HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

BEAUTY. PRIVACY. RELAXATION. 3 SUITES. OCEAN VIEWS/RANCHO

Nicholas Halverson

Speaks spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Manager

Nicholas Halverson

Speaks spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

BEAUTY. PRIVACY. RELAXATION. 3 SUITES. OCEAN VIEWS/RANCHO

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Ojochal - Ocean/Mountain View Costa Rica

3 Bedrooms with suites (private bath), 4 Bathrooms,

This is a beautiful house with easy access, incredible views and close to many amenities. The Southern Pacific zone of Costa Rica is one of the most beautiful places on Earth. There is very little development in this area of Costa Rica and you can enjoy the relaxation and beauty of paradise.

This home has everything. Comfort. Views. Easy access (which is rare in the Southern Pacific zone of Costa Rica). Year round 2WD access is all that is needed. There are ocean views, ever changing mountain views and wildlife nearby. Scarlet macaws, howler monkeys, green parrots and toucans (to name the most common).

Activities nearby : Withing 20 minutes you can go on zip line tours, horseback riding, whale and dolphin watching, golfing, deep sea fishing, hike in national parks or simply relax.

Shopping, pharmacies and grocery stores are all close also.

Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Events Allowed
  • Alternative Lifestyle

Nicholas Halverson

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.co.uk since 2010
Speaks spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We built this house in beautiful San Buenaventura, Puntarenas, Costa Rica in 2008. We love to watch the sunsets over the ocean and during the day the views of the mountains behind us are simply breathtaking. Our family uses this house throughout the year (we also own several other properties in the development) and we have made it our only 'home-away-from-home'. We hope you enjoy it as much as we do. We just started the landscaping so our prices are little bit less than they will be in the next couple of years. We've planted over 100 plants, flowers, fruit trees, etc on the 1.5 acre lot.

Nicholas Halverson purchased this house in 2008

We built this house with a swimming pool, hot tub, large master suite, on a lot with both ocean views and mountain views. We're from the Midwest USA and love looking at mountains as much as the ocean. The gentle breezes throughout the day are great. We have seen toucans and scarlet macaws flying by as we sit out on the patio. You never know what you'll see in Costa Rica.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

Reviews

4.9
based on 18 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
Beauty. Privacy. Relaxation. 3 suites. ocean views/rancho
average rating of 4.888889 based on 18 reviews
business
Beauty. Privacy. Relaxation. 3 suites. ocean views/rancho
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p282653
+ (612) 819-8154 (Minnesota, USA)
Ojochal Puntarenas
5

Best Ever! :)

  • 5 out of 5
Best Ever

My wife and I and two other couples spent a relaxing and most memorable week at Nick's place outside San Buena; and I would tell you, "Just go!" After a direct five hour flight from Minneapolis, Nick brought us to our hill-top location. It is a beautiful, well-supplied home, nestled in the enchanting Osa jungle with pool and terraces overlooking the sea. The views are gorgeous. Every morning we awoke to the songs of a teaming tropical wilderness and every night heard a choras of howling monkeys and Toucans.

Nick took great care of us. He was our tour guide. He lives in Minneapolis but was there for our week. He translated for us allowing us to visit with the kind and gentle ticos y ticas who were native Costa Rican. He employs his neighbors in managing the property, and he proved himself highly informed and well-connected as our concierge.

Everywhere we visited in Costa Rica's Osa region didn't disappoint. The beaches? Exquisite, secluded. The cities and villages? Clean, safe, full of history, rarely a tourist. The waterways through the world's largest mangrove; the beautiful island just off the coast where we snorkeled and ate lunch on the beach? Absolutely awesome! Most of our tour guides were young, well educated students who were highly articulate in English, could answer our thousand questions about their tour and their country and just worked hard to make our trip special.

We dined in wonderfully simple restaurants where the food and service were spectacular. Markets were small but accommodating. Prices are similar to US but still cheaper. We ate a lot of local fish and produce including mangoes, bananas and papaya from our property. Go! Soak in the best sun in America!
  • Review Submitted: 25-Apr-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway, from HomeAway
business
Beauty. Privacy. Relaxation. 3 suites. ocean views/rancho
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p282653
+ (612) 819-8154 (Minnesota, USA)
Ojochal Puntarenas
5

A quiet Costa Rican solace.

