HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

QUIRKY, UNUSUAL, NY STYLE WAREHOUSE CONVERSION, 10MIN WALK BEACH

From
€90
Enter your travel dates

Manager

Speaks English, Spanish
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Manager

Manager

Speaks English, Spanish
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Prior to paying a reservation deposit, always verify payment instructions by calling the number on this listing.
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

QUIRKY, UNUSUAL, NY STYLE WAREHOUSE CONVERSION, 10MIN WALK BEACH

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday apartment in Villa Olimpica - C./ Joan d'austria

10 minutes walk to El Borne and the Beach.

Spacious industrial, warehouse unit slowly being converted into apartments. Situated in the 'atico' 1-bed apartment with a large central living area, separate bedroom and small bathroom with shower. Furnished in black and chrome with large fridge freezer, washing machine, hob, oven, microwave, TV, DVD and CD player and free WiFi. Just around the corner from Metro Marina (3 stops to Placa Catalunya) and a very pleasant walk straight down C./ Marina to the twin towers and the beautiful beaches of Villa Olympica. Kick back, relax and sip a cocktail on one of the many chill out terraces that line this section of beach. For culture and famous landmarks walk 5 mins to Arc de Triomf and directly into the beautiful El Borne area where you will find an array of tapas bars, restaurants, cafes, museums, art galleries, boutiques and wonderful medieval winding streets and lanes. For entertainment closer to home check out Razzmattaz, 5 clubs in 1 - 5 minutes walk.

Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • children welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • pets not allowed

Manager

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.co.uk since 2007
Speaks English, Spanish
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Prior to paying a reservation deposit, always verify payment instructions by calling the number on this listing.
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

Reviews for this holiday apartment rental in Villa Olimpica, Spain

12 Reviews Write a Review
Quirky, unusual, NY style warehouse conversion, 10min walk beach
average rating of 4.0833335 based on 12 reviews
business
Quirky, unusual, NY style warehouse conversion, 10min walk beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p490659
Villa Olimpica Sant Marti
4

Great girly getaway!

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 30-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
Myself and three of my girly friends (all aged 24) stayed here for six nights in August. We'd never been to Barcelona before so we weren't entirely sure what to expect.

We organised a taxi transfer through Claire before arriving in Barcelona and when we got into Arrivals the taxi was there, ready and waiting. When we got to the apartment both Jordi and the warehouse porter were there to greet us. As stated on the website, the apartment is in a warehouse and down quite an industrial looking road, but do not let this put you off. Just round the corner (literally) is the main road down to the beach, which is lined with supermarkets, cafes, and restaurants. The building itself is also very industrial looking, but for us this was not a problem.

The apartment is very spacious (much needed for four female twenty something's)! It had everything we needed; the washing machine, large fridge, and the best sink ever proved to be invaluable! It is a very quiet and secure building and we all slept exceptionally well. The little balcony was also great for pre-dinner drinks.

I personally thought that the area the apartment is in was also really good. If you take a stroll down the main road towards the seafront you will find Port Olimpic and Barceloneta Beach; this is where we spent most our time. The restaurants and bars here are exceptional value and good quality. Alternatively a short taxi ride can take you to Las Ramblas (taxi was about €6), which has an amazing atmosphere and lots to see and do.

I would mostly recommend doing the open top bus tours of Barcelona, as you can see everything and get off and on at any stop, all for a one off price (think it was €14). We spent a whole afternoon on these buses and saw most of what we wanted to.

Overall we had a really great stay. The saying 'never judge a book by its cover' is perfect for this apartment. Once inside, it really is a great space and much better value than any hotel of a similar standard. I think we all said we'd go back and take our significant others.

Thanks Claire and Jordi for a great holiday!
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. See you again. Claire
business
Quirky, unusual, NY style warehouse conversion, 10min walk beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p490659
Villa Olimpica Sant Marti
5

we loved the warehouse

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 12-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
This is a great space, amazing space infact and very quiet at night. It is noting like a traditional Barcelona apartment and we liked that, reasons being it is quiet at night, has an elevator and is in a very unusual building.
Very close to all amenities and the beach at Bogatell.
The mattress has been changed for us, so thanks for that, we found it very comfortable.
The bathroom is small but fine for a quick shower at the end of the day or in the morning.
light, bright and huge space and cheap too!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quirky, unusual, NY style warehouse conversion, 10min walk beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p490659
Villa Olimpica Sant Marti
3

Cosy apartment

  • 3 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 20-Jul-2012
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2012
A very cosy apartment in a very nice part of Barcelona! The apartment has everything needed for a vacation in the lovely capital.
business
Quirky, unusual, NY style warehouse conversion, 10min walk beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p490659
Villa Olimpica Sant Marti
2

Shotty neighborhood, not working toilet

  • 2 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 29-May-2012
  • Date of Stay: May 2012
Two of my girlfriends and I stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days. Here's the scoop: as soon as we arrived, we followed the instructions to call Jordi the manager to meet us at the apartment. We were dropped off in front of the building, and to our dismay, the building is located across from an abandoned building, and has lots of grafitti on the outside. We honestly thought the cab driver dropped us off at the wrong location. In any case, Jordi comes and meets us after 15 min or so, and we walk into a secured building (2 doors to get to the elevators) and go up to the attic, where the apt is located. After filling us in and paying, we were left to explore the apt by ourselves.

The pictures of the living room and bedroom are accurate, but be sure to bring extra towels, as you are only provided 1 per person. The bed in the bedroom is very uncomfortable (like lying on top of springs and a thin sheet) and the futon is bad also. We ended up taking the mattress off the futon onto the floor and sleeping on that instead. The biggest problem with this apt was the bathroom. We had to email Jordi 3-4 times in regards to the toilet not flushing correctly. Also, the bathroom is VERY small and dingy. We were afraid to walk barefoot in the shower, because there's so much mold on the shower mat. Water leaks from the shower, even with the curtain, so we ended up having to use one of our towels to dry the water on the floor. There is no AC in the apt so be prepared. Also, there is no plug in the bathroom, so if you need to do your hair, bring an extra mirror to do outside the bathroom. Only 1 roll of toilet paper was available, so be prepared for buying extra as well.

The apt is located 5 min away from the metro, which was great, and it was only 3 exits away from the city center, which was great. Jordi was very helpful getting us settled in, and was very quick to respond to emails. We would not visit this apt again, since the price at a nearby hotel was near the same price per night. My review would be a 1 star, if it wasn't for Jordi's gentle hospitality. Thanks again!
Owner's Response: Thanks for the comments. Please note EVERY guest is made aware before booking that the apartment is a warehouse, it is written all over the web site and in all our check in notes. It is in a great location and is well looked after. We do only provide one towel, this is also made clear in our check in notes. so too is the fact that we only provide one loo roll (it is self catering).
There is an acurate photo of the bathroom and yes it is small, it is clean however. We are sorry for the problem with the flushing toilet this is now being fixed with the shower mat changed. And we will look into getting the mattress changed, you are the first ones to have ever complained about it.
Just to confirm the nearby hotel is at least 140 euros in peak season, this is 95 euros per night.
Thanks
Claire
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quirky, unusual, NY style warehouse conversion, 10min walk beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p490659
Villa Olimpica Sant Marti
4

Marina Loft

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 16-Aug-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2011
the flat was great, luminous, well-furnished, quiet. The area is closed from the beaches and the Born. Wifi access worked perfectly.
Booking and transaction very easy and kind.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1

Location

Nearest Airport
16 Kilometres
El Prat
Nearest Ferry
1 Kilometres
Port Vell
Nearest Train
0.5 Kilometres
Estacio Del Nord
Nearest Beach
0.5 Kilometres
Villa Olympica

Situated ONE MINUTE WALK TO Marina Metro or Bogatell metro, this huge warehouse is slowly being transformed into apartments. As far as location goes you are in a great spot. Marina metro is on the red line and is 3 stops to the centre of town at Placa Catalunya. In 5 minutes walkd to Estacio Del Nord ,(great if you are flying in and out of Girona.) Walk down C./ Marina and in 10 minutes you will find the best stretch of beach in Barcelona with great chill out terraces right on the beach. This beach 'Villa Olympica' has Aigua, CDCL, Shoko and Opium to choose from. C./ Marina is also full of late night supermarkets, banks and restaurants. in 10 minutes you can walk in the other direction to the El borne are with trendy bars, designer boutiques, museums, art galleries, and walk straight up C./ Marina and you will find Sagrada Familia. About a 15 minute walk to Las Ramblas, but it feels a million miles away from the tourist traps and Pick pockets that line Las Ramblas.

