HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

THE TEAK ROOM - STEPS FROM THE BEACH

beverly howland

Advertiser since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English, Spanish
People2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Contact the Owner

beverly howland

Advertiser since: 2006
Speaks English, Spanish
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

THE TEAK ROOM - STEPS FROM THE BEACH

People2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this holiday home in Haena

House, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Experience the incredible beauty of the north shore at the Teak Room in Haena, Kauai, located in the heart of the most beautiful 10 miles of the island. We are close to Tunnels Beach, and set between two of the top five rated beaches on the islands. Kepuhi beach is 50 yards down the driveway; directly behind is lush jungle hillside, the border to 1000's of acres of private nature conservancy land. All tucked into a quiet, secluded, tree lined cul-de-sac.

Private, comfortable, and luxurious, the Teak Room interior features a hand carved four poster king-size bed, wood floors, and tropical décor, along with an equipped kitchenette and an extra large walk in closet. Outside are 2 lanais with a bbq, and an additional private hot shower, all in the style of old Hawaii. This downstairs unit has its own private entrance, garden views, and covered parking.

Relax to the soothing sound of rolling surf and just minutes away is Hanalei town with restaurants, dancing and entertainment. You can walk by beach the entire final two miles to Ke’e, where the road ends and the famous Napali coast begins. Or you can walk the beach just 300 yards to the Hanalei Colony Resort, for the only (award winning) restaurant and coffee house on this part of the island. Or just take our beach chairs and walk the 120 steps to the beach out front!

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
beverly howland (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English, Spanish

Guestbook comments from the owner

Although we have been married 42 years; this was like a second honeymoon. The accommodations were amazing and so were the surplus of towels. The grandeur of this spot in Kauai, is stupendous. We so enjoyed meeting such gracious folks.
Nov 2014
  • 1 of 92

Why HomeAway

People2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

4.2
based on 6 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
The Teak Room - Steps from the Beach
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 98 reviews
business
The Teak Room - Steps from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p214480vb
-(928) 300-9857 (Arizona, USA)
Haena Kauai
Park City, Utah
5

Ideal place in wonderful location

  • 5 out of 5
This studio had everything we needed in a tidy, spacious, private location. We were in Kauai for a wedding, most of our friends rented larger 4 bedrooms homes. We feel so lucky to have had this lovely place to ourselves. Kitchenette ideal for breakfast and simple meals for two people. Everything was sparkling clean and very well kept. Nice small touches such as a cooler and beach chairs for the beach right across the street. Could not ask for anything more. We would highly recommend this property.
  • Review Submitted: 11-Jun-2014
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
The Teak Room - Steps from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p214480vb
-(928) 300-9857 (Arizona, USA)
Haena Kauai
British Columbia, Canada
5

Comfortable and Enjoyable

  • 5 out of 5
We recently returned from Hawaii where we stayed for one week at The Teak Room. We picked this place because of it's location; about fifty yards from a small usually deserted beach at the end of the driveway and only a few minutes walk from the more famous Tunnels Beach. It is situated about half way between Hanalei and the end of the highway where the Kalalau Trail begins. Unfortunately the weather did not oblige during our stay; the week we spend there (mid February 2014) was unusually wet even by Kauai standards with almost non-stop rain. We therefore spend more time in the Teak Room than we had anticipated and came to appreciate all that this cozy suite had to offer. It is bigger than the pictures would suggest. The four poster bed is unique, the hand carved frame is a piece of art and the bed is extremely comfortable to sleep in. The walk-in closet is a room in itself and accommodated our empty suitcases, back packs, laundry, beachwear and other junk that would normally be spread around a hotel room floor. The indoor jacuzzi and outdoor hot shower were much used and appreciated. The kitchen is a bit small but is well equipped and certainly adequate for two people. We prepared breakfast and lunch only preferring to eat out in the evenings as we wanted to sample some of the many restaurants in Hanalei and Princeville. Having a washing machine and dryer available on site made our stay very comfortable. Everything in the Teak Room including bed linen, towels, kitchen and bathroom was spotlessly clean. Our gracious hosts Doug and Beverly who were staying upstairs during the week were there were most friendly and helpful. Before arriving I had some concerns that a downstairs suite might be noisy because of the sound of footsteps overhead. This proved not to be the case; the only sound we heard was that of the rain beating down outside! The roosters were even surprisingly quiet and choose not to crow in the mornings if it was raining. Because of the weather we did not get to do the things we had come to do including snorkeling on Tunnels Beach, hiking the Kalalau Trail and seeing the Na Pali sunsets. On leaving we agreed we would have to come back to Kauai again to do these things; maybe at a different time of the year. When we do come we will check on the availability of the Teak Room; it is really the perfect place to stay for a couple of any age who want to explore Kauai's North Shore.
  • Review Submitted: 06-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Teak Room - Steps from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p214480vb
-(928) 300-9857 (Arizona, USA)
Haena Kauai
Tennessee
5

Incredible!

  • 5 out of 5
We visited the Teak Room earlier this month and enjoyed every moment.
Only a few minutes from Tunnels Beach by auto and Tunnels beach was beautiful sandy beach with mild surfs the two days we visited. Also the "wet" and "dry" caves a just a few more minutes down the road.

About a 15 minute drive will get you to Princeville and their golf course (visit The Tavern, excellent food and not overly expensive).

This home was located in a peaceful quiet area, was extremely clean and organized, well equipped with kayaks (which we did not partake in the use of due to lack of time), and was just perfect.

Kudos to Patricia! She had the place absolutely spotless and is one of the friendliest people you could ever meet. She gave us suggestions on where to eat and some of what the island had for scenic viewing. Also her driving instructions were spot on!

The property was well maintained as were all the appliances and linens. Not a negative thing to say about this wonderful getaway rental.
  • Review Submitted: 20-Jan-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
The Teak Room - Steps from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p214480vb
-(928) 300-9857 (Arizona, USA)
Haena Kauai
Los Angeles
5

Teak Room

  • 5 out of 5
I would recommend this property to my friends in fact I did along with pictures so they could see what a great place we found. It's 10 minutes from Hanalei and a few minutes driving to Tunnels Beach where we snorkeled quite a bit. Theirs a small General Store just a mile or so before you get to the property but you can stop in Hanalei to get some items for the fridge. What was also great was they have the chairs and pads for the beach and coolers. Most of the outdoor gear that you'd need for the beach so you don't have to rent that stuff. The outside heated shower is great as well as the jucuzzi tub. The caretaker Paticia is wonderful and helpful too. It's clean and comfortable and a great place.
  • Review Submitted: 03-Sep-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Teak Room - Steps from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p214480vb
-(928) 300-9857 (Arizona, USA)
Haena Kauai
San Diego, CA
4

The Teak Room - had a blast on North Shore!

  • 4 out of 5
Didn't get a chance to write in the book so I'll do it now. We had an amazing time at our stay on the North Shore. This was our 10 year anniversary! 10 years ago we stayed at the Garden Cottage on this same property. We wanted to stay there again but the cottage had been booked a few day before. We thought we'd try out the Teak Room. The Teak Room was much bigger and looks so much better than the pictures on the web. The place had everything. And we met Patricia (she will do anything to make you happy and we were happy). Every morning we made our hot breakfast and walked across the beach and ate sitting on our beach chairs. Just me, my husband and the small crabs walking around on the sand. The weather was perfect...it didn't rain at all (we were there 5 nights). We enjoyed the teak room and love its location on the North Shore. We walked to the close coffee shop down the road and to dinner at the Mediterranean Cafe (yummy food). The only thing that stops me from giving the Teak Room five stars is that we could hear the people above us at the main house walking around on the wood floors. I think in 10 years we'll give the Hale Aloha, the main home a try. That way we will have been to all the rentals on this property! All in all it was a blessed time!
  • Review Submitted: 12-Jan-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
The Teak Room - Steps from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p214480vb
-(928) 300-9857 (Arizona, USA)
Haena Kauai
Maui
1

Honest Review

  • 1 out of 5
Contrary to the photos when we booked our honeymoon at the Teak Room, we found the place to be dark and dingy, with distinct smell of mold and mildew. The sheets had rust stains and overall the place was not somewhere we'd want to spend our vacation, let alone our honeymoon. The housekeeper tried her best to give us different sheets and spray the room down with odorizer, but in the end - you get what you pay for. Read the fine print regarding refund or cancellation policy. Had much difficulty with the landlord.
  • Review Submitted: 09-Oct-2011
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please see our past reviews, we have had our Teak Room listed for over 2 years. Our cancellation policy is clearly posted on our VRBO site and then again sent with the confirmation; no changes, no fine print. “Cancellations within 60 days are fully refundable, less 10% cancellation fee, if the travel dates are re-booked.” We take great pride in the cleanliness of our home and have never had anyone comment or say our places are not impeccably clean. Did everything we could for these guests, but the final comment and decision was from the new wife, “I do not want to be in a home on the north shore, I want to be in a hotel on the south shore.” and that is where they went.

Location

×
This owner has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the owner.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $140 Nightly

Rental rates for this holiday house in Haena, Kauai

Rental Basis:
property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Rate Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Rate
 
Base Rate
1 night minimum stay
$140
for 1 night
From
$140
 
 
Christmas/New Year
18 Dec - 7 Jan
2 night minimum stay
$300
for 2 nights
From
$150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Refundable security deposit $100
50% due upon confirmation balance due 60 days prior to check in
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Haena in Kauai

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • King size beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi ...
Attractions:
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • Miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Location is 50 yards from beach which has little public use. Cell service is available. Additional private outdoor hot shower.
europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Confirm Price & Contact

Enter dates to calculate a quote