HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

SKI, HORSEBACK, BEACH, POOL - MASTHOPE, PA

Joe - Please send an email - I will get back quickly.

Advertiser since: 2009
Speaks English
People12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Contact the Owner

Joe - Please send an email - I will get back quickly.

Advertiser since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
22 November, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

SKI, HORSEBACK, BEACH, POOL - MASTHOPE, PA

People12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

Overview

Special Offer: $300 Discount-Beautiful Home-Thanksgiving - Nov 26-30 $999 26 November - 30 November

Photos and Description of this 5 bedroom holiday chalet in Masthope - Beautiful New 4/6 Bed Ski Home

Sleeps 12+. 4 bdrm, 1 den w/bed, 1 loft bdrm, 3 flrs, 3 full bths, comfortable

A brand new chalet with beautiful carpeting, living room with cathedral ceiling, extra large five bedrooms plus loft, three full baths, huge beautiful sun room, kitchen, gas fireplace, washer and drier, front and back decks with grill. Located in a luxury all-year round resort community of Masthope, two hours drive from NYC or Philadelphia. The house is within a five minute walk (0.4) mi. to the Olympic Size Pool/bar/restaurant with slides, diving boards, kiddie pool. Masthope community also offers beach with swimmable lake including boating, fishing, volleyball court, snack bar. That is not all : Masthope community also offers tennis and basketball courts, horseback riding, private access to Delaware river with picnic area. In the winter: downhill skiing, snow boarding, tubing at Ski Big Bear. Brand new lodge with fire places, restaurant, bar, game room, ping-pong, billiard and a stunning views of the mountains. The community is within a short distance from scenic towns.

Horseback Riding and Beach: Horseback riding for adults and pony rides for kids are available for a small charge ($10). Brand new private community facilities. Plenty to do. Beautiful relaxing community.

The house being rented is an eye-catcher. There are aren't any others as nice for this price. It is new and has all of the modern comforts.

The beach is on a beautiful lake. Like all facilities here, it is safe and secure. Community guests only.

At the pools, there are 3 restaurants. One of them is an outdoor Tiki bar/grill. The others are full service restaurants. It is a pleasure to visit and yet the prices are reasonable.

At the beach, there is an outdoor snack bar and grill. Otherwise, there are charcoal grills available at both the pool and beach for family use.

Of course, lifeguards and security personnel are in abundant supply.

The lakes are stocked. The kids will love fishing here. Adults may want to borrow one of the canoes or other boats to fish offshore.

Delaware River: Barryville is very close. So is the famous Robling Bridge. There are plenty of small restaurants nearby. There is a fine steakhouse in Hawley, which is 10 miles away. You must dress. It is a surprisingly fine restaurant for the area.

There are antique shops and plenty of outdoor recreation.

Outdoorsmen: Fishing is great nearby. We have private property on the Delaware River. The Lackawaxen River is a favorite with the locals. Two lakes are each within walking distance. The state park is 5 minutes by car. The reservoir is well stocked. So is the large lake which is 10 miles away in Hawley.

Whitewater rafting is big during the spring and hunting is popular in the fall. However, you must travel to the state parks. Firearm may not be used in the community or in the nearby vicinity.

Hope to see you there!

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Joe - Please send an email - I will get back quickly. (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2009

About Joe - Please send an email - I will get back quickly.

I am a New York professional working in the banking industry and living in the suburbs. I built a beautiful home in a community which I love. Unfortunately, I am often to busy to enjoy this little piece of heaven. So, I share it. It is for rent.

Why Joe - Please send an email - I will get back quickly. chose Masthope

We built this house to enjoy family vacations in one of the best kept secrets in the PA vacation region. This house is new and located on an elevated building lot. Views of the surrounding mountains and nearby wooded property are available from the front and back upper decks.

These decks are on the second floor with BBQ and other facilities. Most of all, the deer visit daily. They love Cheerios.

What makes this chalet unique

This community is the best in the region. Renting this house entitles you to pools, beaches, riverfront, horseback riding, tennis, outdoor sports, play grounds, gym and restaurants.

During the winter, the community becomes a ski resort. It is the third highest vertical drop in the Poconos. Ski School, ski rental, etc. It is all here. Woodloch Pines and the other communities all send their skiiers to our resort. If you stay local, you will have convenience which is not available elsewhere.

Also, renters in this home receive a 25% discount at the ski resort.

All of the other facilities such as the pool and beach are free. Others like horseback riding have nominal fees.

Guestbook comments from the owner

"Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us."

"We spent most of the weekend indoors and enjoyed the large open space."

"Cooking for all of these people was not an issue at all. We loved the experience."

"The beds were comfortable and it is so quiet at night. I got such a wonderful sleep."

