HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

PICTURESQUE AND PRIVATE BEACHSIDE BUNGALOW

Drew Renshaw

Advertiser since: 2013
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 5 - 6 nights

Drew Renshaw

Advertiser since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
18 December, 2014
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

PICTURESQUE AND PRIVATE BEACHSIDE BUNGALOW

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 5 - 6 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday bungalow in Grand Turk - The Beachside Bungalow

Home right on the beach, completely remodeled with all new furnishings

No high rises or big developments, just you and your loved one on the beach.

Our home is right on the prettiest beach on the whole island (Pillory Beach). The beaches of the Turks & Caicos Islands are consistently ranked best in the WORLD year after year.

In addition to that, Grand Turk is also ranked in the top 10 SCUBA dive sites in the world year after year.

The house was extensively remodeled and a huge rear porch and built-in barbeque grill was added in April of 2013. All new bathrooms, kitchens, appliances, furniture, beds, curtains, sheets, towels - everything is brand new and wonderful.

Our house also has the good fortune of being located less than 100 yards from the grocery store with the largest selection on the island and 300 yards in the opposite direction, the nicest restaurant on the whole island at Bohio resort. Bohio is also where you can rent a Hobie Cat, paddleboards, kayaks, and extra bicycles. They also have snorkel trips, scuba trips, and whale watching excursions. All of it just a short walk down the beach just north of our bungalow. At night we will get dressed, walk down the beach to Bohio, take sunset pictures, have a fantastic chef prepared meal, and then walk back to our quiet little bungalow under the stars.

Two bikes per Bungalow side are now available for free to cruise the island.

Grand Turk is a special quiet little island which has yet to be discovered by the developers and tourists. We can sit on the beach for hours and sometimes days (non cruise ship days) without seeing a single person. Very Special!

However, on cruise ship days there will be a tiny bit more activity on the island and near our beach. The cruisers are usually on the island for about 4 to 5 hours during the day, so their impact is pretty limited. A late boat will pack up before 5, so our sunsets are always secluded and private!

Year round temperatures of 75 to 85 make for an Ideal winter or summer getaway. We snorkel in December!

Getting here is fairly easy, but does require an extra flight to get over to Grand Turk. We usually fly US Air to Providenciales, Turks & Caicos, (airport code PLS) and then either Air Turks & Caicos or Turks & Caicos Express Airlines to Grand Turk. (about $80 round trip for the puddle jumper). Look these up online to purchase separately from your main flight from the US.

Google beachsidebungalow turks for more info.

We also have a FACEBOOK page, 'like' us at www.facebook.com/beachsidebungalow or just check it out to see our latest post.

Sometimes VRBO is very slow in getting my response back to you. If it takes more than an hour, please email me directly @ turksbeachsidebungalow@gmail.com

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Drew Renshaw (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2013
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
18 December, 2014

About Drew Renshaw

My wife and I fell in love with quiet Grand Turk 5 years ago and just had to find a way to have a place here.

Drew Renshaw purchased this bungalow in 2013

Why Drew Renshaw chose Grand Turk

Our duplex house is situated on the west side of the island right on the beach for beautiful sunsets each night.

Rates listed are for the smaller unit, If your party is larger and needs more space you can add my larger unit for $260 to $300 per night depending on season. ($20 more per night than my smaller unit) Both units have 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, den, and kitchen. Both units have a large back porch on the rear facing the beach, a perfect spot to watch the sunset each night.

What makes this bungalow unique

Grand Turk is the most wonderful quiet little island. It's the Caribbean of 40 years ago; authentic, unspoiled, naturally beautiful with no high rises or throngs of tourists everywhere. We literally can sit on the beach all week sometimes and only see 10 or 12 people.

Our Seaside house is the perfect place to get away from it all and reconnect with your spouse. Our days are usually spent waking up late, strolling the beach hand in hand, laying out soaking up the sun, cooking a dinner on the grille, and lots of conversation which gets lost in the bustle of life.

After spending a few days alone together we may be ready for a little action, which is when we may go down to the Cruise Center and people watch. The cruise ship center is a self contained tourist mecca where cruise ships check in for the day and their guests have a big time in the huge pool with swim-up bar, a Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville, a surfing machine for learning to surf, and tons of shopping.There is a DJ every day having games and contests with the pool crowd - always a fun time is had here. We can go right in and join the fun free of charge and then when we tire of it, come back home to our quiet little house.

Why HomeAway

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 5 - 6 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

4.9
based on 31 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
Picturesque And Private Beachside Bungalow
average rating of 4.935484 based on 31 reviews
business
Picturesque And Private Beachside Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p484410vb
+901 -235-3349
Grand Turk Turks & Caicos
5

An incomparable experience, if Grand Turk is your speed

  • 5 out of 5
I had the time of my life staying in the Beachside Bungalow on Grand Turk this year with my sister and her fiancee. Drew (the owner) has created an oasis on the island, with casual island elegance and a heart-stopping beach and vista.
The three of us had reserved the Sea Gull unit, the larger side of the house, which was comfortable and well-maintained. The beds and linens are comfortable, the couches and chairs likewise, without feeling too precious to enjoy. The kitchen was perfectly functional and large enough for the three of us to be present and productive. The back doors WILL be open, because the turquoise waters and soft sand are only steps away.
The back porch and yard are a fun space - we shared ours with some wonderful duplex neighbors - and the hammock is, as advertised, unbeatable. We had some trouble with the grill, but nothing that wouldn't be solved by some engineering ingenuity we were too lazy to summon (the coals need to be closer to the grate). Also, the stones on the path to the beach are sharp! Wear your sandals or walk on the grass.

To the beach. Oh, you will walk to the beach! When we arrived the beach was spotted with beautiful purple flowers, and deserted - deserted! The sea is like a warm bath, and every color of blue you could imagine. I can't really say much more about the beach, it hurts to be away, but note that this is a real beach with real coral and sea life, including sea urchins, so be aware of your surroundings and your feet, knees, and elbows in shallow water. My future brother-in-law and I snorkeled out to the shelf a few hundred yards offshore and saw barracuda, rays, and a nurse shark, but the trek back can be exhausting, and in the shallows, big arm movements can be treacherous!

Grand Turk is a beautiful island to be sure, but there are really two Grand Turks; with a ship in port and without a ship in port. When the cruise ship is in, the island is bustling. All restaurants are open, steel drums are tinging, and tourists are roaming every unexplored inch of the island. It's worth checking the ship schedule ahead of your trip and making your plans accordingly.
Drew was very responsive in all of my online interactions and highly professional through the entire process. He truly wants you to enjoy your time at the property and is the best kind of contact you could ask for - because he was on site when I checked out, he drove me to the airport!
  • Review Submitted: 15-Dec-2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Picturesque And Private Beachside Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p484410vb
+901 -235-3349
Grand Turk Turks & Caicos
3

Be Careful

  • 3 out of 5
I just returned from spending 10 days at Beachside Bungalow. We went as a family of 4 (two daughters in their mid 20's). The bungalow is tastefully furnished and on a lovely beach. We were in the large side of the bungalow for most of the time but had to move to the smaller side toward the end of our stay as the larger side had been double booked. We found the smaller side too small for all of us. There is a noticeable difference between the two units.
Unfortunately, after the first few days, we were robbed. My husband and I were out for an early morning bike ride and our daughters stayed back at the bungalow. One was asleep and the other was drifting in and out of sleep in the hammock on the patio. The robber hopped over the short wall of the patio, went into the larger bedroom and took two backpacks and the contents. When we discovered what had happened, we decided we would not report it to the police because we didn't want to have to deal with the inconvenience. However, the police showed up at our door as a neighbour had also been robbed and reported the incident. Over the next 3 days, there were at least 3 visits from the police and property manager as they tried to secure the surveillance camera information to track down the robber. My husband had to go to the police station plus make two visits to court. So, a good chunk of time was spent following up on the incident, even though we did not want to get involved. After the incident, we made sure that we securely locked up the bungalow at all times, even if we were out on the patio.
Another thing we were not happy about is that recently a cruise centre amusement park has been set up directly next to the bungalow. Each day that a cruise ship was due to arrive, they opened up the park and started playing music. Employees would arrived early in the morning to get things ready and they would turn up their stereo system volume to high, playing music that was not consistent with music that we like. Quite often it was Christmas music blaring away, much as you would hear in a mall (this was late November). The music would stay on until after all the cruise ship tourists left and the employees had finished cleaning up (usually around 5pm). Also, the people visiting the park would spill over onto the beachfront property directly in front of the bungalow, making it less private than we were expecting it to be.
  • Review Submitted: 09-Dec-2014
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Joyce,
We are so sorry you had an unpleasant experience on our island, we try really hard to make each stay spectacular as evidenced by the previous 29 reviews.
Regarding your first comment, we weren't double booked on the larger side, it just wasn't available for your whole visit. Another guest had already booked their 10 days, 2 of which were when you were requesting. We let you know ahead of time you could either move your trip dates around, not book at all, or have your last 2 days in the smaller side. You chose the last option. Thanks for working with us, and yes, after staying in the larger side for a week the smaller side would feel a little tight comparatively.
Your next issue is clearly the important one. We are terribly heartbroken you had your things taken from the back porch. The 12 year old boy who did it should know better and I'm so happy our excellent police force was able to catch and arrest him within 2 hours of the crime and get your belongings back to you. I am also very thankful for your willingness to report it and work with the police after we talked the first time on the the phone. We needed to send a strong message out to everyone on our tiny little island that this behavior will not be tolerated, that there is nowhere to hide on such a small island, and that crimes will be prosecuted. I'm also thrilled the security cameras that I personally installed were an integral part in his final confession. With such a swift and effective response, maybe this will end up being the first and last home burglary on our little island.
Your last issue is a beach bar and snorkel excursion venue, open limited hours (6 to 8 per day) a few lots down from our house. Cruise ship patrons sign up to experience our island and come here when cruise ships are on the island (usually 3 to 6 days per week). Usually somewhere between 20 and 50 people show up to have drinks, lay out on their beach, and snorkel in the water, hardly an "amusement park". Sometimes we can hear the music playing for a few hours during the day, sometimes not at all. Most of our guests haven't minded and actually go down the beach, hang out, and get drinks at the bar. Sorry it wasn't your cup of tea.
From all of the phone conversations and checking up on you, it still sounds like you had a wonderful time, please come back again for a less drama filled vacation.
business
Picturesque And Private Beachside Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p484410vb
+901 -235-3349
Grand Turk Turks & Caicos
Memphis, TN
5

Extreme Relaxation

  • 5 out of 5
My wife and I spent a week here for our 10th wedding anniversary. We have 3 kids and busy lives and were looking for a place we could rest, relax, and enjoy quality time with each other. This was the PERFECT getaway for us.
We stayed in the smaller side (Sandpiper). The Bungalow is very clean and beautifully decorated. It has a Pottery Barn beach house feel to it. It was very comfortable and had everything we needed. We brought some food with us and ate breakfast and lunch most days at the bungalow and went out for dinner (though we did cook dinner one night). The kitchen has everything you need to make some meals for yourself. The views are simply breathtaking. I spent many hours reading in the hammock. We also could walk right out into the water in front of the house to snorkel and see all kinds of fish and coral. You can get almost anywhere on the island riding the bikes that come with the bungalow. We did rent a golf cart our last day there to explore the cruise center and the light house. We also drove ourselves to the airport in the golf cart on our way home!
The locals are super friendly and we felt very safe the entire time we were there. Some of our favorite things during the week were: ice cream from Irv's cafe, snorkeling the reefs and Gibs Cay with Captain Tim of Crystal Seas Adventures, fish and chips from the Sandbar restaurant, the unbelievable bright shades of blue of the water, and sitting in beach chairs watching the sunset each night.
In general, the island feels very slow and laid back. When the cruise ships are docked (4-5 days a week from roughly 8am - 3pm), there are definitely more people around exploring and enjoying the island. But even then it never feels crowded or rushed.
The owners are super friendly and the local property manager was always available to help with any questions we had.
If you are looking for a laid back, relaxing getaway on one of the most beautiful islands in the world, this is the place for you.
  • Review Submitted: 08-Oct-2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Picturesque And Private Beachside Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p484410vb
+901 -235-3349
Grand Turk Turks & Caicos
5

Beachside Bungalow is an AWESOME place to stay

  • 5 out of 5
We stayed one week at the Beachside Bungalow on Grand Turk. The place was perfect for my wife and I on our getaway. BB is located on the north end of town on a beautiful white sand beach with warm turquoise water. You can put your beach chairs next to the water enjoy reading a book, float on a raft or snorkel right in your backyard. If you want to relax in the shade there is a perfect hammock on the patio to enjoy a fresh pina colada from the blender. We stayed in the small side which has a full kitchen, WiFi, cable tv and AC in the bedrooms. The place comes with 2 nice bikes that we used to ride to both the far south end of the island to the cruise center and north to the lighthouse. We would ride bikes into town to get groceries, the local fish market to get fresh fish, conch and lobster, to at night to dinner using a headlamp. I loved Grand Turk because it is a very mellow island compared to Provo and it also has some of the best diving in the world. I did 5 dives with Blue Water during my stay and it was world class. I would also recommend to take the trip to Gibbs Cay. Drew has thought of everything when he remodeled this place and I guarantee that you will love it. Thanks Randy LaDue - San Diego Sports Magazine
  • Review Submitted: 04-Oct-2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Picturesque And Private Beachside Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p484410vb
+901 -235-3349
Grand Turk Turks & Caicos
5

Vacation for the ages!

  • 5 out of 5
This vacation is one for the ages. As mentioned on previous reviews, the pictures does not do justice to this beautiful place and they are absolutely right. The place is magical, the view, the beach, the water, everything is perfect. There are also several things that you can enjoy - snorkeling, biking, (lots of) eating, and of course relaxing. Truly a memorable vacation in a memorable place. Highly recommended!
  • Review Submitted: 30-Sep-2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Picturesque And Private Beachside Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p484410vb
+901 -235-3349
Grand Turk Turks & Caicos
Washington, DC
5

Quiet and Relaxing Getaway

  • 5 out of 5
The house was lovely and perfect for a relaxing week away where we could disconnect from everything. The island is very small and quiet when there were no cruise ships in. The beaches were beautiful and fun to explore, perfect for snorkeling and lounging in the sun.
  • Review Submitted: 26-Aug-2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway

Location

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Grand Turk
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Sandbar
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Bohio
Nearest Beach
Pillory Beach
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $258 Nightly

Rental rates for this holiday bungalow in Grand Turk, Turks & Caicos

Rental Basis:
property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Rate Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Rate
 
Christmas/New Years
13 Dec 2014 - 31 Dec 2014
5 night minimum stay
$1,791
for 5 nights
From
$347
$2,485
 
 
High Season 2015
4 Jan 2015 - 29 Aug 2015
5 night minimum stay
$1,623
for 5 nights
From
$314
$2,250
 
 
September Special
30 Aug 2015 - 3 Oct 2015
5 night minimum stay
$1,343
for 5 nights
From
$258
$1,858
 
 
Fall Season 2015
4 Oct 2015 - 12 Dec 2015
5 night minimum stay
$1,511
for 5 nights
From
$291
$2,093
 
 
Christmas/New Years 2015-2016
13 Dec 2015 - 9 Jan 2016
6 night minimum stay
$2,407
for 6 nights
From
$392
$2,799
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Protection Ins $49 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%
Notes Rates listed are for the smaller north unit, If your party is larger and needs more space you can add my larger south unit for $240 to $280 depending on season ($20 more per night). Both units have the same amenities, bedroom, and bath count, the only difference is the actual room sizes. Call or email for more details.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday bungalow in Grand Turk, Turks & Caicos

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Both baths have showers and new toilets and pedestal sinks
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • Master bedroom is huge with plenty of windows looking out to the ocean. Private bath. Front bedroom has twin beds that can be pushed together to make a king. Hall bath.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Barbecue
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • Shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • hiking
  • Parasailing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • swimming
Notes:
Additional unit is available, email for details.
europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote