HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

HISTORIC ~A~.CHARLES WEISS HOME...ONLY 3 BLOCKS AWAY FROM LAKEWALK!

Jeremy & Trish

Advertiser since 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Jeremy & Trish

Advertiser since 2012
Speaks English
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

HISTORIC ~A~.CHARLES WEISS HOME...ONLY 3 BLOCKS AWAY FROM LAKEWALK!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Overview

Photos and Description of this 5 bedroom holiday home in Duluth - Historic A.Charles Weiss Home

5 Bedroom, 6 Bath ~ a perfect family getaway!

Built in 1895 and beautifully restored, this grand Victorian home is the perfect family or group getaway. The home is located close to Downtown Duluth and only 3 blocks from Duluth's Lakewalk and Canal Park. The second floor hosts 5 bedrooms, each with its own bath. The main floor boasts a grand dining room, parlor, library, music room, and an eat-in kitchen. Whether you're enjoying a classic novel in the library, watching cars roll by on the front porch, or preparing a gourmet meal in the eat-in kitchen, this home has it all. Each room brags its very own detail right down to its individual woodwork and style. This is truly a must see.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jeremy & Trish (Owner)
Advertiser since 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English

About Jeremy & Trish

Jeremy & Trish Paggen

Jeremy & Trish purchased this house in 2011

Why Jeremy & Trish chose Duluth

We began making regular visits to Duluth only a few years ago and fell in love with the city immediately. We knew right away that we would need to own our own home here and plan to eventually live here year-round. This is one of the most beautiful port cities, rich in art and culture. We feel a million miles away from home whenever we are here!

What makes this house unique

Everything about Duluth is unique. The year round tourism makes this city come alive! Just step out onto lake walk in the early morning and you will never want to leave.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 25 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
Historic ~A~.Charles Weiss Home...only 3 blocks away from Lakewalk!
average rating of 4.64 based on 25 reviews
business
Historic ~A~.Charles Weiss Home...only 3 blocks away from Lakewalk!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p433553vb
-3202249863
Duluth Minnesota
Anoka, MN
5

We had a WONDERFUL stay.

  • 5 out of 5
The house was cozy with beautiful decorations. The owners were easily reached by phone and very nice. Our family had a very fun and exciting stay in this beautiful home. Thanks for allowing our stay, we hope to be back soon... Thanks.
  • Review Submitted: 17-Oct-2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review!! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
business
Historic ~A~.Charles Weiss Home...only 3 blocks away from Lakewalk!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p433553vb
-3202249863
Duluth Minnesota
Saint Paul, MN
3

A few notes

  • 3 out of 5
Overall the stay was pleasant. Some things to know that aren't in the description...

- The wifi only works in half of the house
- The stairs on the front porch are new but the last step is not the same height as the others and is a hazard
- Upstairs bathtub doesn't work and they didn't tell us ahead of time
- Owners live upstairs on private third floor
- Lattice under front porch is broken/missing and looks dilapidated
- The home doesn't really get much natural light because of trees, lots of walls, and permanent window coverings

If you are into historic homes with character this is good bet, but some aspects of the place seem a little run down or in disrepair.
  • Review Submitted: 29-Sep-2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review.
We will have to check on the Wi-Fi connection throughout the house as this is the first time that we have had anyone with issues...thank you for brining it to our attention.
The bathroom has been repaired. It was an untimely, unfortunate event that the bathtub should get a leaky pipe.
The third level in the home is reserved for the owners as their vacation residence as mentioned in the pre-vacation email that is sent out prior to your stay with important information about the home and your time with us.
The home was purchased 3 years ago. Our first couple of years have been focused on the interior of the home and maintaining the originality and integrity of the home. The busy "tourist" time makes it difficult to fit in a lot of the exterior upgrades that we are making and would like to make. Fortunately, as we enter the "off-season" we are able to focus on other areas of the property.
business
Historic ~A~.Charles Weiss Home...only 3 blocks away from Lakewalk!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p433553vb
-3202249863
Duluth Minnesota
St. Cloud, MN
5

What a great place!

  • 5 out of 5
We had a couples getaway with 3 other couples from South Dakota and Minnesota. The house was perfect for us. The weather was so beautiful that we spent most of the time relaxing and catching up on the front porch. (The only suggestion the guys have is to trim the bushes in front of the porch). The house was very spacious and close to everything, even close enough to walk down to Lake Superior. Thanks Trish & Jeremy!
  • Review Submitted: 27-Aug-2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review!! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you consider us for your next visit!!
business
Historic ~A~.Charles Weiss Home...only 3 blocks away from Lakewalk!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p433553vb
-3202249863
Duluth Minnesota
Clemson, SC
5

Repairs made

  • 5 out of 5
Sine Elizabeth was here in June, the front porch steps have been replaced, the railing is secure, and ample toilet paper was available. The dishwasher works well although the door is tricky to latch. My stay has been very comfortable and pleasant. The house is walking distance to the Leif Erikson park and a grocery.
  • Review Submitted: 25-Jul-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us...thank you for the Review!!
business
Historic ~A~.Charles Weiss Home...only 3 blocks away from Lakewalk!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p433553vb
-3202249863
Duluth Minnesota
4

Overall, a very nice property

  • 4 out of 5
Overall, this is a lovely property with plenty of room. It was so nice to find a home with enough bedrooms and bathrooms for everyone. There were a few maintenance issues that need to be addressed. The most serious issue is the condition of the porch steps which are soft with rotting wood, as well as the railing which is completely loose. There was a lack of toilet paper in the bathrooms, the dishwasher did not work well, and the towel service was pretty skimpy. One of the dark colored washcloths had bright red stains, which looked to be from fingernail polish or something similar. Not something you would expect to find in a vacation rental. Don't get me wrong - overall this was a very nice property, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Just be aware that there are some issue with the maintenance of the property.
  • Review Submitted: 12-Jun-2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review....your concerns have been addressed. We hope you enjoyed your visit to the lovely city of Duluth!!
business
Historic ~A~.Charles Weiss Home...only 3 blocks away from Lakewalk!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p433553vb
-3202249863
Duluth Minnesota
5

Beautiful old Victorian in very convenient neighborhood

  • 5 out of 5
We had a family gathering for a funeral and this house was perfect for us all to be together and still have some separate spaces. The kitchen was well equipped, the beds were comfortable, bathrooms adequate, dining room was able to fit our large family's coming and goings. Our only problem was with multiple families and the snowy Duluth winter, parking was limited. House is located on a main thoroughfare so getting downtown, to UMD, or up the North Shore is easily done. There are many antiques that add to the atmosphere but you would want to keep an eye on young children.
  • Review Submitted: 19-Feb-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review!! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Location

Location

Nearest Airport
6.5 Miles
Duluth International Airport, Duluth
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Many
Nearest Golf
2.7 Miles
Northland Country Club
Nearest Train
1.9 Miles
The Duluth Depot, Duluth
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
I-35W
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Many
Nearest Ski
11.6 Miles
Spirit Mountain, Duluth
Nearest Beach
6.1 Miles
Park Point Beach, Duluth
Car: recommended

You are invited to experience a return to Victorian Duluth at the Historic A. Charles Weiss Home. This 1895 Victorian Colonial is filled with classic decor throughout and heavily adorned with woodwork. The A. Charles Weiss is a stately Victorian inn located in Duluth, Minnesota. The Lakewalk, which leads to the charming Canal Park Area, is a short three blocks from the Inn's front porch.

Duluth is a vibrant city set on the shores of Lake Superior. Home to a busy port and wealth of industry because of its location on the lake, Duluth is also a popular vacation destination. There are beautiful scenery and loads of activities to keep everyone in the family entertained.

Lake Superior is the natural attraction of Duluth. There are many cruises that run throughout the year. You can enjoy lunch, dinner or just sundowners as you enjoy the view. The Edge is a giant Polynesian-themed water park filled with thrilling waterslides and loads of splashy entertainment that even older and adult kids will enjoy. The Timber Twister is unique rollercoaster ride that runs through the forest. Sharp hairpin bends and a 3,200-foot descent down the mountain make it a thrilling ride.

Lake Superior Zoo is set on 16 acres of rocky hills covered with tall pine trees. The Kingsbury Creek runs through the zoo, creating a wonderful natural environment in which to view the bears, lions and wide variety of animals. The Great Lakes Aquarium can be found on Duluth's waterfront. This incredible hands-on discovery center allows visitors insight into the underwater realm of the lakes. Daily shows have divers interacting and feeding fish in a giant water tank. There are more than 70 different species of fish, amphibians, mammals and birds housed at the aquarium.

Duluth has a rich cultural heritage and there are many museums, historic homes and estates that are open for public viewing. Historic railway tours make for a fun excursion for the whole family. Learn about the early pioneers, the history of the region, and enjoy the spectacular scenery. There is also an opportunity to spot birds and wildlife in the forest.

In the wintertime, the Spirit Mountain Recreation Area has 22 ski runs, a super pipe for snowboarders, and 22 miles of cross country skiing. A perfect place for both beginner and advanced skiers, the ski runs and lifts are well maintained and the resort is said to have some of the best skiing of the region.

Enquire Now Enquire Now

Photos

Photos

Enquire Now Enquire Now

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Rental rates for this holiday house in Duluth, Minnesota

Rental Basis:
property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Rate Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Rate
 
Fall
1 Aug 2014 - 30 Oct 2014
2 night minimum stay
$953
for 2 nights
From
$438
$2,599
 
 
Winter/Spring
1 Nov 2014 - 31 May 2015
2 night minimum stay
$742
for 2 nights
From
$333
From
$388
Fri,Sat
$2,289
 
 
Grandma's Marathon
19 Jun 2015 - 20 Jun 2015
2 night minimum stay
$1,285
 
 
Bayfront Blues Festival
8 Aug 2015 - 9 Aug 2015
2 night minimum stay
$1,174
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$1,391
for 3 nights
From
$438
$2,738
 

Additional information about rental rates

Towel Service $25 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $49
Tax Rate 10.88%
Notes We do reserve the right to charge additional fees if the property is left in unsatisfactory conditions. Additional cleaning fees may apply and are at the owners discretion.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Facilities

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Duluth in Minnesota

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 6000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 5 - Toilet , Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 6 - Toilet , 1/2 Bath on Main Level
  • 6
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Adjoining jacuzzi bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Suite facing lake side of home. Sleeps up to 4 people.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , 3/4 bath adjoing
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , 3/4 bath adjoining
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Other (See Description) - 2 additional roll-a-way beds
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Check-in and Check-out times are non-negotiable. Check-in 4:00 pm (sorry, no earlier) Check-out 10:00 am (sharp) This allows our cleaning staff only 6 hours to prepare for the next vacationers. Its a very large house...thanks in advance for your understanding. The maximum allowed amount of people is 12...this includes children. The house is not to be used as a party house. Absolutely no smoking. We reserve the right to charge additional fees up to $500.00 if the home is smoked in. During the winter months, the windows are to remain closed. Please be respectful to our beautifully restored home.
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote