HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

3 br/2ba Mountainside Farmhouse Cottage Escape /Pet Friendly/Central A/C/TV

Mark

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Mark

Member since: 2006
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
9 May, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

3 br/2ba Mountainside Farmhouse Cottage Escape /Pet Friendly/Central A/C/TV

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday farmhouse in West Virginia - Lost City Farmhouse Cottage

3 bedroom 2 bath - sleeps 6

Constructed in 2008 and designed by famed Katrina Cottage architect Marianne Cusato, this classic, West Virginia cottage is located in Lost City/Lost River is sure to warm your heart. Brazilian cherry hardwood floors, marble and glass tile baths, 9 foot ceilings and comfortable furniture provide a casual, country/lodge atmosphere. The location provides breathtaking vistas of the mountains from every window, the 8 foot deep front porch which extends the entire house as well and a small covered back porch with even more great views. This vacation home sits down a small driveway from a paved road and is surrounded by acres of nature. .Beyond that and within walking distance are the rest of the thousands of acres that make up the George Washington National Forest. There is a seasonal chicken coop that allows you to gather fresh eggs every day.

From Washingtonian Magazine - : 'The Lost River Valley of West Virginia has been found.'

'Tucked between two mountain ridges, the valley, a couple of hours from Washington, is drawing more weekenders. The lure is rugged woodland scenery, tumbling mountain streams, and outdoor fun - hiking, fishing, biking, canoeing, swimming, rafting, climbing, horseback riding.'

----------------------

Further house information: Three great bedrooms make the home perfect for families or couples - two rooms each with a queen bed and a third room with two twin beds. One queen bedroom is downstairs with its own bath and canopy bed (master suite). All bed linens and towels are provided. There are two full baths, one upstairs and one down. The baths have heated marble floors, glass tile walls and high-end fixtures. Soak in the upstairs bath's jetted tub with a window that overlooks the mountains and catch a glimpse of the deer and wild turkeys. Farmhouse has both central air and heat which is dual zone for those who like to sleep with it cool but wake up to a warm downstairs.

There is a fully-equipped kitchen with microwave, dishwasher, toaster, coffeemaker, etc.. There is a washer and dryer combo upstairs if you need it.

We Love Pets!!: Well-mannered pets permitted for an additional rent. Backyard is completely fenced so you don't have to worry about your dog running off into the forest.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Mark (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
9 May, 2015

Guestbook comments from the owner

We stayed in the cottage and couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodations. Since our visit occurred during the off season, the weather was not conducive to much outdoor activity. But the cottage was so well appointed we felt right at home. Mark and Phil were terrific hosts. The muffins were delicious and we really enjoyed the chickens and goats. It was so nice to visit a place where feeding the animals is encouraged. :) This was a relaxing weekend getaway. We highly recommend!
Jan 2010
  • 1 of 2

Why HomeAway

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

4.8
based on 46 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
3 br/2ba Mountainside Farmhouse Cottage Escape /Pet Friendly/Central A/C/TV
average rating of 4.847826 based on 48 reviews
1

Dissapointed

  • 1 of 5

Overall, we enjoyed the Lost River area very much and intend to return. Unfortunately, we would not return to this particular house in the future.

We were initially supposed to stay in their other property (the farmhouse) but due to that house being sold, our reservation was moved to the cottage. It's noteworthy that this property is also for sale, and likely explains the issues that we experienced.

The interior of the home was not properly maintained, to the point that we spent the first hour cleaning the kitchen which was an embarrassment. We had to pull the shelving and drawers out of the refrigerator as it had an unusual amount of food and hair lining the sides and bottom. The condiments that were left in there were stuck to the bottom of the drawers. A bag of flour was wet on the bottom and had turned into a soggy mess. The pans were greasy and had not been washed and the oven was unusable. We had a conversation with Ellen who is responsible for cleaning and she stated that no one had been in this property for awhile (probably due to them trying to sell). Ellen showed up the next afternoon, but frankly, we had cleaned everything ourselves the first night. It was a 2 1/2 hour drive, we planned to be outdoors the majority of the time, so we decided to stay.

