HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

BEAUTY. PRIVACY. RELAXATION. 3 SUITES. OCEAN VIEWS/RANCHO

Nicholas Halverson

Advertiser since: 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English, Spanish
People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Manager

Nicholas Halverson

Advertiser since: 2010
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
4 March, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

BEAUTY. PRIVACY. RELAXATION. 3 SUITES. OCEAN VIEWS/RANCHO

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Ojochal - Ocean/Mountain View Costa Rica

3 Bedrooms with suites (private bath), 4 Bathrooms,

This is a beautiful house with easy access, incredible views and close to many amenities. The Southern Pacific zone of Costa Rica is one of the most beautiful places on Earth. There is very little development in this area of Costa Rica and you can enjoy the relaxation and beauty of paradise.

This home has everything. Comfort. Views. Easy access (which is rare in the Southern Pacific zone of Costa Rica). Year round 2WD access is all that is needed. There are ocean views, ever changing mountain views and wildlife nearby. Scarlet macaws, howler monkeys, green parrots and toucans (to name the most common).

Activities nearby : Withing 20 minutes you can go on zip line tours, horseback riding, whale and dolphin watching, golfing, deep sea fishing, hike in national parks or simply relax.

Shopping, pharmacies and grocery stores are all close also.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Alternative Lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Nicholas Halverson (Property Manager)
Advertiser since: 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
4 March, 2015

About Nicholas Halverson

We built this house in beautiful San Buenaventura, Puntarenas, Costa Rica in 2008. We love to watch the sunsets over the ocean and during the day the views of the mountains behind us are simply breathtaking. Our family uses this house throughout the year (we also own several other properties in the development) and we have made it our only 'home-away-from-home'. We hope you enjoy it as much as we do. We just started the landscaping so our prices are little bit less than they will be in the next couple of years. We've planted over 100 plants, flowers, fruit trees, etc on the 1.5 acre lot.

Nicholas Halverson purchased this house in 2008

Why Nicholas Halverson chose Ojochal

We built this house with a swimming pool, hot tub, large master suite, on a lot with both ocean views and mountain views. We're from the Midwest USA and love looking at mountains as much as the ocean. The gentle breezes throughout the day are great. We have seen toucans and scarlet macaws flying by as we sit out on the patio. You never know what you'll see in Costa Rica.

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

4.9
based on 20 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
Beauty. Privacy. Relaxation. 3 suites. ocean views/rancho
average rating of 4.9 based on 20 reviews
5

Great time in Costa Rica!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week in Costa Rica staying at this home. The scenerie is spectacular, with views of the ocean, the golf course and rainforests right from the patio. The view of the mountain range displayed weather formations as they occurred. The sound of monkey's screeching was captivating!! The on-site property manager was a great resource in helping find great activities and great restaurants. The local golf course was impressive; newly constructed, but played like a mature course. You'll feel like royalty staying in this home, with its spectacular views.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Our November Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We LOVED our vacation at your villa on the edge of the jungle! One of the glorious experiences was waking up to the early morning sounds of the varied birds and the howler monkeys. It was our favorite time of the day. We could always enjoy our morning coffee watching mahogany-billed toucans in a tree on the edge of the lawn. Sometimes we saw Scarlet Macaws. Ornithologists and entomologists both would consider themselves to be in heaven here. We were entertained by the leaf-cutter ants that made an actual path in the grass as they crossed the lawn to munch the leaves of a tree. We saw termite nests, and chartreuse butterflies. We were awed by walking sticks ten times the size of the ones we see in Minnesota! One night while we were swimming in the pool we were thrilled to see a coati emerge from the shrubbery perhaps to eat some of the impressive insects. Our week there was at the end of the rainy season. Each day there was more sunshine than the day before. One glorious day we rode Fran's docile horses up above the villa for a spectacular close-up view of jungle plants and a distant view of the ocean. We saw house-plants like dieffenbachia and Cordyline growing wild. We were within driving distance of a Mangrove swamp, a zip line and the Manuel Antonio National Refuge, and just a few minutes from some gorgeous ocean beaches where we saw hilarious crabs that scuttled into their burrows when we approached. The neighbors of the villa were friendly. We bought bananas from them several times, and when we couldn't find a small portion of eggs at the BM Supermercado we were able to purchase six eggs from a helpful woman who lived on our road. Oscar, one of the villa caretakers, taught us about the Achiote plant and showed us how its seeds make red paint. Guests who love nature and a quiet place away from raucous party-life will love your villa!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 2, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Best Ever! :)

  • 5 of 5

Best Ever

My wife and I and two other couples spent a relaxing and most memorable week at Nick's place outside San Buena; and I would tell you, "Just go!" After a direct five hour flight from Minneapolis, Nick brought us to our hill-top location. It is a beautiful, well-supplied home, nestled in the enchanting Osa jungle with pool and terraces overlooking the sea. The views are gorgeous. Every morning we awoke to the songs of a teaming tropical wilderness and every night heard a choras of howling monkeys and Toucans.

Nick took great care of us. He was our tour guide. He lives in Minneapolis but was there for our week. He translated for us allowing us to visit with the kind and gentle ticos y ticas who were native Costa Rican. He employs his neighbors in managing the property, and he proved himself highly informed and well-connected as our concierge.

Everywhere we visited in Costa Rica's Osa region didn't disappoint. The beaches? Exquisite, secluded. The cities and villages? Clean, safe, full of history, rarely a tourist. The waterways through the world's largest mangrove; the beautiful island just off the coast where we snorkeled and ate lunch on the beach? Absolutely awesome! Most of our tour guides were young, well educated students who were highly articulate in English, could answer our thousand questions about their tour and their country and just worked hard to make our trip special.

We dined in wonderfully simple restaurants where the food and service were spectacular. Markets were small but accommodating. Prices are similar to US but still cheaper. We ate a lot of local fish and produce including mangoes, bananas and papaya from our property. Go! Soak in the best sun in America!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 25, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
5

A quiet Costa Rican solace.

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful place. Being on the south eastern coast of the country, this area of Costa Rica is still pretty raw and undeveloped. Not going to find any high rise vacation resorts on these hills or beaches.....that is the beauty of it !!! This is a true escape from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet the house has all the modern conveniences and furnishings to keep you comfortable. The grounds are well kept and the flora and fauna right on and around the property will keep you occupied as you enjoy your morning coffees on one of the terraces.

Once you leave the property you will find yourself traveling along the coast or through the hills between local villages that do support some modern amenities like a few supermarkets, restaurants, pharmacies, and gas stations....everything you need to feel comfortable.....But don't expect to find any shopping malls, jewelry boutiques, night clubs etc.... This location is truly about taking a step back and experiencing the beauty and serenity of the land, the waters, and the local people. Perhaps one of the most relaxing trips we have taken. A true solace.

The owner Nick, was very accommodating to our requests as well as informative to region and helped us plan an exciting agenda for our stay. He even did a little grocery shopping for us and had our requested items ready at the house for when we arrived. A +

We will make the trip back here again.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 6, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
3

Beautiful house, Fantastic, Private location, stunning mountains views BUT cant stay here after 1 pm

  • 3 of 5

Everything that previous guests have said in the past is true: Beautiful house with a good size pool, great location and wonderful views of the mountains. However there are no ocean views except in the horizon and only visible at sunset which is just gorgeous.

I found the owner, Nick, accommodating although not always prompt with his emails as he travels but when he does respond, he is generally helpful.

However some pointers and hopefully constructive criticism:

1- An accessible and responsive bi-lingual manager is a must and his name and info should be provided in the arrival package. He should always pick up the phone and respond as required.

2- Local cell phone should be provided with the house. I was only given the phone with the minutes added (which was a thoughtful gesture) after I told them the sim card bought in San Jose didn't work.

3- The internet stick provided may or may not work on some computers. When it does work, it is slow and spotty. However the internet stick I purchased myself in SJ worked fine. SO perhaps the quality of the internet stick should be reconsidered. If possible buy one prior to arrival. My recommendation is to provide more than one data stick so that teenagers and a couple of people could have access to internet at the same time.

4-Due to lack of curtains/blinds and no cooling or air conditioning unit the main floor, it is virtually impossible to stay inside or outside of the house after 1 pm when the sun hits the whole house. The whole place becomes an oven.

5- Speaking of an oven, due to lack of cooling facility on the main floor, it is impossible to cook or warm anything in the house. If its too hot outside and there are bugs to get away, you are stuck, you simply cannot stay indoors.

6- The lighting in the house is the worse I have ever experienced. After dark you feel you are in a prison with all the white florescent over head lights hitting you in the eyes. The nights are long here as the sun sets at 6 pm so being able to enjoy the house in the evening is part of the overall experience .This beautiful house deserves a more ambient lighting.. After all what is a point of pot lights if you have awful white florescent lights that cannot be dimmed? Perhaps have less ceiling lights and provide some floor lamps and bed-side table lamps so that we can enjoy the house more after dark and are able to read in bed.

7- Provide better quality pillows. They look like they belong to backpackers hostels and they have seen better

  • Review Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Regarding my availability: The renter contacted my property manager and project manager no less than 15 times as we always have someone nearby. In fact, I offered her a full refund after 5 days (not a pro-rated discount but a full discount) since she was unhappy at the home. She refused the refund. Regarding Bi-lingual manager: The renter informed me that she is fully fluent in Spanish as she owns land in Argentina. She arrived around 1 am which I strongly discouraged – and made clear to her numerous times. I recommend all clients fly into Palmar Sur airport if they are arriving into San Jose or to arrive during the day. My Project Manager and Property Manager are bilingual. A local cell phone IS PROVIDED with a functioning SIM card. The internet stick was purchased specifically for this client (as stated in the contract) and tested in the office of the cell phone providers. My project manager went to assess the situation and discovered that the client’s computer was quite old and, in fact, the internet stick worked quite well on her son’s newer computer. We often times stream movies via Netflix at the home via the cell network. Client informed me she needed ONE internet stick for her trip. Upon arrival she informed me she wanted additional data sticks. This was not discussed prior to her arrival or in the contract so we scrambled to help her. The master suite on the main floor does have an air conditioner. The entire south-western facing wall is all sliding glass doors that provide incredibly fresh breezes due to the home being situated ½ way up a mountain and with great elevation. We recommended opening the sliding glass doors and windows. Additionally, there are two sets of windows facing the north, another sliding glass door and window facing the east and the entrance to the garage facing north. Regarding the kitchen: This has not come up before, and in fact, we have numerous photos of clients enjoying the wonderfully stocked kitchen. Regarding the lighting: This has never been brought up before so we may consider it moving forward. Regarding the pillows: We recently replaced most of the pillows. In all this client prefers her home in Argentina. The wonderfully friendly people and environment where this house is located is not for everyone.
Brooklyn, USA
5

Loved our stay here

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed in this house for 9 days over Christmas 2012. The house is great, with three bedrooms each with their own bathroom. An extra mattress made it so that no one had to share a room in our family of 5. The pool is gorgeous and so well set on the property so as to allow for the stunning views to still be seen from it. The groundskeepers are some of the friendliest people we have ever met, and they even went out of their way to take us to find monkeys in the rainforest.'

The driveway is quite rough, so four wheel drive is needed (I was able to get a 2 wheel drive up it, but not easily).

All in all, an amazing stay and we will be back.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 2, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Location

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Palmar Sur
Nearest Barpub
2.5 Miles
La Ponderosa
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
San Buenas Golf Resort
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Costanera Highway (Hwy 34)
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Seafood restaurant
Nearest Beach
9 Miles
Playa Ventanas
Car: necessary

San Buenaventura is a charming Costa Rica pueblo with approximately 400 people. There is a convenience store in town and you are close (5-10 minutes) from great restaurants.

Next door to a golf course

5 minutes from a new hospital

1 mile from the highway

Two tilapia restaurants within 10 minutes

Close to deep sea fishing, whale watching, beaches, surfing, hiking, zipline tours,.

From the property you will see scarlet macaws flying overhead (lapas), toucans and parakeets. In the early morning and at dusk you will be able to listen to the howler monkeys.

This property has both incredible ocean views as well as ever changing mountain views.

Other Activities: Shopping, zipline tours, canopy tours, scuba, whale watching, nature hikes

Golf: San Buenas Golf Resort is located next door. It is a private club but access is available with this rental.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Ojochal, Puntarenas

Rental Basis:
property
Prices quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Xmas New Years 2014
21 Dec - 3 Jan
7 nights
$2,000
 
 
Xmas New Years
22 Dec - 4 Jan
7 nights
$2,000
 
 
High Season
5 Jan - 3 May
2 nights
From
$250
$1,500
$3,000
 
 
May to Sept
4 May - 27 Sep
2 nights
From
$200
$1,200
$2,500
 
 
October
28 Sep - 1 Nov
2 nights
From
$150
$950
$1,900
 
 
November 2014
2 Nov - 29 Nov
2 nights
From
$175
$1,200
 
 
November 13
1 Nov - 30 Nov
2 nights
From
$175
From
$350
Fri, Sat, Sun
$1,200
 
 
December 2014
30 Nov - 20 Dec
2 nights
From
$200
$1,500
$4,000
 
 
December 2013
1 Dec - 21 Dec
3 nights
From
$200
From
$450
Fri, Sat, Sun
$1,500
 

Additional pricing information

Notes From $950/wk US Dollars
Visa, MasterCard and Discover accepted.
Wire transfers to banks in either the USA or Costa Rica.

Ask to confirm pricing - we have occasional discounts.
Dates Available: Year Round
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Ojochal in Puntarenas

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View ...
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Full 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Full 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Full 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Full 4 - Toilet
  • Master bedroom has dual sinks (on mainfloor)
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Mainfloor - handicap accessible
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Extra twin bed and two couches available. A pack-n-play crib is also available. Master bedroom is handicap accessible
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Terrace ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Golf ...
  • Golf Clubs
  • Garden
  • Patio
  • Veranda
  • Terrace
  • veranda
  • Wood Decking
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Alternative Lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • forests
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
All bedrooms have iPhone alarm clock chargers. 3G cell signal at the house.
europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Confirm Price & Contact

Enter dates to calculate a quote