HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Brand New Ski & Summer Lodge located at Terry Peak Ski Resort!

Kirk Bertsch

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
People14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Kirk Bertsch

Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
18 April, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Brand New Ski & Summer Lodge located at Terry Peak Ski Resort!

People14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 5 bedroom holiday lodge in South Dakota - Whispering Pines Retreat

Lodge, 5 Bedrooms + Loft, 3 1/2 Baths, (Sleeps 14)

This new lodge built in 2013 sits overlooking the beautiful Black Hills Forest. It's located in the Terry Peak Ski Resort, just minutes from the slopes! This 3300 square feet lodge has 3 levels with 5 bedrooms and 5 queen beds, 3 full bathrooms and a 1/2 bath, family room and loft. The loft includes a sofa sleeper that sleeps two and there is a sofa sleeper in the family room that sleeps two also.

Custom built with two stunning, floor to ceiling, rock fireplaces and log accents throughout the lodge, you will find spacious living areas with cozy, woodsy decor. Each living room has a tv and DVD player. There is also wireless high speed internet for your convenience. The lodge has a wrap-around deck with a covered area over the private 8 person hot tub and gas barbeque grill. There is plenty of parking and has a flat driveway off the main road and a two car attached garage. Situated in a private woods setting with beautiful views, it is the perfect lodge to sit back, relax and enjoy the Black Hills in style!

Keywords: cabin, Black Hills, ski resort, Deadwood, lodge

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Kirk Bertsch (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
18 April, 2015

About Kirk Bertsch

We have lived in the Black Hills all of our lives. This is the best place to relax and enjoy all of the activities during both summer and winter months. I own my own insurance and financial business and build custom cabins on Terry Peak in my sparetime.

Kirk Bertsch purchased this lodge in 2013

Why Kirk Bertsch chose South Dakota

I chose this location on Terry Peak because of the beautiful views it has to offer and is only one block from the chairlift. You are only 4 miles from the nearest town of Lead and only 10 minutes from the famous town of Deadwood that also a major gambling town. You are only one hour from the famous Mount Rushmore Memorial.

What makes this lodge unique

You will enjoy a brand new lodge that has all of the amenities you need for year-round fun. The 3,300 sq ft of area will give you room to relax and enjoy time with families and friends.

Why HomeAway

People14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

4.9
based on 34 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
Brand New Ski & Summer Lodge located at Terry Peak Ski Resort!
average rating of 4.882353 based on 34 reviews
Minneapolis, MN
3

New, Clean, Great Location, but lacking...

  • 3 of 5

Pros: This is a NEW, clean, spacious lodge. It is conveniently located near many, many of the Black Hills' awesome sites and activities. It is handicap accessible, with a bed/bath, kitchen and family room on the main level. The hot tub was a favorite feature amongst our teenagers. The gas fireplaces were a fave amongst the adults. Beds were relatively comfortable. Bathrooms and water pressure were fine. Nice, wide driveway and spacious garage. The structure is great.

Cons:

-There wasn't a King-side bed, nor twin beds, as listed here. When we double-checked VRBO, it was correctly described in the opening description....but not under the Details Section (or as listed on other web pages). This setback was a showstopper for us, due to specific sleeping needs of our party. We had some tired, grumpy campers.

-Dishes and cooking pans weren't equipped to cook for larger groups. Need a large frying pan, a pasta strainer and a bigger pot, as a start.

-Forks were just a few inches long! They were flimsy (we couldn't figure out what they were made of) and so short.

-There was enough dish ware, but the glasses/mugs were old, mismatched, oddly sized....and I even found dead flies in some of the tiny coffee cups. Ick. Perhaps glassware for 14 and some nice coffee mugs would be a good start.

-Towels cheap/worn. They were scratchy, thin and small. Almost no washclothes/hand towels - not enough towels for our group. We had to wash/dry towels several times a day just so everyone could shower.

-We envisioned sitting on the back deck enjoying "the views". Instead, we had to squeeze by the hot tub in order to get to the deck tables (also squeezed together). The view was only the backs of other lodges, mud and even an empty vodka bottle thrown into in the backyard. Our restricted view out the front of the lodge ended up being tree cutters (with LOUD chainsaws) who wiped out the entire lot of pine trees across the street from us over the course of 2 days....and started work before most of us had woken up.

-The ping pong table/pool table/foosball table are not on even ground. It is very subtle, but all of the balls start to roll to one side of each game.

-Wireless connection was iffy, although many of us were accessing it. Still, it sleeps 14 and we expected it to accommodate larger traffic.

It wouldn't take much to give this place spark. Based on our VRBO experiences (which have been lovely), a few upgrades would go far.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 7, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In response to the above review: This cabin has 5 queen beds along with 2 queen sofa sleepers. There has always been a pasta strainer, not sure why the cooks overlooked it. There are also several sets of Corelle coffee cups and stoneware coffee cups. Of course, not all of them match. They are not meant to be used for a formal coffee party! There are also two sets of silverware, one of which has smaller forks of which you noticed. We believe that the 15 washcloths and 8 hand towels provided are sufficient. There are at least 25 larger towels spread throughout the four bathrooms. Did you look in all the drawers? Also, the towels are certainly not worn and scratchy! They were deliberately bought on the thinner side so they can dry quickly when doing laundry in between rentals. We have never had any complaints about the internet connection or the game room tables. Of course, the landscape is not going to always be snow covered or green and lush. March weather can melt the snow leaving the ground wet, so you did see some mud. So sorry! It is unfortunate that your stay happened to fall upon the week that the Terry Peak development had some bug trees cut down. This was done to protect the other trees from being infected by the bugs. The loggers worked as quickly as possible to clear the area. We had no forewarning when this was going to be done. We are sorry that this bothered you. Overall, your comments are very surprising and perplexing. We take pride in offering our guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay. As the many previous reviews state, this is a great cabin for large gatherings and reunions.
5

Wonderful!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this cabin in January to go snowmobiling. It was a great place! Easy to get to the trail, everything we needed was included in the cabin. We stayed with our 3 grown children and we each had our own bedroom, worked out perfect. We had enough room to load and unload our snowmobiles. This would be a perfect cabin for any family!! Thanks Kirk!!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 23, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying at our cabin we are glad you had a great time. The 3300 square foot cabin has all the area you need to feel comfortable during your stay. We hope you come visit us again, thank you ...Kirk & Julie the cabin owners
5

Perfect setup and setting for a large family get-together

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was decorated for us for Christmas and the setup of the cabin was exactly as described and so comfortable for our large family Christmas. Everything we needed was supplied and the owner called to be sure everything was functioning and we had what we needed. Would highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a great place in the Black Hills.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 29, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a great time at our cabin. It is a large cabin of 3300 square feet and attached two car garage .The cabin sleeps up to 14 people and plenty of room for everybody. We hope you come visit us again in the future, thanks owners Kirk & Julie
glendo, wy usa
4

terry peak

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay, the house was beautiful and clean. We would for sure rent it again. Was only one draw back, the dish washer was broken, but we dealt with it. The owner was very good to do business with.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 9, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a great time at our cabin. The 3300 square feet cabin gives you lots of room with sleeping capabilities up to 14 people. Sorry about the dishwasher but we were finally able to fix it. It is hard to get a repairman in when it is rented all the time. We hope you plan to come back again, thanks owners Kirk & Julie
Mandan, ND/USA
5

Wonderful Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay. The cabin was spacious and just amazing. There were wildlife running around the cabin and it also had a great view. Would highly recommend if traveling to the Black Hills this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 28, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a great time on your vacation. The cabin has 3300 square feet of room to handle up to 14 people. The cabin is close to all attractions. We hope you come and visit us again, thanks owners..Kirk & Julie
Foley, Minnesota
5

Rally Rental

  • 5 of 5

We rented this property for the end of the Sturgis Rally and it was perfect for our group of 12 adults. Plenty of space for everyone to sleep, room in the garage for the bikes and enough seating for all! The home is very nice, and it's away from all the noise of the rally which at the end of the day was greatly appreciated! We would definitely stay there again :) Thanks, Kyle! We had a great time

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a great time. The 3300 square feet cabin has plenty of room for up to 14 people . The attached two car garage also gives you room to park your vehicles or recreation vehicles in case of bad weather. The cabin is close to all area attractions. There is plenty of parking and easy access . Thanks for staying with us and we hope you come back again, owners Kirk & Julie

Location

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Rapid City
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Lewies
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Lead Country Club
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Highway 85
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Lead
Car: necessary

The Lodge is only a block away from the Ski Lodge and is only 10 miles away from the gambling casinos.

Photos

Prices & Availability

From $242 Nightly

Prices for this holiday lodge in South Dakota, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Prices quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Spring
15 Mar - 30 May
2 night minimum stay
$642
for 2 nights
From
$242
 
 
Summer
1 Jun - 31 Aug
2 night minimum stay
$769
for 2 nights
From
$305
 
 
Fall
1 Sep - 15 Dec
2 night minimum stay
$642
for 2 nights
From
$242
 
 
Winter
16 Dec - 14 Mar
2 night minimum stay
$769
for 2 nights
From
$305
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$642
for 2 nights
From
$242
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection $59
cleaning fee $95 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.5%
Notes Cleaning fee $95
Accidental damage coverage of $1500 for $49 instead of security deposit
Sturgis Rally Week $4500. Holiday Rates $375 a night

Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 90 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday lodge in South Dakota, USA

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    guest bath -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Queen size Beds 5, sofa sleeper 2
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Partner Offers

europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote