HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

RUSTIC AND SPACIOUS 3/4 BEDROOM TOWN HOUSE WITH SWIMMING POOL IN OLHAO

Camilla Gray

Speaks English
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Camilla Gray

Speaks English
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

RUSTIC AND SPACIOUS 3/4 BEDROOM TOWN HOUSE WITH SWIMMING POOL IN OLHAO

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Olhao - The Pool House

3 doubles all en-suite in the heart of Olhao's old town 5 mins from sea

This deceptively large house has 3 large double bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms as well as a further attic room which is suitable for children. A very spacious house with an open plan sitting/dining room perfect for entertaining or relaxing after a long day. There is a fully functional kitchen with a washing machine and dishwasher & all the mod cons to offer a home from home experience. Outside there is a large courtyard with a dining table that comfortably seats 10 as well as a BBQ to enjoy some al fresco dining. There is a large swimming pool on the ground floor with 2 further sunbathing terraces. The house is set back from the main seafront in the beautiful historic old part of Olhao. The supermarket & bakery is a 2 min walk and all the restaurants & markets on the sea front are a 5 min walk. The house comes with wifi and bluetooth speakers as well as TV with some english channels. We offer Babysitting service as well as maid service and can pick up from Faro.

Olhao is situated east of Faro close to plenty of good golf courses, stunning beaches and only 2 hours from Saville.

Olhao is a popular place to live with many artists as it has some stunning old buildings around the town. For those that love fish and seafood then every restaurant offers up delightful dishes on a daily basis. There are 2 covered markets in Olhao where one can buy fresh meat and fish as well as fruit and veg all at a very reasonable price. There are several ferry crossings and water taxis that can take you to the neighboring islands of the Ria Formosa where you will find stunning quiet beaches and a couple of lovely restaurants.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Camilla Gray (Owner)
Advertiser since 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

We stayed at the Pool house for a week last Summer and enjoyed every minute. We are a family with 2 children aged 5 and 3, and the house was perfect for us. The pool is ideal to cool down in and being so centrally located means you have access to the town, shops and more importantly the ferry to the islands with fantastic beaches.



If you are looking for an un-spoilt and non-touristic place to spend your holiday, then Olhao is absolutely right for you. However I recommend that you rent a car, so you can take trips to the surrounding area as there is lots to see along the coast.



We have no hesitation to recommend the Pool house to family and friends.
Jul 2009
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

Reviews

4.4
based on 6 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
Rustic and spacious 3/4 bedroom town house with swimming pool in Olhao
average rating of 4.4 based on 6 reviews
business
Rustic and spacious 3/4 bedroom town house with swimming pool in Olhao
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p435786
+44 -(0)1428 714495
Olhao Olhao region
London
5

Fabulous house with a pool in the centre of Olhao

  • 5 out of 5
Beautiful property - home from home, lovely furnishings and paintings, we were so comfortable during our stay. Great children's room on the top floor.

Fully equipped kitchen, large spacious sitting room, comfortable bedrooms with good bathrooms.

Olhao is still un-touched Portugal, the market is a real asset - and so close by. We will return as we really enjoyed our stay.
  • Review Submitted: 21-Aug-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Rustic and spacious 3/4 bedroom town house with swimming pool in Olhao
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p435786
+44 -(0)1428 714495
Olhao Olhao region
2

Warning: the place is very poorly maintained

  • 2 out of 5
This house should not be described as a "luxury house" and anyone interested in booking it should first inquire whether the following issues have been fixed by the owners: the bed in the master bedroom creaked so loudly that we thought it would fall apart at any moment; there is no sound or light insulation in the master bedroom (you hear every passing car, and anyone walking past) so we were unable to use it as a bedroom during our stay, it's the noisiest room in the house but thanks to a suggestion we made it is now somewhat better; most of the chairs in the kitchen and dining area were broken and could not be used; the toilet on the top floor had a foul smell and was therefore not used; the toilet downstairs was also smelly; large chunks of paint were peeling off the walls in the living room, entrance hallway and over the pool; there were large cockroaches in the kitchen; the neighbourhood garbage bins are right outside the kitchen windows, which can be smelly when their are full and it's hot; when we booked the house, the ad said that there was a DVD, but this meant there were 3-4 old DVDs laying about, no DVD player, or TV for that matter; there are many old, broken, discarded items lying about the house that should be thrown away or stored away. Beware of your privacy: the owner insists that he has the right to let the cleaner and caretaker come in early in the morning with their own keys (we locked the door from the inside to prevent this since we enjoy sleeping in, but the caretaker then came in unannounced and without knocking over the roof from the neighbouring house).

The most frustrating thing, however, was the owner: I don't like feeling cheated, and the owner refused to take responsibility for anything but the most trivial things; he refused to meet although he lives 3 minutes from the house, insisting that all communication take place by email; and he wrote the following patronising email after we left: "fatherly advice......try and relax and be helpful instead of constantly looking for reasons to complain......it is a very distasteful trait that you have and not one that we have come across before from people renting any of our properties." Other tenants must have seen the property in better days.

On the bright side, Olhao is a wonderful small town and we enjoyed it, the people, its markets, the nearby islands a greatly. Just steer clear of this house and its owner, unless one is fixed and the other is replaced.
  • Review Submitted: 21-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were expecting this review to come as we were unable to reach a fair compromise during the holiday. This is our schedule of events:
On arrival the guests looked round the house and said they thought it was a charming house. It was only following on from an incident on the first night when their car was blocking the dustman from driving down the street when things seemed to go down hill. The streets that surround the old part of Olhao are very narrow and cobbled, it is a town and noise from cars and people have to be expected. As the dustman could not get past the whole street was woken up. We subsequently arrange to get the drain in the street mended to stop the noise (this is not our responsibility but the councils).
The bed in the master bedroom like majority of the furniture in the house is antique and in style with the decor and we have never had complaints before about it squeaking. Each bedroom has shutters which means that very little light comes through. One of the guests slept in the next door room with the same shutters with no problem. When we were informed of a broken chair it was removed and replaced immediately.
We have spray and powder to stop cockroaches coming in from the street but the maid was not allowed to put this down due to asthma and ill health from the guest. We provide a maid service to guests at 10 euros an hour but this was not taken. Our maid airs the house and cleans it thoroughly, this helps to erase smells in the bathroom.
a text went to the guests to arrange a suitable time and let them know our handy man was coming to clean the pool but he was locked out of the house and unable to gain entry. If he cannot gain access to the property then he cannot clean the pool.
The house did have a portable dvd player however we have now installed a tv with cable channels.
Peeling wallpaper is a common occurrence in Olhão. All the old houses were built using sand from the sea, the sand sweats out salt which pushes the paint away. Every 2 years we seal the walls and repaint. Most people find this part of Olhao's charm. By the pool we have large bougainvillea trees which grow up over the wall.
These guests refused to speak or meet with my father who lives around the corner in Olhao, but instead chose to contact me in the UK. I suggested going to his house with a list of complaints including a fan they found noisy, so that we could help. they did not take this offer. They have since not answered a mail to try and resolve this.
business
Rustic and spacious 3/4 bedroom town house with swimming pool in Olhao
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p435786
+44 -(0)1428 714495
Olhao Olhao region
kINGSTON-upon-HULL
5

Pool House.Olhao

  • 5 out of 5
Well where do I begin, The house was more than we expected. wonderful space, private. quiet street. Equpped with everything imaginable and much much more, pluse a chilled water cooler, which is fantastic when not drinking the wine.. The house is old, with antique furniture, lots of art on the walls and we paid extra for the pool to be heated, such a bonus, we could swim at midnight.
David the house manager and owner, was so helpful and knowledgable. was so refreshing that he came to see that everything was in order both weeks we were there. Would we go again?????????? give me a plane ticket and I would be back there now
  • Review Submitted: 07-Jun-2011
  • Date of Stay: May 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Rustic and spacious 3/4 bedroom town house with swimming pool in Olhao
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p435786
+44 -(0)1428 714495
Olhao Olhao region
Sussex
5

Fantastic

  • 5 out of 5
We stayed at the Pool house for a week last Summer and enjoyed every minute. We are a family with 2 children aged 5 and 3, and the house was perfect for us. The pool is ideal to cool down in and being so centrally located means you have access to the town, shops and more importantly the ferry to the islands with fantastic beaches.

If you are looking for an un-spoilt and non-touristic place to spend your holiday, then Olhao is absolutely right for you. However I recommend that you rent a car, so you can take trips to the surrounding area as there is lots to see along the coast.

We have no hesitation to recommend the Pool house to family and friends.
  • Review Submitted: 25-Mar-2010
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Rustic and spacious 3/4 bedroom town house with swimming pool in Olhao
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p435786
+44 -(0)1428 714495
Olhao Olhao region
London
5

Accommodation first class

  • 5 out of 5
I stayed in the house with a group of painters, it was excellent and spacious, the rooms were all clean and the pool was an extra bonus. The house is close to shops and restaurants and we went to the islands a couple of times which were fantastic.
  • Review Submitted: 03-Nov-2009
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2009
  • Source: HomeAway

Location

Location

Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Faro
Car: not necessary

Olhão is a very traditional fishing village on the East coast of the Algarve. With a maze of cobbled streets lined with white, pink and beautiful old Moorish houses. Many artists have chosen to settle there because of its picturesque character and traditions. The town is still a working fishing town and you can see the fisherman on a daily basis delivering fish to the local markets and restaurants. Beaches can be reached by ferry boats and water taxis which take you to the unspoiled islands of Armona, Culatra and Farol. There you can find long stretches of white sandy beaches safe for swimming. They are very deserted and beautiful. Olhão is a perfect holiday destination with plenty of restaurants, cafés, shopping and bars on the seafront as well as easy access by boat to stunning deserted beaches. The area has a huge choice of golf courses. Lisbon and Seville are both around 2 hours away.

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable
This listing does not have a published calendar. Contact the owner for availability.

Rental rates for this holiday house in Olhao, Olhao region

Rental Basis:
property
Rental rates quoted in:
British Pound
Convert Currency
Rental Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Rate
 
High Season
1 Jul 2014 - 30 Sep 2014
7 night minimum stay
£1,200
 

Notes

  • Change over day is Wednesday - Wednesday . An additional charge will be added if you arrive on a different day.

    There is a discount of 10% on the 2nd week if you book 2 weeks.
    If you book for 1 month then the discount is 20%
    For Christmas & New Year and Easter there is a 10% mark up on the price.

    a 40% deposit will be needed at time of booking (euro to pound exchange rate taken on that day) Final balance is due 4 weeks before departure.
    A €500 security deposit is required on arrival, this will be given back at the end of the week when the keys are returned.

    We offer maid service, cooking service and babysitting at extra cost

    FULL PRICE required 1 month before travel, if you cancel then a % of payment will be due depending on when you cancel.

Facilities

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Olhao in Olhao region

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • town
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Broadband Access
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Safe
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
  • 3 main double bedrooms with an additional children's floor The attic room has 2 single beds in it and is more suitable for children then adults.
Entertainment:
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Garden
  • Patio
  • Terrace
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • diving
  • swimming
  • tennis

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Confirm Price & Contact

Enter dates to calculate a quote