Photos

Availability & Rates

Rental rates for this holiday apartment in Villa Olimpica, Sant Marti

Rental Basis:
property
Rental rates quoted in:
Euro
Convert Currency
Rental Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Rate Minimum Stay
 
3-4 person
1 Jan 2015 - 2 Jan 2015
€90
€90
€630
2 nights
 

Notes

  • The price of 70 Euro per night is for 1-2 persons sharing.
    For 3-4 persons sharing the price is 90 Euro per night.

    10% discount is given to 10 nights+

    Plus a cleaning fee of 50 Euro for 1-2 persons and 60 euros fee for 3-4 persons, which includes fresh towels and linen, a professional clean ready for your arrival and being met at the apartment with the keys. This fee is compulsory and is split between the cleaner and the check in staff if you check in before 9pm, check in after 9pm there is an additional fee of 30 euros and after midnight there is an additional fee of 50 euros.
  • How to book:

    20% is due at time of booking by pay pal, you do not need a pay pal account to transfer money. Pay pal transfers will incur a 4% charge and is payable by the guest.

    The remaining 80% is due on arrival in cash in Euro.

    A full refund of the 20% deposit given if cancellations are made within 30 days of arrival, after 30 days no refund.
    If guests drop out, the price will not be adjusted.

    Please note: If guest are departing your day of arrival check in time is at 4pm, however it is always possible to drop off luggage at 11am and return by 4pm (sometimes earlier) when the apartment will have been cleaned and prepared for you.

    Check out time is strictly 11am. We can not store luggage but please see lockerbarcelona.
  • A photocopy of the passport from the person who reserved and booked the apartment will be required on check in. The confirmation of the reservation will also be required.

    Please note if this apartment is reserved for you dates, we do have many others so please do ask on email.or see www.bcnbound.com

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Villa Olimpica in Sant Marti

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 70 m²
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • beach
Theme:
  • Sports & Activities
  • Budget
General:
  • Wireless Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Towels Provided
  • Activities Guide
  • Parking On Street
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Internet
  • Basic Soaps
  • Washing Machine
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided
Kitchen:
  • Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Coffee Maker
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Hob
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Small separate shower room with shower, toilet, sink, hair dryer and towels provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Sofa bed in lounge can sleep 2 more guests
  • There is one separate bedroom with fans for summer, plug in radiators for winter. Black out blinds for a good nights sleep and huge fitted wardrobes. 2 more guests can sleep on the sofa bed in the lounge.
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • DVD Player
  • CD Player
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • children welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • theme parks
  • ruins
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • botanical garden
  • zoo
  • playground
  • churches
  • water parks
  • live theatre
  • winery tours
  • cinemas
  • recreation centre
  • marina
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • sight seeing
  • outlet shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • ATM/bank
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • surfing
  • snorkelling
  • wind-surfing
  • roller blading
  • diving
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • tennis
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • cycling
  • swimming
  • ice skating
Notes:
Don't judge a book by it's cover! The outside to this huge warehouse may not be appealing but once through the door and into the huge lifts (great for luggage!) and up to the atico, the quirky, unusual space is. Very quiet at night due to only a few residence in the block, so a good night sleep is guaranteed. Away from the the tourist traps yet walkable to all the sights. Local restaurants are many, varied and reasonable. The park is 5 minutes away where you can spend the evening hanging out with the locals and the parakeets.. However if you want to embrace the real Barcelona and Catalan culture for a week then you can do no better. The apartment is clean and provides all the facilities needed.