Beyond that, the most concerning issue were cockroaches. We saw two on the upper level when we got there (one dead, one alive). We called Mark immediately and he informed me that we were mistaken as "West Virginia does not have cockroaches." I wish that statement were accurate, not merely a defensive statement by an absentee owner. Unfortunately for Mark, we know what ladybugs, beetles and stink bugs look like, and they are hard to mistake for a roach. To further the point, I took a picture of the live roach we found in the master bathroom on our last day and sent it to Mark. I asked for an explanation and demanded a partial refund as these issues were not disclosed up front. I guess it is no surprise that we never heard from Mark after that email.

Again, we had a good enough time in the town itself, but I feel that we stumbled into a property that was not maintained due to being on the market. The owner has nothing invested as we will probably be the last renters before it is sold, but property owners should have more pride in ownership and be accountable for the condition of that property. As such, it should not be rented until the above issues are properly addressed.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 22, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is a rare and unfortunate situation. The guests brought these issues to my attention as soon as they arrived and were quickly offered a full refund or an alternate accommodation (not owned by myself). They declined the offer and chose to stay for their full time. Therefore, it was a bit shocking that only after their stay did they ask for a refund. Per Homeaway's policy, guest are not entitled to a refund after completing their stay. Regarding the issues mentioned, it is true that the house cleaner returned to the house to re-clean as soon as she could, which happened to be the next day. After the guests departure a exterminator was brought to the property to remedy the situation regarding roaches, and has assured me that their is certainly no infestation of the premises. I must add that having the property on the market has no bearing on the maintenance at all, if anything... one would be more conscious of maintenance due to showings to potential buyers. I would also like to share that while one owner does in fact live out of state, the co-owner lives up the road....meaning there is no dis-investment in the property as alluded to. Finally, please take the time to read the numerous positive reviews of our property to get a more accurate picture of the cottage. It is always upsetting to have an unhappy guest, but there is bound to be one in the bunch who can never be satisfied.
4

Beautiful area, comfortable stay

  • 4 of 5

My husband, daughters (3 1/2 yrs and 17 mos) stayed here just a couple of weeks passed peak fall foliage. The cottage is beautifully laid out with lots of fun personal touches. All of the modern conveniences like Dish Network and WiFi, the latter which is "essential" since cell phones don't work in Lost River/Mathias. The goats and chickens were adorable, but bring ear plugs! The roosters were confused and thought 4 am was go-time. :) We found it pretty funny though- you gotta have a sense of humor about that sort of thing! We loved the goats and found them very charming. The water in the house is nice and hot but it is well water and very hard--- bring lots of lotion and bottled water. My biggest complaint, and it cannot be understated, is that the cookware is terrible in every way. There's not much variety in size and what is there is really unusable besides a big pasta pot. It's not a deal breaker though and can easily be resolved by bringing your own! Don't forget paper towels and cleaning sponges. The sponge that was there was nasty.

Based on the other reviews I get the feeling that the owners aren't as invested, at least emotionally, in the property. Nobody stopped by with muffins (waaaaa!!) or showed us the goats and chickens. I would've loved the opportunity to care for them while we were there. There were parts that I felt were a little dirty, like the bottom of the kitchen trashcan, the refrigerator, and the inside of the dishwasher. It would've been nice to walk into a clean fridge at least. The beds were VERY comfortable but bring your own pillows and mattress pads. The Queen upstairs doesn't have a mattress pad, just super comfy foam rubber. Not sure about the twin beds since we didn't use them.

Any way, clean the fridge, hose out the trashcan, improve the linens and pillows, and put a little care in the hospitality details-- that would be my advice to the owners and would make our stay a 5/5.

Overall, would recommend as long as you bring your own cookware!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 9, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for visiting Lost City Farmhouse Cottage and thanks for taking the time to write a review and give us suggestions. Unfortunately the owner who does the greeting and muffin baking had to be out of town due to a death in his immediate family and there wasn't time to get a replacement in place prior to your arrival. Thanks so much for the heads up on the cookware, pillows and the mattress pad - we will be sure to acquire/replace those items. We will also talk to the cleaning person regarding the cleaning issues you mentioned. One thing I want to mention is that there is iron in the water in the area (from a well). It is benign but it does tend to stain the white interior of the dishwasher - we have chosen not to use the harsh chemicals it takes to remove the discolorations. Future guests, rest assured, the dishwasher is extremely clean. Again, sorry about the greeting and the muffins, next time you visit we will be sure to make you a double batch to make up for it :) just a note for future guests - the well water has been tasted and is safe to drink but as always some people prefer bottled which is understandable
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
5

Great relaxing holiday

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic place to relax with the family if that is what you are looking for. We had a wonderful time and even had a surprise visitor the first night. Kids enjoyed picking fresh eggs and feeding the goats. So if you have young kids good activities to do within the house area. Lots to see in the neighbouring areas - Lost River State Park, Lavendar Farm, Shenandoah Caves, etc but all a bit of a drive (except the State Park). Good to go fishing at Trout Pond close by.

Accommodation is good for 2 families and Mark and Phil are excellent hosts. We even got home made muffins when we were leaving for the road.

Highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 19, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Pasadena, Maryland
4

Stress Reliever...Rent this house!

  • 4 of 5

My husband, our 12 yo "puppy" and I stayed at this wonderful home. The furnishings are very comfortable and inviting. I loved looking at all of the photos and pictures on the walls. Love the furniture in the bedrooms too. The kitchen was fully equipped. The house even includes breakfast - the eggs we gathered each morning from the chicken coop! Our dog loved wandering in the huge backyard while I sat on the back porch and enjoyed the fresh air. We hiked at Lost River State Park, which was great. The trails are marked so well. We had a late lunch at Lost River Grill (down the road), had dinner at Lost River Brewing Company in Wardensville. The food there was fabulous! Other than that, we did exactly what we came to do - RELAX. And what a great house to rent!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Pasadena, Maryland
4

Need a stress reliever...this place is it!

  • 4 of 5

My husband, our 12 yo "puppy" and I stayed at this wonderful home. The furnishings are very comfortable and inviting. I loved looking at all of the photos and pictures on the walls. Love the furniture in the bedrooms too. The kitchen was fully equipped. The house even includes breakfast - the eggs we gathered each morning from the chicken coop! Our dog loved wandering in the huge backyard while I sat on the back porch and enjoyed the fresh air. We hiked at Lost River State Park, which was great. The trails are marked so well. We had a late lunch at Lost River Grill (down the road), had dinner at Lost River Brewing Company in Wardensville. The food there was fabulous! Other than that, we did exactly what we came to do - RELAX. And what a great house to rent!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Where do you live?
5

Brad & Robbie Barnes

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at this wonderful quiet & peaceful cabin was exactly what we were looking for...from the very beginning booking w. Mark....meeting Phil & enjoying those delicious lemon muffins & all of his great restaurant suggestions & other helpful info. Was the very best. We enjoyed feeding the rooster,hens & cute little chicks.....driving our RTV on numerous trails in. The George Washington National Forest & seeing all the beautiful foliage & wildlife was simply breathtaking ! We did a lot of cooking too...everything we needed was in the efficient kitchen. The house was perfect for our get-away & we left feeling rested & refreshed. We will definitely be going back again soon. It was a beautiful area..lots to explore.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 3, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Location

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Washington Dulles
Car: necessary

within walking distance of the GW National Forest consisting of thousands and thousands of acres

Photos

Prices & Availability

From $150 Nightly

Prices for this holiday farmhouse in West Virginia, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Prices quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$375
for 2 nights
From
$150
$845
 

Additional pricing information

cleaning fee $75.00
Pet Fee $50.00
Notes $50 per pet per stay (up to two). 3 night minimum stay requirement for holiday weekends, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, etc.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday farmhouse in West Virginia, USA

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • Mountain View
  • rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Wood Decking
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
  • Jacuzzi
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Other holiday rentals

Weekly From £434
3 night min stay
  • 3 Bedrooms,
  • 2 Bathrooms,
  • 1 Separate Toilet,
  • Sleeps 8
Weekly From £484
3 night min stay
  • 3 Bedrooms,
  • 3 Bathrooms,
  • Sleeps 12
Weekly From £464
3 night min stay
  • 3 Bedrooms,
  • 2 Bathrooms,
  • 1 Separate Toilet,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote