Property is amazing, condo was disappointing.
This was our second time staying at the Georgetown Villas. The first time we stayed in a different third floor unit and were extremely impressed. What disappointed us about this condo was the cleanliness, cross fit across the street and seating.
Cleanliness-The entire condo needs a deep cleaning badly. On our first day we wiped something up in the kitchen floor and the paper towel was black. The bathrooms also were not cleaned to what we would have expected.
Cross Fit-Every second morning we were woken by the sound of bar balls crashing to the ground. Right behind this unit is a cross fit gym. Not everyone in our party is morning people, so this was disappointing when you are trying to relax and sleep in on holidays. The noise usually would start around 6:30 AM.
Seating-The living room had a couch and chair. This did not work for our group since there were six of us. The living room is designed for a party of four.
We did have an issue with the DVD player not working and the owner had a new one delivered to us right away.
Keep in mind that I am comparing this unit to the last one we stayed at two years ago in the complex. I would stay at the Georgetown Villas again, just not at this unit.
Owner's Response: This guest is correct that we did have an issue with our cleaning service that has since been corrected. Unfortunately, unlike the DVD player, the guest never reported this to us until this review and thus a subsequent guest was also exposed to this condition unnecessarily. That guest did report to us and we were able to take immediate action to correct. We returned to our condo after that and found a very clean condo confirming the change in cleaning procedures. One of the major changes was to purchase a floor cleaning machine to eliminate the problems inherent in wet mopping a large tile floor.
We are sorry that the guest did not consider our living room arrangement when making his reservation. He is correct that it is not designed for a party of six to spend their time in Grand Cayman watching movies. Our 60" TV is great for watching movies and we have since even added an additional DVD in the condo in case a future guest encountered a similar equipment failure. However, even though the TV/DVD is an HD setup, it is not a full home theater and we would encourage future prospective guests to review the pictures of our condo to determine if the arrangement works well for their party's expectations.
We regret that noise from the gym across the street behind the condo occurred during this guest's stay. We wish they had reported this to us at the time so we could have known and reported to our property managers who have successfully worked with the authorities in the past to control.
Helpful votes: 2/2
Did you find this review helpful?