HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Luxury Beach Front Estate with cook/maid full staff included

Tracy Pinney

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Tracy Pinney

Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
25 March, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Prior to paying a reservation deposit, always verify payment instructions by calling the number on this listing.
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Luxury Beach Front Estate with cook/maid full staff included

Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights


Photos and Description of this 5 bedroom holiday home in Cabarete - Casa Catalina

Main House, 4 bedrooms + 5 Baths - Carriage House, 2 Bedrooms + 2 Baths

Private beach front estate situated on two acres of beautifully landscaped grounds including tropical gardens and fruit trees.We call our house

'Casa Catalina' (formerly Bajan House). The main house (can sleep 2-10pp.) consists of three Queen Suites, all with a private ocean view veranda and en-suite bathroom, and a twin bedroom. The home can accommodate 2 more pp. on an aero bed and we also have a twin roll away bed. The property also has a private self contained Carriage house (can sleep an additional 6 pp.) which consists of a one Queen bedroom apartment with a pull out sleeper sofa and a queen bed studio apartment. The Carriage House has a veranda which looks out over our lagoon. Bajan House is just steps from the beach. The Eastern Trade Winds and beautiful Turquoise waters make this property refreshingly cool. The Estate is walled and gated and offers total privacy but yet only 12 minutes to the well known beach town of Cabarete, the kite surfing capital of the world.

Our Estate offers a full time staff consisting of Mary, our maid/cook, Augustine our groundskeeper/maintenance man, Antonio our night watchman. We also have an English speaking manager, Francis who would be happy to assist you with transportation, excursions, restaurant reservations and any questions you may have about the Dominican Republic. This beach front house offers the complete relaxation package! Enjoy a massage on the private balcony for just $40, or let Mary cook your breakfast, lunch & dinner and enjoy it while watching the ocean views from the veranda. This service is included in the price quoted (just purchase your groceries) and sit back & relax or enjoy your family while someone else makes your bed and does the laundry! Our staff is friendly and happy to help make your vacation special and unique!

'Casa Catalina' will allow you a very tranquil and peaceful vacation. An opportunity to enjoy your family and escape the reality to 'Island Time'! We are located just off Highway 5, 12 minutes to Cabarete and 35 minutes from Puerto Plata. Taxis are available anytime and Francis would be happy to arrange transportation anywhere on the island at anytime. We also offer our 2 motorcycles to rent if interested. We also offer excursions starting from the house like horseback riding, scuba or snorkeling.....

We also offer VIP pick-up at Puerto Plata airport which allows you to enjoy a snack and cocktail in the airport lounge while your luggage is removed from the baggage carousel and taken through customs for you. After you finish your cocktail, you and your luggage are escorted to your taxi and you are delivered to 'Casa Catalina' and paradise! VIP Pick-up is offered at an additional cost of $100 per person and is optional.

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Tracy Pinney (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
25 March, 2015

About Tracy Pinney

I am Tracy Pinney and my family of 5 from Ithaca, New York purchased 'Casa Catalina' to get away from it all and enjoy our each other in a peaceful, safe Caribbean paradise. We fell in love with this house the moment we saw it!

Tracy Pinney purchased this house in 2012

Why Tracy Pinney chose Cabarete

The setting is serene and the beach is one of the nicest, private beaches we have been on! The house is located on Las Canas Road and 'Las Canas' in Spanish means 'The Palms'. Royal Palms surround the estate and line the beach for miles! We love the location of this property, private yet close enough to the shops & restaurants of Cabarete (12 miles).

What makes this house unique

Walking around this property with the Tropical Gardens and fruit trees is always special. Starting your day with coffee on your veranda overlooking the private beach is an amazing experience. As the day lingers, you can enjoy being served your meals poolside overlooking the ocean. Scheduling an outing such as zip-lining, horseback riding or waterfall climbing adds to this truly unique experience!

Guestbook comments from the owner


As we prepare to depart the Dominican Republic I wanted to let you know that Jane and I had a wonderful experience. It is a beautiful house in a special place. More than that the people were excellent. Frances took care of our every need very promptly and made us feel very comfortable on our first trip to the country. The house staff took care of us very well. We got to know Ive and Juan Carlos and they were gracious enough to show us around on motorcycles. They introduced us to their families and showed us their communities. It was spectacular and certainly not an experience one could have at a big resort. Augustine has a knack for maintaining the property, it looks great. He was very polite and helpful.

We hate to leave and we look forward to coming back next year!

Mark and Jane
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 2

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
Prior to paying a reservation deposit, always verify payment instructions by calling the number on this listing.
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote


based on 7 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
Luxury Beach Front Estate with cook/maid full staff included
average rating of 4.714286 based on 9 reviews

Loved this place

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for a change from the usual all inclusive scene on a down south holiday look no further.

We stayed at Casa Catalina (formerly Bajan house) for March break with 3 families with teens aged 14-18.

The week was unconditionally restorative. The house,grounds,and all the proud caretakers of this lovely place provided us with a unique and beautiful holiday. We lounged by the pool,took long walks along the endless beach,played in the surf,and explored Cabarete and environs by taking taxis which were efficiently arranged by Francis the house manager. He was available ,helpful and engaging. Our communication with him was seamless and he happily answered our questions .

Yes, there are some issues with power supply, but hopefully anyone who travels to the DR has done their homework and knows full well the realities of a third world infrastructure. This had minimal impact on our stay as the house has backup power and generator, so power outages were barely noticed.

The cook/housekeeper Mary was lovely. She arrived promptly at 900 am which was perfect timing as we had already had coffees on the upper deck with our books overlooking the sunrise. Communication with her was easily managed with google translate, charades, and the Spanish-English dictionary. In fact it was us who felt bad as we didn't speak as much Spanish as we would have liked considering the hospitality that was shown to us.

The gardener and security staff were pleasant, kind, and kept the property running smoothly.

Buying groceries at the local supermarkets was part of the fun of our trip, and we would have been able to easily enjoy the foods of home if we wanted. We preferred to request Dominican style cooking. Unfortunately we waited too late in the week to walk to the local roadside stand for bananas eggs and fresh pineapple, as this was handy and inexpensive . The people in the local community are very kind and warm.

We would definitely come back here and would recommend this house to friends and family- just make sure you don't book the same week we want to go! Missing it terribly already.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Casa Catalina! So happy you were able to interact with the locals and experience the cultural diversity of this amazing country.....can't wait to have back! Sincerely, The Pinney Family
Carp, Ontario, Canada

What a Fantastic Vacation that was!

  • 5 of 5

We arrived at Bajan House on a Sunday morning, left (sadly) on a Sunday morning. We were greeted by the entire staff on our arrival. Francis, Marie (the house keeper) and the grounds keeper. Smiles all round,friendly and accomodating. We were 10 travellers (three families) and we used the apartment as well as the house. I won't go into the details concerning grounds nor the house itself, previous decriptions and pictures cover the incredible beauty and attributes very well. As far as the power is concerned, true it was spotty, but we NEVER were without lights or ceiling fans in each room (battery power in basement ran most stuff in house), and hot water was never an issue with 4 teenagers. Marie arrived at 0900 daily. We made our own coffee and had yogurt and toast as a pre-breakfast (I love vacations) and then Marie made the main event breakfast which included lots of fruit (fresh local pineapples, bananas, mangoes) lots of eggs and various meats and cheese. Lunch was very casual (people snacked, we only had Marie cook lunch once), but Marie took care of dishes after each meal (which was very appreciated). Dinners were amazing as Marie cooked delicious meal after meal for us. Lots of chicken, fish, and local style sauces. We went for the local vibe, so we had beans and rice a lot as well. More fruit for desserts, the pineapples were such a treat, dont miss a chance to eat them. To note, it takes some effort to get your food points across with someone who speaks another language. With a Spanish/English dictionary (on site) and a lot of laughing amoungst us all, Marie got every menu we asked for right on the mark. The beach was so beautiful, ran in both directions for as far as you could see and there was seldom anyone on it. As soon as you arrive go and look, its breathtaking. The night guard arrived on time, was "invisible" but very friendly when we walked to or from the apartment to house at night. Boris and Marly, the two dogs who ran the compound at night, slept all day in the shed and were the perfect hosts. Marley likes to be scratched, Boris, well he is very stand-offish. Our tip to you for the Bajan House (Casa Catalina) is to buy some fresh bananas at the end of the road at the main highway. They are awesome, and the locals are so happy that you walked down to buy from them, instead of going into Cabarete to buy everything. The pitures on this website seem to good to be true. They arent, its really like this! Whoa!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Boone, IA

A good vacation, just not the best

  • 3 of 5

Lets start with the good...

The Bajan house is beautiful. We rented the house along with the cottage. The ocean view from the main house patio and balcony is simply amazing. The landscaping of the grounds was also incredible.

Now for the not so good...

Their ad stated that their maid/cook, Eva, cooks all three meals a day, that you simply had to buy the groceries that they listed in the welcome packet. Since she does not show up until 9-10 am, cooking breakfast is simply out of the question. We were never offered to be cooked lunch. When if came to cooking dinners, Eva spoke little to no English, so after dealing with that for two nights and getting frustrated we simply cooked for ourselves.

The power is very inconsistent at best. The back up generator does not power the AC units or the water heater. We spent many of nights without AC and we had no hot water for showers beyond the first morning during our week long trip.

Security does not show up until around 6 pm and then is there all night. On Christmas Eve, we told Eva to leave to be with family at 2 PM. The gardener left at 4 PM and security did not arrive until 6 PM. During the 2 hours, the house was unsecured and someone broke in and stole cash and jewelry from us. When we brought this to the attention of Francis, they were "so sorry", and let us know that we should have used their electronic safe that did not work. I do not suspect the staff at all, but I am disappointed by being vulnerable. I have stayed in the DR before and they always had 24 hour security present.

In the ad, they advertised that the main house has 3 suites and twin bunkbed room. I was surprised that there was a queen bedroom and a additional twin bed in the basement. However, the entire basement area smelled like mold making the area unlivable.

In addition, they advertised that the maid does your laundry during your stay. They do have a wash machine on site but no dryer. Instead they use clothes lines to dry your clothes. Despite being 85 degrees in December, the environment in December is so moist, your clothes simply never dry.

There is no sandy beach directly behind the house, but rather large rocks. There is a small beach just east of the property. Do not expect long walks along the beach if you stay here.

Finally, security do make their rounds at night, but they eventually plant themselves outside the glass doors and watch what you are watching on TV. Simpy creepy.

Cabarette is 20 min away

  • Review Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Rich, We are happy that you found the Bajan House and grounds as beautiful as we do. We take pride in the upkeep of our home in "paradise". We also appreciate the constructive criticism used in reviewing your stay and are striving to improve the "Bajan House" experience. Firstly, we have replaced our housekeeper/cook with someone that we know will provide our guests with an amazing Caribbean vacation. While it is hard to find an English speaking housekeeper/cook, we will provide someone that will take care of your cooking and laundry needs and will do her best to communicate to the best of her ability. The electricity is a problem in the DR. When the electricity in the DR is not working, Bajan House is equipped with not only back up batteries, but a generator that will indeed power the ac units in each bedroom at night. You should never be without electricity at Bajan House, ever. In the past, it has been a guests choice if a staff member stays on premises or not, but as owners we have decided that a staff member will remain on property at all times. We have never had a complaint regarding the lack of a dryer before as usually by the end of a day, the laundry is dry, but we will install one as we see it could be a problem during the rare instance the sun refuses to shine for a day. Electricity is an expensive luxury in a developing country and we have always done our best to preserve. Our guests will always have the option to "line dry" to preserve this commodity. As far as our beach, my husband and I have been on pretty much every Caribbean Island and decided on purchasing Bajan House because of the unspoiled private beach we could walk for endless miles finding star fish, shells, sand dollars while taking in the palms and mountains in the distance. I can't change mother nature and honestly would never try.... Sincerely, The Pinney Family

Bajan House Paradise

  • 5 of 5

I really enjoy my vacation at the Bajan House.

The staff was very kind and helpful. This place is a quiet paradise. The beach is beautiful with beautiful sand. Very quiet and private. Saw about 3 peoples walking on the beach in 4 days. Lot of waves, but you still can enjoy swimming. The pool is fantastic with an amazing view on the beach. Very clean, and very comfortable beds.


  • Review Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


  • 5 of 5


  • Review Submitted: Apr 4, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You Karen....We are so happy that you and your husband had a relaxing vacation! The people in Las Canas are so friendly and welcoming, I am glad you experienced some of the local culture! Come back soon! Tracy
Los Angeles


  • 5 of 5

I had an amazing time at the Bajan house. I am 57 with my husband who is 68. We finally got to get away from our small condo is LA. The Bajan house is so breathtaking! The maid, & gardener are also so helpful & kind as well. The pool was sparkly & the ocean was clear. Ide love to come back very very soon! Thank you Tracy for my wonderful stay at the Bajan house.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 25, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Puerto Plata (POP)
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Nearest Beach
Steps to beach
Car: not necessary

We have the perfect location and beach for catching a wave on our boogie boards, or strolling the very private beach and finding a sand dollar! No sales people on our beach, we are close enough to Cabarete to enjoy dinner or watch the kite boarders for the day, then escape back to privacy and paradise!


Prices & Availability

From $325 Nightly

Prices for this holiday house in Cabarete, Dominican Republic North Coast

Rental Basis:
per property
Prices quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Christmas week
19 Dec 2015 - 25 Dec 2015
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
New Years Week
26 Dec 2015 - 1 Jan 2016
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $75 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Notes There is a $300.00 damage deposit due upon arrival at the house. This will be refunded upon inspection of the house when checking out.
The carriage house is available for an extra $400.00 per week. We never rent the carriage house to another party when you reserve the main house. 50% deposit due upon reservation, balance due 2 weeks prior to arrival. Contact me to arrange payment.
Deposit of 1/2 rental amount due to reserve property. Balance due 2 weeks prior to arrival
Enter dates to see total


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Cabarete in Dominican Republic North Coast

Property Type:
  • house
  • Catering available
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
  • 5 in main house, 2 in carriage house
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Single Bed
    Detached Unit - 2 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • 1 King Bed/bath, Queen/bath Beds 3 in main house, 2 in Carriage House, Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), 1 Queen Aero Bed, 1 twin Roll-away
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Staff
  • Health/Beauty Spa
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Boogie boards, snorkel gear, fishing poles (fish right from the beach), corn hole game, kayak, board games and books! Motorcycles available for weekly rental. Excursions available. Massages on the balcony available.

Partner Offers


Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Confirm Price & Contact

Enter dates to calculate a quote