Services promised were not provided.
We arrived approximately 20 minutes before our scheduled arrival time at a nearby petrol station where the owner was to meet us; we would then follow her to the house. She made us wait nearly two hours in the parking lot of the petrol station (in the pouring rain and with our children and pet in the car) before she decided to meet us.
Although I had confirmed that our pet was permitted unconditionally, once at the rental house, however, the owner informed me that our dog was not permitted “upstairs or in the sleeping rooms.” We had no way to secure the stairs, so our dog had to be with us during the day, considerably restricting our holiday.
Several of the other amenities promised were also not quite as described:
1. The owner refused to provide Internet service beyond 50MB (about 30 minutes of Internet use), although the listing indicates that unconditional Internet was included with the rental. We were told we could drive 20 minutes to the nearest town of Labin if we wanted Internet.
2. The fireplace lacked tools (and matches, but we were prepared), save for a small shovel we found.
3. The "activities and restaurant guides" were simply the leftover maps and outdated brochures from previous guests piled in a basket.
4. The "DVD Library" was a single movie.
5. The house slept 8 persons, but they would have to eat in shifts at the dining table for 6.
6. The house was also billed as suitable for the elderly or infirm, but there were stone stairs to get into the house, and the only shower was on the upper level.
7. The cooking supplies consisted of little more than a single 9-inch sauté pan and a stock pot of such poor quality that we needed an hours' head start to boil 4 quarts of water for pasta.
We have rental everything from farmhouses to high-rise apartments, across three continents, and have never encountered a holiday rental like this. The owners were dishonest and unscrupulous with their listing, and refused to provide the services promised. We only stayed three nights of our seven night rental, resulting in wasted time and money, but more importantly, a ruined holiday.
Owner's Response: I must say that praticly non of that is true. The guests inform us 2 days before their expected arrival that they are considering to cancel their reservation due to bed weather. We explain them that was only 2 days left from the start of the rental period, and that was too late for canceling the reservation for the reason of bed weather (in the end the weather was not so bed at all, it was spring time) so we offered them to choose another period to come (free of charge) but to pay the rental price in accordance to the rental agreement we had, and we tought that was totally fair. Finally, they decided to come, but the lady was very angry and rude, complaining about nonexistent problems, so after 4 days of their stay (the rental period was 7 days) she inform us that they are leaving and that we should return the rental price to them, otherwise they will leave a very bed review (they practicly blackmailed us!), which they actually did! We decided not to return the rental, because we did nothing wrong. I must say that the house was beautiful and fully prepared, even the fire was on in the fireplace and candles on their arrival, and with a welcome pack for everybody. The house was gorgeous, really. Nothing at all was missing! So, not true about the internet, we have no limit wi-fi internet in the house! We told the renters that their (very big) dog is welcome everywhere except in the bedrooms (where is an expensive wood floor), and we thing that this is normal. Anyway, we left smaller and medium sized dogs everywhere in the house, also in the bedrooms, as well. The fireplace was not lacking anything, and the matches where also there! Also, all the activities and restaurant guides where there, all the needed cooking supplies, and there is nothing wrong with the stock pot (everything in the house is practicly new and fully equipped). I would not recommend this renters to anybody. We are 10 years in turism, we successfully rent 3 houses, and we take care about every detail in the house. We want our guests to be happy and fully satisfied, always! The other reviews proves this. Thank you for reading this.
Helpful votes: 11/12
Did you find this review helpful?