HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

NEWLY RESTORED VINTAGE COTTAGE - ROMANTIC OR FAMILY GETAWAY

Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Janice Whittington, Owner

Speaks english, spanish
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

This owner uses HomeAway's secure payment methods Learn More

Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

NEWLY RESTORED VINTAGE COTTAGE - ROMANTIC OR FAMILY GETAWAY

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cottage in Lake Arrowhead - Whittington Cottage

Cottage, 3 BRs + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps Max. 4 Adults-8 total)

You will fall in love with this beautifully restored, vintage Lake Arrowhead cottage. The perfect destination for either a romantic weekend getaway or extended family vacation.

With its classic craftsman style architecture this cottage blends features from the 1930's and 40's with updated details. Prime location on Burnt Mill Road with a view of the lake, a comfortable walk to the Burnt Mill Beach Club and a short distance to the Arrowhead Village Shops and the Arrowhead Resort and Spa.

Enjoy the peaceful quiet of the mountains and lake. Stay busy playing pool while watching HDTV in the gazebo. BBQ on the outside grill. Walk to the Ice Castle for recreational skating. If there's snow there's plenty of sledding in the backyard.

Use our kayaks on the lake. 1 tandem/double kayak and 2 singles available for use at no additional charge.

Wonderful restaurants such as Bin189 are close by. We provide almost everything. Just show up and enjoy your time away from it all

Suitability:
  • Alternative Lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • pets considered

Janice Whittington, Owner

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.co.uk since 2010
Speaks english, spanish
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We are an active family of five that loves Lake Arrowhead.

Janice Whittington, Owner purchased this cottage in 2009

We enjoy Lake Arrowhead and the classic early 20th century cottage architecture in the Burnt Mill Road Area. We fell in love with this cottage that has been completely restored and preserved.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

This owner uses HomeAway's secure payment methods Learn More

Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

Reviews for this holiday cottage rental in Lake Arrowhead, USA

23 Reviews Write a Review
Newly Restored Vintage Cottage - Romantic or Family Getaway
average rating of 4.869565 based on 23 reviews
business
Newly Restored Vintage Cottage - Romantic or Family Getaway
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p271899
(909) 489-7118 (California, USA)
Lake Arrowhead Inland Empire California
Henderson, NV
5

All I can say is, WOW!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2014
What an amazing cottage. We could have spent our entire trip relaxing in the cottage and enjoying the beautiful sounds, smells and view (not to mention the fireplace, pool table and various patios and picnic table). Everything was perfection down to the scent of the linens and towels. I will be asking the owner what type of detergent they use. We had issues figuring out the internet and cable, but we didn't care enough to contact the owners...who wants to watch TV when you're surrounding by the beauty of nature and tranquility. Even though we were a few of the only people on the lake, the kayaks were great! We drove around for 45 minutes trying to find the dock (Burnt Mill Beach Club) and after looking at the map we realized it was a mile from the cottage (hint - turn left at Bin 189).

I look forward to visiting the cottage again with more family and friends during peak season. It's a great place for adults and kids!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your positive review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit.
business
Newly Restored Vintage Cottage - Romantic or Family Getaway
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p271899
(909) 489-7118 (California, USA)
Lake Arrowhead Inland Empire California
5

Just perfect!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 17-Dec-2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2013
The cabin is just perfect and Janice was very responsive. My husband, son and dog decided to get away for a last minute trip. We were lucky enough to enough snow to get to sled around the property. From the moment we walked in, we felt at home. The game room is fantastic, and allowed us to have privacy if needed. I highly recommend this vintage cottage for a romantic or family getaway alike.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! I appreciate your kind review.

JW
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Newly Restored Vintage Cottage - Romantic or Family Getaway
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p271899
(909) 489-7118 (California, USA)
Lake Arrowhead Inland Empire California
5

Owners are very Responsive!-A Wonderful stay!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 10-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2012
Please read this if you read the two star review, as we stayed right before them! We were super excited to rent this home before Christmas 2012! Unlike the previous review, this is great cabin, the outside stairs are steep and we had no problem in the snow, there is a sturdy hand rail and I felt safe even with a bum knee, take it slow! We had a few concerns during our stay, one is TV cable not working or we just could not figure it out, and ran out of kitchen towels. We called the owner and they were very responsive, came out to show us how the TV works, and brought a bunch of new towels. Now that is service, but you need to ask, communicate if you have questions! Overall our girls and my husband and I enjoyed everything about the cabin, we were warm inside with snow flakes falling outside...beautiful! The pool room is a blast, the portable heater did not take long to heat up the space! One more comment, we have rented many homes and looked at a lot of properties online and we are discerning about the homes we rent, this met our high expectations and we are planning on coming back!
Thank you Janice!
Owner's Response: Kristen,

Thank you, thank you, thank you for your kind review! We really appreciate you sharing your experience staying at our cottage. You made our day!!

JW
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Newly Restored Vintage Cottage - Romantic or Family Getaway
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p271899
(909) 489-7118 (California, USA)
Lake Arrowhead Inland Empire California
2

Not worth the money

  • 2 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 04-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2012
We rented this home for christmas in 2012 for a small family get together..we were disappointed with this rental property for several reasons: 1. The stairs leading to the house are very steep and a serious hazzard for anyone over 65 but also for young children in any weather condition, especially when it freezes. 2. Lack of basic supplies such as towels, toilet paper, dishwasher liquid etc, 3. The game room has no heater and all of the lights were not working so were unable to use it. 4. Getting a phone call at 8 am on day of departure to tell us to vacate the property on time was somewhat discourteous, especially since we packed everything up the night before and the owners's brother, who also happens to live next door, knew we were planning on an early drive off the mountain due to weather condition 5. We have rented vacation homes for over 15 yrs and never stayed in a rental where several doors/cabinets were locked... doesn't give you a very cozy feeling and made us feel intrusive. Overall, I cannot recommend this rental. There are many other vacation rentals to choose from.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is both surprising and disappointing to receive this review so long (nearly 8 months)after your stay at our cottage. We had no idea that you had any of these concerns. We always encourage our guests to call/text or email us during their stay if they have any questions or concerns. Had you called us we could have directed you to the correct wall switch to turn the heater and lights on inside the gazebo/game room, or instructed our housekeeper to come by if you felt like any of the linens and supplies were running low.

In the description of our listing and the accompanying pictures/video we try our best to accurately describe and represent the cottage, including the stairs at the front of the cottage that lead down from the street. In the winter we make sure there is a good supply of ice melt/salt available to prevent icing of the stairs. If it snows a gentleman comes by to remove the snow from the stairways and parking areas. Our winter guests usually welcome and often hope for snowy, winter weather but they also understand that winter weather is a challenge that requires extra care and caution.

We do not telephone our guests to remind them about checkout time. However, we do occasionally send a reminder email or text message on days when guests are scheduled to check-out in the morning and other guests check-in the same day in the afternoon. This is done as a courtesy message to help ensure that there is ample time to clean and prepare the cottage between stays.

Clearly you perceive your stay at our cottage as not measuring up to the excellent standard that we strive for. For that we are sorry!! We only wish we had the opportunity to address these issues during your stay rather than so long after the fact.

JW
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Newly Restored Vintage Cottage - Romantic or Family Getaway
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p271899
(909) 489-7118 (California, USA)
Lake Arrowhead Inland Empire California
Tucson, Arizona
5

Perfect place, perfect week!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 01-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
Look at the pictures, watch the video, read the description—you still won't get just how wonderful this place is. My husband, our 17-year-old daughter, her best friend, my sister and her husband, and I, stayed here for a glorious week in July. Between the many decks and comfortable outdoor spaces, the warmth of the great room, and the myriad little touches that seemed to be where you needed them, when you needed them. There are books to borrow tucked into every room, a kitchen that provided everything our foodie group desired, firm mattresses with high-end linens . . . and the Pool House. I cannot express how wonderful the Pool House was, drawing the entire group together nightly to play, and laugh, and talk. The location is terrific—a large supermarket is less than 5 minutes away in Lake Arrowhead Village, you can walk to the lake (down a steep hill so be prepared for the return journey), there is great shopping, wonderful hiking, enough to keep very busy, or those wonderful outdoor spaces around the house to kick back and read and read and read. We did both. Truly, this is a gem, and we hope to return as soon as we can!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review!! I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your visit to Lake Arrowhead.
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Location

Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Burnt Mill Beach Club
Nearest Barpub
0.02 Miles
Lake Arrowhead Resort
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Snow Valley
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
BIN 189
Car: necessary

San Bernardino Mountains, Inland Empire, California

Other Activities: ice skating, kayaking

Enquire Now Enquire Now

Photos

Enquire Now Enquire Now

Availability & Rates

Rental rates for this holiday cottage in Lake Arrowhead, Inland Empire California

Rental Basis:
property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Rate Minimum Stay
 
Memorial Day Weekend
23 May 2014 - 25 May 2014
$1,050
3 nights
 
 
Summer
1 Jun 2014 - 5 Sep 2014
$260
$319
Fri,Sat
$1,694
2 nights
 
 
4th of July
3 Jul 2014 - 5 Jul 2014
$1,195
3 nights
 
 
Labor Day
29 Aug 2014 - 31 Aug 2014
$1,050
3 nights
 
 
Thanksgiving
24 Nov 2014 - 30 Nov 2014
$325
5 nights
 
 
Christmas/New Years
19 Dec 2014 - 3 Jan 2015
$325
5 nights
 
 
My Standard Rate
$199
$299
Fri,Sat
$1,596
2 nights
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $40.00 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit $250.00
Cleaning Fee $95.00

Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Lake Arrowhead in Inland Empire California

Property Type:
  • cottage
Forms of Payment:
  • accepts credit card
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • village
  • Mountain View
  • lake
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Family
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Adventure
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Living Room ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Iron & Board
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Water Cooler
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Telephone ...
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Hob
  • Kitchen
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Grill
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Ice Maker
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Full 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Full 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Half 1 - Toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , bunk bed
  • Convertible double bed available in living room.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Video Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Canoe
  • Wood Decking
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Patio
  • Walkway to Water
  • Gazebo
  • Terrace
Suitability:
  • Alternative Lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • library
  • churches
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • cinemas
  • forests
Leisure Activities:
  • sledding
  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
  • Shopping
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
  • Boating
  • antique hunting
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • fitness centre
  • hospital
  • ATM/bank
  • medical services
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • mountain climbing
  • Kayaking
  • freshwater fishing
  • swimming
  • hiking
  • water skiing
  • ski
  • mountain biking
  • Snowboarding
  • ice skating
  • mountaineering
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • pier fishing
  • cycling
Enquire Now Enquire Now