HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

CHARMING ANINI BEACH HOME ONLY 85 SECS STROLL TO THE WATER

Leslie Weatherwax

Advertiser since: 2004
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Leslie Weatherwax

Advertiser since: 2004
Speaks English
Response rate:
0%
Calendar last updated:
6 October, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

CHARMING ANINI BEACH HOME ONLY 85 SECS STROLL TO THE WATER

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday home in Anini Beach - Anini Ohana Hale

House, 2 bedrooms and two baths with additional den, large backyard

Anini Ohana Hale is a private and secluded, cottage home on Kauai’s lush northern shore, is about an 85 second's walk from the water at the more beautiful and secluded portion of Anini Beach and is custom built and comfortably accommodates four to six. This approximately 1,300 square foot house has two to three bedrooms, two full baths, one to two living rooms, a complete kitchen with new refrig/ice maker and dishwasher, and a back porch. With adjacent home, Hale La'au Pohaku viewable at Homeaway website ID #218,676, you up to 12 people. The street address is 3663 Anini Road and it is TVNC-4255

Beautiful mountain rain forest views can be seen from several rooms and it features koa wood cabinets, granite counters, numerous ceiling fans, and now, fully carpeted, complimentary wireless computer broadband access.

The house has two queen-size beds, one queen-size futon sofabed, and a separate couch to sleep a permitted maximum of 5-6 guests (12+ with both houses on property). The complete kitchen has koa wood cabinets and breakfast bar for 3-4.. Complete, free laundry facilities are present in the house along with an outside dining area for 6 and barbecuing. Great walk-in tiled shower and combined shower/bath tub. The home is fully-equipped with linen, beach towels, and mats, barbecues, games, sightseeing and other books, stereo with CD player, VCR/DVD players and selected videos, cable TVs and broadband access.

Directly across a quiet street is a beach access path. In less than 90 seconds walk you are on beautiful, clean, sandy and secluded Anini Beach, noted for its double reef making it one of the safest beach in Hawaii for swimming & snorkeling, kayaking, sunbathing, wind surfing etc. The sound of the birds in the trees surrounding the house is a soothing reminder of the lush forest so nearby. The backyard is very private with many beautiful tropical plantings and perfect for smaller children or throwing a Frisbee.

In conjunction with our adjacent 3 bedroom home, Hale La'au Pohaku (Homeaway website listing #218,676), the homes can comfortably sleep 12+ in 5-6 bedrooms. The two houses are a great spot for a family reunion or other large gathering but be sure to reserve as far in advance as possible to assure that both houses are available for your preferred date

Keywords: Home, modern Hawaiian beach bungalow

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Leslie Weatherwax (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2004
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English

About Leslie Weatherwax

We are Leslie and Bob Weatherwax from Granite Bay and Lake Tahoe, California. We own Anini Ohana Hale and the other home on the property, Hale La'au Pohaku. Bob is a semi-retired Founder/CEO of an energy consulting firm since 1981and Leslie is a retired speech therapist in public schools. Our six children are grown and now we live with the two youngest 'adultolescent' sons and FOUR lively dogs (two Shelties, 1 Patterdale terrier & a new Golden puppy). We also have eight grandchildren, of whom the youngest two are adopted orphans from Ethiopia. We love to travel, and have enjoyed many adventures on every continent except Antarctica. We especially love the tropics. And of French Polynesia, The West and East Indies, the Amazon basin, Papua New Guinea, tropical Queensland, sub-Saharan Africa and all the Hawaiian Islands, we think Kaua'i is the most beautiful!. We enjoy bird and now whale watching, gardening, kayaking, snorkeling and swimming. In addition, Leslie loves to quilt and has made about 30 tropical wall hangings and bedspreads for both our homes in Kaua'i.

Leslie Weatherwax purchased this house in 2000

Why Leslie Weatherwax chose Anini Beach

We fell in love with Anini Beach when we were on our honeymoon 30 years ago! We discovered it quite by accident and felt that if we ever had the resources to buy a home there we would feel blessed.

