Interesting property but not very well kept
Review Submitted: 22 January 2013
Date of Stay: January 2013
We rented this Volcano house, for just one night, based on the positive reviews and the uniqueness of the house and property; also the fact that the house had both a hot tub and a fireplace (as Volcano can be quite chilly) was a definite bonus. We were really looking forward to staying in this house.
When we arrived, it became apparent that the hot tub was not functioning; a check of my email indicated that the owner had become aware that the hot tub was broken and called a repair person. The tub wouldn't be repaired for a while. However,it had dirt in the bottom and things floating on the top; we would not have used it for this reason if it was functioning. (Please note that the owner did rebate the cleaning fee as compensation for the hot tub being broken.)
The house interior was a little less than clean. The fridge had mould on the outside and dirt hanging from underneath, the stove/oven was dirty, the hoodfan was dirty, the kitchen floor was dirty, there were numerous cobwebs, light fixtures were dirty, the kitchen ceiling fan blades were overdue for a good cleaning, plates in the cupboard were greasy and had food attached (brocolli and lettuce). There was splattered "something" on the upper cabinets. There was a good coating of dust on the tv armoire. Cobwebs and dust on the LR furniture. Then, the 2nd bathroom tub wouldn't drain, so we couldn't use it. In the master bedroom ensuite bath, the shower water adjustment handle came off in our hand and the sink taps were not attached to the vanity. The shower curtain had black mould. W/D were rusting.
Positive notes: the fireplace is quite effective at keeping the house cozy--firewood was supplied, the property is quite unique and the cave is amazing, the fresh flowers were lovely, the outside space under the covered porch was nice.
I am not sure why the cleaning standards seem to have slipped since the last reviews. We were expecting a reasonably clean rental, and DO realize the humid conditions in Volcano, but this house was disappointing. A good thorough cleaning, and some maintenance, appear to be required.
We have been renting vacation properties in Hawaii for 10 years now and this would be our first negative review of a VRBO rental.
Owner's Response: We take pride in our places, We offer great accommodations with lots of amenities for reasonable prices. Our places are clean and maintained to our up most ability. We want our guest to be happy. However, due to unforeseeable circumstances some times things happen. We might fail to meet some people's standards but to most we have been successful. Thank goodness ,this is our livelihood and we wouldn't be in business if most people were like you. The next two guest gave us glowing reviews and left a cleaning tip even with out a hot tub. 1.Yes, my hot tub was broken. I did not know until they left. I called the repair man that day. The day you checked in. Yes, the hot tub was not exactly clean, the pump broke. I think your first paragraph says it all. My hot tub was broken and you made it clear that was the main reason you booked my house.. That was your disappointment After that my cottage couldn't have pleased you if it had been the White House. At that time you made it your goal to search high and low for anything wrong. If my place was so disgusting and dirty why didn't you refuse to stay there and demand your money back? Because it wasn't !!! People who write trashing reviews, without even a call while staying or a note when checking out indicating a problem, must find twisted HAPPINESS and JOY taking revenge when disappointed. Cleanness of my cottage is not debatable.. I do my own cleaning and do a good job. Depending on last guest controls the amount of deep cleaning that can be done. 1. Frig. ,stove fan hood were clean! Might not be new. 4. Cobwebs are part of the environment. We dust every day and they return daily 5. Fans could have been dusted. 6. Upper cabinets ? 6 Dishes ,Only thing debatable, The last guest put them away This I didn't check! Lesson learned. Maintenance: We do routine checks of all working things. . Unaware of drain in 2nd bath. Like you, last guest didn't say anything, why NO note if it was so bad you couldn't use? Handle in master suite, Where was it? NO NOTE by you or any other guest. Sink Faucet could be tightened. I check by shower curtain every clean. Washer and dryer ,not new but work. Most vacation rentals do not have them due to water and electric cost. You say you have never written a bad review for the other rentals in volcano so if they were so perfect then why didn't you return. They would of loved to have you or maybe not! .
Helpful votes: 3/3
Did you find this review helpful?