HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

LAKE VIEW CABIN- 'HEAVENLY' RETREAT PLUS NEW PLAY CABIN!

Lisa Martin-Eatinger

Advertiser since 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
Sleeps11
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Contact the Owner

Lisa Martin-Eatinger

Advertiser since 2012
Speaks English
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

LAKE VIEW CABIN- 'HEAVENLY' RETREAT PLUS NEW PLAY CABIN!

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday home in Iowa City

Sleeps 11! 2 bed, 2 bath, sleeping loft, family room with 3 futons couch/beds.

This incredible property has original beams and flooring from a 1800's church! Renew your spirit with state park hiking trails or a hammock. Walk down the 3 minute path to the Coralville Reservoir and enjoy the beach! Nestled between Lake MacBride State Park and the beautiful Coralville Reservoir, this retreat is a Godsend!

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Alternative Lifestyle
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Lisa Martin-Eatinger (Owner)
Advertiser since 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English

About Lisa Martin-Eatinger

I grew up in Iowa near here and enjoyed the family picnics at the state park. My extended family is still in the area! We now live in downtown Chicago, and this retreat is a great escape from our hectic lives.

Lisa Martin-Eatinger purchased this house in 2011

Why Lisa Martin-Eatinger chose Iowa City

My family has been enjoying Lake MacBride since it first opened. My grandmother told me about her experiences growing up and enjoying the lake so she made sure to bring her children. My mother has great stories of Lake MacBride and the Coralville Reservoir and she made sure to bring me and my brothers! Now a fourth generation, my own daughters, are growing up with peace and tranquility because of this fabulous property.

What makes this house unique

Look at the pictures! Words cannot express the beauty of this home and area.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 22 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
Lake View Cabin- 'Heavenly' Retreat plus new play cabin!
average rating of 4.590909 based on 22 reviews
business
Lake View Cabin- 'Heavenly' Retreat plus new play cabin!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p439096vb
- 312-622-6920
Iowa City Iowa
5

Amazing Family Weekend!

  • 5 out of 5
Highly recommend staying at this property. Our group consisted of 6 adults, 3 little boys, and a dog. We had plenty of room to spread out and can't wait to plan our trip next year. This is a great place for families to go stay. Our boys loved the playhouse and swing. The grassy area with the fire pit was a big hit with our group. Extremely convenient that the owners provide firewood! Iowa City is close enough to take in a football game and Solon is very close to pick up any last minute items. Great location!! The property itself was very clean. Felt like we were staying at a friend's house. The kitchen was fully stocked with all the dishes, appliances, and everything we needed to complete our weekend. The big tub was great for the little boys. So happy we selected this property to share an extended weekend with family. It was great!
  • Review Submitted: 15-Oct-2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
business
Lake View Cabin- 'Heavenly' Retreat plus new play cabin!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p439096vb
- 312-622-6920
Iowa City Iowa
4

Comfortable and quiet

  • 4 out of 5
Cabin is about 20-25 minutes from Iowa City, but an easy drive. Pretty setting, comfortable deck. 1/2 mile from state park with trails, lake, boat rentals. Owner was very easy to contact. Path to lake from cabin was flooded due to too much rain the few weeks before our visit, but with state park so near we canoed there. Nice refrigerator, washer, dryer, clean bathrooms, comfy beds, AC. Basement was very comfortable to watch tv or movie at night. Thanks for the hospitality!
  • Review Submitted: 02-Sep-2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Lake View Cabin- 'Heavenly' Retreat plus new play cabin!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p439096vb
- 312-622-6920
Iowa City Iowa
Oswego, IL./Midwest, USA
5

Beautiful cabin!!

  • 5 out of 5
Beautiful cabin with everything included!! We loved our stay there! When you're sitting outside on the deck, the view of the lake was very nice/peaceful! We saw deer and wild turkey too! The cabin is decorated so nicely!! One night it was even cool enough to have the fireplace lit. It was so cozy and romantic! If you want to bike, go on the trails just about 2 miles away from the cabin. We got to spend lots of time enjoying all of the natural resources surrounding us! It was just a beautiful place!
  • Review Submitted: 15-Aug-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lake View Cabin- 'Heavenly' Retreat plus new play cabin!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p439096vb
- 312-622-6920
Iowa City Iowa
Illinois
3

Critters Galore

  • 3 out of 5
We 3 sisters took a 4 night stay at this cabin. The deer, chipmunks, rabbits, raccoons and birds were wonderful to watch. The cottage could have been better if it hadn't been quite so full of furniture, especially the downstairs where there were lots of futons....but that wasn't really a problem. The problem we had was having to wash things off before we could eat off of the tables and the porch really needed sweeping. We didn't squabble about the "cleaning charge" but expected the cabin to be clean when we came and really didn't want to do the cleaning AND still pay the fee! We really couldn't unpack our suitcases as the drawers and closets were full. All in all, we had a fine vacation but were slightly disappointed by the cabin's cleanliness.
  • Review Submitted: 07-Jul-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: After a storm rolls through, we cannot guarantee the deck and porch will be clean. We get a lot of tree debris due to our location. I am replacing the old table cover hoping this helps. Also, if anyone wishes to use our dressers, the rental agreement states to let us know ahead of time. We aim to please of course!
business
Lake View Cabin- 'Heavenly' Retreat plus new play cabin!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p439096vb
- 312-622-6920
Iowa City Iowa
Sterling, Il
2

Sister Trip

  • 2 out of 5
Annual trip for 3 senior sisters. Cabin was much smaller than appeared in photos. Lots of owner's personal items in cabin made me feel somewhat like an I was intruding on their privacy - couldn't unpack as drawers & closets had owners clothing & children's toys. With a cleaning fee for rental in addition to rental fee, would have expected it to be cleaner. Have stayed at many places that have been nicer for a lot less.
  • Review Submitted: 04-Jul-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! 1,600 sq ft is considered large for a cabin and my website says it is a 2 bd/2 bath. We are working on adding a 3rd bathroom on the bottom level. My rental agreement states if you would like to use the dressers, we need to know ahead of time. As far as personal items, pictures of my beautiful daughters will always remain along with my charming knicknacks. Other personal items we have are there to share such as the first aid kit, calamine lotion, cooking spices, etc. It is my first negative review in the 1 1/2 years we've been renting and I keep trying to do my best, for that is all I can do. I hope my future guests are not discouraged. More than 100% of the rental income goes toward the cabin, as we are always in the process of improving the property.
business
Lake View Cabin- 'Heavenly' Retreat plus new play cabin!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p439096vb
- 312-622-6920
Iowa City Iowa
Cedar Falls, IA
5

Wanda's Woodsy Wonderland V

Wanda's Woodsy Wonderland V
  • 5 out of 5
Four of us women get together annually for a camp-out and this year decided to treat ourselves to something with indoor plumbing. What a treat! With three levels, there's room for everyone to spread out. The accommodations were lovely: clean, well-stocked with kitchen stuff and plenty of kids' toys for family get-togethers. Deer and chipmunks in view every day. Nice walk to the beach. Screened porch on the lower level, which came in handy when it rained and when the skeeters got bad on the deck. Short drive to town. Nicely secluded from the neighbors. Fishing and canoe put-in not far from the property. Rental details went smoothly and the owner was helpful. We'll be back.
  • Review Submitted: 12-Jun-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Location

Location

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Cedar Rapids, Eastern Iowa Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Solon Station
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Lake MacBride Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
12 Miles
Interstate 80
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
El Sol
Nearest Ski
0.25 Miles
Cross Country Trails
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Coralville Reservoir, Lake MacBride Beaches
Car: necessary

We are located 15 minutes from Iowa City, right next to Lake MacBride State park. There are hiking and biking trails, public beaches and boat rentals including paddleboats, canoes, kayaks, & pontoons. Enjoy Iowa City nightlife including shopping, Hawkeye football games & shows. Fossil hunting is nearby at the Devonian Fossil Gorge.

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Rental rates for this holiday house in Iowa City, Iowa

Rental Basis:
property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Rate Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Rate
 
Hawkeye Football wknds
3 Sep 2014 - 29 Nov 2014
3 night minimum stay
$799
for 3 nights
From
$250
 
 
Winter Holidays
19 Dec 2014 - 4 Jan 2015
4 night minimum stay
$1,249
for 4 nights
From
$300
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$549
for 2 nights
From
$250
From
$250
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $49
Refundable Damage Deposit $500
Notes Some weekends, holidays and time periods require a 3 night minimum or longer.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.

Facilities

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Iowa City in Iowa

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • King size beds (1) In top floor bedroom, Double Beds (1) In main floor bedroom, Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (4) 3 futon couches and 1 futon-chair bed that becomes a twin bed.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Alternative Lifestyle
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • sailing
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Fire pit, hiking & biking trails, beach, lake, snowmobile trails, horseback riding down the road, watercraft rentals

Other holiday rentals

Weekly From £878
2 night minimum stay
  • 2 Bedrooms,
  • 3 Bathrooms,
  • Sleeps 6
Weekly From £232
  • 1 Bedroom,
  • 1 Bathroom,
  • Sleeps 6
Weekly From £372
  • 1 Bedroom,
  • 1 Bathroom,
  • Sleeps 2

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Confirm Price & Contact

Enter dates to calculate a quote