In the meantime, we rented several homes on Anini for family vacations. Our kids learned to snorkel there, and three of our children went on to become certified divers. The beautiful lagoon reminded us very much of some Tahitian- Society islands, our other favorite paradise. We especially loved the lagoon with its many shades of blue and green, the false kamani trees, the waves crashing over the reef, and the view of Kilauea lighthouse in the distance. By choosing to buy property on Anini, we knew we could enjoy the beautiful scenery, swim, snorkel and kayak in the lagoon, sit and watch the spectacular summer sunsets. We also liked the tranquility of Anini, but appreciated the fact that it's only five minutes or so to Princeville or Kilauea. We've also enjoyed snorkeling and have seen many turtles, spotted eagle rays, an octopus, and many moray eels in addition to the countless tropical fish.

What makes this house unique

Our home is so close to the beach! Just a minute's walk down the picturesque beach path and you're there! It's near enough to bring the kayak, the cooler, beach chairs; although, Leslie often just brings a good book and a cup of coffee!

We love to sit on the lanai and admire the many shades of green and all the different kinds of palm trees. We enjoy tropical gardening and and have plumeria trees, heliconias, anthuriums, hibiscus, and many others. Leslie is also experimenting with water gardening! Also on the lanai is our bird feeder, which attracts cardinals, doves and raucous java sparrows. The big backyard is great for children to play and their parents can watch from the lanai.

Inside our Hawaiian cottage are two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a living room and a 'bonus' room that can be used for sleeping or watching TV. Leslie is always making more tropical quilts and gets inspired by her surroundings) and her enthusiasm has resulted in some of our guests visiting our great local fabric shops and designing their own quilts!

Why HomeAway

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 13 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
Charming Anini Beach Home only 85 secs stroll to the water
average rating of 4.769231 based on 13 reviews
business
Charming Anini Beach Home only 85 secs stroll to the water
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p34068vb
-(916) 791-1212 (California, USA)
Anini Beach Kauai
5

great uncrowded getaway

  • 5 out of 5
We have stayed at Ohana on four separate occasions over the last 6 years. The most recent was in May of 2013. Each time has provided an enjoyable and memorable experience. The house is located in quiet residential neighborhood directly across from Anini beach which provides ideal opportunities to swim with turtles, snorkel and paddleboard without the crowds at the more popular spots. The house has always been clean and has a kitchen well stocked with cooking utensils for those of us who enjoy cooking. A full laundry facility makes it easier for those who like to travel lite also. The master bedroom suite is our favorite with its private semi-outdoor shower and hand-made quilts. Waking to the sounds of tropical birds and the ability to see summertime sunrises and sunsets with a short walk to the beach make this a memorable house for a tropical vacation. We plan on returning as often as possible.
  • Review Submitted: 05-Jan-2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Anini Beach Home only 85 secs stroll to the water
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p34068vb
-(916) 791-1212 (California, USA)
Anini Beach Kauai
grass valley , ca
5

Karen

  • 5 out of 5
My family and I just spent a week here in November, we have 6 and 9 year children. We had a blast. The house is perfectly located just seconds away from a very secluded part of Anini beach. The water is calm and perfect for all ages, either as a safe place for young children or adults that are looking for a quiet place to relax.

We found the house to be very nice. We love to cook, and found that the kitchen was well stocked and clean. The house itself was very comfortable and the decor was lovely, with many beautiful handmade wall quilts. The back opens up to a very sizable yard that is private and very relaxing, the kids enjoyed playing there when we were not at the beach.
I found the owners to be very friendly and responsive to our needs.....Overall, I highly recommend it!
  • Review Submitted: 10-Dec-2013
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Anini Beach Home only 85 secs stroll to the water
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p34068vb
-(916) 791-1212 (California, USA)
Anini Beach Kauai
Where do you live?
3

Enjoyable until the cleaning crew stole our GoPro, sunglasses, and a flashlight

  • 3 out of 5
We spent a week at Leslie & Bob's Anini Ohana Hale back lot house. The place is well built and very spacious with easy access to the beach. Our main complaint was the overall cleanliness. None of the cookware, dishes, or glasses were clean and we had to wash everything before using it. The pillows were filthy and had not been washed after many rentals. The bathrooms were not clean either, with dirt and Gecko droppings doting the sink, toilet and shower. We took many pictures for proof.

We complained to the owners and this was a mistake as we were the target toward the end of our stay. The cleaning crew consisted of a brother of Alicia, the housekeeper, and two younger adults. We had arranged to stay an extra day and they were not informed so they showed up to clean the unit and found it still occupied while we were out. When we arrived from our morning excursion we found them in the driveway getting ready to leave. I should have known something was wrong because the brother was very pensive when I introduced myself.

We explained that we had arranged to stay an extra day and were leaving the following morning. They left and late that evening when we began to pack we realized that our GoPro camera and all the accessories were missing. My mother's prescription sunglasses were also missing as was my son's key chain flashlight. All these had been left out in various locations. We knew the cleaning crew had entered because 1) they told us so and 2) they started to clean the guest bathroom and left new towels.

I emailed Bob that night and called Alicia in the morning. Her first question was did we file a police report. We had not because of our early flight. She said she would look into it, talk with her brother and get back to us. She never returned a call. I also let the owners know but they had an emergency to deal with and could not properly respond.

Bottom line, I would stay there again but only if Alicia and here cleaning crew were no longer a part of Leslie and Bob's housekeeping. My suggestion would be to stay away as well unless you are given a guarantee these people will not have access to the unit.
  • Review Submitted: 23-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Charming Anini Beach Home only 85 secs stroll to the water
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p34068vb
-(916) 791-1212 (California, USA)
Anini Beach Kauai
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
5

What a great little hidden gem...

  • 5 out of 5
My boyfriend stumbled across this listing about a month before we were schedule to go to Kauai. We couldn't have been happier with this place!

This little house is behind the main house which is also available for rent. I hesitate to call this place "little" because its actually huge! It has three sleeping areas that would probably be great for a huge family with kids. Anyways, the two houses are separated by a small yard. While we were there, there was another family renting the main house, but we rarely saw them.

This place has a fully stocked kitchen which was great because we ended up eating-in a lot to save money. There was both a gas and charcoal grill in the backyard which we also used. The place also had plenty of towels, toiletries and random items that came in handy. For instance, there was a small library of books, games, dvds, snokel gear, kayaks, laundry soaps, beach towels, umbrellas, chairs...heck there was even extra sunscreen and bug spray in the house.

The coolest thing about the house the was the masteroom bathroom. The shower and toilet has kinda of a shack roof and windows that made you feel like you were showering outside. Don't worry, no one can see you! It was very really cool!

The place was very neat, clean and had a cozy feel to it. This is a much better deal than getting a small hotel room. Plus, all this space allowed us to relax in different rooms if we wanted to.

The only negative thing that I have to say about this location was the mosquitos. There were a lot of mosquitos that liked to hang out in front of the main door. I got bitten alive on this trip. I highly recommend the organic bug lotion at Longs Drugs. Its not a reflection on the owners, just the location. The north side is prettier, but wetter, hence the mosquitos. My boyfriend didn't get bitten once...just me. I guess they REALLY liked me...hahah

Anyways, you can't go wrong with this place. We highly recommend it. Thanks to the owners for making our trip so great!
  • Review Submitted: 13-Oct-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Anini Beach Home only 85 secs stroll to the water
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p34068vb
-(916) 791-1212 (California, USA)
Anini Beach Kauai
California
5

Amazing time...

  • 5 out of 5
After setting our minds to a last minute vacation to Kauai and not seeing too many rental options, my girlfriend and I were happy to find the Ohana Hale available. The owners (Bob and Leslie) were very pleasant and answered all our questions quickly. Boy, we're we stoked when we arrived! The cottage was roomy, comfortable, quiet and across the street from the beach. Beautiful location and minutes to Princeville. The only drawback were the roosters, but that's an issue across the entire island so not much to be done about it. Overall, we were so pleased with the Ohana Hale and will be returning.
  • Review Submitted: 22-Sep-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Anini Beach Home only 85 secs stroll to the water
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p34068vb
-(916) 791-1212 (California, USA)
Anini Beach Kauai
Bay Area, CA
4

Great location, good house, one problem...

  • 4 out of 5
The Anini location is wonderful. Our kids (4, 6, and 7) enjoyed climbing trees, swimming, and snorkeling at the nearby beach and the house was a great launching pad to explore the entire island. The house was comfortable as were the beds. The kitchen was well stocked but dated. The only problem we had was that when we booked the property, the listing stated that it had a 600 square foot lanai. When we arrived, there was no lanai. The owners responded to our e-mail about that letting us know that they had had to tear it down, but we were never informed about that. Honestly, we wouldn't have booked the property if we had known that given that meant that there was no place to eat inside the house other than a breakfast bar that was not suitable for small children and which only fit 2-3 people. The owners had set up a table in the backyard, but that was impractical and uncomfortable for all of our meals due to chicken noise, bugs, etc. We managed to move a large desk into the living room to eat our meals, but it was cramped. We asked the owners for a partial refund, but they did not grant that, instead telling us that they were returning our full security deposit even though there were food stains on the rug and that furniture had been moved. Of course, the reason for both of those was that we had to move furniture to have a place to eat indoors and the only place to do that was in the living room on the carpet. Overall, we had a wonderful vacation, but would not rent this house again.
  • Review Submitted: 21-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The guest is correct that we did have to remove the large lanai last year due to legal infringement upon the tropical forest lands directly behind the home. However, the guest did not fairly describe the remaining eating options. For up to three guests at a time there is a dining bar adjacent to the kitchen plus for two or so more there is a table we have placed next to the dining bar (see photo fo indoor eating arrangement). Your family of five could sit there and eat together easily Equally importantly, there is a large table for six with umbrella just below the residual small deck upon which the barbecue is situated quite close to the back screen door. The combo of eating options does work for groups of up to five and seems to have worked for all the other clients as there have been no other complaints or even comments about the eating arrangements since the lanai tear-down. In fact, many clients since then after their departures continue to give us unsolicited compliments about the home because of its many very attractive features, super location and high cost effectiveness. See the several 2011 and 2012 comments.


BTW, we did return the Client's full deposit even though they mistreated the home since we had missed deleting a phrase in our VRBO writeup when we purged it of pics and references to the lanai.

Location

Location

Nearest Airport
27 Miles
LIH
Nearest Barpub
2.5 Miles
Princeville Athletic Club
Nearest Golf
2.5 Miles
Princeville Athletic Club
Nearest Motorway
1.25 Miles
Kuhio Highway
Nearest Restaurant
2.5 Miles
The Tavern at Princeville Athletic Club
Nearest Beach
0.03 Miles
Anini is actually 75 seconds stroll
Car: necessary

Board and Body Surfing, Sail and Bogie Boarding, exceptional day or night snorkeling

Anini Ohana Hale is a licensed vacation rental in conjunction with Hale La'au Pohaku (TVNCU-4255 (Special Permit SP-2011-24) Our on-island contact is Alicia Abergas (808-212-8932)

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Rental rates for this holiday house in Anini Beach, Kauai

Notes

  • From $143 - $225/nt; $1,013-$1550/wk
  • US Dollars
  • VALUE SEASON (9/1-12/15/13): $4,695(28 day),$1,350/wk.,$195/nt (3 night minimum)
  • CHRISTMAS SEASON (12/15 - 1/5/14) $1550 per week and 7 Night Minimum
  • VALUE SEASON (1/5-5/31/14): $4,695(28 day),$1,350/wk.,$195/nt (3 night minimum)
  • SUMMER SEASON (6/1-8/31/14): $1,550/wk (1 Week normal minimum)$225 per night gaps
  • $150/wk or $25/nt per guest for 5+ guests +13.37% Hawaiian taxes +$140 outcleaning
  • $350-$700 reservation&security deposit, fully refundable 3 wks after departure.
  • Deposit due immediately; full rental fees due 60-90 days prior to occupancy
  • 25% Discount within 30 day stays-liberal cancellation policy-discounted w/2nd home

Facilities

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Anini Beach in Kauai

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 4
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 2.5 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 2 Large Double Bed
  • Queen size Beds (1) In Anini Ohana Hale with pillow tops, Twin or Single Beds (1) Sofa/bed full twin bed sized in Anini Ohana Hale, Baby Cribs (1) Porto-crib(s)and/or high-chair upon request, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) In Anini Ohana Hale
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • Miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Great access into home and to beach for walking challenged, outside dining for six, Full sized washer and dryer within home, New fully recarpeted, Beach and travel books, Games and puzzles, Full sized/equipped kitchen, Complete linens provided plus Beach towels and mats, two person hard shelled kayak provided.
europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Confirm Price & Contact

Enter dates to calculate a quote