HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

5* LUXURY HEART OF EDINBURGH! STUNNING VIEWS EDINBURGH CASTLE

Morris Paton

Advertiser since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English, French, Spanish, Portuguese
People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Morris Paton

Advertiser since: 2008
Speaks English, French, Spanish, Portuguese
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
24 October, 2014
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

5* LUXURY HEART OF EDINBURGH! STUNNING VIEWS EDINBURGH CASTLE

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday apartment in New Town - The Walter Scott Suite

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-5)

This 5 star, (accredited by Visit Scotland),luxury apartment has unprecedented views of Edinburgh castle and is available according to The VRBO calender. It commands an extremely central location on the corner of fashionable George Street and North Castle Street, and is surrounded by leading stores such as Harvey Nichol's and great restaurants and bars. It is decorated and furnished to the highest standards.

One of the first flats to be built in the New Town by James Craig in 1790 and directly adjacent to the Edinburgh town house of Sir Walter Scott! Two bedrooms - one master, (with super king-size divan) and stunning castle views. One single (but just large enough for two with a single/trundle bed that coverts to an additional single. large elegant lounge with two large windows, contemporary furnishings and decor with two comfortable sofas and a marble dining table and chairs for six. There is a large Sony flat screen TV with access to Sky and Apple television.

State of the art Kitchen and Bathroom - limestone throughout.

Fully fitted contemporary, luxury kitchen with everything you would expect of a 5 star property and bathroom (both with lime stone throughout) double bath and steam shower, under-floor heating and limestone wet-room. The property comes with access to the private gardens on Queens Street, just two minutes from the front door.

The apartment is situated within easy walking distance of all major attractions; museums and galleries, shops and restaurants and is a five minute walk from a nearby private gym and pool.

It's central location provides very easy walking to all major Edinburgh Festival attractions and has unprecedented views of the closing fireworks festival concert from Edinburgh Castle in the first week of September 2013 (dates TBC): 'The Edinburgh International Festival goes out each year with literally many, very large bangs, in its annual 45-minute Festival Fireworks Concert.

Beneath Edinburgh Castle in Princes Street Gardens and across the road from the apartment, the world-renowed Scottish Chamber Orchestra perform live while a fireworks team based in the castle provides synchronised visual accompaniment.

You need a ticket to hear the SCO playing at the Ross Band Stand in Princes Street Gardens, but the majority of spectators tune into local radio to hear the live broadcast and watch the pyrotechnians paint the sky in explosive colour. There's not a better view than from the windows of the master bedroom!!

Please email for further information and rates or booking details in the first instance - DATES ARE STILL AVAILABLE ON FIRST COME BASIS!.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Morris Paton (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English, French, Spanish, Portuguese

About Morris Paton

I worked as an actor for many years and as a radio broadcaster on the BBC, presenting arts programmes. I'm also very interested in cultural tourism projects and in 1996 created The Edinburgh Literary Pub Tour, an award winning tour performed by professional actors. It runs throughout the year and Rick Steves, presenter of travel programmes USA wide, is quoted as saying in a recent review, 'for an entertaining insight into the greats of Scottish literature, served up with new friends, good beer, and lots of laughs, The Edinburgh Literary Pub Tour is my vote for the best way to spend an Edinburgh Evening!' so can't be bad!! Let me know if your interested in going on the tour at check-in and I can reserve you a slot.

Morris Paton purchased this apartment in 2001

Why Morris Paton chose New Town

I'm interested in all things literary and so when this apartment came on the market in 2001, I was excited by the fact that it sits just across the road from Sir Walter Scot's Edinburgh townhouse and on the other side of the street from the birth place of 'Wind in the Willow's' author, Kenneth Grahame. of course, that's not forgetting that the apartment has unprecedented, stunning views of Edinburgh Castle and is in an excellent, central location for shopping, restaurants and culture - especially during The International Edinburgh Festival!

What makes this apartment unique

Central location for great shopping and superb restaurants and bars.Great views and

luxury decor and furnishings throughout.

Access to lovely private gardens in the centre of town only 2 mins walk from the building.

On street metered parking or 7x24 only 10 mins walk away. Great value for long term parking at rcp parking on Brunswick Road, EH7 5PD - £30.00 per week.

The 2nd September is the finale of The Edinburgh International Festival and there is the most spectacular fore works display from the castle ramparts (unprecedented views from the apartment windows) with live orchestral accompaniment by The Scottish Chamber Orchestra. The apartment provides probably the best view in town of this spectacular event and whilst the music can be heard being played live from across the road in Princes Street gardens, I always amp the sound by tuning in live to the local radio station. So it's a great opportunity for a night to remember and for entertaining etc. Here's some of the details from their site:

'Bringing Edinburgh’s summer festival season to a magnificent conclusion, the Virgin Money Fireworks Concert combines passionate music from the Scottish Chamber Orchestra with breathtaking pyrotechnics, specially choreographed by international fireworks artists Pyrovision to enhance the musical experience. It is all set against the stunning backdrop of Edinburgh’s historic castle.

