HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

A XV° CENTURY BUILDING, A PRESTIGE APARTMENT

Brigitte and Stephen Eliason

Speaks french, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps3
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

A XV° CENTURY BUILDING, A PRESTIGE APARTMENT

Photos and Description of this holiday apartment in Lyon - Vieux Lyon Cour Renaissance

Apartment, Studio + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

Equipped with antique and modern furnishings, TV, internet, Wi-Fi, DVD, stereo, with internet radio,an adjustable table, a desk, all done with taste

We just bought a new sofa bed which was specially chosen for its easy use, its comfortable bedding in 140 x 200 and its modern design in leather.

The kitchenette is filled with various comforts : refrigerator, freezer, vitroceramic burners, dis-washer, oven, micro-wave, electric coffee maker, Nespresso coffee machine, toaster, and a water heater. Even if you don't intend to do much cooking, you can certainly appreciate these advantages.

In the bathroom you’ll find our efforts for your well-being. In addition to the shower cabin and the sink, you’ll find a towel dryer, a washing machine with dryer, a hair-dryer and even an iron.

For stays with children, we have an extra bed installed in a cabin mezzanine was if one were on a boat cabin.

Lyon's offerings.

We have also a baby bed, very comfortable and recent model, and cute.

Situated in the heart of Old Lyon, the apartment is near the public transportation, shopping, restaurants and the wonders of the old city.

Walk the paved streets among the renaissance period buildings, visit the recently restored Musée Gadagne before reaching the gothic cathedral St Jean. Then take a trolley up to the Basilique Fourvière and the Roman amphitheaters. After enjoying the wonderful view, enter the center of Lyon for shopping, art museums, symphony or opera concerts, as well as numerous gothic churches, modern fresques and of course excellent restaurants, more than you can imagine.

Public transportation in close proximity : Metro(D) at 200m, Bus (C3) at 100m,direct to the Part Dieu station and the Bocuse market, Bus (S1) direct to Perrache train station. Bike rental and Vaporeto boat from the Feuillée bridge to the Confluences also at 100m.

Keywords: apartment, ancient, renaissance, cour, vacation, Lyon, center, centre, city, comfortable,

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered

Brigitte and Stephen Eliason

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.co.uk since 2011
Speaks french, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Steve is officially a cellist in the Lyon symphony when he isn't helping Brigitte run her rentals and dog sitting. Steve, an American from Detroit met Brigitte in her hometown of Bordeaux. Our son Bryan is starting his career as a contemporary danser.

Brigitte and Stephen Eliason purchased this apartment in 2008

stepping out of time, finding one's self in the XV century yet in a busling city is real treat.

Everyone who has visited or resided in the apartment expresses a feeling of well-being. Some people come back. What more can be said.

Sleeps3
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

Reviews

4.5
based on 14 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
A XV° Century Building, a Prestige Apartment
average rating of 4.5 based on 14 reviews
business
A XV° Century Building, a Prestige Apartment
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p367477vb
+33 689587545
Lyon Rhone
5

Charming, and perfect for the lovers of history

  • 5 out of 5
We honestly couldn't have asked for a better place in Lyon (Vieux). It was the cutest apartment with all the original character of its rich history (wooden beams, stone walls etc). Great size for a couple or even a small family. It was within walking distance of anything you could ever need in Vieux Lyon. But, what I loved best was that it also just happened to be in one of the city's infamous 'traboules'. As a great grand daughter of a French Resistance Member this was the cherry on top. I LOVED this place and will recommend it to anyone and everyone. Also, both Steve and Brigitte are exceptional people, kind, fun and helpful. Thank you for a wonderful stay in your charming apartment!!!
  • Review Submitted: 17-May-2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Deborah, hope to see you again.
Brigitte
business
A XV° Century Building, a Prestige Apartment
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p367477vb
+33 689587545
Lyon Rhone
5

Small but very comfortable

  • 5 out of 5
We absolutely enjoyed our stay at this little gem of an apartment right in the heart of old Lyons. Our hosts were very pleasant and readily responded to all our queries. They were also very accommating over our unexpectedly late arrival. The apartment was well presented, had everything needed for comfort(including a comfortable fold out bed), and has been thoughtfully furnished with beautiful artworks and well chosen items of furniture. It was close to many of the most interesting attractions of the city. We would stay there again without hesitation.
  • Review Submitted: 10-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
A XV° Century Building, a Prestige Apartment
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p367477vb
+33 689587545
Lyon Rhone
Vancouver, Canada
3

Cool apartment in perfect location, but needs a new bed

  • 3 out of 5
This apartment is located in the very centre of the old town within walking distance of all the sites, the wonderful restaurants, the market and the river. The building is truly old and very interesting and the studio is well equipped for cooking and laundry etc. - all the amenities are there and the photos accurately reflect the appearance of the apartment.
The landlords were very accomodating and flexible and they provided lots of information about the city, the attractions and transport. The night at the symphony was a very lovely and much appreciated touch.
The downside to the apartment, that we feel we must share, is that the sofa bed is extremely uncomfortable. The mattress is hard and lumpy and it slopes towards the middle, as mentioned by a previous reviewer. We were forced to be creative in order to get any sleep. The mattress in the loft is probably more comfortable but the loft is of a crawl-space size with a very low ceiling so is not recommended for tall adults. If the sofa bed was replaced with a comfortable double bed and a couple of separate comfy chairs it would make a huge difference.
  • Review Submitted: 18-Nov-2012
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We've replaced the mattress with an Simmons mattress.
business
A XV° Century Building, a Prestige Apartment
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p367477vb
+33 689587545
Lyon Rhone
Tucson, AZ
2

Horrible Bed

  • 2 out of 5
I hate to give such a poor rating because there are so many good things about this apartment. It is in a great location in Veoux (Old) Lyon in a great medieval bldg. in an interesting area. There is plenty to see in a couple of days all within walking distance. The owners were very gracious and got us off to good start. Everything was great until we went to bed. There are two options. One, climb into a hidden away loft bed which felt like a three inch thick flat bean bag, or two, a pull-out couch, which the owner demonstrated and thought would be more comfortable. Unfortunately, it was very uncomfortable. It sloped to the center, was very uneven, and the pillows were awful. The owner really needs to sleep in this bed again.

There are some very cute things in the apartment, the kitchen is adequate, it is nice to have laundry available, and we definitely made the best of it. A really nice perk was the phone over internet that allowed for free international long distance. It is just very difficult to truly enjoy your stay anywhere when it is impossible to get a good night sleep. The owner's options are limited because of the space, but a Murphy bed with a real mattress would have made a huge difference.
  • Review Submitted: 30-Sep-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry and very surprised that you didn't sleep well. We have tried to put the bar as high as possible on our equipment, especially the convertible. The price we paid is an indication. It is the same we sleep in daily at home and the last time we took a vacation in our apartment, everything seemed fine ; we're difficult sleepers. In addition, we haven't had any negative comments concerning the bedding. We will of course do anything that may be necessary to improve our guests' comfort. Bedding though is always one of the most difficult points. What agrees to one client, displeases another.

Concerning the "bean-bag" mattress. Know that the mezzanine is an extrta bedding, and is actually a very thick futon with an over-mattress made of bio buckwheat which offers better corporal comfort.

We think that you were mistaken in renting an apartment rather than going to a 5 star hotel. Even though we provide at least two rolls of toilette paper, some paper towel and some basics for cooking, we aren't expected to provide for the whole stay, especially when it is only for 4 days.

Sincerely,
Brigitte and Steve
business
A XV° Century Building, a Prestige Apartment
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p367477vb
+33 689587545
Lyon Rhone
Woodbridge Va
5

Lyon Trip

  • 5 out of 5
Nice Location Great Price
  • Review Submitted: 17-Sep-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you very much
Brigitte and Steve
business
A XV° Century Building, a Prestige Apartment
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p367477vb
+33 689587545
Lyon Rhone
Denve, Colorado, USA
5

Close to everything in Lyon France

  • 5 out of 5
My friend and I had never been to Lyon, but really wanted to see as much as we could in a few short days. This apartment is in a perfect location, within walking distance to most of the tourist locations or access to public transportation. There are many great restaurants, who speak English, right outside the main door. The apartment is up to date, clean and safe (the photos are current and accurate). The owners (no property managers) went out of their way to meet us at the location, show us all the amenities of the apartment, and help to make us feel right at home. We would absolutely recommend this property to family and friends looking to travel to Lyon.
  • Review Submitted: 17-Jun-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Joyce,
Thank you so much for your review. We're pleased that our apartment helped you enjoy visiting Lyon. We hope that the rest of your stay in France went well and you had a comfortable return to Colorado.
Sincerely,
Brigitte and Steve
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Location

Location

Nearest Airport
25 Kilometres
St Exupéry
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
Part Dieu
Nearest Motorway
1 Kilometres
A6 A7
Nearest Barpub
10 Metres
The smoking dog
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Les Adrets, Le Musee, les fines gueules
Car: not necessary

Fire works july 14th on Saône and Rhone rivers,

La Fête des lumières 8 décembre

Medieval festival 'Les Penons'

Enquire Now Enquire Now

Photos

Photos

Enquire Now Enquire Now

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Rental rates for this holiday apartment in Lyon, Rhone

Rental Basis:
property
Rental rates quoted in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Rate Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Rate
 
Fête des Lumières 2013
5 Dec 2014 - 9 Dec 2014
2 night minimum stay
€415
for 2 nights
From
€190
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add €20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
€290
for 3 nights
From
€85
€505
€1,675
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add €10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

ménage €35
Refundable Damage Deposit €300
Pet Fee €20
Notes Late or early departures may be subject to a 30€ surcharge.
We ask for a refundable security deposit of 300€ or equivalent for which we accept a check.
Extra surcharge of 20€ for use of the second bed or the baby bed.
30€ for an animal.
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Facilities

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Lyon in Rhone

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 430 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Telephone
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Wireless Internet
  • Internet
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 3
  • Queen size Beds (1) A futon in a quaint enclosed mezzanine recalling an old boat cabin., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) An excellent queen size bedding, extemely comfortable
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • sight seeing
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • ATM/bank
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Other holiday rentals

Weekly From £362
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • Studio,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 3
Weekly From £386
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • Studio,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 3