HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

MOLOAA SHANGRILA PRIVATE ESTATE

Owner / Property Manager

Advertiser since: 2004
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Owner / Property Manager

Advertiser since: 2004
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
1 December, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

MOLOAA SHANGRILA PRIVATE ESTATE

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Moloaa Bay

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-8)

Moloaa Shangri-la is one of the most unique and luxurious estates on the island of Kauai. It offers a peaceful, private, tropical setting surrounded by Kauai's natural beauty. Large, well-furnished and fully-equipped home just a short walk to Moloaa Bay on the North Shore of the Garden Island of Kauai.

Features a pool with waterfall, jacuzzi, and pool-side fireplace.

The entire estate can be rented and is Great for romantic weddings.

Keywords: House

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner / Property Manager (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2004
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
1 December, 2014

Why HomeAway

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

4.8
based on 25 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
Moloaa Shangrila Private Estate
average rating of 4.8 based on 25 reviews
business
Moloaa Shangrila Private Estate
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p37450vb
-(808) 346-1667 OWNER (Hawaii, USA)
Moloaa Bay Kauai
Franklin, TN
5

Happy in Paradise

  • 5 out of 5
A group of 5 of us stayed at Moloaa Shangrila for 5 nights plus my wife and I stayed an additional 2. The place was absolutely perfect for us. It was big enough that we could all have our own space, but also had a perfect gathering spot for everyone. We totally enjoyed all parts of the property. The rooms were all very neat and clean with some nice accessories. The location is such that you can go any direction without being a long drive. We used the outdoor fireplace, the pool, the hot tub, the deck and grill and on and on. You are a short walk from Moloaa Bay which has a great beach. We had planned to go to multiple beaches, but after seeing Moloaa beach, we didn't want to go anywhere else. Cheryl and her husband were perfect hosts and went way beyond what was necessary to please. We had hiked Kalalau trail the 2 days before so this was great relaxation. If you get the chance, Kalalau trail is beautiful. Moloaa Shangrila is a perfect spot for couples or families.
  • Review Submitted: 10-Dec-2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Moloaa Shangrila Private Estate
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p37450vb
-(808) 346-1667 OWNER (Hawaii, USA)
Moloaa Bay Kauai
Oakland, California
5

Paradise

  • 5 out of 5
My husband and I, and our four year old son, spent four nights at Moloaa Shangrila and enjoyed ourselves tremendously. The pool and waterfall were the highlights of our son's vacation. He spent hours frolicking there, and we all enjoyed the hot tub too. The pool was the perfect depth for him and his swimming ability, which made it easier for us to relax. I am pretty sure Cheryl, the owner, said the pool was designed by a guy who makes zoo enclosures, which I thought was really cool.

The house and grounds are also gorgeous. My favorite areas were the well-equipped kitchen, the patio where we were able to sit and eat as a family every night, and the green-tiled, stunning bathroom where I enjoyed long soaks in the huge bathtub. Cheryl was super friendly and warmly greeted my son upon arrival, grabbing his hand and giving him a tour while we unpacked. Our son was able to roam the grounds and explore, finding all sorts of shells, coconuts, and other things that kept him happy and occupied. The house is also a short 5-10 minute walk from the beach, which is convenient, and beach towels, chairs, boogie boards, etc. are there for your use.

I was at first a little concerned there was no air conditioning, but keeping the doors and windows open, and fans on, allows for enough breeze. As is the case all over the island, roosters are everywhere and make noise in the morning. Unless you stay at a resort that's driven the birds away, you'll hear their early morning wake up calls, but it's not that bad.

After our stay at Moloaa Shangrila, we went on to stay four nights at the Grand Hyatt. I much preferred Moloaa Shangrila, and wish we'd stayed there the whole time.
  • Review Submitted: 02-Dec-2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
business
Moloaa Shangrila Private Estate
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p37450vb
-(808) 346-1667 OWNER (Hawaii, USA)
Moloaa Bay Kauai
1

Our personal nightmare

  • 1 out of 5
first of all, the opinions expressed, by my wife and i, are simply our opinions. the owner(s) opinion(s) must also be considered before you make any decision on whether to stay here, or not.

our review exceeded 10,000 characters and cannot be adequately represented on this website. feel free to contact us directly through VRBO and we will be happy to share the extreme disappointment we experienced in our <1 day here. if we could give this place negative stars, we would.

we could only recommend this property to individuals who truly like:

1-getting bitten by mosquitoes/gnats while sleeping
2-sleeping in a bed whose linens were both dusty and smelled like they were forgotten in the wash until we arrived
3-a pool whose chlorinations system did not work and was constantly being filled by well water because of leaks
4-a hot tub that also leaks, has a broken cover and no obvious signs of chlorination
5-a property that you could not lock up for the evening.
6-a dishwasher that, per the owner's hand written note, makes a lot of noise and is awaiting parts
7-the owner's husband/property manager telling us he has been neglecting the property because he is working on fixing up a recently purchased property on moloaa beach
8-the owner's husband/property manager becoming upset when called about the pool filter/waterfall not working, because he was watching the last game of the world series.
9-the smell of a dead animal outside the main house upper bedroom. this smell permeated the entire room, and, since there is no air conditioning, there was no way we could close the doors and still be able to breathe.
10-roosters starting their wake up call at 0100 and continuing every 30-45 minutes. only an issue because you could not close the bedroom doors.
11-no screens on the living area doors. you have to keep them closed to keep the mosquitoes/gnats/black wasps out. keeping them closed did not allow for ventilation at night.

there is more, along with the email responses, from the owner, that we have no idea what we are talking about because, and i quote because "We have 100 percent beauty and love surrounding us."