This year’s Virgin Money Fireworks Concert is a feast of pageantry and patriotism, celebrating the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee and also echoing the Festival’s Shakespearean offerings.'

Guestbook comments from the owner

We loved our stay here. The apartment is large and beautiful and has everything. Amazing views, the best neighborhood, convenient for shopping, busses, all the stores, restaurants, museums, pubs etc. All the amenities including Sky television and free wi-fi made it even better! The owner was very easy to reach and work with. We definitely want to stay here again!
May 2010
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

Reviews

4.7
based on 18 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
5* Luxury Heart of Edinburgh! Stunning Views Edinburgh Castle
average rating of 4.7222223 based on 19 reviews
business
5* Luxury Heart of Edinburgh! Stunning Views Edinburgh Castle
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p185667vb
+0044 -7710 754 563
New Town Edinburgh
Northern California
1

Renter Beware, This is way far from a 5 star luxury property!

  • 1 out of 5
First off, I've never had such a bad experience renting a vacation rental in the past. The owner has grossly misrepresented this property. Upon my arrival, I reached out to him and his manager in regards to my concerns of his property being dirty and not looking anything like pictures online. There was mildew and dirt in the shower. It also backed up with water. The kitchen was dirty with dust and bugs, and the espresso machine has some thick white sludge in it, with no press as well. There was stains on the couch and rug. As you can tell, for the past year there has been no recent reviews on his property. In which should of been a good indicator of RED FLAGS.
  • Review Submitted: 29-Oct-2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Some sites provide a clear platform for owners to review their guests, which, although I'm a huge fan of consumer led business, but in my view it's only fair if owners can reciprocate, as there's always one who will come along intent on spoiling it for everyone. After more than ten years of renting, we were lucky not have encountered "the one" until now! If there was such a platform I would certainly red-flag this guest and warn prospective owners from taking his business. As it stands, he booked directly via the site, entirely unsolicited and with no communications from me. He was only able to secure a booking due to a cancellation just prior to The Ryder Cup. The city was jam packed and acommodation was at a premium. We could have rented it out several times over! I suspected trouble ahead when he telephoned prior to arrival, informing me that he normally resides in a five star luxury hotel and did we have a coffee maker...I informed him that we had one and even instructed housekeeping to put som complimentary espresso coffee innto the apartment for his arrival. Despite making it very clear to my housekeeper on arrival that he wasn't happy, he didn't share with her any of the gleeful information he is now contributing in his review, this, despite her repeated offer of assistance and indeed the offer of further housekeeping if required. But it really was a guessing game on her part. I'm guessing that further assistance doesn't really compute within a compensation mind-set! Despite his allusions to a luxury life style (I think people who are clearly proud of living in five star hotels, should probably continue to do so when they're travelling) he left the apartment in a mess; numerous pizza boxes strewn around and the furniture rearranged in a circle, along with accompanying evidence of the type of meetings he was probably holding in my property. I stopped soliciting reviews from guests at a point whereby I felt we had enough, as I don't like to bother them unnecessarily. However, I will now reach out over the last few months to secure some additional reviews, which I'm sure will reaffirm that in fact our standards haven't slipped in the slightest. Please do read the other 19 5 star reviews below this one (I'm sure they can't all be delusional) indeed some of them even talk of the pictures not doing the place justice! Just goes to show that there's no pleasing everyone, especially those with no intention of being pleased. Shame for them really.......
business
5* Luxury Heart of Edinburgh! Stunning Views Edinburgh Castle
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p185667vb
+0044 -7710 754 563
New Town Edinburgh
5

Suzan Sarper: My second home in Edinburgh :)

  • 5 out of 5
Great location, awesome decoration..... Being there is just luxury.. Thanks Morris, thanks Katherina ..

Suzan
  • Review Submitted: 14-Jan-2014
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
5* Luxury Heart of Edinburgh! Stunning Views Edinburgh Castle
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p185667vb
+0044 -7710 754 563
New Town Edinburgh
Oak Ridge, NC
5

Amazing Apartment

  • 5 out of 5
We had a wonderful stay here. Our sons were with us and it worked out great. We loved the castle view, and the bath with steam shower was wonderful. Beautiful kitchen and Starbucks just around the corner. We walked everywhere. We would love to go back! Thanks for a wonderful time.
  • Review Submitted: 29-May-2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
5* Luxury Heart of Edinburgh! Stunning Views Edinburgh Castle
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p185667vb
+0044 -7710 754 563
New Town Edinburgh
Land O Lakes, FL
5

Outstanding apartment in a great location!

  • 5 out of 5
I stayed here for about 5 weeks in late December and January, 2013. It is in a perfect location, close to the Castle and the heart of shopping in Edinburgh. We were fortunate enough to be here for Hogmanay, and it has great views of the Castle. Getting around was easy - either walking (even in winter) or catching one of the many buses close by. I love to cook, and the kitchen is well equipped and very spacious. It's great for entertaining. My daughter and son-in-law ate most evening meals with me, and we always started with our drinks and appetizers around the kitchen island. Morris was very pleasant to work with and took care of any minor problems that arose during my five week stay. I hope to stay again!
  • Review Submitted: 29-Mar-2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car
business
5* Luxury Heart of Edinburgh! Stunning Views Edinburgh Castle
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p185667vb
+0044 -7710 754 563
New Town Edinburgh
Jersey City, NJ, USA
5

Amazing apartment!

  • 5 out of 5
This apartment is fantastic. Very comfortable with a perfect location. "Luxury" is definitely an appropriate word to use when describing its features. It includes a heated towel rack and heated tiles in the bathroom, a sauna built into the shower, a large kitchen with everything you need, and a huge living/dining room with comfortable seating.

Communication with the owner (Morris) was very quick and easy. I highly recommend staying here and I will definitely be trying to book this place again the next time I go to Edinburgh.
  • Review Submitted: 05-Mar-2012
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
5* Luxury Heart of Edinburgh! Stunning Views Edinburgh Castle
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p185667vb
+0044 -7710 754 563
New Town Edinburgh
Chester, VA
5

Great Place in Edinburgh

  • 5 out of 5
The apartment was wonderful and very clean. Morris greeted us at the residence and showed us the ins and outs of the property and recommended local eateries. Morris even had purchased milk, bread, and butter since we arrived late in the evening. The apartment was very clean and comfortable for 3 adults and 2 kids. All of the attractions, restaurants, and pubs are within easy walking distance. I highly recommend this property, Morris was very pleasant and trustworthy to work with.
  • Review Submitted: 08-Dec-2011
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Location

Location

Nearest Point of Interest
The Apartment with best views of Edinburgh Castle in town
Nearest Point of Interest
Views of Spectacular fireworks party from Edinburgh Castle!
Nearest Point of Interest
An oasis surrounded by gardens!
Car: not necessary

Now booking for the largest arts festival in the world, The Edinburgh International Festival 2014! The apartment has stunning views of Edinburgh Castle and its ramparts, great for the end of the festival spectacular fireworks display from the castle with live orchestral accompaniment from across the street in Princess Street Gardens. Minutes walk from all festive major attractions including; castle, museums and galleries, christmas market and hogmannay festival events. It is a 5 star luxury apartment with all the amenities you would expect from a property of this calibre. Stunning decor, fine linens and sheets, comfortable funrinture and beds, sound-proofing / secondary glazing in bedrooms and working shutters.

As the Scottish weather turns cold, this apartment is not only warm as toast, but has the added benefits of underfloor heating in the bathroom and a wonderful steam/turkish power shower. The street atmosphere in December becomes very festive, with Xmas street decorations and winter fiestas, markets and sometimes organised street parties on a large scale ( the largest 'strip the willow' was put into 'The Guiness Book of Records just outside.

Surrounded by the best shops (Harvey Nichols etc), restaurants and bars, you are located just minutes walk from Edinburgh's beating heart in the stylish Georgian 'New Town'.

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Rental rates for this holiday apartment in New Town, Edinburgh

Rental Basis:
property
Rental rates quoted in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Rate Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Rate
 
Winter
29 Sep 2014 - 11 Dec 2014
2 night minimum stay
£300
for 2 nights
From
£150
From
£175
Fri,Sat
£700
£2,400
 
 
Christmas
12 Dec 2014 - 4 Jan 2015
3 night minimum stay
£750
for 3 nights
From
£250
£1,800
£4,500
 
 
Winter
5 Jan 2015 - 31 Mar 2015
3 night minimum stay
£450
for 3 nights
From
£150
From
£175
Fri,Sat
£900
£2,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £50 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring
1 Apr 2015 - 31 May 2015
3 night minimum stay
£525
for 3 nights
From
£175
£1,100
£2,800
 
 
Summer
1 Jun 2015 - 31 Jul 2015
4 night minimum stay
£1,100
for 4 nights
From
£275
£1,800
£3,500
 
 
Edinburgh Festival
1 Aug 2015 - 10 Sep 2015
5 night minimum stay
£1,485
for 5 nights
From
£290
From
£325
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,900
£6,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add £50 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£570
for 3 nights
From
£190
From
£225
Fri,Sat
£1,200
£2,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £35 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit £400
Notes All rates quoted are subject to season and group size and based on up to 4 people sharing.
All rates inclusive of all other charges, towels and linen. Additional fifth person premium of £50.00 per night.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.

Facilities

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in New Town in Edinburgh

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • King size beds (1) super king size, sprung divan fit for a king or Queen., Twin or Single Beds (1) single bed that pulls out to create another single bed., Baby Cribs (1) Fold away cot for infants., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) chair bed that pulls out to a single. This can be moved into either one of the bedrooms or the lounge area.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Video Library ...
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • horse riding
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • Rock Climbing
  • swimming
europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote