HomeAway.co.uk, the home of Holiday-Rentals®, is part of the HomeAway family. As the world leader in holiday rentals, we offer the largest selection of properties for any travel occasion and every budget. We’re committed to helping families and friends find the perfect holiday rental to create unforgettable travel experiences together.
Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday condo in Wailua - Kini Place
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom With Mountain & Ocean Views
Kini Place (F-12) is a quaint one-bedroom upstairs corner unit, comfortably sleeping up to 4 small- to medium-sized adults, in a two- story building on Plantation Hale Suites site in Kapa’a, HI. The property is only six miles east of the Lihu’e Airport, located just off the main road and shielded by thick tropical foliage. WiFi, cable, concierge and security services are provided, as is one parking stall per unit. We offer upscale bedding and towels, and routine cleaning service provided for stays in excess of seven days. Additional housekeeping services may be arranged prior to your stay.
I was born and raised in Kapa'a but have spent most of my adult life on the Big Island. We currently live on the mainland, visit Kaua'i twice a year, and plan to move back permanently in 5-10 years.
Jean, Bruce, Justine purchased this condo in 2013
Why Jean, Bruce, Justine chose Wailua
I bought Kini Place to maintain my roots in Kaua'i, and to be able to reside close to my family when on-island.
What makes this condo unique
This second story corner unit offers pleasant cross breezes and a partial ocean view. The Sleeping Giant Mountain can be readily seen from the lanai which runs the length of the living room and bedroom.
The swimming pool (with hot tub) and barbeque areas are located immediately behind the building and can be seen from this unit’s lanai. Shuffleboard is also available one courtyard over.
The building’s pay laundry room is located just downstairs of this unit. It contains two washers and two dryers.
Thank you for the awesome experience! My wife (who is a local girl) recently went back to Kauai to visit the family for a few weeks. We booked this cute condo for her to be able to stretch her legs after long days of chasing the grandkids. We couldnt be more pleased with the accommodations and atmosphere here. The owners were very friendly and just great to work with. Unfortunately my wife had to cut her trip short, but the owners were professional and understanding. We were able to work out the arrangements with no hassle at all. It is truly a blessing to us. We highly recommend staying with them, and know you'll have a great experience at the condo. Thanks again to the owners and property managers for taking good care of us! We'll definately be staying here next time :)
Review Submitted: 31-May-2014
Date of Stay: May 2014
VRBO, from HomeAway
Families with Young Children,
Owner's Response: MAHALO to these great guests! As owners, it was likewise a smooth enjoyable experience and we welcome the opportunity to host them again in the future.
DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! After you return home the owners will scam you out of your damage deposit money with false damage claims that you unfortunately have no way of proving are not true. If you are willing to forfeit your deposit and count it as part of the rental cost then here is what you will find: a tired and worn out unit, full size beds that cannot possibly sleep 2 adults each (as add claims), these beds have extremely old and uncomfortable mattresses that it appears the owners tried to "fix" by putting foam pads on top, making them even more uncomfortable. Also the sleeper sofa is not really something to sleep on, the floor is more comfortable! So overall this unit really only sleeps 2 adults not 6 as add states. This unit is right on the highway and the traffic noise never ceases. It is walking distance to a beach but it is not a swimming beach. I would highly recommend staying on a different part of the island, either Hanalei (north) or PoiPu (south). Laundry facilities are also not adequate for number of units using them (only 2 washers and dryers for entire building) and our experience was that they are not kept operational (one was broken the entire 2 weeks of our stay). This was our first visit here and based on our experience also our last. We will also never use VRBO again, since the owners have complete freedom to keep your money and there is no accountability; nobody is there when you check-in or out leaving it your word against theirs and the scary part is they have your credit card info.
Review Submitted: 14-Apr-2014
Date of Stay: Mar 2014
VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Surprisingly, prior to the notification that her deposit would not be refunded, this guest said, “Yes we enjoyed our stay”.
It was interesting that, while the available standard sized beds are clearly stated in the VRBO listing, they did not realize how their family would fit within the unit.
Unfortunately, as a result of their stay, we found it necessary to reset the toilet to the wall, and replace a comforter and a blanket due to major stains and burn holes. The cost of repair labor and replacement materials exceeded the damage deposit. We have subsequently raised the deposit amount for future guests.
We have an excellent reputation and pride ourselves in providing affordable, decent, comfortable accommodations for our guests (and ourselves, as this is our home when we are on the island).
Enjoyed our time in Kauai and the unit was exactly as described. The one problem is that we never were able to connect to wifi. Carefully re-tried everything, talked to tech on the phone but nothing worked. Owner wanted tech to stop in, but we were never back at the unit until after dinner. Be aware you might have the same experience.
Review Submitted: 08-Mar-2014
Date of Stay: Feb 2014
VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry that the WiFi service was not working during their 3 night stay and they were not able to connect with the tech person. WiFi connection did not present any problems while we were there for two weeks in December and while the previous guests were there for about two months. Plantation Hale front desk is aware of the problem should future guests experience similar issues.
Rental rates for this holiday condo in Wailua, Kauai
Rental rates quoted in:
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Additional information about rental rates
Refundable Damage Deposit
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed with remittance of damage deposit.
* Approximate monthly rate. Actual rate will depend on the days of the month you stay.
Please Note: The owner of this property accepts payment in the original currency specified (USD), before use of conversion tool. The conversion tool is provided for your convenience only. The owner may accept other currencies if specifically agreed in advance.
Policy available by contacting manager when booking.