bed down stairs. You will need to bring your own outdoor chairs, sleeping bags, pads, pillows and personal towels.

Depending on your preference and weather you can cook in, BBQ outside or restaurants are a couple miles away.

There is a large parking area and a small tack house with power that can also be used for sleeping or as a storage area for gear.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Shawn Sampson (Property Manager)
Advertiser since: 2014
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 January, 2015

About Shawn Sampson

10 friends and climbing buddies tired of sleeping on the ground or in our cars for weeks on end decided to pool every penny we had back then and buy this property. That was over 18 years ago and we all still love our little slice of heaven. Now our families get to enjoy it as well. You will enjoy the vibe the minute you walk in!

Cheers, The Partners

Shawn Sampson purchased this cabin in 1997

Why Shawn Sampson chose Joshua Tree

Even back then, the Park was getting harder and harder to get a camping spot in, so we decided to build our own. Best part back then and still today, is a hot shower at the end of the day playing in the park!

What makes this cabin unique

On any given day there is something to do and see just out the door. Great hikes around the local mountains, a walk down the road checking out local artists or just hanging out watching the day go by. It really is that easy to relax... must be the water (which by the way is great right out of the tap!)

Guestbook comments from the manager

Hi Mr Sampson,



i had really great climbings,hikings,scramblings done , just felt in love with the place!



The cabin was even more awesome than my expectations, just perfectly located and felt just like home,

thanks to you for letting people staying in this nice place.



Im actually planning to go back climbing in Joshua with my partner in the beginning of january , 2 weeks

around 5 january to 19, i would have loved to rent the cabin again but it look like its all booked already frown emoticon

please let me know if there is any cancellation for those dates or if you have any suggestions for another

great place to rent.



Thanks



Cheers,

Philippe
Nov 2014
  • 1 of 1
People8
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

4.6
based on 7 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
***1 Mile from Joshua Tree Park, Climbers/Hikers Retreat!!!***
average rating of 4.571429 based on 8 reviews
business
***1 Mile from Joshua Tree Park, Climbers/Hikers Retreat!!!***
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p571967vb
-8058962207
Joshua Tree California Desert
Amos,QC,Canada
5

Best place i ever rent!

  • 5 out of 5
Rustic, laidback, perfectly located, full of love,life,joy! Thanks to the owners
for sharing this place.
Merci à la prochaine.
  • Review Submitted: 20-Dec-2014
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Phil, I'm so happy you had a great trip. Sorry the cabin was rented again in Jan but we hope you come out and stay with us again!
business
***1 Mile from Joshua Tree Park, Climbers/Hikers Retreat!!!***
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p571967vb
-8058962207
Joshua Tree California Desert
Santan Barbara, Ca
5

My kids love this place!

  • 5 out of 5
This was our second time staying here, we came back because of the rustic open feel of the place and of the great value for a family of four plus two dogs! The hills a short distance from the cabin are an adventure themselves and we spent time bounding up them and riding bikes (mountain) through the funky desert neighborhood. If you are looking for a low-key, down to earth place to kick back after a day in the Park this is it.
  • Review Submitted: 20-Jan-2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
***1 Mile from Joshua Tree Park, Climbers/Hikers Retreat!!!***
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p571967vb
-8058962207
Joshua Tree California Desert
SF Bay Area
5

Awesome local experience

  • 5 out of 5
We brought the family to experience the beautiful high desert and hit the jackpot with this place. The location could not be better as it is right near the park entrance. Spending days at J Tree and then coming back to home base to wash up, cook dinner, hang by the campfire roasting marshmallows and playing music is really tough to beat. The setting is pristine. It's clean, and everything worked great. Highly recommend.
  • Review Submitted: 19-Jan-2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
***1 Mile from Joshua Tree Park, Climbers/Hikers Retreat!!!***
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p571967vb
-8058962207
Joshua Tree California Desert
SF Bay Area
5

Awesome local experience

  • 5 out of 5
We brought the family to experience the beautiful high desert and hit the jackpot with this place. The location could not be better as it is right near the park entrance. Spending days at J Tree and then coming back to home base to wash up, cook dinner, hang by the campfire roasting marshmallows and playing music is really tough to beat. The setting is pristine. It's clean, and everything worked great. Highly recommend.
  • Review Submitted: 19-Jan-2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
***1 Mile from Joshua Tree Park, Climbers/Hikers Retreat!!!***
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p571967vb
-8058962207
Joshua Tree California Desert
Los Angeles
5

This is by far one of the coolest getaways I've ever seen for the price. Totally private... Killer!!

This is by far one of the coolest getaways I've ever seen for the price. Totally private... Killer!!
  • 5 out of 5
We absolutely love this rustic desert cabin! Great location just outside the park. Cool barn doors that open to watch the sunset. Fire pit, horseshoes..... Come on ... This place rocks!!! Such a cool place... I want to live there!!!!
  • Review Submitted: 19-Jan-2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, We feel the same. Thanks for adding your sprint to our cabin!
business
***1 Mile from Joshua Tree Park, Climbers/Hikers Retreat!!!***
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p571967vb
-8058962207
Joshua Tree California Desert
2

Cabin Fine But Customer Service Lacking

  • 2 out of 5
We reserved the cabin for the Christmas holiday. When we arrived (after a four hour drive) we discovered were locked out of the cabin. When we reached one of the owners, we were told that there had been "an issue" with the second half of our payment. We had been in contact with the owner before our trip and had given him phone numbers and email addresses (because the confirmation email he said he sent us through the website never came through to us so we gave him alternate contact info). We never did figure out why the owner didn't just contact us to let us know there was an issue with the payment. That was no big deal, the big deal was that the owner contacted us every day we were there demanding the second half of the payment and stating that he was going to do "maintenance" to the cabin for several hours inside and outside the cabin WHILE WE WERE THERE ON VACATION, and without any compensation to us. We let him know that this was a rare getaway for us and that he was totally stressing us out. However, it seemed like he was not versed in customer service. He just kept repeating "it is all your fault". We were not interested in whose fault it was, we just wanted to relax. Tried contacting the owner afterwards to give him an opportunity to give further input before we wrote this review but he was only able to say "it is all your fault" several more times. The actual cabin is well-worn, with faded curtains and few amenities. It is in a little desert neighborhood with other homes close by. When we got there the picnic table was leaning over in a broken mess. We had no problem with the rustic condition of the cabin. It is a perfect place for "man-cations" and is a perfect place to bring pets. Joshua Tree was beautiful. The people who live in this rustic little town were extremely accommodating and were like salve to our brow-beaten souls. This cabin is fine just hope and pray you don't need any customer service while you are there. It may be YOUR vacation but it will become obvious rather quickly that it is someone else's BUSINESS.
  • Review Submitted: 13-Jan-2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is unfortunate. The reservation for these renters was cancelled due to their failure to pay in full after 7 attempts were made and 2 weeks spent trying to contact them. When they showed up unannounced, we did our very best to accommodate them. We told them we could not rearrange the maintenance we had scheduled but that it would be only for a few hours which they said was fine. Furthermore, our cabin is advertised as “Rustic” built by friends, family, climbers and hikers for the same. I really wished they would have followed the simple directions on the VRBA website and made sure the payment was made in full before arriving after the reservation was cancelled due to lack of payment. We have never had a issue with any renters or the VRBO site up until this point and again this is very unforforcate as we bent over backwards for them. We will countune to offer unsurpassed customer service to our guest and their friends. Cheers, The Partners

Location

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Palm Springs
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Joshua Tree Local Bars
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Joshua Tree
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Big Bear
Car: necessary

There are some great restaurants in the town of Joshua Tree 3 miles away as well and in the Yucca Valley which offers a much larger selection of food stores and is less than 8 miles away.

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Prices for this holiday cabin in Joshua Tree , California Desert

Rental Basis:
property
Prices quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
New Year Holiday
30 Dec 2015 - 3 Jan 2016
4 night minimum stay
$459
for 4 nights
From
$103
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$357
for 3 nights
From
$103
$643
$1,669
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection $49
Tax Rate 8.0%

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Joshua Tree in California Desert

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • Monument View
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Large 3/4 with full shower. No tub
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 8
  • Large loft sleeps up to 8 with tons of personal room. A cool ladder with hand rail and trap door allows access to the loft sleeping area (children might need a helping hand the first few times up and down). The property also offers easy RV parking with dump station and a tack shed which can be used for sleeping as well.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • Rock Climbing

Other holiday rentals

Weekly From £464
2 night minimum stay
  • 1 Bedroom,
  • 1 Bathroom,
  • Sleeps 2
europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote