HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

FABULOUS FOUR BEDROOMS COTTAGE NEAR FERRY AND VILLAGE

Daniel or Michael

Advertiser since: 2013
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English, French, Mandarin
People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Daniel or Michael

Advertiser since: 2013
Speaks English, French, Mandarin
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
17 December, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

FABULOUS FOUR BEDROOMS COTTAGE NEAR FERRY AND VILLAGE

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Bowen Island - Peking Lounge Guest House

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 8)

2 floors cedar house renovated in 2008

4 bedrooms

2 full bathrooms one on each level

2 rooms with King beds, 2 rooms with Queen beds

Wood burning fire place

Flat screen TV

CD/DVD player

Over 200 DVD collection for your entertainment

Two 600 sq.ft south facing decks with eating area, loungers and Hammock

Fully fenced and landscaped property

English flower garden

Meditation area

Breakfast gazebo with sitting area

Wireless access FREE of charge

2 fully equipped kitchen

2 dishwashers

1 microwaves oven

2 ovens

2 refrigerators

2 coffee machines

Webber BBQ on upper deck

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Daniel or Michael (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2013
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English, French, Mandarin
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
17 December, 2014

About Daniel or Michael

We are the owners of an exclusive store named Peking Lounge located in Vancouver's Chinatown and have been in business since 2003. We use our house on Bowen Island on a regular basis but welcome rental opportunities as well.

Daniel or Michael purchased this house in 2008

Why Daniel or Michael chose Bowen Island

We bought this house on Bowen Island in 2008 due to its proximity to Vancouver and to all the services available on the island alone with hourly ferries. Although only 45 minutes door to door from downtown Vancouver to the house, the island's unique setting and quietness allows one to relax and unwind without having to drive for hours or having to pack food and other necessities as everything is available right on the island. Because the house is located so close to the ferry terminal and the village, it is possible to leave your car behind and walk everywhere. We are also less then 1 km from Kilarney Lake and its amazing 5 km hiking loop.

What makes this house unique

The Peking Lounge Guest House has a unique Asian inspired decor that provides guests with a sense of peacefulness and comfort. Access to Vancouver is so easy that it is the perfect place to call your base as you enjoy all the beauty and activities of the Vancouver area without having to stay in the city and often pay much higher prices. The Guest House is fully equipped for those who prefer to lounge around, relax and share fantastic home cooked meals without having to go anywhere.

Why HomeAway

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

4.7
based on 20 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
Fabulous Four Bedrooms Cottage Near Ferry And Village
average rating of 4.7 based on 20 reviews
business
Fabulous Four Bedrooms Cottage Near Ferry And Village
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p472642vb
- 604-844-1559
Bowen Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
Victoria, BC, Canada
5

A Classy, Clean, Relaxing and Spacious getaway!

  • 5 out of 5
A group of 5 of us (2 couples, 1 single) + two dogs stayed for the Thanksgiving weekend at this fabulous home. The house had 4 beautiful bedrooms. There were 2 bedrooms upstairs with the gorgeous main living space and large kitchen, and then 2 downstairs with another smaller kitchen and small living room/dining room. We were all delighted by the gorgeous art and tasteful decorating. The kitchen had everything we needed for our 3 night stay.

Communication with the owner was friendly and fast. I heard the concern of another renter post about their rules were "too strict." We disagree. Our experience was that they have rules and boundaries to keep their property well loved and cared for. They allowed us to bring dogs and an extra person, for which we paid the extra fee, but it all seemed friendly and reasonable. The property was lovely, as was communications with the owner.

We would highly recommend staying here!
  • Review Submitted: 16-Oct-2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Fabulous Four Bedrooms Cottage Near Ferry And Village
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p472642vb
- 604-844-1559
Bowen Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
Ladysmith BC Canada
5

Bowen Island's best kept secret!

Bowen Island's best kept secret!
  • 5 out of 5
My sisters and I loved our three night stay at the Peking Guest House. We were happy to see there was nothing lacking..... in the fully stocked kitchen.... big comfy beds..... roomy family room with fireplace..... bathrooms with big cushy towels..... dining room table big enough for all and a wonderful quiet garden just to name a few. Close by we found walking trails, nice neighbours and a little shopping village that was fun to explore. Yes, we would book again! And I would recommend it to all my friends.
  • Review Submitted: 08-Oct-2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Fabulous Four Bedrooms Cottage Near Ferry And Village
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p472642vb
- 604-844-1559
Bowen Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
Vancouver
5

Family vacation on Bowen Island

  • 5 out of 5
I am writing this review after spending another great holiday (our 4th) with our family at Peking Guest House on Bowen Island.
Living in Vancouver the Island location is perfect for us - a short drive and ferry ride and we are on one of the best Gulf Islands. The location on the island is very convenient - within walking distance to the Village in Snug Cove for shopping, restaurants and to Pebbly beach for swimming and relaxing.
The house is very well equipped for a large family with 4 comfortable bedrooms and lots of private space in the house and in the garden. We enjoy the south facing deck for eating and sun bathing. I love the décor throughout the house but especially the living room which proved to be great for the family to gather at any time of the day. We enjoyed the 2 kayaks using them at Pebbly beach and taking them to some of the other beaches on the island.
The front garden is lovely with private space on both sides of the driveway and the rear yard is a natural wooded area with a pathway and garden features. The grandkids seem to congregate on the lower deck and really enjoy the hammock.
Michael and Daniel are, as always, very accommodating hosts making our stay a wonderful experience for the entire family
I'm already looking forward to next year!!
  • Review Submitted: 02-Oct-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fabulous Four Bedrooms Cottage Near Ferry And Village
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p472642vb
- 604-844-1559
Bowen Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
Bowen Island, BC, Canada
2

Owners are not fond of children. Avoid this place if you have pet allergies.

  • 2 out of 5
We are full-time Bowen Island residents and I booked this house to accommodate overseas visitors with small children. We already had family staying at our own home during that time, so my young family also made use of the extra beds for some of the stay. This increased the overall cost as additional person charges apply if the total number of guests exceeds four, even for babies not sleeping in beds provided.

During the booking process, one of the owners Michael made some comments about children that led me to believe that he tolerated them for the purpose of making money, but was otherwise not too fond of them. Initially I did not take offense, however his comments became more aggressive. Unfortunately for me, I had already paid a deposit and did not have time or resources to search for alternative accommodation.

The Overview page of the listing, under the heading “Suitability” states there is a small charge for children if total number of guests is more than four. However, Michael insisted on charging us the full adult rate and when I politely queried the discrepancy, he wrote back with the following comment:
“If you can't afford the property and/or abide by the rules stated then you shouldn't have booked our property. Sorry to be so blunt.”
I found this to be rather rude when taken with other comments of similar tone. There was never any implication from my end that we could not afford the property, only that we wanted to keep the cost down as we already had a home on Bowen Island where we would spend most of our time.

In the end, my husband could not sleep in the house as he has severe pet allergies and dogs had clearly been staying at the house. The owners were not remotely sympathetic about this and they were not willing to reimburse any of the extra person charges, which I felt was a bit mean considering that half of our party left little trace of being there as we spent most of our time at our own house on the island. There is a standard cleaning fee for all bookings but we made light work for them, certainly not typical for a party of 8 people. And our children caused no damage or excessive mess.

The house was reasonably comfortable and the location is very convenient for the cove; however, the lower floor was darker than it looked in the photos and one of the downstairs bedrooms smelt a bit musty. I would not recommend this house because of the poor customer service we received.
  • Review Submitted: 09-Sep-2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thank Molly for taking the time to write a review. It is unfortunate that we could not see eye to eye with Molly on our rates and regulations. We stand by our policy of being 100% child and pet friendly and feel our outstanding guest reviews speak for themselves.
In short, Molly was fully aware of our current rates at the time of booking. When she pointed out the over-sight on the main page, listing last years child rates, we honoured that rate for her children.
After her stay, Molly believed that because she did not use certain amenities including the second kitchen (although there were dishes in the sink and food left in the fridge) she should be entitled to a refund. There were multiple emails of this nature expecting further discounts and refunds.
Unfortunately, in addition, the house was not left in good standing with beds not stripped, outdoor sofa cushions not taken in, large indoor furniture moved and not replaced (one wooden chair left outside) and even breakage and missing items; very unlike our typical guest check-out experience.
Regarding pets, it should be noted that Molly's husband did actually spend one night at the Guest House, ("My husband stayed at the house for the first night…") and although Molly also admitted to suffering the same condition ("both my husband and I have severe pet allergies") she managed to spend all three nights without incident.
*We clearly state that we are 'Pet Friendly' however we do have restrictions on which pets we allow to stay. Upon approval we ask that they bring their own pet bed and encourage our guests to use 'baby wipes' and towels provided to ensure repeated clean entry to the house after being outdoors. Our cleaners are trustworthy local Bowen residents who are professional and thorough and are alerted when a dog has been staying at the property.
Incendiary comments about not being fond of children are simply hurtful and untrue. We warmly welcome young families; often our own or visiting friends. We provide a high chair, play pen, baby gate, children's books, crayons, outdoor chalk, child life jackets, colourful beach towels and many games for the enjoyment of children…and for parents who come to Bowen to relax.
In the end I believe Molly was perhaps under stress hosting multiple visitors and hope that she will have a better experience next time she stays in another holiday rental better suited to her needs.
business
Fabulous Four Bedrooms Cottage Near Ferry And Village
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p472642vb
- 604-844-1559
Bowen Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
Victoria BC
5

SuzieQ

  • 5 out of 5
We stayed at the Peking Lounge on Bowen Island for a family reunion. The house was great for our family of adults, as there was plenty of room to spread out; the two kitchens were a great bonus! The house was very well equipped- we didn't want for anything and we loved the artful decor. A short walk to the Cove was handy for eating out or picking up groceries from the General Store. One word of advice would be to buy your groceries in Vancouver before heading to Bowen $$$.
  • Review Submitted: 08-Sep-2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Fabulous Four Bedrooms Cottage Near Ferry And Village
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p472642vb
- 604-844-1559
Bowen Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
North Vancouver, BC
5

Nicely appointed, cosy and functional

  • 5 out of 5
We stayed here as two families with children. We used the 'main' kitchen and living area upstairs to congregate and hang out, but each family had their own floor to stay in.

The wood burning fireplace on the main floor was well used for our night caps and movies.

We loved the upstairs deck - the barbecue and the outside seating was great when the sun shone the first day.

We really like the layout and felt comfortable staying here. The walking trails are close by and easily accessible.
  • Review Submitted: 19-Apr-2014
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Location

Nearest Airport
40 Kilometres
Vancouver International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Bowen Island Neighbourhood Pub
Nearest Ferry
800 Metres
Bowen Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
8 Kilometres
Bowen Island Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
4 Kilometres
Sea to Sky Highway
Nearest Restaurant
800 Metres
Nearest Ski
8 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
Pebbly Beach
Car: not necessary

Services on the island:

Gourmet grocery stores

Butcher shop

Italian deli

Liquor stores

Numerous pubs and restaurants within 2 km

Recreational Activities:

2 one man kayaks available right at the guest house

Many board games

Tennis racquets

2 minute walk to nature trails

8 km walking/running loops from the guest house, around the lake

5 minute walk to Pebbly Beach

Golf course within 10 km

Emergencies

Fire Hall within 5 km

Doctor’s clinic within 3 km

Vet clinic within 2 km

24 hours medical emergency

Photos

Rates & Availability

From C$195 Nightly

Rental rates for this holiday house in Bowen Island, British Columbia Gulf Islands

Rental Basis:
property
Rental rates quoted in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Rate Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Rate
 
Christmas and New Year
20 Dec - 4 Jan
7 night minimum stay
C$2,225
for 7 nights
C$2,225
 
 
Summer 2015
14 May 2015 - 15 Oct 2015
2 night minimum stay
C$575
for 2 nights
From
C$225
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$515
for 2 nights
From
C$195
From
C$195
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee C$125
Pet Fee C$25
Notes There is a $25 additional charge per person per night above 4 people. We accept cash, cheque or email transfer only. We require a credit card for a $1500 pre-authorized damaged deposit.
50% deposit require upon booking. Balance due 14 days before booking date. A pre-authorized damaged deposit of $1500 will be charged to your credit card.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Bowen Island in British Columbia Gulf Islands

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Main bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Skylight in the bathroom
    Lower Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • The Blue Room - 1 Large Double Bed , Located on the main floor with a view of the garden
    The Yellow Room - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Located on the main floor with a view of the mountains
    The garden Room - 1 Large Double Bed , Lower Level with view of the garden
    The Green Room - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Lower level with view of the side garden
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • Shopping
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Other holiday rentals

Weekly From £1,167
  • 3 Bedrooms,
  • 1 Bathroom,
  • 3 Separate Toilets,
  • Sleeps 6
europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Confirm Price & Contact

Enter dates to calculate a quote