my wife and i packed up at first light and were off property by 0800 the following morning. this was truly the worst 21.5 hours we ever experienced in our 20+ years visiting the islands.

we filed a complaint with VRBO, but, as of this writing, have had no response from the property owner.
  • Review Submitted: 16-Nov-2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mr. M:
We’re very sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay. We love our home and enjoy sharing it with others, most of whom come to love it as much as we do, so it’s deeply disheartening to hear you weren’t happy. In addition to our immediate email responses addressing your concerns, we replied to your VRBO complaint and copied you before you submitted this review. By your own admission you’re accustomed to hotels and we suspect a big part of your dissatisfaction may be your expectations were more in alignment with hotel environments and not with a private home in a rural/tropical location.
Most Moloa’a Shangri-la visitors have appropriate expectations of rural/tropical locations, as such, they are usually very happy as attested to in the vast majority of our reviews. Most find the roosters, common to Kauai, part of the island’s unique charm with several guests referencing them fondly in their review. We do have an exterminator and take all reasonable measures to control for insects. The guests just prior to your stay and afterwards haven’t reported a problem, but tolerance levels for insects vary and rural/tropical settings might not be the best choice for those with low tolerances.
Many residences on Kauai don’t have air conditioning and rely on trade winds/fans for cooling. Moloa’a Shangri-la has many windows/doors left open to allow circulation of the trade winds which is usually sufficient to keep the home comfortable. This openness also provides a feeling of immersion in the tropical environment which most guests appreciate, but it might not be to everyone’s liking. It has never been a security concern. As for the minor maintenance issues, we were remedying the few we were aware of and would have happily addressed any others but weren’t given the opportunity since you checked out after only one night. The pool/hot tub are adequately chlorinated. We investigated and found no unusual odors; the Kauai flora/fauna can be very pungent/diverse and those sensitive to smells might find some scents objectionable although most enjoy them.
It’s regrettable you didn’t enjoy your stay. We thank you for your review. Hopefully it will help future guests determine whether Moloa'a Shangri-la is appropriate for them and avoid mismatched expectations. We invite potential guests to clarify with us concerns they may have and request they read through all our reviews to get a balanced perspective of what we offer to help ensure it is the best choice for them.
Mahalo
business
Moloaa Shangrila Private Estate
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p37450vb
-(808) 346-1667 OWNER (Hawaii, USA)
Moloaa Bay Kauai
Seattle, Washington
5

Kauia's best

Kauia&#039;s best
  • 5 out of 5
Our family of nine (4 couples and a single) needed a place to vacation together--a place that would provide us with both large gathering spaces and room for solitude. We found that at Moloaa Shangrila in May, 2014. Every couple, and our lone single, each had their own living space and bath. The kitchen was big enough for all the cooks, and the lanai table big enough for all the eaters. When anyone needed alone time he found it out by the pool or under a tree or in his own living space. Plus the house is just fun to be in: tiger rugs on the floors, tiger paintings, prints and sculptures everywhere, Buddha heads, delicate little metal hands to hold towels in the bath, big vases of fresh flowers, and every table lamp was held by a human figure-en. And outside: the birds, the roosters, the lamps lighting up the grounds at night. We walked down to the beach at midnight and played games at the big table when it rained. Cheryl and Mike don't just offer a house they offer an adventure.
  • Review Submitted: 11-Aug-2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Moloaa Shangrila Private Estate
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p37450vb
-(808) 346-1667 OWNER (Hawaii, USA)
Moloaa Bay Kauai
5

Heaven on Earth

  • 5 out of 5
It is hard to begin describing heaven. A 5 minute walk to a breathtaking beach. We snorkelled and used the houses boogie boards everyday. Their is plenty of room at the house for everyone to relax. A beautiful pool and hot tub. We hope to return someday.
  • Review Submitted: 07-Jun-2014
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Moloaa Shangrila Private Estate
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p37450vb
-(808) 346-1667 OWNER (Hawaii, USA)
Moloaa Bay Kauai
5

Just like tropical paradise!

  • 5 out of 5
What can be said about Moloaa Shangrila? Simply put it is tropical paradise! Nestled down by Moloaa Bay it is only about a 1/4 mile from the ocean. It has a river that runs right by the yard and puts you to sleep. Probably our best nights of sleep in years. Privacy beyond compare. Should be featured on the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous. That is what you feel when you are there. The only downside was the house is so big my wife and I were not able to enjoy all of it. Would be a great place to stay with another couple because the upstairs and downstairs are seperate. Kitchen was great with all appliances, silverware, dishes, pans and whatever is needed. Plenty of towels for you and even beach towels to use. it has everything you need to go to the beach such as chairs, flippers, boogie boards. Cheryl is a great host. She will meet you there and show you everything. You will then be ther by yourself and she is just a phone call away. We loved it so much we suggested it to our son if he goes to Kauai for his honeymoon to book it there. Thanks Cheryl for a great home to stay in!
  • Review Submitted: 22-Nov-2013
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Location

×
This owner has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the owner.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental rates for this holiday house on Moloaa Bay, Kauai

Notes

  • Starting at $225/night
  • US Dollars
  • Main House is $225.00 a night for 2, $50 per extra person, 8 Max
  • Main House Wing is 675.00 a night for 6 ($50 per person over 6, 11 Max)
  • Sales Tax 12.25%
  • Additional Event Fee for any gatherings. Call or email to inquire.
  • Holiday Rates Higher. Please inquire
  • Non Refundable Out Cleaning Charge.
  • Refundable Security Deposit.
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house on Moloaa Bay on Kauai

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1) cal king, Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1) 3 extra large fits in a bali opium bed see pictures on web page, Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Video Player
  • Video Game Console ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Confirm Price & Contact

Enter dates to calculate a quote