HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Duplex Near Poipu's Baby Beach (Downstairs only portion of House).


Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Manager


Member since: 2007
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 May, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Duplex Near Poipu's Baby Beach (Downstairs only portion of House).

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday home in Poipu - Poipu Villa

1 1/2 bedrooms, 1 Bath, Guest House of a Luxurious Custom Built Duplex

Located near one of Poipu's best kept secrets..lovely Baby Beach. Just a 2 minute walk away from the peaceful quite and very safe beach is the luxury of this beautiful home the Poipu Vista. Ideal for a couple, a couple and 2 small children, 2 singles traveling together, or 4 people who are good friends and have no privacy issues. The smaller bedroom is a walk through so won't work for everyone, but the house is priced right for what could be compared to a 2 bedroom. Please ask the Owner for a floor plan if you have any questions. We want our guests to understand and be happy.

Featuring 1 King Bedroom with private Lanai Area, and a Double Bedroom, a large ADA Friendly Bathroom with Walk in Shower, and a beautiful Gourmet Kitchen with walk in pantry.

Casually furnished with your comfort in mind.

Lots of cross ventilation, for you to enjoy while you listen to the sounds of the nearby waves of the ocean.

Cancellation Policy: Cancellations less than 90 days prior to check in will be refunded less a 25% fee if the unit is rebooked for those dates.

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Ilona (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 May, 2015

About Ilona

This downstairs unit was created by the architect to provide a 'Place for Mom' when she could no longer get up the stairs to the 'main house', it is fully equipted with everything you need for a long or short term stay. No expense was spared and the same attention to detail was given to this guest house as was in the main house upstairs. We love being able to offer Luxury accomodations at this most affordable price. Bigger than a Hotel Room, more private than a Condo, it's like getting the best of all worlds.

Ilona purchased this house in 2004

Why Ilona chose Poipu

Poipu continues to be the area in highest demand of all of our rentals. We like Poipu ourselves and have lived in each and everyone of our rentals at some point in time so that we could have the experience we would ultimately offer our guests. Poipu offers an upscale exerience with the best weather possible while still being close to all the things you need.

What makes this house unique

The comfort and convenience of having your own gourmet kitchen makes it possible to eat, some if not all of your expensive meals at home. Sure helps with the budget not having to dine out all the time.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote


based on 9 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
Duplex Near Poipu's Baby Beach (Downstairs only portion of House).
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 9 reviews

Great Holiday

  • 4 of 5

Travelled with my 2 daughters & a girlfriend so we shared a bedroom.

No problem. We had an amazing stay. Condo is complete with all amenities, great backyard for sipping coffee in the a.m. Great location to all restaurants either by taxi or walking. Walking distance to the small beach but too shallow for swimming. (great for small kids). Overall, a great place to stay for 4 people but be prepared for a small double bed in 1 bdrm. other bdrm. queen, not a problem for us as we are in Kauai !!!!!

Did not use BBQ as it was very dirty & old.

Yes, I will return again.

Location is perfect for all activities.

Carol Bisgaard

  • Review Submitted: Oct 7, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Carol, Thanks so much, it was such a pleasure to accommodate you and so glad you enjoyed the location and the house. We did have a new grill on the way, and it has been replaced now with a brand new one, so hopefully next time you will want to use it. I'm glad that the space worked for you, because as I explained to you when booking, most of my guests are just either a couple, or a couple with small children, but you ladies were determined to have a good time. Bravo Carol, please call me again when you return to Kauai. Warmest aloha, Ilona
Los Angeles, Ca

Poipu Villa

  • 3 of 5

Stayed here with girlfriend for a short getaway. We were initially impressed with the property. Aesthetically it looks very nice. Unfortunately the master bedroom is facing the major street and it is quite noisy. The bed in the master bedroom was unforgivingly hard and uncomfortable. I like a firm mattress but I don't like to feel the springs on my back. The property is a short walk to baby beach which is a highlight, but for the price we saw properties closer off from the busy street and would have stayed there if this wasn't a last minute getaway. Also the floor plan of the bedrooms is strange. You have to walk through the second bedroom to get to either the bathroom or to the master. This does not offer much privacy if staying with another group or children. This is ideal for a couple or couple with a very young child. There was a dead chicken in the yard the 2nd morning we arrived and it took the owner longer than we appreciated to remove the dead chicken (3 days), grant it was a weekend, but not an excuse when you have a rental property. Overall my disappoints outweighed the good. Our backs really suffered. We absolutely loved Kauai and did so many things we were exhausted when we finally turned in for the night, our biggest disappointment was the noise factor and uncomfortable beds!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Effi, Thank you for taking the time to review my property. We are glad that you enjoyed our beautiful island and had a great stay on Kauai. I am sorry you did not find the beds comfortable, and that I was not able to have the "dead chicken" removed as quickly as you would have liked. Chickens are a part of our enviornment here on Kauai and once in awhile one dies, and I am sorry it had to happen in my yard, but surely you understand that I have very little control over this. We alway respond as quickly as we possibly can to any and all requests, particularly emergencies. I am happy to offer a floor plan drawing regarding the layout of the house to anyone I think might be concerned with the unusual layout. It is indeed perfect for a couple, or a couple with small children, and I always try to detail the layout in my discussions with potential guest, but I see you booked through another agency who, apparently did not give you the details. I will discuss this with them to avoid confusion in the future. Overall, our guests seem to be VERY SATISFIED (most are 5 star reviews) with our accomodations, for the rates, but of course we understand you have options and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I am glad that you had a wonderful stay on Kauai and that you were able to manage with the Poipu Villa as your "home away from home", I wish we could have pleased you more, as it is always our goal. Warmest aloha, Ilona

Comfortable, peaceful and beautiful accommodation!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent two weeks at the Poipu Villa, from July 24 to August 7. After two weeks in most places, we normally can't wait to get back to our own house, but with the Villa, we would GLADLY have stayed longer!

The Villa itself is large and open, and looks out onto a lush, tropical garden in the backyard. Every morning we sat with our coffee, enjoying the beautiful view, and the peaceful quiet. We only used one bedroom (the master), and the king bed was very comfortable. There are plenty of sitting areas throughout the Villa, and we took full advantage of them throughout our stay, reading books, playing card games, and watching movies. The bathroom and kitchen are both very updated and spacious. The kitchen itself is well equipped, and easy to work in. We also made good use of the gas grill on the patio. Finally, the adjacent laundry room (which is also available to any guests staying upstairs), was a lifesaver! We used it at least 3 times while staying at the Villa.

At first we thought the lack of air conditioning might be a problem, but there's excellent airflow through the Villa because there are so many sliding glass doors, windows, and fans. The temperature indoors was always comfortable during our stay.

Finally, the location of the Villa couldn't be better. We didn't know anything about Kauai before arriving, but we were in walking distance of two beaches, and one of them (the one at the Beach House Restaurant) has some of the best snorkeling we found on the island. We went there nearly every day, and it was SO nice to be able to walk there, then return to the Villa very easily.

There's tons to do in Kauai, from going to the beach, hiking and snorkeling to visiting gardens, kayaking and eating out at delicious restaurants (The Eastside and Hukilau Lanai were our favorites, and Mark's Place is really yummy for inexpensive local food). The Poipu Villa was the common thread that tied all of our wonderful adventures on the island together, and every day, it was a pleasure to come back to our Kauai home and kick back.

Many thanks to Ilona for being so very wonderful to work with! She was very understanding of our needs, and incredibly responsive!

We're already dreaming of a return trip in the very near future!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 20, 2011
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Portland Oregon ( Go Ducks)

House is better than a Condo

  • 5 of 5

A very nice hose that is easy to access and only a few steps to the beach. It is an ideal place for aa family of a couple of small children as the second bedroom is connectred to the first, so privacy might be an issue. Spacious wiith a large deck thats great for BBQ. The kitchen is acutlly large enough to cook in!!!

The owners are very nice and will work with you to mke sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. The info on the VRBO listing is accurate and you should not hesitate to contact IIona and talk to her about your vacation needs. The only issue is that this is a ground floor unit with a rental above you. So you might hear the patter of little feet but hey everyone goes to the beach all day and are tired at night so they go to bed early. We can tell you from experience that it was not a big problem.


We are staying there again so its got to be a good deal. Hope you have a great vacation

  • Review Submitted: Jun 17, 2011
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Tom, for staying with us in this year and for booking another stay with us for 2012. I agree that the bedroom configuation is best for a couple, 2 people traveling together, or a couple with 2 small children. It will be a pleasure having you again, until then we are wishing you both, Warmest aloha, Ilona
Santa Rosa, CA

The best option

  • 5 of 5

There's no reason to stay in a hotel or condo when you can stay at the Poipu Villa. This was a return trip for my family, and we plan to make it an annual one to the Poipu Villa. It's clean, beautifully decorated, spacious, open and airy, private, quiet, and convenient. Ilona is right there always for any questions or support throughout your booking and stay. The kitchen was so nice to be able to prepare meals rather than eat out all the time and we enjoyed the personal gas BBQ to grill local fresh fish for dinner. Location is wonderful and I would wake up and walk down near the Sea House to snorkel. We love Poipu beach and jumped in the car to be there in 3 minutes. The new upscale shopping center is a 1 minute drive or 10 minute walk, great options for dining, shopping, and ice cream with our young daughter. You can't go wrong here, strongly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 24, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Spokane Valley, WA

Perfect paradise

  • 5 of 5

Poipu Villa was that perfect place to base our Kauai vacation. The house is beautiful and well maintained. It has all of the comforts of home in a gorgeous tropical, quiet setting. It was minutes from the beach, restaurants and shopping. It exceeded our expectations by far. We are already planning for our return.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 11, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Nearest Airport
14 Miles
Lihue Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Beach House, Tortilla Republic, Merrimans, Roy's
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Poipu Bay, Kiahuna, Kukui'ula
Nearest Train
13 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Beach House, Merrimans, Tortilla Republic,
Nearest Beach
Baby Beach
Car: recommended

Golf: Located just minutes from Gorgeous Popiu Bay Golf Course, former home the the Grand Slam of Golf, the Kiahuna Golf Course, and the new Kukui'ula Golf Course


Prices & Availability

From $2,005 Weekly

Prices for this holiday house in Poipu, Kauai

Rental Basis:
per property
Prices quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
1 Apr 2015 - 31 May 2015
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
1 Jun 2015 - 31 Aug 2015
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Bridge Fall
1 Sep 2015 - 15 Nov 2015
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Peak and Holiday
16 Nov 2015 - 31 Mar 2016
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit $250.00
Cleaning $195.00 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.25%
Notes Cancellation Policy:

All Cancelled reservations will incur a 15% service fee.
Reservations cancelled with less than 90 days before check in will be refunded in full (less the service fee) IF the dates are rebooked.
If dates are not rebooked, no refund will be given.

Late check outs/early check in are offered when requested in advance for 50% our regular nightly rates subject to availability.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting manager when booking.
Enter dates to see total


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Poipu in Kauai

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • beach ...
  • Monument View
  • Mountain View
  • near the sea ...
  • resort
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , ADA Friendly
    Outdoor Shower - Shower Enclosure , Hot and Cold
  • All bathrooms were custom designed with gorgeous imported tile work.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Access to private entry and private lanai
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , Walk through bedroom with doors on both sides
  • All Bedrooms have individual TVs and the beds are dressed with tropical bedding
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
  • Barbecue
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Terrace
  • veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear
  • Wood Decking
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation centre
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Poipu is a favorite location because of it's warm sunny days. Less rain than other parts of the island and all the activities you could imagine. Our house is walking distance to so many activities but you will want to get a car to explore the rest of our beautiful island then come back home to your own little private retreat, the Poipu Villa. Please consider your departure flight time when reserving your stay. We offer a 'Linger Longer' late check out option which gives you use of the house for your last day on Kauai with a check out time of 10PM. The charge for this is only 50% of our normal nightly rate, plus tax. This arrangement must be made in advance and are subject to availability.

Partner Offers


Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Confirm Price & Contact

Enter dates to calculate a quote