HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

The Bon Aire at Greenwood Cliffs on the Shoreline of Superior

Chris Schousboe

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
People8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Chris Schousboe

Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
23 April, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

The Bon Aire at Greenwood Cliffs on the Shoreline of Superior

People8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday home in Duluth

House, 2 Bedrooms,1 Bath, sleeper sofa, Sleeps 4-6, studio, 1 bath, sleeps 2

We are at the shoreline of Lake Superior, ½ acre of land with 200 ft of shoreline. There are steps to the ledge rock below where you can listen and watch the waves and catch the lake breezes. The changing nature of the lake will grab your attention and sometimes create a sense of awe. Since the property is on the shipping lanes leading to Duluth, you will see the huge boats of the lake, and also the fishing boats of the local restaurants.

The home has beautiful views of Lake Superior, the family room revealing a sun drenched panoramic view. Nature is on display through the various views of other rooms. A screened-in-porch, lakeside deck, outdoor seating, and patio dining enhance the outdoor experience. A screened in gazebo also offers solitude and refuge from everyday stress.

The main floor has two large bedrooms with comfortable mattresses and a sofa sleeper with view of fireplace and lake (sleeping for six people). The family room is adjacent to the kitchen and porch. There is also a dining room, piano, living room with original stone fireplace, and a TV room with leather couch, chair and ottoman, and views of the lake. For those who want to cook, the kitchen is fully furnished with cooking utensils and a electric stove and full sized refrigerator.

An additional option is available to sleep another 2 guests, the Nor Hus, our name for the upstairs studio unit. The Nor Hus can be rented in conjunction with the main level. It provides an additional bed (full sized), kitchenette, small bath, large TV, lovely 2nd floor views of the lake, and a deck.

The two cities of Duluth and Two Harbors are within a 15 minute ride. Both cities offer festivals, shopping, and yearly events. Knife River is only 2 miles away and is the site of a large sandy beach, a marina, the Knife River, and the Superior hiking trail. Local smoked lake trout is available for you to buy, and fishing/boating excursions are for hire at the Knife River marina.

For those who want to dine out, there are fine restaurants in the immediate area, and other dining choices from the familiar to the unique.

Once you are here, you will wish you never had to leave. The charms of the North Shore are various and within a day’s drive from The Bon Aire at Greenwood Cliffs. As often as you visit, there is always more to explore. The natural beauty and rugged history are part of the experience.

Keywords: lower floor of home: see review Jan 8, 2011, renter may be on site, studio suite available

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
Chris Schousboe (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
23 April, 2015

About Chris Schousboe

My husband and I live in a condo in the heart of the Twin Cities. The Bon Aire is our spiritual refuge away from the noise and crowding of city life.

Chris Schousboe purchased this house in 2002

Why Chris Schousboe chose Duluth

I wasn't looking for a vacation home, but I ran across it online and fell in love with it. Some day we will retire to the Bon Aire. There is nothing else like the North Shore and Lake Superior.

What makes this house unique

The home is larger than most would predict with almost 1700 sq ft. This allows for privacy and room to spread out. A new remodel upstairs opens this area to downstairs renters for an additional fee.

Why HomeAway

People8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

4.9
based on 40 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
The Bon Aire at Greenwood Cliffs on the Shoreline of Superior
average rating of 4.925 based on 40 reviews
St. Paul
5

The best house and location for a North Shore vacation!

  • 5 of 5

The Bon Aire at Greenwood Cliffs was the perfect place for our family North Shore weekend in early March. The house is in a perfect location with windows facing Lake Superior. We were able to see a couple of moonrise by the lake that were absolutely breathtaking. Inside the house we found everything we need, including lots of wood that we burnt every night in the cozy fireplace. The house is absolutely comfortable and located very close (no more than 15 minutes drive) to Duluth and Two Harbors.

Christine was very helpful in providing all the information we needed before and after booking the house.

We will definitely come back to Bon Aire in our next North Shore vacation, and absolutely recommend this beautiful and cozy cabin by lake Superior.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 1, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your cheerful review. It is such a pleasure to open our home to visitors like you. I look forward to your next visit.....Chris
5

2nd Annual Girls Weekend - Main level and Studio Rented

  • 5 of 5

My girl friends and I stayed at the Bon Aire this past weekend. We had stayed here once before, and we knew then that we would be back. Being UMD alums, we have an affinity for Lake Superior, and Bon Aire quenches that need. The beautifully decorated home sits right on a cliff overlooking the beautiful water of Lake Superior. Despite being a cold winter, the lake is not frozen, so we could sit outside and listen to the waves crash. There is plenty of outdoor seating, a deck, and an outdoor firepit, if that is your cup of tea.

Because we had 5 girls with us on this trip, we opted to inquire about the studio upstairs. The reasoning behind this was really two-fold. 1) So we'd all be a bit more comfortable for sleeping, as the upstairs has another bed. and 2) we were so curious to know what was up there, because we had seen the door before! (curiosity never dies, right?). So after talking to the owner, who is incredibly personable and easy to connect with, we booked the studio. When we arrived at the Bon Aire, the main level was like coming home. We knew where the rooms were and how the layout was. It felt good to be familiar. Then we got to explore the upstairs! And wow! We were so pleased with it. It's bright and the view is breath taking. I cannot say enough about the natural light. Plus there is a little deck, which is really the roof that can be used as a viewing area. It's really perfect. The space had a flat screen tv, vcr and dvd player, and I believe it was connected to the satellite (though I never watched tv). The wifi was also strong upstairs too. The space had a table for two, a writing desk, a very comfortable sofa, and a double bed. Be careful on the double bed though; it's in the slanted part of the roof, so if you were to sit up too fast, you could possibly hit your head. I never did actually did this while sleeping up there, but I could totally see it as a potential. The studio also has a bathroom with a pedestal sink, toilet, and a tub. The tub is deep and also within the area of the house where the roof slants down. Because of this, the tub is a true tub, which you must sit, despite there being a movable shower hood on a metal house. The main level has a shower, but because I wanted to full studio experience, I tried out the upstair's tub. I was pleasantly surprised;t he bath was great! Beyond this, the studio has a small kitchen with everything you need too. The space is bright and beautiful. Perfect add.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 26, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Anne for your review and pictures. I thank you for a frank review as it will inform renters of the expectations. It is a space that is not unlike a boaters yacht, but beyond that. Anyone not expecting leaning ceilings will be disappointed. But beyond that it offers so much more. I appreciate your review of the Nor Hus at the Bon Aire.
St. Paul, MN
5

Lake view!

  • 5 of 5

The Bon Aire at Greenwood Cliffs was an ideal spot for a weekend on the North Shore. The beds were great, we had everything we needed in the kitchen, and plenty of space for four people. The location makes it easy to get to North Shore outdoors activities (Two Harbors, Gooseberry, etc.) as well as Duluth. The fantastic view of the lake from just about every room was a wonderful treat. We'll be back!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You couldn't have said it better Shana. Its just what I think when I have a chance to stay at the Bon Aire. I'll be very glad you have you all back! Cheers, Chris
Bosque Farms, NM
5

Superb rental property

  • 5 of 5

We planned a trip during winter to have a snow filled Christmas. Although we did not get that in Duluth the week of Christmas the Bon Aire at Greenwood cliffs more then made up for it. The home is beautiful well stocked and well maintained. It is right next to the lake with scenic views a wonderful front and back yard. The whole experience was great comfortable relaxing and quiet. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who would be respectful of the property. We will 100% be returning as soon as we are able.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 30, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Myles & Ashley for the very nice review. I was touched when you told me your children cried when they had to leave.I feel the Bon Aire had good 'vibes' and families like your adds to it. Please return and visit again.
Mpls
5

Weekend Getaway / Wedding

  • 5 of 5

The four of us needed accomodations for a wedding we were attending in Duluth. The Bon Aire at Greenwood Cliffs was a wonderful place for us to also enjoy a weekend getaway. The home is beautiful and furnished wonderfully. It's right on Lake Superior and very easy to get to from scenic Hwy 61. If you're looking for a really nice place to stay while you're visiting Duluth or the North Shore, I'm sure Christine would be as delightful to work with for you as she was for us.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 26, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, I would be delighted to work with all visitors to the Bon Aire. I have always been impressed with the quality of the visitors that stay at our home on Lake Superior. Thank you Jim for the very nice review. Chris
5

New retirees

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for the wonderful accommodation. I read reviews before we booked and they said they didn't want to share you. I now know what they were talking about! Everything was supplied and the view was wonderful especially in the morning eating breakfast or just savoring a cup of coffee! We could have stayed there all day but took in the local sites. We have been to the area several times in the past but were glad to get reacquainted. It was a last visit for my husband's 92yr old mother who was glad she came. She always says at her age it's her last time because at 92 she doesn't make long time plans! It was perfect for her limitations, just a little shaky on the steps down to the rocks but she was determined to do it one last time. She was just fine and we will definitely be back. Thanks, Chris for a wonderful time.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 12, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Louise. So glad you all enjoyed yourselves at the Bon Aire. I especially am tickled that your Mom made it down the steps to the ledgerock. Such a special memory. I am looking forward to your return.

Location

Nearest Beach
1.75 Miles
Knife River by the Marina
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

From $166 Nightly

Prices for this holiday house in Duluth, Minnesota

Rental Basis:
per property
Prices quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Regular
28 Oct 2014 - 28 May 2015
2 night minimum stay
$376
for 2 nights
From
$166
From
$188
Fri,Sat
$1,063
$3,479
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
High
29 May 2015 - 24 Oct 2015
3 night minimum stay
$607
for 3 nights
From
$188
From
$204
Fri,Sat
$1,278
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$376
for 2 nights
From
$166
From
$188
Fri,Sat
$1,058
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

House cleaning $40 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit $150
Tax Rate 7.38%
Notes Rates are subject to the number of people renting. Rates are higher for Grandma's Weekend and holidays such as Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years. If the dates selected are significantly in the future, I can adjust to a 3 payment schedule. **NEW* Studio upstairs is available to rent in addition to the downstairs for a rental fee of $50/nt and a cleaning fee of $25. Please discuss with Chris.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Duluth in Minnesota

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Small, located under the slope of the attic.
  • Also a washer and dryer
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 Large Double Bed , Located in the living room between fireplace and lake view
    Studio - 1 Double Bed , The studio can be rented in conjuction with the downtairs.
  • Queen size Beds (2) Full size Bed (1) Comfortable mattresses, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Has an egg crate topper for mattress.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Gazebo ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • Miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
Notes:
Outdoor Fire Pit, Gardens, Sight of Duluth's Incoming/Outgoing Ships, large deck lakeside, lawn and gardens.

Partner Offers

europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote