HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

SleepAfloat

Advertiser since 2005
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house boat
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

SleepAfloat Management and Rentals, LLC

Advertiser since 2005
Speaks English
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

STAY ON THE WATER IN OLD CITY PHILADELPHIA!

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house boat
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Overview

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday house boat in Philadelphia - Pegasus

Your own private floating home! Free Parking- Walk to all the Old City sites

With modern upgrades - granite counter tops, marble, and travertine - this unique houseboat rental is located in the heart of Old City Philadelphia, a place of great history, charming shops, captivating night life, and entertainment.

Free parking and wi-fi are included, as well as a kitchen, complete with refrigerator, sink, microwave, and cook-top stove. Steps away from the houseboat, you will find Independence Hall, Independence Visitor Center, the National Constitution Center, the Liberty Bell Center, and countless other historical Old City District attractions. Learn more about the important history of Philadelphia while shopping and dining at exciting places! Come and discover what Old City Philadelphia has to offer.

More About the Houseboat: It has a comfortably sized bathroom with stand up shower. The Master Bedroom has a queen sized bed with memory foam mattress, closet storage and a patio door leading to the deck. The queen size sleep sofa in the living room, also with memory foam, and aero bed provide additional sleeping options. The well appointed houseboat provides a calming respite after a day full of activity. Imagine relaxing on the roof deck, drink in hand, enjoying your own private sunset!

All the amenities of home! We provide an iron, ironing board, hairdryer, and loads of bathroom products such as soaps, shampoos, and lotions. We even include lots of cooking ingredients such as coffee, herbs, spices, condiments, etc...

All this for less than the price of the smallest rooms at any of the nearby downtown waterfront hotels! Fun and Chic in Old City Philadelphia! It is truly our goal that every guest have an exceptional and memorable experience, so come, relax away your tensions, inhale pure sea air and nautical vibes, 'chill' in an outdoor, relaxing setting during the most picturesque time of the year! Ahhhh...

The Experience: What's it like saying on a houseboat? The boat is in a protected part of the marina, but there is some occasional movement during the day when boats pass by. It is usually very calm during the night, although some guests find a bit of gentle swaying is relaxing and can lead to a very restful sleep.

Please note: we don't always keep our calendar up to date, so please check calendars on our SleepAfloat website before contacting us to make sure the dates you want are available!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
SleepAfloat (Property Manager)
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the manager

This was the perfect place to stay! It is very very private and secure. The countertops are granite and the bed is a memory foam mattress. It is important to speak to Jack, the property manager, upon arrival. He was informational not only about the houseboat, but about the area. With the proximity to the Benjamin Franklin Bridge, it is much more quiet than we expected. We never heard any bridge traffic. The local ballpark had fireworks the first night we were there, and we could see everything from the aft bow. We shopped at the Reading Terminal Market and cooked on the houseboat. This gave us the grand opportunity to sit out on the covered deck and eat breakfast in serenity. The kitchen has ample pots & pans, silverware and dishes to cook with and have a nice dinner. There is fast WiFi access on the boat, and cable for the television. The towels were very fluffy and better than hotel towels. We loved it and would do it again in a heartbeat!!
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 10

Why HomeAway

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house boat
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

Reviews

4.5
based on 10 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
Stay on the Water in Old City Philadelphia!
average rating of 4.5 based on 20 reviews
business
Stay on the Water in Old City Philadelphia!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p390275
+1 -855-343-3456
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia
5

Absolutely outstanding!

  • 5 out of 5
Was the listing description accurate regarding the location, layout, amenities, etc?
Yes, 100%. Everything was perfect.

Was the property clean and well-maintained?
Spotless and well maintained.

Did the owner or manager provide good customer service?
Every question was responded to instantly. Directions were clear. Jack was onsite to review everything we needed to know about the boat. Jack was most welcoming and made the stay great.

Would you recommend this property to a friend or relative?

Oh yes! Much better than a hotel and cheaper. The bedroom has a large window that overlooks the sky and bridge. The boat offers a top deck, back deck and front deck all provide a great view. Very private and secluded. One weekend on the boat equals a full week of vacation.

Gated community. Can’t wait to return. The boat is packed with free
coffee, candy and tea.

What activities, attractions and restaurants did you enjoy?

Watching the tide roll in and out.
Night time view of the bridge.
Watching the ducks and egrets.
Lobby has a full selection of books and DVDs.
Dinner and breakfast at local restaurants.
Tip: La veranda restaurant gives you the best seat in the house when you mention you’re staying at the marina. The Waterfront has great breakfast selections. Try the magic theater at South Street Magic for a Friday night show.
  • Review Submitted: 29-Sep-2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the fabulous and thorough review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you on board again soon!

Best,
Team SleepAfloat
business
Stay on the Water in Old City Philadelphia!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p390275
+1 -855-343-3456
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia
5

Great Stay on the Pegasus

  • 5 out of 5
I stayed with my girlfriend on the Pegasus for 2 night's and it was great. Checking in was not a problem at all though parking got a little tricky. I took some getting used to staying on a houseboat but we quickly we made our home while in Philadelphia. The location is great as were able to walk to the major centers of the City and drive if necessary. It was also great to see the fireworks at night.
  • Review Submitted: 28-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Please come back any time! We have boats in plenty of other cities too, from Boston to Key West! All in great locations just like this one!

Cheers,
Marcia
business
Stay on the Water in Old City Philadelphia!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p390275
+1 -855-343-3456
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia
Massachusetts
5

August in Philly

  • 5 out of 5
Our visit was too short, but so pleasant. We went out to eat the first night, seeking "Fork" restaurant and when someone pointed out a restaurant with a different name on the corner, we thought it had changed its name. Nope. Different place. We found tiny Fork the next day -- wonderful.

Then we came "home," stopping at the little convenience store with the friendly proprietor. We picked up milk, eggs & a bagel to share for breakfast. At Pegasus, we stretched out under the 3 stars showing and the Ben Franklin Bridge, which clearly outshone the stars with its multicolored light display. Light breeze and no need for the air conditioning.

The bed was incredibly comfortable and the pillows excellent. In fact, all the fittings are top grade. We slept soundly to the slight rocking of the boat. (The only time the rocking felt odd was when I stepped into the boat after dinner and hadn't left a light on. Walking in the dark and moving differently was slightly discombobulating. As soon as I put on a light, all was fine. And it improved our sleep.)

Breakfast up on the lounge chairs was great. We watched cyclists, runners, large trucks and buses whisking back and forth. A few people went by in the marina or were busy on their boats. It was so peaceful.

And it's easy to get to the historic district -- walk a couple of blocks to Penn's Landing, cross the bridge over the highway, and you're on Market Street. From Penn's Landing, we watched a freighter and other ships as their lights slid silently by in the dark. Or, in the daytime, find Fork between 3rd & 4th streets for homemade bread, soups, latte, and other goodies, then walk a couple more blocks to the center of all that history.

Great place to stay!

PS: Would this be good for people with disabilities? It depends on the disability. It's awkward to get into the marina -- several steps up from the sidewalk. It's awkward getting through the 2 doors. The ramp down might be okay as it has 1/2" high strips of wood every couple of feet. It's only a small gap from the side dock to the boat. The bedroom is down 2 steps from the living room. The upper deck would be too difficult -- 4-5 step ladder and narrow entrance. But the bow has the table and four chairs (entrance area). You judge.
  • Review Submitted: 24-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Stay on the Water in Old City Philadelphia!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p390275
+1 -855-343-3456
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia
NJ
4

Enjoyable Short Term Stay

  • 4 out of 5
The houseboat was a unique and enjoyable lodging experience in Old City! It was fully equipped with all the necessary amenities (loved the Keurig machine) and an easy walk into the city. I would definitely recommend this to other travelers!
  • Review Submitted: 11-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Stay on the Water in Old City Philadelphia!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p390275
+1 -855-343-3456
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia
Seattle, WA
2

Definitely Funky

  • 2 out of 5
I would like to compliment Ryan who was very professional in his communication. However, there were some important (to me) details left out in the description of the rental property until after I had paid the full amount. The marina is not very scenic. In fact at the time I was there the water was quite dirty. I did not find the boat spacious and cannot imagine its sleeping 4-5. It was clean but a bit dark and damp. At low tide which occurs every six hours one needs to use the shower head to fill the toilet since the water is very low and contains (I was told) sludge during that time. There is a chance that if one uses a hair dryer for example a fuse might blow and needs to be reset. If you have a car, the parking lot is not that close by. The marina IS convenient to the downtown area of Phila. But I think it is WAY overpriced and not as desirable and exotic as suggested. The marina does have a bathroom and shower but it is not kept very clean. If comfort & aesthetics are important to you, this rental might disappoint.
  • Review Submitted: 25-May-2011
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: We were saddened to receive this review about our houseboat in Philadelphia. We try very hard to accurately describe the boat, location and experience on our listing site. We will definitely review our descriptions to make sure we do not mislead anyone in the future.

The low tide problem is being addressed as I write this response. The marina has to be dredged as the silt has filled in the marina. The dredging is slated to begin this Summer after 3 years of financial setbacks due to the state of the economy. We look forward to the time this work is completed, but try our best to make due while we wait for this work to be done. Adding water to the bowl is an easy, simple method we have implemented to circumvent this issue. The boat can be dark on gray days, but there are plenty of windows around the boat that provide a great deal of sunshine when it is available :)

The cautionary statement about the circuit breaker is in our welcome book, and is meant as an informative detail in case that situation happens (which is not very often at all) our guests will know where the box is so they can reset the circuit without waiting for assistance.

We had just received heavy rains and a major storm before this guest arrived and the surge pushed a lot of wood, dock pieces, etc... into the marina. The marina staff has since cleaned the debris out.

As we mentioned in our listing, we do have parking available 2 blocks from the marina. You can however pull right up in front of the marina to unload your belongings when you arrive and depart. Unfortunately the lot is the only available monthly space we could find to provide parking for our guests which is included in your rental. If you have difficulty walking distance, there is a lot across the street from the marina run by the comfort inn that has available short term parking for $20/day.

Our ultimate goal is that every guest have a memorable and enjoyable stay. We welcome the opportunity to answer any questions guests may have about the boat or experience. If you are unsure of anything about our rental, please ask!
business
Stay on the Water in Old City Philadelphia!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p390275
+1 -855-343-3456
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia
Alabama
4

EXCELLENT LOCATION to tour historical area.

  • 4 out of 5
Did not need a car for anything we wanted to see/do, which was GREAT! Was hoping to defray some cost by making suppers in the houseboat for our family of 5, but we could find no grocery store with even CLOSE to reasonable prices to make it worthwhile. Plus, the oven control was covered in duct tape so we assumed that we weren't supposed to use it. Ordered delivery several times, which was good and reasonably priced. Shower is VERY small, and we all experienced some feelings of still being on the boat at times, even though we weren't. There is, however, a bathroom/shower in the marina's main building. Overall, we all agreed that it was an excellent, really fun experience to stay on a house boat, and we really enjoyed it, but we probably wouldn't do it again. We booked a four-night stay. The listing description is accurate as well as the photos. The property was clean, and there was a couple on-site who was very helpful in answering any questions and giving guidance for the area. I would recommend this property for anyone interested in seeing historical Philadelphia who would enjoy the really neat experience of staying on a houseboat. Mama's (I think) Philly cheesesteak stand sandwiches are terrific!
  • Review Submitted: 04-Aug-2010
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Location

Location

Nearest Airport
10.2 Miles
Philadelphia International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Drinker's Tavern
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
2nd St. Station
Nearest Motorway
0.9 Miles
Interstate 95
Nearest Restaurant
La Veranda
Car: not necessary

Come stay aboard a SleepAfloat houseboat in Old City Philadelphia and immerse yourself in all the charm and history this city has to offer!

Take a walk amongst the most historic streets in America, just steps from our marina. Our waterfront location is walking distance from the Liberty Bell Center, Independence Hall, the Betsy Ross House, National Constitution Center and Old City Philadelphia. There is so much to see and do in the City of Brotherly Love and it's all right at our doorstep!

Enquire Now Enquire Now

Photos

Photos

Enquire Now Enquire Now

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Rental rates for this holiday house boat in Philadelphia, Greater Philadelphia

Rental Basis:
property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Rate Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Rate
 
Fall
2 Sep 2014 - 30 Nov 2014
2 night minimum stay
$536
for 2 nights
From
$189
From
$243
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $27 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
1 Dec 2014 - 22 Dec 2014
2 night minimum stay
$536
for 2 nights
From
$189
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $27 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter Holiday
23 Dec 2014 - 4 Jan 2015
3 night minimum stay
$968
for 3 nights
From
$270
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $27 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$644
for 2 nights
From
$243
From
$270
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $27 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $119
Damage Insurance $39
Tax Rate 8.0%
Notes We don't always update our HomeAway/VRBO calendars. Please check our SleepAfloat site for up to date availability and an instant quote.
PET FEE: $50 up to 2 pets

PAYMENT - An advance payment equal to 50% of the total is required when the reservation is confirmed. The balance is due 30 days prior to your arrival date. Please make payments in the form a credit card (Visa, Discover or Mastercard).
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Facilities

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house boat in Philadelphia in Greater Philadelphia

Property Type:
  • house boat
Forms of Payment:
  • accepts credit card
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • Water View
  • waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Sleeper Sofa - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • veranda
  • Wood Decking
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • fishing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Confirm Price & Contact

Enter dates to calculate a quote