"The views from the windows and the wrap around deck are really inspiring. Thank you for making my weekend such a pleasure."

"We will be back!"
Oct 2014
  • 1 of 2

Why HomeAway

People12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

Reviews

4.5
based on 10 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
ski, horseback, beach, pool - Masthope, PA
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews
business
ski, horseback, beach, pool - Masthope, PA
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p239956
Masthope Poconos
5

Classy Pocono Retreat

  • 5 out of 5
After some "campy" experiences in vacation home rentals, we finally found one that was everything we were looking for. From the sunny dining area to the warm, gas fireplace living room with sitting area, we found this the ideal contemporary home to unwind in. Its modern amenities and spacious, scenic layout made this experience wonderful for our family. Nestled just minutes away from the ski area, we found this to be just the right fit.

The bedrooms were perfectly sized and the kitchen was perfect for preparing a family meal. We just love the idea of a clean, modern vacation home located so close to skiing!! We look forward to our next stay with you.

Edmund Duffy
  • Review Submitted: 10-Feb-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
ski, horseback, beach, pool - Masthope, PA
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p239956
Masthope Poconos
5

Perfect Ski and Summer Home

  • 5 out of 5
We have stayed in this home previously during the winter season. It was perfect. The house provided everything needed to make us comfortable. No complaints whatsoever. In fact, the ski lift is just 3 blocks away. Ambitious young snowboarders might walk from the house to the ski lift. However, there is no reason to walk when parking and dropoff are both so easy.

We decided to try the summer experience. It is just as wonderful. The house gave us everything needed for a beach/pool vacation.

This family friendly resort is a great find. Bookmark it!
  • Review Submitted: 02-Sep-2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
ski, horseback, beach, pool - Masthope, PA
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p239956
Masthope Poconos
5

Pocono Summer Vacation Home

  • 5 out of 5
We rented this beautiful home near Woodloch Pines. During previous years, we spent weeks and weekends in Pike County, PA. The lakefront community of Woodloch Pines is pricey.

The immediate area includes several other communities which cost less than half of the Woodloch Pines rates. This community, Masthope, is the best of these other communities. What a bargain vacation for our family.

This house has everything needed for a family vacation. It is large, comfortable and well equiped. We found the home to be clean and in new condition. The staff was helpful and available.

The community gives you a lot for your money. It includes boating, fishing, horseback riding, restaurants, beach, pool, sports and more. Almost everything is included after registration. I do not know how they do it.

I always found this place to be beautiful as a visitor but I did not rent previously. The summer resort experience is excellent. The community includes a ski lift during the winter.

I will be back for the ski season!
  • Review Submitted: 02-Sep-2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
ski, horseback, beach, pool - Masthope, PA
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p239956
Masthope Poconos
4

Great location, easily held 8adults and 9 children

  • 4 out of 5
The location and size of the house was great however it needs some updating in the basement area. It smelled moldy. The double bed in one if the rooms kept falling apart and the kitchen was not well stocked with good utensils, pots and pans. Had to get someone who was coming up to bring better knives and pots. If you don't cook you will be fine.
  • Review Submitted: 27-Aug-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
ski, horseback, beach, pool - Masthope, PA
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p239956
Masthope Poconos
Philadelphia
1

Did not get what we paid for

  • 1 out of 5
In all the years we rented We have never been as mislead or encountered such misrepresentation of things we took for granted that should be in relatively good shape and functional that we paid for:The house is not six bedrooms it is four-and we had a full house for a period of time (the areas where the sofa bed and futon are not “bedrooms”)the lower level is dank and stinks of animal urine and occasionally feces,The oven was disgusting to look at much less use,The cabinet exteriors , insides, and drawers were sticky and dirty, The dishwasher cup does not close in order to wash and the dial for settings was broken off-at least the start button worked.There is not one towel rack to be able to even hang a hand towel-very awkward. There was no mattress cover on one queen bed,one smoke alarm went off for low battery @ 11 pm-when reported there wasn’t even an apology for our being disturbed along with waking sleeping children-it would behoove the owner to make sure batteries are changed as some of the alarms are not reachable at all,The web site said there was a grill-which is true but one would think if it exists that it would be operational-we rely heavily on grilling while away-we ended up purchasing a small one. There was no response to the email I sent about that.A rail from the loft missed my daughter's head by a few inches while she was doing dishes. The ceiling fan in the master bedroom does not work. The main floor toilet needs repair, the hot water faucet was unusable in one of the master bathroom sinks. There were no batteries in the remotes for the tv. There were no directions and/or a map to help us to navigate the community and it is quite large. The community itself is quite lovely. We have rented many homes over the years and have never entered a home without some way to find our way around. When we did finally get to the office the next day they wanted to charge us $300 for tags-a huge difference from a “small fee”. I worked it out with them so that the fee was closer to what was mentioned.It was also difficult to discover that the pool was not “a couple of blocks away” as mentioned and not walkable particularly with small children and things that needed to be taken along.The lake is much farther than was implied as well-although we enjoyed it very much. response "this is not a hotel"!
  • Review Submitted: 30-Jul-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guest:
I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with everything in the house and the community. During our conversations after your stay, you mentioned that the house and the community are beautiful and your family enjoyed their visit. I am disappointed that you did not clearly mention that in your written comments.
Before your visit, I answered many of your emails and all of your questions. If details about the house or community were important to you then you should have asked. For example, the community posts all of the fees which they charge on their website. (Less than $10 pp weekly for the first 8 guests.) I feel that your review does not provide a clear picture of the situation.
The maintenance man and housekeeper do a wonderful job keeping the house up. The grill may have been dirty because the previous renter was rude. However, I am confident that the house is always clean.
I love this house/community and so do our guests. It is quite a bargain as a family vacation and there is a good reason why all of the other guests have given a top rating to our home.
**My father was the owner of a retail store for over 30 years. He is beloved member of the community. Many of his loyal customers were kind to me out of appreciation for his wonderful service. Unfortunately, there were a few that were not happy no matter how much he tried to please them. So, he wished them well and said "GOOD BYE". **
I am sorry that you were not happy but I wish you well on your next vacation.
Good Bye
business
ski, horseback, beach, pool - Masthope, PA
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p239956
Masthope Poconos
Brooklyn, New York
5

Amazing!

  • 5 out of 5
First of all, thank you very much to the owner of the house. Second, this house is amazing. It's clean, sunny, beautiful and comfortable. The community is lovely as well, very pleasant people and many fun activities in the area. I highly advise everyone to rent this house. It's a perfect get a away for every season.
  • Review Submitted: 23-Jul-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This house is like a little piece of heaven. The house and the community are like a refreshing vacation. We love it! The pools, beaches, restaurants, horseback riding and outdoor sports are perfect for a family vacation. We really enjoy seeing others enjoy it too.

Thanks for being guests at our beautiful new vacation home.

Location

Location

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
http://www.summitrestaurant.net/
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Woodloch Pines Resort
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Route 6 / Route 84
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
http://www.summitrestaurant.net/
Nearest Ski
0.1 Miles
www.ski-bigbear.com
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
www.masthope.org
Car: recommended

This house is located in a beautiful private community. The house is new and most of the community facilities are also. During the winter, it is a public ski resort. During the summer, it is a private vacation playground. Pools, beaches, outdoor sports, horseback riding, hiking, a gym, 4 restaurants and other facilities are located in the private community. Nearby are antique shops, small lovely towns and 2 rivers. The more well known is the Delaware. It is beautiful because the federal government strictly controls development.

The Delaware is full of fish and fun. Several companies nearby rent canoes and other watercraft. Fish are abundant and so are other wildlife.

There is a small waterpark nearby and other amusements.

The resort community Woodloch Pines is also nearby so guests may easily visit their facilities.

Other Activities: resort facilities are new and beautiful

Golf: Excellent golf courses nearby. These include Woodloch Pines Resort. Just 10 minutes away from the house.

Ski: Public ski resort. Never crowded. Plenty of lifts. Lines are no more than 5 minutes.

Family friendly ski resort. Excellent ski school. Beginner trails available. Great for kids.

Advanced trails also. Ski shop and rental shop are awesome.

Ski lift is 3 blocks from the house! You can walk or drive.

Restaurants are great as well.

Some other activities in this region:

Bushkill Falls - www.visitbushkillfalls.com

570-588-6682

Claws-N-Paws - www.clawsnpaws.com

570-698-6154

Costa’s Family Fun Park - www.costasfamilyfunpark.com 570-226-8585

Wallenpaupack Boat Tours - www.wallenpaupackboattour.com

570-226-3293

Steamtown Mall - www.themallatsteamtown.com

570-343-3400

Birding In NEPA - www.nepaaudubon.org/birding/birding-in-nepa

Alpine Restaurant - www.thealpineonline.com

570-253-5899

Patsels Restaurant - www.patsels.com

570-563-2000

The Boathouse Restaurant - the-boathouse-restaurant.com

570-226-5027

Gresham’s Chop House - greshamschophouse.com

570-226-1500

Mount Airy Casino - mountairycasino.com

877-682-4791

Mohegan Sun Casino - mohegansunpocono.com

570-831-2100

Ski Big Bear Masthope - www.ski-bigbear.com

570-685-1400

Camelback Skiing - www.skicamelback.com

570-629-1661

Sno Mountain (Montage Mountain) - www.snomtn.com

800 -GOT-SNOW

Woodloch Springs Golf - www.woodloch.com/things-to-do/golf

570-685-8102

Paupack Hills Golf Club - www.paupackhills.com

570-857-0251

Cricket Hill Golf Club - www.cricketgolf.com

570-226-4366

Break up the winter blues with a visit to the Crystal Cabin Fever event runs usually mid Feb - early Mar. www.crystalcabinfever.com

570-226-6246

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Rental rates for this holiday chalet in Masthope, Poconos

Special Offer: $300 Discount-Beautiful Home-Thanksgiving - Nov 26-30 $999

Special Offer From:
Dates 26-Nov-2014 to 30-Nov-2014

Beautiful vacation home in a family friendly community. New condition home has upgraded furniture and electronics. Large dining room table and modern kitchen available for holiday dinner. Professional pool table and all of the comforts of a modern home.

Community offers beautiful surroundings, beach, lake, riverfront park, playgrounds, outdoor sports and horseback riding. Restaurants also.

Rental Basis:
property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Rate Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Rate
 
Thanksgiving
26 Nov 2014 - 30 Nov 2014
4 night minimum stay
$1,200
for 4 nights
From
$300
 
 
Early December
4 Dec 2014 - 15 Dec 2014
3 night minimum stay
$750
for 3 nights
From
$250
 
 
School Closed Ski
19 Dec 2014 - 22 Dec 2014
4 night minimum stay
$1,500
for 4 nights
From
$375
 
 
Christmas
23 Dec 2014 - 25 Dec 2014
3 night minimum stay
$1,200
for 3 nights
From
$400
 
 
High season-School Closed
26 Dec 2014 - 29 Dec 2014
4 night minimum stay
$1,600
for 4 nights
From
$400
 
 
New Years
30 Dec 2014 - 1 Jan 2015
3 night minimum stay
$1,755
for 3 nights
From
$585
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$650
for 2 nights
From
$325
$1,250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Our 2014 availability includes:

except for holiday weekends
Nov 26 - 30 thanksgiving $1,200
Dec 5 - 7 $750
Dec 12 - 14 $750
Dec 19 - 23 $1500
Dec 23 - 26 $1,200
Dec 26 - 30 $1,600
Dec 30 - Jan 2 $1,750
Jan 2 - 4 $750
Jan 9 - 11 $750
Jan 16 - 19 holiday $900
Jan 23 - 25 $750
Jan 30 - Feb 1 $750
Feb 6 - 8 $750
Please send email request to owner for additional rate quotes.

Payments are generally by check.

We also accept CHASE QUICK PAY.

Facilities

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Masthope in Poconos

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • resort ...
  • rural ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , main floor(2nd fl)
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , master suite(3rd fl)
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , first floor
  • Everything is new. Towels are provided. Guests are welcome to bring their own. A washer and dryer are provided. If guests use towels, then they are expected to wash and dry them before leaving. Guests are welcome to use our sheets. We encourage them to bring their own. If guests use our sheets, then they are expected to wash and dry them before leaving. If management company must wash sheets or towels, then they will assess a fee to the guests.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed , bed for a couple
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Loft includes a large futon for 2 people
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , couple's bedroom doubles as a playroom/den-bed for 2 people
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Master Suite Upstairs-bed for couple
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , Bed for couple
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , Bed for couple
  • Large home will easily accommodate 4 couples and 6 children. I suggest 12 people but more are welcome. No pets. No smoking indoors. Large first floor and attached garage. Games downstairs. Large dining room table will accommodate 10. Large outdoor deck and bar-b-que will accommodate 10.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Wood Decking
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski lift pass
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The house is big. It is mostly open like most Chalets. 1st FL is a game room, laundry, 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom. 2nd FL comfortable open space and bedrooms. 3rd fl is the master suite Swim - Sports - Gym - Horseback Riding - Pool - Beach - restaurant - boating - Beautiful Home and Views - Central Air in Summer and Fireplace/Skiing in Winter. These are all private facilities for owners and renters in the community. New Olympic Sized Pool with food/drink service poolside. A pool for the small children also. Outside bar area. Inside restaurant. Adjoining the pool area is a brand new facility including restaurant, inside bar/grill, game room, pool tables, knock hockey, ping pong, etc. Next to the pool is : tennis, basketball, paddle-ball, play ground, baseball field, etc. Down the road is a private lake with: beach, boating, fishing (stocked), snack bar, bocci courts, etc. In the area: lovely towns with charm, antiques, restaurants, state game lands, golf, rivers, etc
europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Confirm Price & Contact

Enter dates to calculate a quote