HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

BOOK YOUR FAMILY CHRISTMAS AND NEW YEARS GATHERING NOW!

Anthony

Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
People10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Anthony

Advertiser since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
75%
Calendar last updated:
1 November, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

BOOK YOUR FAMILY CHRISTMAS AND NEW YEARS GATHERING NOW!

People10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

Overview

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Nebraska - Lake McConaughy Oasis Getaway

House, 3 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

This spacious and beautiful fully furnished Lake home borders the shores of Lake McConaughy. It is close to nature’s best wildlife preserves, such as Clear Creek State Wildlife Management Area and Crescent Lake National Wildlife Refuge. It is also close to historical Ash Hollow State Park and Oregon Trail. It features 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, living room, dining room, fully equipped kitchen, enclosed patio, deck, spacious grounds and fish/game cleaning hut. This is an exceptional destination home!

This gorgeous Lake Home features vaulted ceilings and windows throughout to create an open and spacious feel. It is beautifully furnished with quality art and furniture. It is heated/air conditioned! There is a washer and dryer, dishwasher, gas grill, picnic table and many more amenities, including Cable TV. The home is immaculate, private and tastefully decorated with a wildlife and seaside theme. It comfortably sleeps 10, but NO more. This property is designed and geared for sports groups, including hunters and fishermen, and families, who love the outdoors activities of the area, including boating, fishing, golfing, windsurfing, parasailing, jet skiing and hunting. It is also a perfect sanctuary, retreat or laboratory for wildlife enthusiasts and nature lovers. Great for wildlife photography and bird watching! Located near the West end in the Marina Landing subdivision, this home overlooks the entire lake, and has beach and boat launch asscess 100 yards down a small beach access road, depending on lake levels!

It is authentic America at its best, right in the middle of the Great Midwest! America the way it used to be a half a century ago. A cosmic relief from today’s society. An incredible retreat to rejuvenate and refresh! An easy 3.5/4 hour drive from Denver, flat and safe highways with lots of rest areas! Check out the rest stop in Sterling, fantastic! No traffic congested I-70!

You will love this ultimate get-away in the Great American Midwest.

Keywords: House, Home, Compound, Getaway, Rental

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Anthony (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English

About Anthony

Hello, my family has been coming up to Lake McConaughy for 45 years! We love it and want to share it with other sports enthusiasts, hunters and fishermen and women, and nature lovers. It is truly an authentic American experience - the beautiful and friendly Midwest at it's best. We enjoy going to Nebraska for the hospitality and friendly people. There's no place like it to find peace and to commune with nature! Lake McConaughy is one of America's greatest secrets! We love it year round, and appreciate the quiet family time it gives us; there is something different to experience in each and every season of the year.

Anthony purchased this house in 1987

Why Anthony chose Nebraska

This beautiful home is on the highest point of Marina Landing and was custom built in 1987, after patronizing the Lake at other places the prior 20 years. We love Lake McConaughy for it's unique body of water which enables any number of water sports, and for it's hunting location, especially in the fall. We also chose the area for it's rural beauty, and because it's the perfect retreat to remind you of the inner peace offered by the beauty of nature.

What makes this house unique

You will love the comfortable home with beautiful furnishing, and everything you need to complete your experience. It offers beautiful views, artwork and custom features. Star gazing at night is the best, no city lights to compete with! We have so many happy family memories there. Beach access is 100 yards down a small access road,we are away from congestion, noise and crowds. There is a huge driveway for your cars and boat. It's the perfect destination for family and group fun! If you seek comfort and privacy, this is the property for you!

Why HomeAway

People10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 17 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
Book your FAMILY Christmas and New Years gathering NOW!
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 17 reviews
business
Book your FAMILY Christmas and New Years gathering NOW!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p240333vb
-(303) 217-1120 (Colorado, USA)
Nebraska USA
Dodge, NE
5

Sisters weekend

  • 5 out of 5
Just wanted to let you know that we had a fantastic time at your house near
Lake McConaughy on the weekend of Sept. 19th. Four of us sisters were able
to make it and we had a great time visiting, playing cards and board games.
We took in the Husker game on Saturday evening and tried not celebrate the win too loudly. Everything was very well suited for our gathering and with information provided to us beforehand, had everything we needed for the weekend. We hope to maybe go that way again in a couple of years. We are talking about trying a new area next year but you never know!
Thanks again for allowing us to stay at your lovely home!
  • Review Submitted: 01-Oct-2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, I hope you find your way to the Lake again, and my home is always open per the calendar! Come again!
business
Book your FAMILY Christmas and New Years gathering NOW!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p240333vb
-(303) 217-1120 (Colorado, USA)
Nebraska USA
5

Lake house family vacation

  • 5 out of 5
Murphy's Law took over our family vacation! Everything that could go wrong did. However, there were two bright spots: this house & Renee! Our family of six adults, three kids + 1 dog had more than enough space to be together or have our own space. Everything you could need was provided, just bring your personal items and you are set. Renee was SO TERRIFIC! We would highly recommend this home for your family vacation. A great big THANKS to both Anthony (owner) & Renee (caretaker)!!!
  • Review Submitted: 31-Aug-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you. Your visit was the first after several upgrades that I did. New Gas Grill, repairs inside the home, just basic stuff, but it keeps the home up. Renee is wonderful, always there to help, and so very friendly! She is a God Send!
business
Book your FAMILY Christmas and New Years gathering NOW!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p240333vb
-(303) 217-1120 (Colorado, USA)
Nebraska USA
Crestwood, KY
3

Needs some capital expenditure!

  • 3 out of 5
This house is clean and spacious. There was plenty of room for our party of five. The beds were very comfortable. But the house is begging to be updated. You can't open any of the windows because they're "old and fragile." There are written instructions about the broken starter on the grill, the breaker in the bathroom that needs to be reset all the time, the windows, etc. Too bad there wasn't a warning note about the aged cooktop. When I was in the middle of cooking a skillet dinner for everybody, the big burner quit working. I tried the other big burner, and it had only two settings: off, and High.

If it's just your house and you can live with the quirks, okay. But when I pay to rent a place, I frankly want everything perfect. It's my vacation! I don't want notes warning me about what's broken! A house is a big investment that requires, ever after, a lot of smaller investments to keep it functional and comfortable, and it just doesn't seem like this house is getting that attention.

I see the other reviews are quite positive. If all you are after is something that beats camping on the beach, then you'll be happy here. If you have amenities in mind like a breeze blowing through a cool porch, or deck furniture, or bedside lamps to read by, then...not so much.
  • Review Submitted: 14-Aug-2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your constructive feedback. A few of the issues that you mentioned were unknown to me. Most renters simply do not inform me of the idiosyncrasies of the home. I will attend to those that I can immediately. The home does have sealed windows due to aging and the poor quality of windows that were installed when the home was built. This home sits up on a hillside, and gets the worst of weather. 60-80 MPH winds are not uncommon, rain, hail, snow. Sealing the windows provides the inhabitants a better interior temperature in both summer and winter. In my guest agreement and home manual I DO explain the situation with the windows and the home in general, so you did know in advance about what to expect. I have nothing to hide, and only wish to provide my renters a comfortable, safe and enjoyable experience. Based on your feedback, the home now has a BRAND NEW 3 burner/side burner grill, the kitchen burner is repaired, and additional porch furniture provided! Thank you for your feedback!
business
Book your FAMILY Christmas and New Years gathering NOW!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p240333vb
-(303) 217-1120 (Colorado, USA)
Nebraska USA
Lincoln,NE
5

Loved it!

  • 5 out of 5
We just got back from staying there and it was totally awesome. The house is plenty big and very spread out so everyone had there space. The cool breeze on the outside deck and view is very peaceful especially when the trains are going by. There are a lot of trains but we didn't really notice it at all but enjoyed it when we were outside.If you do stay here remember to pack your groceries in advance of everything you will need because if you don't its a drive to anyplace close for food. We had already prepared for this and was glad. We especially enjoyed Arthur Bay as our beach spot throughout the trip.The water and beach is clean and refreshing. We will be back again sometime. Thanks Anthony! We loved it!
  • Review Submitted: 16-Jul-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words. Arthur Bay is great, as is Sandy Beach and Theis Bay! Ah, 'The Trains, Boss, The Trains!" :)
business
Book your FAMILY Christmas and New Years gathering NOW!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p240333vb
-(303) 217-1120 (Colorado, USA)
Nebraska USA
5

Wonderful Vacation at the Lake

  • 5 out of 5
We rented the house for 5 days and had a wonderful time. The house is well kept, has it's own charm, and was much more enjoyable than camping. It was so nice to have AC with it being so dry and hot all day. We had plenty of space for 7 people and our dogs. Anthony was very pleasant to communicate with and we didn't have any problems at all! The house was well stocked with extra linens and towels. There were many items in the kitchen that we already bought, but left them for the next person. The Marina Landing Bar is a quick walk down the street and was a great place to hang out at night when we wanted something different to do. The lake water was completely out by the house but we only had to drive about 10 minutes to find water, being from Colorado that was not a big deal to us at all. I could only imagine the views when there is water by the house earlier in the year! Overall we had an amazing time at the lake and will certainly want to come back next year!
  • Review Submitted: 04-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review! I am so glad you enjoyed your time....this home is meant to provide special memories, and I do my best to keep it up and provide all that my renters need to create new friends and build family love!
business
Book your FAMILY Christmas and New Years gathering NOW!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p240333vb
-(303) 217-1120 (Colorado, USA)
Nebraska USA
5

Palmeri home...Lake McConaughy

  • 5 out of 5
Home was clean, in excellent condition, and extremely well equipped. It was large enough to accommodate our extended family of 6 adults and 3 children. We were extremely pleased with the properties' condition and location. We had a great and memorable time. Highly recommend it.
  • Review Submitted: 21-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Location

Location

Hunting, Wildlife photography and bird watchers paradise!

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Rental rates for this holiday house in Nebraska, USA

Rental Basis:
property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Rate Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Rate
 
Winter
24 Nov 2014 - 1 Apr 2015
1 night minimum stay
$165
for 1 night
From
$165
$1,000
$2,995
 
 
2015
2 Apr 2015 - 30 Nov 2015
2 night minimum stay
$410
for 2 nights
From
$205
$1,325
$3,995
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$390
for 2 nights
From
$195
$1,250
$2,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes There is a 20% ADDITIONAL PREMIUM CHARGE for all major Holidays!
There is a one time Cleaning/Maintenance fee of $85.00 per booking. The cleaning fee will be $125.00 for those wishing to bring their PRE-APPROVED only pets! Please add this fee to the total of the nightly or weekly rate!
NOTE!!!!.............THERE IS A 10 PERSON PER RENTAL PARTY MAXIMUM! PLEASE NOTE!.............NOTE!
Check sent to owner. A half down deposit due at time of booking to secure the rental request prior to 30 days out. Full due 30 days in advance of occupancy for rental dates.

Facilities

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Nebraska, USA

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Double pull out couch in Living Room.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Screened in Game Cleaning area adjacent to back door of the home!

Other holiday rentals

Nightly From £126
3 night minimum stay
  • 3 Bedrooms,
  • 2 Bathrooms,
  • Sleeps 6
europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Confirm Price & Contact

Enter dates to calculate a quote