  • 5 out of 5
Wonderful place. Being on the south eastern coast of the country, this area of Costa Rica is still pretty raw and undeveloped. Not going to find any high rise vacation resorts on these hills or beaches.....that is the beauty of it !!! This is a true escape from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet the house has all the modern conveniences and furnishings to keep you comfortable. The grounds are well kept and the flora and fauna right on and around the property will keep you occupied as you enjoy your morning coffees on one of the terraces.

Once you leave the property you will find yourself traveling along the coast or through the hills between local villages that do support some modern amenities like a few supermarkets, restaurants, pharmacies, and gas stations....everything you need to feel comfortable.....But don't expect to find any shopping malls, jewelry boutiques, night clubs etc.... This location is truly about taking a step back and experiencing the beauty and serenity of the land, the waters, and the local people. Perhaps one of the most relaxing trips we have taken. A true solace.

The owner Nick, was very accommodating to our requests as well as informative to region and helped us plan an exciting agenda for our stay. He even did a little grocery shopping for us and had our requested items ready at the house for when we arrived. A +

We will make the trip back here again.
  • Review Submitted: 06-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway, from HomeAway
business
Beauty. Privacy. Relaxation. 3 suites. ocean views/rancho
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p282653
+ (612) 819-8154 (Minnesota, USA)
Ojochal Puntarenas
3

Beautiful house, Fantastic, Private location, stunning mountains views BUT cant stay here after 1 pm

  • 3 out of 5
Everything that previous guests have said in the past is true: Beautiful house with a good size pool, great location and wonderful views of the mountains. However there are no ocean views except in the horizon and only visible at sunset which is just gorgeous.
I found the owner, Nick, accommodating although not always prompt with his emails as he travels but when he does respond, he is generally helpful.
However some pointers and hopefully constructive criticism:
1- An accessible and responsive bi-lingual manager is a must and his name and info should be provided in the arrival package. He should always pick up the phone and respond as required.
2- Local cell phone should be provided with the house. I was only given the phone with the minutes added (which was a thoughtful gesture) after I told them the sim card bought in San Jose didn't work.
3- The internet stick provided may or may not work on some computers. When it does work, it is slow and spotty. However the internet stick I purchased myself in SJ worked fine. SO perhaps the quality of the internet stick should be reconsidered. If possible buy one prior to arrival. My recommendation is to provide more than one data stick so that teenagers and a couple of people could have access to internet at the same time.
4-Due to lack of curtains/blinds and no cooling or air conditioning unit the main floor, it is virtually impossible to stay inside or outside of the house after 1 pm when the sun hits the whole house. The whole place becomes an oven.
5- Speaking of an oven, due to lack of cooling facility on the main floor, it is impossible to cook or warm anything in the house. If its too hot outside and there are bugs to get away, you are stuck, you simply cannot stay indoors.
6- The lighting in the house is the worse I have ever experienced. After dark you feel you are in a prison with all the white florescent over head lights hitting you in the eyes. The nights are long here as the sun sets at 6 pm so being able to enjoy the house in the evening is part of the overall experience .This beautiful house deserves a more ambient lighting.. After all what is a point of pot lights if you have awful white florescent lights that cannot be dimmed? Perhaps have less ceiling lights and provide some floor lamps and bed-side table lamps so that we can enjoy the house more after dark and are able to read in bed.
7- Provide better quality pillows. They look like they belong to backpackers hostels and they have seen better
  • Review Submitted: 25-Mar-2013
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Regarding my availability: The renter contacted my property manager and project manager no less than 15 times as we always have someone nearby. In fact, I offered her a full refund after 5 days (not a pro-rated discount but a full discount) since she was unhappy at the home. She refused the refund.

Regarding Bi-lingual manager: The renter informed me that she is fully fluent in Spanish as she owns land in Argentina. She arrived around 1 am which I strongly discouraged – and made clear to her numerous times. I recommend all clients fly into Palmar Sur airport if they are arriving into San Jose or to arrive during the day.

My Project Manager and Property Manager are bilingual.

A local cell phone IS PROVIDED with a functioning SIM card.

The internet stick was purchased specifically for this client (as stated in the contract) and tested in the office of the cell phone providers. My project manager went to assess the situation and discovered that the client’s computer was quite old and, in fact, the internet stick worked quite well on her son’s newer computer.

We often times stream movies via Netflix at the home via the cell network.

Client informed me she needed ONE internet stick for her trip. Upon arrival she informed me she wanted additional data sticks. This was not discussed prior to her arrival or in the contract so we scrambled to help her.

The master suite on the main floor does have an air conditioner. The entire south-western facing wall is all sliding glass doors that provide incredibly fresh breezes due to the home being situated ½ way up a mountain and with great elevation. We recommended opening the sliding glass doors and windows. Additionally, there are two sets of windows facing the north, another sliding glass door and window facing the east and the entrance to the garage facing north.

Regarding the kitchen: This has not come up before, and in fact, we have numerous photos of clients enjoying the wonderfully stocked kitchen.

Regarding the lighting: This has never been brought up before so we may consider it moving forward.

Regarding the pillows: We recently replaced most of the pillows.

In all this client prefers her home in Argentina. The wonderfully friendly people and environment where this house is located is not for everyone.
business
Beauty. Privacy. Relaxation. 3 suites. ocean views/rancho
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p282653
+ (612) 819-8154 (Minnesota, USA)
Ojochal Puntarenas
Brooklyn, USA
5

Loved our stay here

  • 5 out of 5
My family and I stayed in this house for 9 days over Christmas 2012. The house is great, with three bedrooms each with their own bathroom. An extra mattress made it so that no one had to share a room in our family of 5. The pool is gorgeous and so well set on the property so as to allow for the stunning views to still be seen from it. The groundskeepers are some of the friendliest people we have ever met, and they even went out of their way to take us to find monkeys in the rainforest.'

The driveway is quite rough, so four wheel drive is needed (I was able to get a 2 wheel drive up it, but not easily).

All in all, an amazing stay and we will be back.
  • Review Submitted: 02-Feb-2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Beauty. Privacy. Relaxation. 3 suites. ocean views/rancho
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p282653
+ (612) 819-8154 (Minnesota, USA)
Ojochal Puntarenas
Virginia
5

Paradise

  • 5 out of 5
This property was everything it was advertised to be and more. Nick sent us fantastic directions to the property. We flew into San Jose, but Nick's recommendation to fly into the local airport would save a lot of time and driving. We enjoyed the 5 hour drive through the country, and it helped us to see how the little village of San Buenas was a typical Costa Rican town. We do recommend renting a car with 4wheel drive to get up the hill from the town. Walking down into the town is safe and a wonderful way to see real life. The hike back up is a little steep. Only one of us did this several times.
We were close to beaches and the rainforests, yet safe on top of a small mountain in a beautiful house with all the amenities of modern life AND a pool in an amazing jungle setting. The groundskeepers fixed the small problems that we encountered (leaking toilet). The only problems that were unfixable were lack of hot water in the kitchen and no internet. Being unplugged was awesome, and Ponderosa, a restaurant with wifi, was only 15 minutes away. We boiled water to use for washing dishes, which was an easy fix.
There were lots of movies there, and a good TV on which to watch them. There is satellite TV if you really want to know what is going on in the world, but it was more fun not to.
The groundskeepers were a great help, but they speak no English. They took us on a hike in the jungle on one occasion, and found monkeys for us to see on another. They were also a font of information.
We went south about 45 minutes to Sierpe to catch a boat to go on a rainforest adventure in Corcodoba National Park. The restaurant down there also had wifi. We also went on a mangrove tour another day from there.
The beaches are within 15-30 minutes of the house. We spent time at Playa Ventana, Ballena, and Hermosa. The water was warm and none of the beaches were crowded. All the beaches were north of San Buenas, which took us close to the Mega Super in Uvita where we bought food for cooking. When we went south to Sierpe, we bought food in Palmar Norte. The fruit and vegetable "store" there was particularly nice, and the bakery had both awesome baguettes and a sweet bread (pan con leche dulce) that we bought for Christmas breakfast.
This little piece of paradise was an amazing place to go for Christmas with our 3 grown sons, and we will without a doubt rent this house agin.
  • Review Submitted: 01-Jan-2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beauty. Privacy. Relaxation. 3 suites. ocean views/rancho
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p282653
+ (612) 819-8154 (Minnesota, USA)
Ojochal Puntarenas
United States
5

Didn't know what to expect, and this was exactly what we needed.

Didn't know what to expect, and this was exactly what we needed.
  • 5 out of 5
We had seen the property in the marketing material (brochure, etc), but hadn't paid much attention to the details. The plan was to stay here for a couple nights after hiking and camping in Corcovado National Park; a place to take a real shower and re-introduce ourselves to civilization.

Lo and behold, we enter the property, and atop the mountain in front of us is the house. Nothing else around it other than nature. We drove up to it and were greeted by the beautiful house, striking views of the mountains, pool, and jacuzzi. The inside of the house is very well equipped for confort, with a large master bedroom with a separate tub and shower, and two other rooms upstairs, each with private bathroom. The kitchen has all the basics to cook great meals (we brought groceries from one of the supermarkets in the nearby towns).

One nice plus was that iPod/music docs were available, so we were able to easily play music around the house and outside.

The weather was cloudy while we were there, but the temperature was perfect for swimming, and comfortably cool at night. The view was breathtaking, with clouds/fog covering the tops of nearby mountains.

One thing the property did lack was WiFi, but that's not something we missed, and it's nice to be disconnected from life for a bit.

Nick provided fantastic customer services, was attentive, and helped make the whole experience seamless and memorable.
  • Review Submitted: 30-Jan-2012
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Location

Location

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Palmar Sur
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Costanera Highway (Hwy 34)
Nearest Beach
9 Miles
Playa Ventanas
Nearest Barpub
2.5 Miles
La Ponderosa
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
San Buenas Golf Resort
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Seafood restaurant
Car: necessary

San Buenaventura is a charming Costa Rica pueblo with approximately 400 people. There is a convenience store in town and you are close (5-10 minutes) from great restaurants.

Next door to a golf course

5 minutes from a new hospital

1 mile from the highway

Two tilapia restaurants within 10 minutes

Close to deep sea fishing, whale watching, beaches, surfing, hiking, zipline tours,.

From the property you will see scarlet macaws flying overhead (lapas), toucans and parakeets. In the early morning and at dusk you will be able to listen to the howler monkeys.

This property has both incredible ocean views as well as ever changing mountain views.

Other Activities: Shopping, zipline tours, canopy tours, scuba, whale watching, nature hikes

Golf: San Buenas Golf Resort is located next door. It is a private club but access is available with this rental.

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Rental rates for this holiday house in Ojochal, Puntarenas

Notes

  • From $950/wk US Dollars
  • Visa, MasterCard and Discover accepted.
    Wire transfers to banks in either the USA or Costa Rica.
  • Ask to confirm pricing - we have occasional discounts.
    Dates Available: Year Round

Facilities

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Ojochal in Puntarenas

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accepts credit card
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • mountain
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Safe
  • PC
  • Hair Dryer
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Activities Guide
  • Filtered Water
  • Parking
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Alarm Clock
  • Laundry Soap
  • Paper Towels
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Blender
  • Ice Maker
  • Stove
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Kitchen ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Full 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Full 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Full 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Full 4 - Toilet
  • Master bedroom has dual sinks (on mainfloor)
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Mainfloor - handicap accessible
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Extra twin bed and two couches available. A pack-n-play crib is also available. Master bedroom is handicap accessible
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Radio
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Games
  • Toys
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • Video Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Music Library ...
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck Chairs
  • Golf Clubs
  • Binoculars
  • veranda
  • Garden
  • Terrace
  • Balcony ...
  • Wood Decking
  • Veranda
  • Patio
  • Gazebo ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • pets not allowed ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Alternative Lifestyle
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
Attractions:
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • restaurants
  • churches
  • waterfalls
  • forests
  • rain forests
  • botanical garden
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • Horseshoes
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • Wildlife Viewing
  • scenic drives
  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • eco tourism
  • walking
  • beachcombing
  • horse riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • groceries
  • medical services
  • Babysitter
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • Kayaking
  • freshwater fishing
  • surf fishing
  • whitewater rafting
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • mountain biking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • fishing
  • rafting
  • snorkelling
  • golf pass optional
  • deepsea fishing
  • hiking
  • cycling
  • diving
Notes:
All bedrooms have iPhone alarm clock chargers. 3G cell signal at the house.